reviews for: listing #6947 - Barbados, Caribbean Villa rental

Barbados Romantic Caribbean Treasure with Breathtaking View
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  OCEAN CITY St.Philip
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $142 - $272 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Amazing views

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

We loved our stay at Teach 'N Song. The villa is as it states and has spectacular views !. We had everything we needed there. Marilyn and Bob are wonderful people and are at hand if we needed anything. The villa was wonderful pool was great. We loved to sit and watch the turtles and fishing boats from the pool. The location was great. I would recommend staying at this villa as this is the best we have stayed at. Ena the housekeeper did a wonderful job. Ocean city is a safe & friendly place to stay on the Island and we would recommend this Villa for anyone. The villa had everything we were sad to leave.

Sue , Steve & Georgia

Owners response: Dear Sue, Steve and Georgia,
Many thanks for the wonderful review. We truly appreciate these comments. You were exceptionally kind to Ena as well and made her job a pleasant one. Looking forward to finding that special beach you mentioned to us . Thank you also for the nice comments in the guest book. All the best with your Elvis Production.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our Expectations.

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

This was the perfect property for our family vacation. We were a little concern as we've never booked a vacation like this before but it exceeded our expectations. The home was clean and inviting. The owners did an excellent job at providing everything that met our needs. We rented a car per their recommention and it was the best way to get around the island. I've already recommended this villa to my friends and family. Barbados has the friendliest people and we will go back there soon. Bob and Marilyn, thank you for making this the best family vacation for our family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Christian and Tessa,
Apologies for not responding earlier to this wonderful review. We had some e-mail issues and did not receive notification regarding this. I have just learned how to make an updated response.
We are truly honoured that we were able to go beyond your expectations with regard to your family vacation on Barbados at our villa. You are very right about the friendliness of the people on the island. We very much appreciate you informing your friends as well on our behalf. Please do come again to this beautiful Island. Perhaps this next time we will be able to meet your precious family. Sincerely,
Marilyn and Bob

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Owners, Incredible Location

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

The hosts were remarkable in sharing information, maintaining contact and preparing us for the Island's adventures. We had some challenges finalizing the rental car and Marilyn facilitated the process to make sure things were arranged. Very charming and willing hosts.

The villa is all about location. Perched on a cliff, the views are breathtaking. We enjoyed complete privacy when using the pool and sunning on the deck. The villa was very well equipped allowing for any level of desired self-sufficiency.

If you are considering this location, although the bus service is well developed, I would suggest a rental car as it eases getting around. But basic amenities, such as groceries, are within walking distance.

We were able to completely relax and for that I am very grateful to have found this property. You will not be disappointed.

Owners response: Dear L & R,
Many thanks for a very clear, well written unsolicited review. You have made us extremely proud with your very kind words and insite. We try diligently to place ourselves into the shoes of others. Please do come back. Sincerely,
Marilyn and Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Barbados!

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

What a fabulous place to spend our holidays! The view of the sea from this cliff side villa is eye popping amazing.
The villa is equipted with everything you could possibly need, even Ena, the housekeeper! Lovely place, and the pool is to die for. Nothing better than a swim before breakfast. We did the standard tourist things, but, we both read three books, and got in some much needed R 'n R.. Highly recommend this special place in paradise!
Thank you, Marilyn and Bon (aka Elvis)

Owners response: Hello (LO!!!)
Thank you so much.. So descriptive.'.EYE POPPING AMAZING' !!. Very much appreciated. Enjoy the rest of the year. Health Happiness and Prosperity!!. and Good Cooking!!
Marilyn and Bob( Elvis)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to stay

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

I can't say enough of how great the home and location is. Everything is exactly how it is advertised, interior is very clean and well maintained, the manager Pat, and the owners Marylin & Bob, been always Helpful, It is away from the road so it is quiet from all of the cars, unlike a lot of the rentals, the pool is woderfull and has a beautifull view, They made us feel at home immediately. We would recommend this home to anyone, very close from the airport, and easy to get anywhere you want. The house is a short drive to some beautiful beaches, looking forward to going back soon.
Manuel

Owners response: Dear Manuel and family and friends.
Thank you so much for the very kind words. You were a pleasure to deal with right from the first inquiry.. You always responded quickly and appreciated what we had to offer..
We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you so very much.
Sincerely,
Marilyn and Bob
new e-mail address see advert

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Trip

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent a week in Barbados and couldn't have hoped for a better place to stay. Like all the other reviews say, the view is spectacular. The sound of the waves crashing against the cliff will drift you to sleep every night. The house is very well kept and the beds are very comfortable. The housekeeper is very friendly and she had plenty of suggestions on places to see and food to enjoy. You will become addicted to early morning and nighttime swims in the pool overlooking the beautiful ocean. Also, the morning cup of coffee (or cup of tea) tastes that much better when you're enjoying it while overlooking the waves crash against the rock. Although we didn't get the pleasure of meeting Marilyn and/or Bob, our email chatter was very pleasant.

