reviews for: listing #69523 - Lake Winnipesaukee, New Hampshire House rental

Crystal Clear Sandy Waterfront Beach and 40' Dock
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Moultonboro, NH
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $499 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Best Family Week Away!

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

My family and I decided to stay local for the first half of our 2 1/2 week vacation. Because my husband and I love the lake, we decided to rent a place on Lake Winnipesauke. I looked at a few online, until I came to this particular location. After reading all the reviews, I knew it was the one. Let me just tell you, that was the BEST decision we ever made!
The house is perfect. Everything you'd think a lake house in the summer should be. Cozy and inviting. Outside was just take your breathe away gorgeous! I honestly never wanted to leave. Every morning, my husband and I would take our coffee outside and sit in front of the water and listen to the loons and watch a few ducks. One duck actually came right up to us! One morning, I saw a minx scatter across the front of the beach in front of me, another afternoon we saw a Bald Eagle soaring in the sky, another day I saw a black bear cross the road as I was coming back from the store (not the road the house is on..) and then to top it off, we had a random peacock that was visiting our yard! So much beauty all around that many just don't get the opportunity to experience.
Jayen the owner was an absolute doll! She had everything all ready for us. The house was spotless with lots of restaurant and shopping suggestions NEtly placed in a basket. There were floats and life jackets readily available. Anything you can think of that you might want was already there! We had a fire pit with the first nights wood provided, along with marshmallow roasting sticks already there. WHO DOES THAT?? So absolutely awesome!! I can seriously just go on and on about how fantastic this place is. I can not wait to go again next year!! If you're reading this, and are considering renting, all I can say is do it. You will be so happy you did!
(Jayne, I hope you were able to locate the owner of the poor lost peacock) :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

bringing back memories on the Lake

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

The cottage was clean and very comfortable. It had all the necessities to make our vacation a pleasant one. The sandy beach and Crystal clear water and spectacular sunsets were a treat. Jayne gave us direction to bring our 21 ft boat into their new dock which made it easy to leave and return with ease. It was also easy to kayak from the sandy shore. Our granddaughter from Texas really enjoyed the week she learned how her grandfather and Aunt Bette spent many summer's working at the family marina on the Lake and that her great grandfather built many cottages. To sum up we all had a wonderful time. The cottage and location is perfect for any family young or old.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

summer vacation by the lake

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We had a wonderful week in this house by the lake. It was clean with all the essential furnishings. There was very little reason to leave the house except to do routine shopping 15 mins away. It was relaxing and trouble-free. We highly recommend the rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Vacation on beautiful Lake Winnipesaukee

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation with spectacular sunsets, then this is the place for you! This was our second time staying here, and we made sure to book next years trip before we left! The house is in a quiet cove just far enough away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to enjoy it if you so choose. When we get there Saturday, we don't leave. We ate out once just to change it up a bit. Jayne, the owner, goes above and beyond to make your stay as awesome as possible. The house is the cleanest rental I've ever stayed in. It is equipped with everything you could possible need and then there are the extra's. They have floats, life vests, a canoe and a row boat for their guests to enjoy. She lives right next door and is always offering her personal things if we find we are missing something. They updated the bathroom last year making it larger. When we left, she asked for our suggestions to make the cottage better. Seriously, who does that?! Now about the beach! The beach is very big and the water is crystal clear. There is a gradual decline, so it is perfect for my two year old. There is also a very large lawn between the house and the beach. I can't say enough great things about this vacation home and the owner's!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Absolutely perfect for little ones.

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have rented here. Our three small children couldn't stop talking about this place last year after we left that we had to come back. Our children's ages are 6 year old twins and a seven year old. The property is perfect for them. There is a great leveled grassed backyard where the kids can run around, the beach has a nice area of sand for them to play in and make sand castles, the entry to the water has a gradual decline past the dock so they can walk for a good distance with out the water going over their head, they like to jump off the dock and this year they were comfortable enough to swim/walk out to the rock and jump off that. There is a rowboat and canoe on the property for you to use, which my husband would use to take the kids out fishing. There are nice lawn chairs in the back yard as well as a picnic table with umbrella and a fire pit we enjoyed roasting marshmallows! There is a gas grill on the property as well.The kids enjoyed their room as it has a bunk bed and a full size bed, and they would take turns every night sleeping in a different bed. The owners renovated the bathroom making it a bit bigger since our last stay which made it a lot easier with the kids than before. The location is perfect, quiet enough for a relaxing week yet close enough to shopping if need be. If there was anything negative about this property, it would be no AC, but plenty of fans through out to make you comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome !!!!!

