reviews for: listing #69401 - Twain Harte, California House rental

Mountain House - Retreat/ Newly Remodeled! Linens Included
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $300 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,650 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Little slice of Heaven

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

Staying at this property was truly like a slice of Heaven. We could not have asked for anything more. The house in tucked away in the mountains on a private lot surrounded by trees. The home is absolutely beautiful and completely furnished. Wish we could have stayed longer, hated leaving! Will definitely return as this was the ultimate place for peace and quiet while being surrounded by beauty both inside and out. Loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House on the hill

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

My family had a wonderful time at this vacation rental. Lots of room, very
clean and beautifully updated. My grandson even enjoyed the swing set. With
a large group, another table with chairs would be nice on the deck. But the
inside dining table was great! I would recommend it to others and I think
we will rent it again. We have been going to Twain Harte for 5 years and this
is the first time we will consider going back to the same house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House on the hill

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

My family had a wonderful time at this vacation rental. Lots of room, very
clean and beautifully updated. My grandson even enjoyed the swing set. With
a large group, another table with chairs would be nice on the deck. But the
inside dining table was great! I would recommend it to others and I think
we will rent it again. We have been going to Twain Harte for 5 years and this
is the first time we will consider going back to the same house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A 5-star retreat in the Mountains

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

If I could give this rental property at 10 star rating I would! Absolutely everything about this house, the property and general location was a perfect fit for us!

The layout of the house was perfect. We had three families staying and each family had their own floor, own bedroom and own restroom. The bathrooms are beautifully remodeled and the bedding, furniture and carpets were very clean and updated. The kitchen was amazing. Fully stocked with everything we needed. The house is bright, open and very nicely decorated and furnished. Everyone on our trip was very comfortable and pleased with the house. It really is a true gem! There is a large dining table and barstools at the kitchen counter. We easily and comfortably seated 12 people at meal time.

The house is, on average, 20 minutes from all activities. We went to Jamestown, Columbia and Twain Harte and enjoyed all the fun local activities to do during the day. We also enjoyed hiking around the property, playing horseshoes and the kids enjoyed the swing set. The house has an amazing wrap around deck that the kids loved running loops around for hours as all the parents enjoyed the peaceful, very private setting as we dined outside.

The owners of the property couldn't have been easier or nicer to work with. They were very responsive to email and very accommodating to our requests. It was a pleasure renting from them and we hope to book another trip soon.

Everything about this house, the rental process, the price and value of this rental property is a true find.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect winter rental

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

We stayed at Mountain House during our kids' winter break. We had a wonderful time! The cabin has been recently remodeled and the owners did a beautiful job. They were easy to work with and responded to my emails quickly. The cabin had everything we could possibly need, snow toys, kitchen supplies, laundry. The size was perfect for the two families that stayed there, and the cabin was imaculately clean and very warm. We loved our stay and will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Winter Family Get-away

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We had a 3 generation get-away at the Mountain House. All of us agreed that the Mountain House was a great place to stay! The home was clean, well maintained, and the property was spectacular! The immediate location is spacious with a secluded feel, yet is close to snow and shopping. Morning and late afternoon, we had visiting deer.

We enjoyed the large dining table for family meals and games. The kitchen is well equipped and beautiful. There is a beautiful bath on each floor. Having Wi-Fi was a plus.

The owners are very personable and friendly. We think we should plan a summer get-away so that we can enjoy the outdoors and the huge deck and patio!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Summer Fun

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

This was one of the best cabins we have ever stayed at. It was very clean, and looked like it was just remodeled inside and out. There was plenty of room for all 3 families to stay because it is tri level, everyone felt like they had their own space. It was really nice not having to bring all our own sheets and blankets too. We had a great time at the Mountain House Retreat, we saw deer every morning and evening time. Also Heather the owner was very accommodating and very sweet. We can't wait to come back in the winter. Thanks Heather!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Awesome home

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

We had 3 adults and 4 kids, mommies wanted to take the kids skiing for the first time. We loved the house, fabulous kitchen and everyone was very comfortable, there was enough bathroom. The neighbor was very helpful in helping us with the tv. We will definitely come back again. Thank you, Heather.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great stay at a great place!

