reviews for: listing #69446 - Sequoia, California Studio rental

Waterfalls And River Pools At This Newly Appointed Suite
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $225 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 27, 2014

Everything about our stay was absolutely perfect. Thank you, Diana, for the hospitality and sharing your great space. The birds, the twinkling stars, the sounds of the river reminded us how much we enjoy spending time in nature. We travel often and this is the nicest settings and most comfortable stay that we have ever had. Thank you for making our anniversary celebration so special!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ahhh, a breath of fresh air

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

Oh how we needed a getaway. We just can't believe that we found this treasure and only 3.5 hours from our home in the Los Angeles area! The website does not do it justice and the owners are so friendly and helpful. We even called them to see if they had olive oil and they brought it over to us as they live within walking distance on the property. We felt like we were in the Garden of Eden when we were sitting on a big rock in the middle of the river. At night, we went down to the river, laid on the big rock and enjoyed the stars. The whole place is VERY CLEAN. We are going to come back and bring friends. There are two separate studios and it is private yet located close to Sequoia Park. The owners offer bikes and ping pong and a big campfire spot. Also, ask them to show you the Indian grinding rocks. Sierra Subs is great food also there is a bakery that you can walk to. Oh...and great hiking trails close by. Just so excited to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THIS IS THE BEST PLACE TO STAY!!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 14, 2014

I visit Sequoia Park often and have stayed at multiple places in the area and this is by far the BEST and also immaculate.

We stayed in the Sequoia Charm. The room is beautifully decorated, the pictures don't do it justice. The owners have thought of everything to make a comfortable and enjoyable stay for guests. They also told us about great places to see and things to do.

Bikes are provided. We took them up to Sequoia and had a great time. But the best time was back at our lodging. We actually couldn't wait to get back. The room overlooks the river and the yard is fabulous. This is the prettiest river spot with great paths and sitting areas along the river. I took a relaxing nap in the hammock. At the end of each day, we dipped our toes in the river as the sun went down.

We definitely will be back.

Thank you Diana.
See you next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfection on the River

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

We had the good fortune to stay in the Kaweah Gem suite during our stay in Three Rivers; I never wanted to leave. The property is as described, only much better. It is beautiful and immaculate, reflecting the owners' care and attention to protecting the environment surrounding their property as well as the well-being of their guests. The views of the river are wonderful and the swimming even better. There are many places to sit and enjoy the view and the wonderful sound of the river rushing by - including inside your room. We particularly loved the shower with its views of the river and the small sitting areas along the walk to the swimming hole. I cannot recommend The River Jewel too highly. We would return any time - and we intend to soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is Paradise

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your hospitalitly! I always search for a paradise like this but before now I never found it....This is paradise!!! It is perfect!!!! We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay- We didn't want to leave!!!!! Great property, clean, comfortable and full of character. We will spread the word!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

Thank you so much for an amazing few days at your wonderful suite. The view is simply breathtaking! We spent so much of our time playing in the river. Saw so many hummingbirds and butterflies- a real treat. The suite was spotlessly clean and so comfy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breathtaking!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

I've traveled many places in the U.S. and abroad, and this is one of my favorite spots on earth! I love the care and thought you have put into the decor as well. Can't wait to return and stay. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply The Best

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

There is truely no place like this. Thanks for making this a fabulous birthday week. We look forward to our return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This place is truly a "jewel"

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

My husband and I were visiting from Michigan and planned on staying near the entrance to Sequoia National Park. This listing was four miles from the south entrance to the park, so we booked a two night stay, mostly for convenience. We had NO IDEA what a beautiful place this would prove to be and left far too soon! The suite was tastefully decorated and luxurious and we felt welcomed, relaxed and pampered. We were pleasantly surprised at what an excellent setting this was on the river and how large and secluded it was! This spot on the river is absolutely beautiful! Great care was taken by the owners to landscape many different areas along the riverbank for visitors to relax and enjoy a private and peaceful setting. Whether we were sitting in the river reading a book, sunbathing on the large rocks in the middle of the river or the comfy reclining chairs, or eating dinner on an umbrella table, we were blessed! The sound of the river, the glow of the fire in the "fire pit" and the twinkling of the stars was the perfect ending for days exploring Sequoia National Park. You know it's a great vacation when you find you have to pull yourself out of an awesome river to visit a beautiful mountain vista! I wish we had scheduled more time! The owners were pleasant to work with and were gifted in hospitality. I hope we have an another opportunity to visit someday. We would stay longer, for sure! What a blessing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was the highlight of our trip

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We have been traveling across the US from the UK. THIS WAS THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP! This is a beautiful, relaxing palce and very well kept.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Nature Done In Style"

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Nature done in style is how Yvonne described it. Every setting you have here is so romantic and secluded. We felt like each was a different scene from a cialis commercial. The beauty, serenity, and romance of this place truely makes it "The River Jewel".