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

2nd time renting this house. Jayne(the Owner)
Did a great job Remodeling the bathroom, the shower is now larger.
The house has everything you could need.
The location is private, but everything is a short drive away.
If your a into fishing you can catch bass off and under the dock.
Great view of the Sunset. Bring your camera.
This is an A+ place to stay and get away from it all.
Rent it and have FUN no work allowed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great time again this year. While none of our guests ever complained in the past, the enlarged and remodeled bathroom will be enjoyed by everyone who stays with us this season, and will really be appreciated by all our returning guests! We hope to see you again next season at the Lake!

Jayne
Cottage Owner

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My family and I have a difficult time finding vacation spots because my oldest daughter is severely disabled. We found this cottage two years ago and it's heaven! It's clean and very comfortable! My kids love it because there is always something to do. Swimming all day, canoeing, fishing out on the row boat, or just being lazy on the beach. It is exteremely accessible for the wheelchair to get around in. The yard is perfect for my daughter! She likes to sit right out on the beach and watch the boats go by and just enjoy watching the family being silly in the water. We are also able to take her into the lake with no problem because the water is shallow out to the buoys and there is plenty of room to play.
And for our rainy days, there is plenty of shopping and other fun things to do in the area. We are never bored! I can't say enough about how much we love going to the cottage!
The landlords are sweethearts! They live right next door to the cottage and are there if we ever need anything! We just booked our vacation for this summer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

This was our first time vacationing on Lake Winnipesaukee and it more than met our expectations. The cottage was clean and located in a quiet neighborhood. The owners made sure we felt welcome and had everything we needed. Having a waterfront with a dock was the best part of our vacation. The owners supplied tubes and floats and we were able to get right into the water upon the moment of arrival. The shallow sandy slope of the shoreline was refreshing and fun for all ages. We loved sitting by the shore dipping our feet in the water and having lunch. The moutain views and sunsets were amazing! The location was great and a short drive away from outlets malls and local tourist attractions. I have to say I left relaxed and refreshed when leaving at the end of the week. I would recomend this for anyone seeking a quiet back to basics vacation away from the stress of work and modern technology.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful getaway

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

The cottage was exactly what we were looking for. We were there at the end of the season and found the area to be extremely quiet and peaceful. The owner provided recommendations not only for restaurants, but her favorite menu items as well. We visited two and gave both a big thumbs up.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Calm and Very Relaxing

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

We decided last minute to get away for a week and are so happy that we did. The pictures show the cottage very accurately and it is very clean. There are so many little extras (boats, floats, firewood, puzzles, cards, lots of area info, etc.) that made the house feel very comfortable and homey. The outdoor area is as good as you get anywhere--what a spot! We will return if at all possible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Location On the Lake!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

My Husband and I have stayed on Lake Winnipesaukee for over 10 years, we have stayed basically everywhere on the Lake., Merideth, Alton bay, Wolfboro, Moultonboro etc.

I have to say this cottage is by far the best Location you could ask for.
Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the lake but close enough to all of it when your in the mood for adventure. I cannot explain the spectacular views and amazing lake water. You have your own private little beach, that's huge for this lake, no mucky water nice and clear and shallow, my family and I just love playing water frisbi! It is the perfect getaway for either a couple or a family we have stayed here twice once with our family and this last time just us.

This cottage is now officially the cottage we will continue to rent as long as we can no more searching for the perfect spot on the lake this is it!

Jayne the owner is amazing very sweet,extremely helpful and informative.

Until Next Year!!!
Thanks
South Shore,MA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family vacation.