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

Awesome place to stay! Very clean, beautiful kitchen/dining area and a nice cozy gas fireplace. The owner was very pleasant, organized and flexible. We had seven adults/four kids and everybody was very comfortable and slept well. WiFi service was a necessary feature for us and the service was excellent. We plan on coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Far Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

We used this beautiful cabin for a retreat for the adult leaders of the high school ministry of our church. We have rented many cabins in the past, and this cabin left us feeling the most spoiled in luxury! Not only was the cabin beautiful, but it also functioned well for all of us! we didn't end up needing as large of a cabin as we rented because people weren't able to make it at the last minute, but I'm very confident we could have fit all 15 people quite comfortable (maybe more if they would allow it!).

We didn't utilize the property much, but the cabin was on a large lot and hiking was definitely an option we could have utilize. The location was perfect too because it was within a short driving distance to both Sonora and Twain Harte.

I highly recommend this cabin and would love to use it again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

The house is beautiful. The home was very clean and spacious. The patio/deck is huge, plenty of room for a large group. The surroundings are beautiful. Every morning we watched deer in the front yard. The location was great. Just minutes from Twain Harte and Sonora.
Heather(the owner)was great and easy to work with. She was quick to respond to my emails and answered all my questions.
Yes I would recommend this property to a friend. We are already talking about renting this property in the summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Excellent Rental

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

I would highly recommend this property, it's really a beautiful place. The house, the property it sits on and the forrest surrounding it. The house has a lot of open space inside. We had a group of 14, both kids and adults and we didn't have to step over each other to get around. Plenty of beds for all to sleep in. The deacor inside is great and relaxing. Having 3 bathrooms, one on each floor was a real plus and there was never a problem with having hot water. It is handicap friendly. The outside patio/deck is huge. You can have a very large group of people on the patio/deck and not run into each other. And the deck is very handicap friendly as well.

We had 4 SUV's, two trailers and had a ton of parking still available. The location of the house is great. Just a few minutes to Twain Harte. About 15 minutes to Sonora and many small rustic towns close by.

The owners are outstanding folks, very helpful and great with communicating and answering questions. The whole transaction was a pleasure.

I can tell you, my family and I have been renting homes in Northern California for over 13 years for vacation and these folks, the house, the location is far and above what we've rented in the past. You can't go wrong by renting this house.

OH and if you like a place that's quite, deers, rabbits, birds, this is the place to stay.
Thank You

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Lovely, warm home tucked away in nature!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Our family stayed at the Anderson home with three other families. The house was broken up perfectly; one family downstairs with a master suite and two twin beds (perfect for Grandma to get away from the commotion and read or watch a movie, in silence); one on the main floor in the second master; and two on the 3rd floor in the queen beds. Kids on the twins in the loft.

The kids played outside on the swing set, roasted marshmallows in the fire pit, went on hikes, watched for deer from the windows of the loft, and played video games on the TV in the loft.

The adults shared cocktails and conversation in the warm evenings on the wrap around porch while bbq'ing on the large grill. We also enjoyed sit down meals (all together) around the huge dining room table.

The home was warmly decorated, like a home, not a rental. It had beautiful touches throughout the home.

The house was about a 20-30 minute drive from *most* activities - perfect for a day getaways - gold mining (Columbia), trout fishing (past Columbia), water recreation (Pinecrest), and about 2 hours from Yosemite [another great day trip].

John and Heather made booking easy and were a delight to work with. Truly a great time at a great home with family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Lovely, warm, home tucked away in nature

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Our family stayed at the Anderson home with three other families. The house was broken up perfectly; one family downstairs with a master suite and two twin beds (perfect for Grandma to get away from the commotion and read or watch a movie, in silence); one on the main floor in the second master; and two on the 3rd floor in the queen beds. Kids on the twins in the loft.

The kids played outside on the swing set, roasted marshmallows in the fire pit, went on hikes, watched for deer from the windows of the loft, and played video games on the TV in the loft.

The adults shared cocktails and conversation in the warm evenings on the wrap around porch while bbq'ing on the large grill. We also enjoyed sit down meals (all together) around the huge dining room table.

