reviews for: listing #69477 - Cape May, New Jersey Hotel rental

Prince Edward Inn - 1 & 2 Bdrm Suites - 1/2 Block to Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Hotel
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $115 - $225 /nt
    $850 - $1,595 /wk

sort by:

Ideal location

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

I'm always suspicious of glowing reviews so, I never write them. No place is perfect. The Prince Edward is an old house with all the old house "charms". The fact that it was a re-purposed building (from home to vacation rentals) meant that the layout of the suite was a little odd. That's my only real issue with this place - and it's not that big of a problem. That aside, the owners have done just about everything they can to make it a comfortable place to stay. They've gone to a lot of trouble to maintain the "old house" look. Wallpaper, older looking decorations, etc... My wife didn't care for the look but I didn't mind it. They obviously put a lot of work and money into upkeep and improvements. The Jackson features a new kitchen with two burner stove, sink and a small refrigerator, a very nice quartz countertop, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and a few cabinets. It was adequately stocked with pots, pans, dishes, etc... Not a gourmet kitchen - but who cares? You don't come here to make gourmet meals. The bedrooms were large enough for my wife and I plus our two elementary school kids. The living room was fine. I might wish for some more comfortable chairs but the ones there were OK. The bathroom was a little tight - but, again. Who cares?

The outdoor showers are typical and a nice spot to clean off the sand. I found that I just did my daily showers down there when I got back from the beach- not just sand-off. The parking area is tight but adequate. Note that they HAVE a parking area. That fact alone is significant. We found it very easy to leave our sandy beach chairs, etc in the back of our vehicle on the way into the suite and pickup on the way out.

The two flights of steps up to the suite was a bit of a bummer at move-in and move-out.

Our suite overlooked Jackson St. It was a little loud at night for my taste but, bear in mind we live way back in the country. If you're used to that sort of thing, it may not bother you.

The BEST thing is the location. Very easy walk to the beach. Just off the Washington St. Mall (great place for restaurants and shopping).

Overall, I would definitely say that I was satisfied with Prince Edward. I would consider returning if we would be looking for that type of situation again. My wife and I are more used to the luxuries of a B&B. We'll be heading further south for family vacations (OBX) and may only come back to Cape May for couples weekend getaway back at our B&Bs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a five night stay at the Prince Edward in the Ocean Suite and we truly enjoyed our time there. Our apartment was so clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The wrap around front porch is perfect for watching all of the action on Jackson Street and the location to the beach and Washington Street Mall can't be beat. The owner Renee was more than hospitable and helpful especially when we locked ourselves out of our apartment and she was available in the matter of minutes to get us back in! We cannot wait to go back!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Toes in the Sand Therapy "

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

I spent a weekend at The Prince Edward Inn to relax and rejuvenate before summer began and the kids were out of school. Renee has a beautiful home !! We had many a nice conversation and I really enjoyed sitting on the porch swing with a martini and watching the people go by. Her home was just what I needed and perfect location between the beach and shopping...2 of my favorite places to go. Cape May is a beautiful town with as much or as little to do as you would like and I look forward to staying at the Prince Edward Inn again next year for my weekend away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

High Marks for The Prince Edward

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

My Husband, 20 year old daughter and myself stayed at the Prince Edward recently and had a lovely time.The accomodations were very clean and comfortable and alot of extras were provided. We were in the 3rd floor apartment, which was very cozy and provided plenty of room and privacy for all of us.
Renee and Bob have a beautiful wrap-around porch that is a wonderful place to sit and read and watch people coming and going from the beach (1/2 block away). The porch swing quickly became my daughters favorite place to sit and read before going out to dinner.
We brought our bicycles with us and had a great time biking all over Cape May and were happy to discover that the town has extensive bicycle lanes running along many of the roadways. Renee and Bob have a very large garage on the property that is a great place for storing your bikes and beach equipment when you are not using them.
There is alot to do in Cape May! We were worried our 20 year old would get bored but, she had a great time going to the beach, shopping at the Washington Street Mall (1/2 block away and full of very unique shops and restaurants, including a very nice bookstore), bicycling to the lighthouse and trying out the numerous restaurants with us. Cape May has a very extensive Nature Conservacy program and they have different activities going on all day, every day. We went on a bird walk one morning and saw 10 Great Blue Herons! We were also very lucky to be in Cape May for the 4th of July - my husband and I have not seen such a beautiful firework display in years. It is fun to just walk around town viewing all of the different B & B's - they all look like they came out of the pages of a Victorian novel with their beautiful gardens and colorful gingerbread trims. We actually only used our car once the entire week, to go to the Cape May Zoo which was a nice morning trip.
Renee and Bob are very helpful and accomodating. If you need a restaurant suggestion, or directions how to get somewhere they are very happy to help. I only have good things to say about our stay at The Prince Edward -we liked it so much we have already booked the same week for next year. We used to go to the Outer Banks every summer but found that there is much more to do in Cape May without the long drive to get there (we are from upstate NY). It is a great place for families who like to do a variety of things or just sit on the beach and relax watching the dolphins.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Perfect Location!

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

My family (4 adults and 1 baby) stayed at the Prince Edward Inn for Memorial Day weekend. We had such a good time. Renee was warm and welcoming and made us feel at home. She was even excited by the fact that we were traveling with our baby daughter. The house was a lovely Cape May Victorian inn. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Jackson suite. It was the perfect size for us (2 bedrooms, 3 beds, living room with fridge, microwave and range, and bathroom) and the beds were very comfortable. The location on Jackson street couldn't have been more convienient - 1 block from the beach and restaurants in one direction and 1 block from the shops and more restaurants in the other direction. That being said, the best activity after a long day on the beach had to be sitting in a rocking chair on the Inn's front porch and watching the people go by. I highly recommend checking out this little gem. We hope to be back next summer!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The Perfect Location!

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

My family (4 adults and 1 baby) stayed at the Prince Edward Inn for Memorial Day weekend. We had such a good time. Renee was warm and welcoming and made us feel at home. She was even excited by the fact that we were traveling with our baby daughter. The house was a lovely Cape May Victorian inn. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Jackson suite. It was the perfect size for us (2 bedrooms, 3 beds, living room with fridge, microwave and range, and bathroom) and the beds were very comfortable. The location on Jackson street couldn't have been more convienient - 1 block from the beach and restaurants in one direction and 1 block from the shops and more restaurants in the other direction. That being said, the best activity after a long day on the beach had to be sitting in a rocking chair on the Inn's front porch and watching the people go by. I highly recommend checking out this little gem. We hope to be back next summer!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for a sister get together!

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

My sisters (3) and I stayed here in the big upstairs room and loved it. Renee is a great hostess, the location is perfect, room was clean and we could not have asked for a better place for 3 nights. The walk up the stairs did not bother us at all, and we liked the little deck in back. We had a room with a fridge, kitchen area, sofa, chairs, table to play games. Then we had 2 bedrooms, with queen size beds, plus one twin. We made a daily trip to the beach, ate out, walked to the harbor and lighthouse. If you like to dance, there is a place just down the street by the beach, and luckily we crashed an "older" brides wedding party there so we were not the oldest ones there, as we are in our mid 40's++. Cape May has lots to offer for everyone. There was room for our chairs, bikes and 1 car. Would definitely return. If you are sensitive to sounds, you might not like being right downtown, but we loved it.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review