reviews for: listing #69576 - St Augustine, Florida Condo rental

Best Top Floor Beachfront Penthouse-Sept 6-20 $100 Off!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Barefoot Trace
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $990 - $1,390 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 17, 2010

Words cannot accurately describe the absolutely breathtaking views from the private balcony of this condo. My wife and I spent four nights here and wish we never had to leave. The ocean stretches as far as the eye can see in both directions, and the moonlight reflecting off the waves at night is a sight to behold. Everything in the penthouse is perfectly situated and the beach is literally just steps away! The heated pool was relaxing throughout the day with no traffic in and out; it was just like having a private pool! No crowds, no traffic, just the best weekend imaginable. The owners have gone above and beyond to accomodate us on short notice and have made this the best anniversary getaway possible. I can't say enough good things about our stay; we will definitely be returning many times in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love couples! Celebrating Anniversaries, Birthdays, Honeymoons, Romantic Getaways is our specialty! The shining, waxing and waning full moon seems so close you'll want to reach out and touch it! Plan around the lunar calendar!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise In The Sky

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

Thank you once again for having us at your beautiful and inviting home. We enjoyed our trip so much last year, we came back. Everything was just as expected: fluffy towels and a lovely comfortable bed, sightseeing information at the ready, and a long list of yummy restaurants. The recliner was the best seat in the house – great choice. Enjoyed the quiet and comfortable surroundings. The long walks on the beach opened our eyes to reconnect from the busy life we have. We love coming back to your “Paradise in the Sky”. We had a great week of fun and laughter!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything You Need!

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Linda and Bill clearly understand what people are looking for in a vacation and it starts when you first make contact. They go out of their way to make your vacation worry free and provide little extras in the condo that make you feel welcome. The condo is spotless and well equipped with everything you need for a great stay. The property is also clean and well-maintained and the beach is as good as it gets. I would not hesitate to return to this property, or recommend to friends and family. We also enjoyed St. Augustine area attractions and restaurants. Our favorites included the South Beach Grill for terrific seafood (a short walk from the condo), the Purple Olive for good food and great service and Osteen's for super fried shrimp and that classic diner experience. The descriptions and photos in the listing are very accurate and reflect the condo's appearance and amenities.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the gift of your praises, unsolicited! And for reserving next year for 3 weeks! We hold our Canadian visitors in high regard and feel we have achieved success when we can provide total satisfaction and comfort for those so far from home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Stay In Lovely Penthouse

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

Our stay in your lovely penthouse was perfect. You remembered every small and classy detail. What an amazing unobstructed balcony view. We appreciated the punch key door lock eliminating keys to keep track of. Every room was clean, clean, clean and modern. It was stocked with everything we could possibly imagine from scotch tape to spices. Thank you again for the beautiful floral arrangement that was such an unexpected surprise and nice touch. We would not hesitate to return and will recommend your beautiful beach home to our friends.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're honored you chose us for your 50th wedding anniversary celebration, reserved 18 months in advance! It was a joy to provide your first ever tropical bird-of-paradise flowers, and to share your happy chuckles about our penthouse paradise over the phone, especially when I mentioned the LazyBoy recliner! Delightful memories for all!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Generosity and Care, Absolutely Immaculate!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at your condo. We so appreciate all the goodies, fluffy white towels and extras in the kitchen and bathrooms. Thank you for all your details and generous little extras. Your vacation home is absolutely immaculate. I felt like I was staying at a dear relative’s house because there was so much care and love here! We've stayed at a lot of places and this time I felt so much generosity and care surrounding us! Thank you for helping us feel at home during our vacation. Everything was lovely!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Five Star Oceanfront Condo

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Thanks SO MUCH for the beautiful flowers that arrived this morning. We will give you 5 stars as the best condo we've stayed at in the 40 years we've vacationed in St. Augustine! Thanks for providing such top-notch accommodations! Kev and I are loving your condo and very much appreciate all your kind generosity: the wine, chocolate, toiletries and so many extras! Every time I would need something: scissors, flashlight, rubber band, twist tie, aluminum foil, another pillow, a portable fan, all I had to do was look in a drawer or on a shelf & there it was…it was amazing, you thought of everything. I kept thinking of the word "generous"; you are very generous person and it shows in what you provide for your tenants. Fantastic oceanfront balcony; extremely clean and well equipped. This condo has everything you need and more. Comfy beds, quality sheets and towels. All first class. You can't go wrong

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: First class is an honored standard in our family. Thanks for voting us top among a lifetime of St. Augustine accommodations! We treasure first class guests like you! Thanks for reserving again for next summer!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Under-Promised and Over-Delivered!