The surrounding area is very quiet and perfect for relaxation. Local excitement is a short drive from the house. There are bus stops nearby but I am not sure how efficient the public transit system is. All I know about the buses is that your heart will stop the first few times one blows by you on a narrow, bumpy road at 3 times the speed of sound. The Crane resort is about 10 minutes away and Bridgetown is a quick shot up the highway. The benefit of not being in the middle of the busy bustle and lights of the nightlife is apparent the first time you crawl into bed and can hear only the waves outside the window.

I hope to return to Barbados in the coming years and I hope to open my suitcase again at this villa. A+ with a platinum record award for Teach N Song!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear J& S,
WOW!!! Many many thanks for such a wonderful review. You have touched on everything about this lovely island and villa location. You do paint quite a photo with your words. We can appreciate your comments about the buses. They are a tad scary. Many times we just pull over and stop because they are bigger. Best to let them have the right of way. Thank you so much for the A+ and the platinum record.. Awesome. We await your return to the little rock. Thank you so kindly for the few extra photos that have captured your feelings about this vacation. We shall post them shortly.Please do keep us in mind for your next vacation.
Sincerely,
Marilyn and Bob

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wouldn't Change a Thing!

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

In our search for the perfect honeymoon hideaway, we found "Teach n Song" and began emailing Marilyn and Bob. They were so friendly and quick to respond to the many questions we had. That played a big part in our decision, because they really made us feel comfortable about booking such an important trip. Upon arrival, things just got better. Bob and Marilyn were so good at explaining everything and gave us great advice for our stay. The house and pool were better than we imagined, and the view is breathtaking. I loved staying on this side of the island where it is more relaxing with a constant breeze to stay cool, and keep bugs away. Easy to take a short bus to go sightseeing or go find nightlife. The house was clean and maintained with maid service during our stay.

Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon or better people to rent from. We will be back, and we recommend this property to anyone for any occasion. Thanks foe the wonderful memories b

Dan and Laura

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Laura and Dan,
Many thanks for a great review. We were truly honoured to have you both at our villa for your honeymoon. We do have fun hosting our guests and try to treat them as we would like to be treated. We did have a fun day at the Crystal Waters Sunday Barbecue. So pleased that you also met some of our local friends too. We would be honoured to have you back to the villa, when you feel the time is right. Thanks for the memories.. isn't that a line from a song??HMMM!!!
Take care.
Marilyn and Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

There is nothing that we can say about this property that will fully explain how truly lovely it is!!! From the moment we secured the booking to the moment we left Bob and Marilyn were a dream come true. No one will try to make your stay more enjoyable, or help you plan a dream vacation more than Bob and Marilyn. Their helper Ena is truly in a class of her own!!! You won't find a more honest or beautiful person!!!!! The villa is more than you can explain in a description and pictures, you must experience how lovely it is in person to truly appreciate it's worth! As a couple who brought their two teenage boys we could not be more pleased! it is so much nicer to have your own place to return to each evening, without the hustle and bustle of a resort vacation! The pool was an amazing asset especially in the evening once we were in for the night!!

We can't say enough about Teach N Song, we will absolutely be back.......and would recommend the villa to anyone!!!!

Thanks again Bob, Marilyn and Ena, when we return we will have to have a repeat performance on dinner!!!!!!!!

(KAREN MISSES THE SUN!!!!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Blue-eyed Blondie !!
We are overwhelmed and almost speechless! Thank you for the kind thoughts and words not only about the villa, and us,but also about our helper Ena. We truly enjoyed hosting your family..espcially those great teenage sons and their most helpful dad. Even the waitress at the restaurant commented how lovely your family is.WE are the lucky ones.. thank you ever so much for choosing Teach'n'song. We are so pleased that the family holiday on Barbados at Villa Teach'n'song was as pleasant and as relaxing as you had wanted.
Thanks for coming. Looking forward to the DINNER!! The SUN is waiting for you!!
Sincerely,
Marilyn and Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best Vacation Rental House On The Island