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Got engaged on the beach across the river

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

What an amazing place! Got engaged on the beach across the river- perfect start to a perfect weekend. Drank wine by the fire, grilled dinner, coffee in the sun chairs, swam in the river and laid out on the rocks. Celebrated our engagement with $100 bottle of wine and hot dogs on the grill. :) This will always nbe a special place for us. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Like being in the middle of an Ansel Adams photo!

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

A gem indeed...the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. We loved it so much and are already planning our next visit.

We were fortunate enough to have a full moon during our visit. We sat on a boulder in the middle of the river and basked in the moonlight. It was like being in the middle of an Ansel Adams photograph- breathtaking.

Also, after a long hike amongst the giant Sequoias we looked forward to coming back to relax by the river at The River Jewel. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Germany wishes we could stay longer!

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

To summarize: We wish we would have booked more days! Such a beautiful guest suite and surrounding. We swam in the river during the day and did stargazing at night. Thank you for your gracious hospitality and the nice stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Want To Live Here!

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

What a beautiful place! We want to live here! The decor is priceless! Saw mama bear with two cubs and mule deer too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights at the River Jewel on our honeymoon. The location could not have been better. The property backs up to an amazing river view and was only 3 miles from Sequoia National Park. The property itself was very well kept with clean linens, spacious rooms, an awesome two-person shower with a view of the river, and an outdoor fire pit. Diana was extremely nice and accommodating; we did not get in until very late due to road construction but she was willing to wait an check us in. She provided us with some fresh fruit for breakfast and bikes to get around town. We were in a rush to get to the airport the morning we left and accidentally forgot a few items. Diana promptly shipped the items to us. Overall we had an incredible experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymooned Here

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

What a beautiful place you have here! We are so happy to have found The River Jewel. The setting is so peaceful and relaxing. The hospitality and attention to detail was outstanding! We are very much looking forward to a return trip. Thanks for a wonderful time.

Jeff & Melissa
Fresno, CA
Honeymooned Here
September 24 – September 28, 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Anniversary Bliss

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

We knew the anniversary of our 40th year of marriage would occur during our trip to California and we dreamed of celebrating this anniversary at a secluded cottage in a beautiful natural setting. God has guided us throughout our marriage and we are convinced that He led us to this unique "River Jewel."

We loved the light-filled cottage, the noisy creek, the golden mountains and the private evenings under the stars . . . a perfect setting for privately celebrating a loving and lasting marriage of 40 years. This has been a dream come true and one we will never forget.

Wayne & Carol E.
Monroe, Georgia


P.S. Thanks so much for the wine and card . . . the perfect touch!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay at the River Jewel

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the River Jewel during our trip to Sequoia National Park. The location was fantastic, very convenient to the entrance of the Park. Tucked away, it was the perfect escape after a few long days of hiking in the park. The best part was the Keawah River, right in the "backyard". The place was clean, comfortable, and our hosts were very helpful with anything we needed. I only wish we could have stayed a few extra days to take advantage of the beautiful scenery that the place itself offered. We hope to return very soon! Thank you, River Jewel!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE-BETTER THAN THERAPY!!*

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

My friends and I decided on this hidden beauty place they call "Three Rivers" and came across "the River Jewel" as our lodging resort as it was recommended to me by a couple of my colleagues. The entire experience was fantastic and we loved every minute. THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY.*
It is the most luxurious spot to stay in Three Rivers yet has a "cabin in the woods" feel. We were able to fish at our lodge. Fifteen steps away from our room was the river and beautiful waterfalls. We went on hikes to "Morro rock" and "crystal cave." We also lounged and BBQ'd at our lodge and picked fresh grapes and blackberries by the water. We even called office and asked for butter as we forgot it after barbecuing and they brought it to us.
Our hosts went above and beyond to accommodate us. They provided us with snacks, bicycles to ride and secret "hot spots" ideas to see tourists always miss. Room was immaculate and we were pleased with all aspects of this decision. We only stayed two nights but left feeling exhilarated BETTER THAN THERAPY. All three of us agreed our sleep even felt like "REM."
We would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful vacation or merely a romantic one weekend getaway. It took us less than a three hour drive from LA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review