Review submitted: December 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

You exceeded our expectations!! The condo at first sight was breathtaking! All of the extras were amazing: wine, coffee, chocolate, soaps, flowers, waters, snacks. And the VIEW! We were so pleasantly overwhelmed! The binder with all the info and recommendations was terrific. It really helped make planning so easy. We loved riding the bikes on the beach! After riding bikes on the beach, we collected 3 bags of shells and I even found a starfish! We found the door lock keypad very convenient; no key or card to worry about. We have never been so comfortable staying away from home. And the cleanliness of everything was a major plus! We don't want to leave and can't wait to book again. Thank you for making our stay so amazing and stress-free.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your words spell our success at creating a dream getaway!...breathtaking, amazing, pleasantly overwhelmed, terrific, easy, very convenient, no worry, so comfortable away from home, stress-free...Your enjoyment is our joy!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thrilled! Completely Clean!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

I wanted you to let you know how thrilled we were with the condo. It was everything you said and much, much more. The 9 hr drive from Knoxville, TN was definitely worth the drive. We felt very much at home with all your extra amenities and wanted to say thank you over and over. We will definitely be contacting you again next year to see if your unit is available. We loved the beach time, the quietness of the unit, the cleanliness of the whole condo community--and let's not forget that beautiful view. Oh my, what a view. I told my husband I've never stayed in a unit that I didn't first have to completely clean to my specifications prior to sleeping, bathing and eating out of the dishes. I admit that's how most of us nurses are anyway! Again, we so appreciate your hospitality and hope to get your unit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your review is our reward for striving to provide a first-guest experience for each and every visitor. Originally owned, always pet-free, smoke-free, and receiving adult guests exclusively, we value a pristine-clean home! Bill and I contribute 30% over the guest cleaning fee to contract the premium national cleaning franchise for our penthouse. We know each guest will be totally pleased!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Couldnt ask for any better

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Better Than We Imagined

Your condo is beautiful, wonderful, better than we imagined. You did not oversell. It is obvious you care about your condo and want to provide all the extras for your clients. Thank you for the beautiful roses! Everything was so clean and you have thought of everything to ensure your guests are well thought of. The beach stuff you provided made packing a lot better. We will recommend you to anyone coming your way. Next time we plan a trip here again you will hear from us. You couldn't possibly be outdone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our photos are true-to-life, without colorization or distortion, and are not falsified in any way. We realize the importance of making and keeping promises! Our aim is to exceed your expectations!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation at #409 at Barefoot Trace

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

WOW! You are correct when you called it "Paradise." It was awesome! You provided everything we could ever need, and then some. We have stayed in condos in the area for years and never have we stayed in one that had so much to offer. We hesitated to use anything you provided because we've never had that before! Everything was stored so neatly and the property was so beautiful and refreshing. We can't wait until next year! Thanks for allowing us to stay!

Owners response: Bill and I have discovered that many guests are new to feeling personally welcomed with generous and thoughtful provision! In our welcome letter we write, "Please enjoy the goodies, they're for you!" Our goal is to prepare a dream home that will provide for you, delight you and encourage you to feel included in our specially chosen family of beach friends, with care.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

We just spent the most memorable week at this condo. Everything was immaculate and beautiful, all we had to do was buy some groceries. There was information from the owner regarding area attractions and eating places which was most helpful when one is not familiar with the area. There is nothing we would have changed. The beach was pristine. The weather was perfect.
This truly is a gem!
The downside was that we had to leave.....and that was sad, but we have so many happy memories...which we will cherish forever.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate another wonderful unsolicited review, and the return visit booking for next spring! Available to every guest are the highlights of this stay: an early morning walk on Crescent beach, so perfect for easy trekking and cycling both north and south; and mid-way, stopping for an open-air beachfront breakfast at the nearby oceanfront grill. Many have enjoyed the penthouse balcony view of migrating dolphins--truly a part of paradise! Come watch Monarch butterflies migrate in the fall!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

We just returned from the most amazing vacation at this condo. Everything in the description was completely accurate. We were welcomed by an immaculately clean condo with too many extras to write about. As listed, luxurious linens throughout....gorgeous beach....easy access with elevator and unbelievable selection of beach items already there for our use including chairs and umbrellas. The only thing we had to get was groceries. This was by far the best vacation experience for us so far. The owner is excellent to work with and goes above and beyond to make your stay special. The only thing we didn't have was another week or two to enjoy it. We'll be coming back for sure and probably more often.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for inspiring us with your lavish praises! The ultimate compliment from appreciative guests like this is the booking of two return visits for next year--one in spring and another next fall! We love working to make you happy! It's a joy to share our secret family jewel with you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our favorite vacation!

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

One week at this condo was much too short! The location and amenities were outstanding and the owners thought of everything to make our stay special. From the delicious bottle of wine and chocolates to the well stocked kitchen, we had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation. We enjoyed evenings in the lounge chairs on the large balcony and the view of the moon and stars is spectacular. We will be back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: As owner/manager personal getaway hosts, Bill and I are humbled and overwhelmed by the generous, unsolicited praises such as these from all of our guests! We thank each and every one of you for your part in making this glorious penthouse paradise possible!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Condo, Fabulous Vacation

