reviews for: listing #69552 - Charlestown, Rhode Island House rental

Beautiful Home on Ninigret Salt Pond
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,500 - $4,250 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful home on Ninigrit Pond

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

Just came home from a great week at this home. The house is gorgeous! So many beautiful things about it but I think the best was the deck. It is huge, overlooks Ningrit and is made of what looked like Travertine tile. It is fully equipped with grills, lounge chairs and table an chairs. We spent every evening out there. The bedrooms are comfortable, the living space was large and easily accommodated our family of 8. There is complete privacy - it's open and airy with the breezes flowing through all day. There is an outdoor shower that I also loved with hot water!!

We brought our boat and spent everyday exploring Ninigrit Pond and going to the beach across from the Charlestown Breachway. This is an area where boaters and kayakers go.

We all had a great time and hope to rent again next summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT HOUSE,AREA,LOCATION AND NIEGHBORS

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

I cannot say enough good about this house.spent a month, had a delightful time. The sunsets and the view from the deck are world class. Everything was wonderful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic time enjoying the Ocean in Charlestown RI

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Brian and Kelley’s home on Ninigret Pond is very special. Our family had a fantastic time throughout the week as the large private patio, spacious yard for family events, quick access to many great RI beaches, enjoying the salt pond every day and the new professionally done dock for our boat couldn’t have been a better combination for what we like to do. The views looking over the salt pond and miles of Conservation Land leading to the ocean front is priceless. The sunsets, the night stars and the planet Venus which greeted us every night in the southwest sky around a warm fire was just awesome. I know most cottages have outdoor showers but this one was very spacious with unlimited hot water! For those who have a boat or would rent one for the week, this property brings you many more options to enjoy the ocean and salt pond. Going to many different areas of the pond to swim or walk the flats, to the barrier beach, clamming, visiting the Oyster farmers for fresh oysters whenever you want and fishing on the ocean front to Block Island (which is only 10 miles away) was outstanding! The interior of the home had everything you need and the pictures show how clean and nice the home is. If what I described is a vacation you’re looking for then don’t hesitate to book this home for your next vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Ninigret Style

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We loved our stay in this home. Originally from MA we still have many friends and family in the area and our 2 week stay is an ongoing reunion! Most times there were 7-8 adults staying and though this house was 1000 sq ft smaller than our prior rental we all had plenty of room for socializing or to duck into numerous nooks for a quiet read. The house is made for entertaining --- lots of platters, good pots and pans and wine glasses.
The dock is very sturdy ! My cousins were able to pull up in their boats and haul the gang to the great sandbar just opposite the property. We also rented a pontoon and docked it there as well. We lucked out with gorgeous weather and soaked it all in on the beautiful, spacious patio with numerous seating areas!
The wildlife including a large family of woodchucks was fun to watch. We weren't crazy about the droppings of the 30-40 geese that visited the lawn nightly but it was a sight to see!
Brian and Kelley were responsive to any of our requests. We certainly appreciated the opportunity to stay in their home and hope to do so again next year.
The only downside was the mosquito bites --- the winter was a wet one and they were out in force in the early morning and evening. Memo for next year--- be sure to apply repellent before that early morning coffee on the patio.
We live less than a mile from a gorgeous beach in Southern California; but our Rhode Island trips are just so special we will keep coming as long as we can!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great spot for all ages

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Great house and property. The view was awesome, we never even went out for dinner because we didn't want to miss the sunsets. I've rented many beach houses over the years from Cape Cod to Delaware and this was definetly one of the best equipped. We loved kyacking ,fishing from the dock and playing catch on the huge lawn with the grandchildren.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We rented this house for a mini family reunion and it worked out great. Plenty of space for everyone. We had 7 adults, a toddler, and an infant and the house didn't seem crowded at all. Good bakery not to far away and the proximity to the beach was perfect. Great view from the living and dining areas looking out on the water.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Spot, Clean and comfortable

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

My family and I recently stayed at this home. What a great spot. Ninigret Pond and the beaches in this area are fantastic. The location of this home is great. Pond front with some of the best views on the pond. The home was great. Tastefully and comfortably renovated with everything you would need for a vacation. Brian, the owner was very accomodating and made us feel at home. It's difficult to find a good rental property, trust me we have had many bad ones. This is not one of them. It is spacious, comfortable and clean..............

Thanks for the great stay Brian.

We'll definitely be back

David

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great views, peacful, nice fireplace, clean , great yard for playing catch with the dog!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

My husabnd and I where very happy with the accomodations, the pictures do not do it justice and the views are spectacular....the home has a great fireplace and plenty of wood, it is contemperary but with a hint of antique and seaside furnishings...3 of the bedrooms are at other end of house, perfect for the kids or extended family....the king master has there own 1/2 bath in the hall. Large bright stocked kitchen, however no microwave, which we did not miss! The kitchen/dining room and living room all face the water and are bright and sunny,..Plenty of DVD's/books.The description is accurate and the owners are friendly and helpful. The Cove resturaunt...2 pizza palours...Dunkins..mini market...deli..ice cream stand..chinese...gas.. all 3 min away. The Charlestown beach parking lot is 1 mile...and the breachway 1.5. The house is located at end of 2 dirt roads. Great yard with spring flowers in blum, but our Lab loved the fact that he had more than enought room run around and he slept good!! The living room and hall with 3 bedrooms has tan burber carpet so if you bring a dog be careful of that as the back door to deck is off living room....the kitchen/formal dining/master have wood/tile floors. This is a great location for pets and children as it is very safe and secluded from traffic. The home is in an area of other homes but it is a very quiet location. The outside deck also has a firepit which we used.....it gets very very dark at night...the peepers with the moon/stars over the water is a welcome change from city living. Also, we tried kayaking (they provide the kyaks/paddles) my arms are sore but I would do it again...you see all sorts of wildlife and horseshoe crabs etc. We also drove to Point Judith and Scarbourough beach (about 25 min)...Newport maybe 45 min. Misquamicut beach approx 25min as well. We would love to go back again....we had no complaints about the property and had a chance to get some interesting history from a neighboor.,including a house that was washed ashore during the hurrican years ago. The place is just very pleasant and I would recomend it to anyone. There is also and outside shower for those interested in that. For parents info, there is only "one" TV in the livingroom.,which may be a good or bad thing, and the shower has a hot and cold knobs, so takes a bit to get use to. It is truly a pleasant home....and will go back again. I can't say enough nice things about this rental.....if you want views and peace you will find here.!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review