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Great cottage on Lake Winnie. We have two children ages 4 and 6 and this was the perfect vacation spot for us all. Amazing beachfront property for swimming, boating and fishing. We had a great time and were sad to see our week end.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great summer

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

My family and I were very pleased with this property. The location was quiet, with a great shallow beach for the kids. I brought the boat with us and had no problems with the docking. The water was always calm as its in a protected cove area. The owner was great. She was very friendly and helpful. The house was clean and alot larger than I thought. There was a store nearby that was quite handy. The kids loved the firepit for smores. All the comforts you need but out of the way enough to be peaceful. I will most likely rent this location again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great beach, privacy

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

My family stayed here August 2012 for a week, 4 adults and 2 children. We had a great week, plenty of room in the cottage and the beach and water was the best I have ever seen on the lake. The pictures are accurate and the house is well equipped. Everything was clean and in order. The onners were great. Lots to do in the area. A great place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Relaxing

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

This was our first vacation in a couple of years. It was everything we were looking for, peaceful, private, our own beach in the back yard. Didn't have to pack everyone and everything to go to the beach for the day, just open the door and your there. The dock was perfect for our kids to jump off and a great little clean area of sand for them to play in. The water has a slow,gradual decline that our kids (ages 5 & 6) could walk the length of the dock and then some and the water was still not over their heads.We all had a great time and it was over before we knew it and no one wanted to go home.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

This is the first time I rented a vacation cottage on the Internet.
Like you, I was nerves and skeptical about doing a transaction this way.
With the fraud you hear about on to web and the amount of money you could lose.

Rest assure these are two down to earth people whom live right next door to the rental.
They give a 100 and 10 percent to make sure your stay is as comfortable as can be.

The house has much more in it than mentioned in the ad, lots of pots & pans, utensils,
coffee maker, toaster oven, fridge, gas stove, wireless Internet, plenty of pick-nick tables
and outdoor furniture and more.

First vacation in years, had a great relaxing week ,and I'm going to book the cottage again next year.

Do your self a favor and rent this place, you wont regret it. A+

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Amazing weekend at the Lake!!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

I booked this rental for myself and four others, and the accomodations were perfect for us. Upon arrival the lake house was very clean, with helpful map guides and local information booklets left for us at the table. The lakehouse owner was very understanding in that we would be arriving late from driving for 5 hours to get there, so arrangements were easily and conveniently made for us to arrive with no troubles.

What a beautiful view of the lake to wake up to! The house is literally steps from the clearwater, sandy lakefront. Everything we needed to enjoy this stay was provided for, from bbq grill and firepit, to the canoe and rowboat. We are all between the ages of 22-25, and can say that it was a perfect getaway for us. We bbq'd and lounged all day on the sandy beach, and watched the beautiful sunset as we sat by the firepit at night. The backyard was quite private and a nice size.

The location of the lakehouse was convenient as well, almost hidden on a long wooded road, but less than ten minutes from a market (Jo Jo's) that has everything you would ever need. Although we did not go into town for dinner during our stay (we bbq'd and cooked at the house), the owner had many good dining suggestions which were all nearby and sounded amamzing!

I can honestly say that I have nothing negative to say about our stay at this rental. The owner was more than kind to us and answered any questions that we had. The rental was very clean and had everything we needed and more. I would definately suggest this lakehouse to anyone, and plan on coming back next summer with my nephews. Enjoy your stay here, as we did very much!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!!

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

Wonderful, Wonderful time. For the price, it could not be beat for 7 days. Cottage was very clean, and it is in a very quiet location. Had no problems except,could not pick up wireless in the cottage, had to go out to the edge of the water. The water is clear for at least 300 ft. that's as far as i swam out. I could always see the bottom. I look forward to visiting again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Rest and Relaxation at Last

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

This experience was an unexpected surprise. The pictures we saw before we rented were enticing but when we pulled up to the cottage and walked into the screened-in porch we were welcomed with a feeling that took us back to the time when we were kids in the 1960's and things were simpler. We made our way across the screened-in porch and opened the jalousie windowed door that led to the backyard. When we stepped out onto the wooden landing our breath was taken away. The view of the mountains sprinkled with homes peeking out from towering pines all reflected in a sparkling lake was way more than we could take in on such short notice. Our two children, ages ten and six ran excitedly for the water and were so surprised to find that it was clear and warm. We spent our week taking lazy trips in the row boat, fishing, swimming, playing cards and getting back to the basics. We enjoyed visiting the nearby towns and exploring the area. The hostess and host were wonderful. Well worth the 7 hour car trip!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ladies Getaway