The home was warmly decorated, like a home, not a rental. It had beautiful touches throughout the home.

The house was about a 20-30 minute drive from *most* activities - perfect for a day getaways - gold mining (Columbia), trout fishing (past Columbia), water recreation (Pinecrest), and about 2 hours from Yosemite [another great day trip].

John and Heather made booking easy and were a delight to work with. Truly a great time at a great home with family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Lovely, warm home tucked away in nature!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Our family stayed at the Anderson home with three other families. The house was broken up perfectly; one family downstairs with a master suite and two twin beds (perfect for Grandma to get away from the commotion and read or watch a movie, in silence); one on the main floor in the second master; and two on the 3rd floor in the queen beds. Kids on the twins in the loft.

The kids played outside on the swing set, roasted marshmallows in the fire pit, went on hikes, watched for deer from the windows of the loft, and played video games on the TV in the loft.

The adults shared cocktails and conversation in the warm evenings on the wrap around porch while bbq'ing on the large grill. We also enjoyed sit down meals (all together) around the huge dining room table.

The home was warmly decorated, like a home, not a rental. It had beautiful touches throughout the home.

The house was about a 20-30 minute drive from *most* activities - perfect for a day getaways - gold mining (Columbia), trout fishing (past Columbia), water recreation (Pinecrest), and about 2 hours from Yosemite [another great day trip].

John and Heather made booking easy and were a delight to work with. Truly a great time at a great home with family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome Birthday Weekend

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

The house is amazing! As soon as we walked in the door we were smitten, everything is beautiful and comfortable.
We had 4 kids under the age of 6 who had a great time playing upstairs in the loft and thought sleeping there without their parents was so cool! The beds and pillows are all very comfortable and we all slept well.
The bathtub on the main floor is heavenly (and where I tried to spend most of my time) and I heard the marble dual shower-head shower downstairs was pretty nice also. I like that there is a bathroom (and shower) on each floor and that with 12 people we never ran out of hot water.
The property itself is beautiful and the kids and dog had a great time exploring "the forest". The kids were also pretty impressed with the bonfire (more specifically the s'mores we made at the bonfire).
The kitchen is fully stocked and very open, which is nice when you have 6 cooks. Our only issue was that we had a hard time figuring out the dishwasher and it runs so quietly we couldn't tell whether or not it was on!
Heather is terrific and wonderful to work with, we will definitely be returning to this cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

The Perfect House for a Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

We went to this home with 15 people (four families). There was plenty of room for everyone. The kids loved playing on the large deck and in the loft area. The adults had a great time cooking in the huge kitchen and sitting around the fireplace in the evenings. The home is clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The owners are super nice and very responsive to email and phone messages. They have obviously put a lot of time and thought into this vacation home and it shows in all the detail.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: December 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

All 14 of us absolutely loved our stay in this cabin! It was very clean, extremely spacious, and beyond cozy (and the deck/view is gorgeous!). It was great working with the owners; they are vey nice, trustworthy, and quick with responses. The location is convenient.. We took a quick drive to Columbia for the day, and when we needed to run to the store for something it was just a short drive. I would most definitely recommend this cabin to ANYONE and EVERYONE! Even before our weekend was over, we were already making plans to book this cabin again in the very near future. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

remodeled wonder

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

This was so much more than a cabin! The house has been completely remodeled and was beyond my expectations. It was large with a big, open kitchen that made it easy to have a big group at. The house was very clean and the beds comfy.
The surroundings are beautiful with deer in the front yard in the morning.
It was a little hard to find due to road construction at the time but a very nice neighbor saw our confusion and led us up to the house. I highly recommend this cabin and will be returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Amazing for our large group!

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

The home was even more beautiful than the pictures! We had 26 people stay at this property and we all had a great time. We spent a lot of time on the deck eating and visiting. There wasn't a neighbor in site and the place was immaculate. The owners were so friendly and very helpful. I can't think of 1 bad thing about the entire stay! We would love to stay there again! I highly recommend this house for large or small groups who are looking for a beautiful, quiet place to get away.

Thanks for allowing all 26 of us to stay at your home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review