reviews for: listing #69561 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Condo rental

Stay, Above the Clouds, Free WiFi, Fabulous Views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  High Chalet
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $100 /nt
    $700 - $700 /wk

sort by:

Great get away

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

Arrived from Chicago on way to Florida. We stayed in Above the Clouds for two nights. This place was great. The road up was an adventure in itself! The views were beautiful. The place was very clean and roomy. The loft was kind of warm but a fan was in closet that helped. We only stayed two nights but would go back for more!!! Decorated cute and had everything you need!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental!

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

We had a a wonderful time staying in this three bedroom condo! It had all the amenities of home!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As close to Heaven as it gets

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

LOVED this place!~ Everything was just as the pic and description stated. The view is simply AMAZING and it's perfect to watch the sun rise. U can see the sky lift at night, too. The condo was super clean, cozy, and we felt right at home. The owners are EXCELLENT!~ Answered all my questions and were very helpful. We will most definitely book this place again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

The unit was very clean and homey. What you see in the pictures is exactly how the condo is. Maintenance came by to make sure everything was in working order. The master bed slept great. The full size bed in the extra bedroom was very hard. My only complaint is the many winding roads getting to the unit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful view

Review submitted: November 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

I been coming to the Smokies since I was a little girl. This condo has the most beautiful view I have ever seen. I got up early and took a picture of the sun rise, it was breathtaking! Thanks for letting us stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time!

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

Our family of 6 had a great time in your condo and was glad we all had space to spread out a little. Definitely a nice place to stay for a really great rate. Thanks for sharing your place with us! :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous views

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

My family and I stayed at this condo and we absolutely loved it. The views are fabulous. The condo was very comfortable and clean. The owners Smitty & Nancy was very nice and a pleasure to deal with. We are already planning our trip back to Above the Clouds.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed your condo

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed your condo. The view was just spectacular. I don't think there is anything higher. Your unit was very comfortable. I think we will want to do this again sometime in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truthfully accurate description

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

This place looked exactly as the pictures it was neat & clean & the view was lovely.I would have gave a 5 star review had someone not entered the condo while my family & I were out enjoying the town.I was not informed ahead of time & the only reason I found out was because I noticed something out of place when we returned.I feel a yearly maintenance issue should have been tended to on a day when no one was renting the condo.This is one of the main reasons I rented from VRBO was for the privacy of not having someone entering where my belongings are & feeling secure with not having to lug around a lot of things that could stay at the condo.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words about our home. We apologize about the yearly maintenance being performed during your stay. Smitty and I were not informed that the home owners association was going to do maintenance on the fireplace, if we had known we certainly would have told you about it. We will discuss this with our home owners association. Thank you very much for staying with us, we hope to hear from you again soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly Above the Clouds

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Staying at this condo was exactly as described. It has a beautiful view and is truly above the clouds. Very clean and well maintained. My family and I loved everything about this condo. I'm glad we stayed in this condo instead of staying in downtown Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge it was just far enough away to be very peaceful and scenic. No loud cars or people going by as they would have if you had been downtown. We went to the Titanic Museum and would highly recommend visting there. We went to the Mellow Mushroom, Alamo Steakhouse and the Pancake Pantry to eat and would recommend those as well. We also visited the Moonshine Distillery and did a taste testing. Overall great vacation and would plan on staying in this condo again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

Thanks for sharing your condo - we had a wonderful time! Everything was great! Loved sitting on the balcony drinking my coffee looking at the mountains and enjoying the peacefulness of it all.

Will keep you in mind for future visits and will be sure to pass your name along to any friends needing a nice place to stay in the hills!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Away from it all

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

this was a very nice place. it was quiet, peaceful and the view was beautiful. enough room for all and clean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

Thank you so very much for such a wonderful place.
It snowed on Saturday and made it a picture perfect from the condo.
We all had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 11-13

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

Loved it here, beautiful view. Far enough out of the way but close to everything. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 21-26, 2012

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Our stay was wonderful and the view was spectacular! While here we did Dixie Stampede, horseback riding, white water rafting, putt putt golf and shopping. We also did the roaring fork motor tour, the kids enjoyed stopping off at the stream and playing in the water, great photos! The best part was seeing a momma bear and her 3 cubs from our front & back balconies play, romp and eat off a nearby bush!! The momma & one baby even looked inside our van. Lots of great photos and vidoes of the bears which seem to be very tame.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oct 13-15, 2012