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

This location is beautiful, wonderful views, yard, grass and beach! The beds were okay for sleeping. Friends from Meredith came over by boat and loved the home and views. They are talking about having people they know renting next year. Wish the weather all week was perfect but loved our stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun with the Grankids

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Had a wonderful time! Beautiful beach and views. Thank you!
Kevin & Peg Corbett and grandkids

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, quiet spot for a relaxing vacation

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

What a great spot for a relaxing family vacation! Very private with a nice sandy beach area which was perfect for swimming and just floating on floats in the sun. Kids had a fantastic time swimming, fishing and playing catch in the shallow water. Quiet neighborhood and the cove makes the area nice for chilling in the water and just enjoying life! The living accomidations were what we were looking for as we didnt plan to spend too much time indoors. Hosts were very nice and took care of any issues that came up quickly. I'd definitely reccomend to anyone looking for a nice get away with their family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Wonderful Week at Winnipesaukee

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful cottage the week of July 4th with our three young children ages 7, 5, & 4. Everything was clean and in good working order. The living room is very homey with a spectacular view of the lake. We would arise early before the children just to have a cup of coffee with that beautiful view!
The screened porch was large and airy and the children colored and played board games there at night to catch the nice lake breezes. The property really is perfect for small children with the large backyard and the clean, sandy, and very shallow water just perfect for the safety of our kids. The town of Moultonboro is very quaint with a wonderful general store, the Fourth of July parade felt like a little piece of Americana right out of a Norman Rockwell print! Our host was very accomodating and always available should we have any questions. We would definitely consider returning to this nice and quiet little peace of Winnipesaukee!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring Stay

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

We couldn't be happier with our stay! The cottage was very clean and just as described in the ad. We have 3 small children (4, 3 and 9 months), so safety in the cottage and the waterfront was very important to us. Both were great. The water was very gradual, perfect for the kids. They especially loved the screened in sun porch. The owner, Jayne, was very accomodating with us and is nearby if you need her (though not infringing on our privacy, a great combination!). We took the canoe out and caught a couple nice smallmouth bass! There's a great country store down the road that carries anything you might need-very convenient. I would definitely recommend staying here, I know that we'll be back!

Frank & Kimberly Landers
Stoneham, MA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Relaxing Summer Getaway

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Last summer my wife and I decided to take a one week getaway with our three children to Lake Winnipesaukee and decided to rent this cottage upon seeing it on this site. We decided to rent it for one week. This was beginning of a fantastic family vacation. The Cottage though small with two bedrooms and one bath was still plenty of space for two adults and three kids. The Cottage has a great screened in porch overlooking the lake and we even slept in it for a couple of nights! We watched beautiful sunsets over the lake from the front yard. We brought our 30' boat and were able to dock it with plenty of space and the glow in the dark cleats come in handy if you are coming in late at night! The Cottage also comes with a row boat and canoe which made for fun mornings rowing and fishing with our three children. The beach was sandy, gradual and perfect for both our small children ages 5 and 8, but also our oldest son age 16 enjoyed it to. The Cottage is also in a secluded area with plenty of trees and is perfect for a midday nap. Also there is free WIFI which was very convenient for taking care of the occasional work that came up. Overall my family and I had a fantastic time renting this cottage and look forward to renting it again this summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Charming older cottage on tremendous lakefront property. The cottage is old but very neat and clean. The yard is large and great for BBQ's, sunbathing and family games. Waterfront is ideal! Sandy without any muck and very gradual for children swimming. The neighborhood is private and primarily second homes. Love this place, very good value for price paid. Lots of great restaurants and attractions nearby. Property is fairly secluded. We will definitely rent again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Charming older cottage on tremendous lakefront property. The cottage is old but very neat and clean. The yard is large and great for BBQ's, sunbathing and family games. Waterfront is ideal! Sandy without any muck and very gradual for children swimming. The neighborhood is private and primarily second homes. Love this place, very good value for price paid. Lots of great restaurants and attractions nearby. Property is fairly secluded. We will definitely rent again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review