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

We've had a multitude of beach vacations, but this was by far the most relaxing. If you're looking for a bit of seclusion, a truly cozy 'home away from home', personal consideration and attention, and lots of relaxation, we highly recommend this excellent condo with a million dollar view. As soon as you enter the front door you can see the ocean through the extra wide glass doors leading to the beckoning balcony. We felt very welcomed by the personal attention of the owners, who tended to our every whim for the entire 3-week stay. So much nicer than dealing with a property management company; they made us feel like very special guests. The first personal touch noticed was their Welcome binder with local info including their favorite eateries. The TVs and video were great. The kitchen is fully outfitted with cooking essentials, and appliances were all in working order. The unit is well appointed, and includes not just the necessities but lots of little extras like upgraded linens, kitchen and laundry supplies, and a terrific beach caddy stocked with a variety of beach gear. It was so nice not having to purchase beach chairs and such, which we typically would leave behind. The unit was spotless and well maintained, and more spacious than the average beachfront condo. That can be said for the extended balcony as well, which runs the length of the living room and master bedroom. The condo overlooks the heated (it really is heated) pool, the grassy dune where sea turtles can be spotted, and provides the most poignant view of the ocean. There are 2 gated catwalks over the dune to the pristine beach and water. During a time when most resorts & beaches are unbelievably crowded, there were usually no more than a dozen people on the beach, and we were often the only ones in the pool. Barefoot Trace is a smaller resort complex, which is just what we were looking for. We highly recommend staying in at this unit. We’ll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Heaven on Earth!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

My husband, myself, and two daughters (ages 2 & 3) spent a week at this lovely condo. We couldn't remember having stayed any place more perfect! The view from the balcony was breathtaking! The place was so quiet. We never heard a peep from our neighbors and most of the time we had the pool all to ourselves.

Both the living room and the Master bedroom open onto the balcony and it is heaven to lay in bed at night listening to the ocean waves crash on the shore.

The condo faces due east and so the balcony is fully shaded by noon, allowing for the perfect place to sit in cushioned chaise lounges reading a book and enjoying the sound of the surf.

The most pleasant surprise was the extra details provided by Bill and Linda. There was welcome bottles of water, apple juice, sparkling water and wine at our arrival. They had left a pair of toddler size flip flops for the girls to use if needed and the DVD collection was stocked with children's videos. There was a children's book, playing cards, children's games all stocked in the room. In addition, there was starter supplies of paper towels, toilet paper, shampoo, conditioner, hand soap, lotion, shampoo, comb, hair blow dryer, among many other items that helps cut down on costs of the inital grocery shopping trip. We did a lot of cooking and found everything we needed stocked in the kitchen. Even an assortment of spices!

There was also a drawer full of pens, scissors, etc. The scissors came in handy several times! Linda has made an excellent book full of recommendations, which comes in handy when trying to decide what to do when you're new to the area.

The condo was very large (I believe 1600 sq ft?) and laid out well. I even loved the breakfast nook in the kitchen. Although it didn't have an ocean veiw, if you open the blinds it is such a beautiful sunny view. The windows let in so much sunlight.

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. If we ever considered buying this place would be it! Absolutely perfect.

Oh....one more thing...it's only minutes from downtown St. Augustine. So you can head there for shopping/fine dining, then come back to your own private slice of paradise in this primarily residential area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The return of this dear young family this fall warmed our hearts! As did Sunseeker's parting letter which said, "This is by far our favorite vacation home. Thank you so much! Your place has such a positive, loving feeling...couldn't be happier!" This is our inspiration and motivation! Our efforts are rewarded!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Absolutely Perfect!!

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

Shirley (Montreal)
I have stayed in many condos in Florida but this one was the best. Spectacular views over the ocean with white sand beach. The condo itself was exceptionally clean and very welcoming we felt very much at home. The owners Linda and Bill are very personable and just the best hosts anyone could wish for. With everything furnished with the condo and plenty of little extras we were more than a little surprised. If anyone is looking to rent a condo in or around the St.Augustine area this is well worth the trip. So close to all amenities but in a quiet oasis on the beach. Thank you again Linda for being the best host anyone could ask for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream vacation condo

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

My family has stayed at this condo twice and it is our little bit of paradise. The condo views are just lovely and all the updates are beautiful. I would highly recommend this condo to any one looking for their own little bit of paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Worth every penny!!!

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

Wow!!! We arrived on the 16th of December to enjoy the week before Christmas. The condo provided everything we needed, and the view was spectacular!!! Peaceful and relaxing are definitely two words that come to mind when describing this vacation. My family and I enjoyed every minute. Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful condo. I look forward to staying there again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Ocean Front Condo

Review submitted: December 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2010

Our stay here was absolutely fantastic! A clean, well-maintained 4th floor oceanfront view with balcony. Elevator access to the 4th floor was great for handicapped accessibility. Option for 2 kings was perfect for two couples. Owners are very accommodating, friendly, and communicate with you from inquiry to feedback after your trip. The condo supplies everything you might need including beach going supplies. Crescent beach was very clean and just a short drive away from St. Augustine. We really enjoyed our stay and will be renting this condo again on a return visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Florida Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We spent our Thanksgiving holiday in St. Augustine at the most wonderful beach condo ever. It was perfect, it couldn't have been any better. The condo is decorated beautifully and with a spectacular beach view. Linda and Bill provide the best information about restaurants and things to do in the area. They are wonderful hosts. You shouldn't look any further when searching for the perfect beach vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review