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

“Teach n Song” is perhaps one of the most romantic rental homes on the island. The view from the private pool is breath taking, with the constant sound of the ocean crashing against the near 150 feet drop from the rock cliff off the back yard. At any given time you might gaze out and watch the sea turtles breaching the water’s surface for a breath of air. Where you can lie out all night long on the back patio and enjoy the warmth of the northeast breezes as they bend the coconut laden palm trees ever so gently. Dodge the heat of the Barbados sun in the pool uniquely designed into the back patio. Or spend the evening inside lounging around the spacious three bedroom, two bathroom house, with a sunken living room tastefully furnished, with wet bar, and Direct TV, also a large dining area and well stocked kitchen to service your daily cooking needs.
Enjoy conversations with the local people as if they have been your best friends for years. Feel free to drive the island with ease, for there is no getting lost in Barbados, as any locals will tell you “you can’t be lost, you’re in Barbados.” If you feel that you are lost though, just ask anyone, your comfort is their utmost concern. One must not miss out on the night life and excellent dining at Oistons fish market Saturday nights. The food is reasonable and the taste will be an experience not soon forgotten.
We visited the vary reasonably priced local grocery store nightly, to purchase our evening food and experience the local Barbados cuisine, such as, Mahi-Mahi, Red Snapper, Tuna, preparing it with the island’s classic Bajan style spices.
We can’t say enough about the top notch hospitality that we received from Bob and Marilyn prior to and throughout our stay in this very clean and well kept vacation home, which Ena, the house keeper has done such a great job with. They were very helpful and professional. A definite must for your next plans out of the country.
Steve and Jennifer

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Steve and Jennifer,
Many thanks for the very kind comments and compliments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your vacation on the island of Barbados and in particular at our cliff side villa ,Teach'n'Song. Your words sound as though you are writing a movie scene.. particulary when you mention the sounds, the sights, the flavours, the culture, the friends .
We do try to do our best for our guests. Thank you for chosing Teach'n'song.
As the line from the Tradewinds song says " Will you come back again when the sun is always outside your window??" we sure hope so!!
Marilyn and Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Soursop Search..Yummy!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

We did have an absolutely wonderful vacation!!! Thank you so much. I would love to come back.

Actually, I would love to live there!

Alas, we arrived safely home (Seattle weather ‘63 degree F’, rain & drizzle) with beautiful tans, souvenirs and luggage intact. Again, we had a wonderful vacation …….

I loved the house, location, pool, view, weather, people…can’t say enough.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Billion Dollar View

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

Marilyn and Bob’s villa in Ocean City is named Teach ‘N’ Song. It is not a million $ view…a billion $ view. It sits on the edge of the cliff and sound of the waves crashing is non-stop, and to me very soothing. The entire front of the home (when shutters are open) gives you a panoramic view of the palm trees swaying and the constantly changing blues of the ocean. In the morning I’d take my coffee out on the swimming pool deck and enjoy my privacy. The photos don’t do justice to the ambiance: the coral walls, ceramic floors, old beams, arches, sun lights, indoor garden and the overall cleanliness and supplies are exceptional. You can get away without a vehicle but I’d recommend one. I was concerned about no air-conditioning; the constant breeze up on the cliff satisfied me and a fan throughout the night. Two grocery stores are very close. The Crane resort is just 5 minutes away and one of the top ten beaches in the world and not a private beach. You can rent chairs and umbrellas just down from Crane’s guests and the man’s name is Ronnie and he is a gentleman and does not rip you off. NOW, about the owners, Bob & Marilyn…I cannot say enough about the thoroughness of instructions prior to arriving, and then the entire stay they were just down the road at their own home, in case you have a question or even more help. You want for nothing with these two amazing people. Their housekeeper Ena, is truly a lady, who does an excellent job. I WILL RETURN TO TEACH N SONG.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Lt and Brother B,
Wow!!!Many thanks for taking the time to write the wonderful comments and Praises. Right from the first phone call I knew that we clicked!! We try to practice the "GOLDEN Rule' and do unto others as we would have done to us. Truly our pleasure to meet and assist whenever possible, you and your friends. As the song by the Tradewinds says... Will you come back again when the sun is outside your window? will you drop me a line everynow and then and come back again? Looking forward to your return visit,not only to the island ,but also to our villa.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Holiday!

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

From the moment we started communicating with Marilyn and Bob, we knew that we had found reliable, friendly and honest hosts. The pictures do not do the view justice, you have to see it yourself to truly experience how awesome the natural landscape really is. The size of the house and all the amenities were more than we (my boyfriend and I) could have asked for. We were looking for a relaxing, quiet, scenic location to spend a week vacation. We walked to the grocery store and cooked all week, hardly ever leaving the property. However, with the close proximity of public transportation, we could have easily taken the bus to town or the more touristic areas, it's very easy to get around Barbados. Our hosts were very accomodating and eager to help us with any requests or information we had or needed. It was great to have lunch outside and take a dip in the pool in the afternoons. We would definitely stay at Teach'N'Song again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear BobbiNico, ..( L & N).. What a neat handle.. We truly appreciate your glowing review. Yes you are right ..from the first e-mail we did "connect" .We so appreciate that you were happy with the accommodations.You have no idea how happy you have made us. It was truly a pleasure meeting you both. We really try to place ourselves in the shoes of the guests to make their vacation enjoyable and memorable. Hopefully when you come back we can get out on the water together.Perhaps view the villa from a different angle.
Sincerely,
Marilyn and Bob,

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review