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Our Family enjoyed spending our stay in your condo. The veiw was spectacular and the condo itself was comfortable for the five of us. It was a relaxing fall break.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dec 29 - Jan 1

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

We will be your first guest of 2013. We love the condo, just like we love these mountains. We love coming here year after year. You have a beautiful home here. My Grandson comes with us every year for the new year, this time we had all our grandkids and they loved it. Hope to come up here again. We saw snow and that was very exciting for them. Happy New Year! War Eagle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place, highly recommended!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

This was a great place to stay, well maintained, everything worked (we didn't use the fireplace), clean and well decorated. I had three kids in tow, ages 15 to 7 and each one of them loved it too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We had a great time! Beautiful view! We even seen a family of bears. We were a family of 7 and had plenty of room.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Above the clouds

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

I would just like to say thanks for having such a nice place for a family to stay at!! This condo has nearly everything you would need for a week stay. I would hope when someone stays here they get to I on the balcony when it rains!!!! I have never heard the rain from above the trees it is totally awesome!!! I have never heard anything like that before quiet romantic!! There is wild life everywhere we had the opportunity to see a bear and a coyotee. While our neighbor seen 7 bears!! I would recommend this condo to anyone wether it be a couple or a family it's totally awesome!!! I will be returning on my next vacation to Gatlinburg.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Above the clouds

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

I must say this was an awesome place to stay! Very quiet and clean. The condo it self has nearly everything a family might need for a stay. The pool area is just a short distance and was very nice. The beds are awesome and very comfortable,

I found out something I never knew before our trip! It started to rain one night and my wife and I was on the balcony, and I had never heard rain hit the leaves when your above them! It really does sound different when your above a forest.

While there bears are present we did see one while the neighbor we had seen seven, On our third night while my wife was on the balcony she saw a coyotee. So the wildlife is present and very fun to watch!! Just remind yourself it is wildlife and treat it as such, and enjoy it!

I will recommend this condo to a couple or a family any time. When my family and friends go on vacation I am going to reccomend the to Above The Clouds, and will be returning here in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Marina New Berlin WI

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

When Smitty said the place was on top of the mountain he was not kidding. Beautiful views and accurate description of the condo. Everything was clean and there was plenty of room for our family. We saw more bears around the condo and going up and down the mountain than we did while exploring the park! This was our first trip to the area and we'd absolutely stay again. Very quiet area. Volunteer Pizza down the mountain is very good and they deliver!!! :) Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Your condo is beautiful, thank you both for allowing us to be here. I will recommend it to all my friends. It is peaceful and make us feel like at home. I'm glad smitty had to do some work for us so that we met and found this wonderful place to spend our honeymoon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Above the Clouds is an incredible place to stay!

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

I am taking a return trip to Above the Clouds this weekend and I am so excited. The view is incredible and the condo itself makes you feel so at home. The owners have made sure any comfort you are normally used to is available, the decorating is tastefully done, and it is extremely clean. If you have children they will love the loft area with twin beds and you still have 2 bedrooms available for the adults. The pool, hot tubs and game room are a definite plus for the kids, the peace, quiet, and view are a hit for the adults that just need to get away from it all! I highly recommend Above the Clouds and the price is extremely reasonable for the quality and comfort you are being offered. The owners are a joy to deal with and we will definitely make Above the Clouds our return vacation spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Visit from Florida

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

We just returned from our stay at Above the Clouds condo in Gatlinburg, TN. We thoroughly enjoyed the condo, it was in close proximity to the ski slopes and attractions. The view was wonderful. The condo was very clean and fully equip with everything needed for an enjoyable stay. The owners were a pleasure to deal with, very friendly and helpful. If we return to Tennessee we will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family trip

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

My family and I stayed at the condo and had a wonderful time. Plenty of room for our family. The description and photos are accurate. It was everything that we had hoped for plus more. The pool and hots were wonderful after a long day strolling Gatlinburg. The kids enjoyed the game room equip with some board games. We even got to see a bear on the way to the condo one afternoon. This was our son and his family first time to Galtinburg and they totally enjoyed it. The owners were super friendly, and very pleasant to talk to. We did not find the road up to the condo bad and we have a surburban. We will be returning back to this place when we go to the smokies. We would recommend Gatlinburg and Above The Clouds to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Above the Clouds

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

My family and I just got back from our first time visiting Gatlinburg Tn. It was wonderful. We had a great time.
The condo was everything we had hoped it would be. Plenty of room for the 5 of us. Very clean and up to date.The pool and hot tub was an added treat. Great view of the Smoky Mountains from the balcony. Owners of this property were very friendly and accommodating. When I decide to visit Gatlinburg again I will definitely stay here again as well as recommend this condo to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Condo in the Mountains

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Our family just returned from a week vacation in the Smokey Mountains. The "Above the Clouds" condo we rented for the week was perfect! It was right between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge so we had easy access to everything. The 2 bedrooms with the loft was really nice for the 4 adults and 3 kids. The views were beautiful. The condo was nicely equipped and clean. We really emjoyed the large pool and 2 hot tubs. A relaxing dip in the hot tub after a long day of hiking in the mountains was wonderful. The big gas grills outside made cooking very nice for the large group. The only thing to keep in mind is that the condo is on a beautiful mountain top which is 4 miles up on a switch back road. It can be driven by any car, but remember to buy all your groceries before coming in. There are no quick runs to the store. We had a full size van so it is a little more difficult navigating the turns, but my husband was whizzing through them by the middle of the week. A sports car would have been a lot more fun! We enjoyed many activities (hiking, Clingman's Dome, swimming, horseback riding, whitewater rafting(Quest Expedition), tubing(Cowboy Tubing) go-carting, bunggy jumping, putt-putt golf, concert in Patriot park with fireworks on 7/3). We would highly recommend hiking to Laurel Falls (saw 3 black beasr) and Chimney Top! Rafting on the Ocoee River was great. It was a little far (2.5 hrs), but it was much better than the Pigeon River we did 2 yrs ago. We made many wonderful memories. The owners Nancy and Smitty were very nice to work with. We would definitely recommend the condo and will rent again when we return to the Smokies.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean and comfortable

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We very much enjoyed our week at your condo. The place was clean and comfortable and the kids loved the pool.

Thanks again for the rental.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Love the view"

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

This condo has a great view of the mountains. Relaxing and perfect size for two or a large party.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Condo!

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2008

This is a great place to stay! The view is unbelievable. The community is quiet and relaxing. It is perfectly located for a great getaway to relax or enjoy Gatlinburg. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place To Stay

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

This is a very nice 3 bedroom Condo. Our Party consisted of 8 adults, with the use of the hide a bed sofa this condo provided plenty of space. The Condo has all the amenities to give it the feel of a home away from home. Our party thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay and will be using it again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved this condo.

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

My family and I loved this condo. The condo was well equipped, it had everything we needed for our week long stay. The view is breathtaking. The area is so peaceful and beautiful. This condo is very convenient to downtown Gatlinburg. We recommend this condo to everyone. The owners were extremely nice. Loved it. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will stay above the clouds AGAIN !

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

This was the nicest condo we have stayed in so far in Gatlinberg. The owners were very nice and went out of their way to make sure our stay was wonderful ! We are a large family and had plenty of room for a change.Our girls loved the pool and enjoyed the bears in the trash dumpsters for 2 nights in a row! We will be renting every year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

We will stay above the clouds AGAIN !

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

This was the nicest condo we have stayed in so far in Gatlinberg. The owners were very nice and went out of their way to make sure our stay was wonderful ! We are a large family and had plenty of room for a change.Our girls loved the pool and enjoyed the bears in the trash dumpsters for 2 nights in a row !
We will be renting every year !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved this condo.

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

My family and I loved this condo. The condo was well equipped, it had everything we needed for our week long stay. The view is breathtaking. The area is so peaceful and beautiful. This condo is very convenient to downtown Gatlinburg. We recommend this condo to everyone. The owners were extremely nice. Loved it. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place To Stay

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

This is a very nice 3 bedroom Condo.
Our Party consisted of 8 adults, with the use of the hide a bed sofa this condo provided plenty of space.

The Condo has all the amenities to give it the feel of a home away from home.

Our party thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay and will be using it again in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Condo!

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2008

This is a great place to stay! The view is unbelievable. The community is quiet and relaxing. It is perfectly located for a great getaway to relax or enjoy Gatlinburg. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Love the view"

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

This condo has a great view of the mountains. Relaxing and perfect size for two or a large party.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review