reviews for: listing #69638 - Lake Placid, New York House rental

High Peaks Basecamp Lodges
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Placid Village
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $400 /nt
    $1,000 - $3,000 /wk
    $1,600 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

high peaks guide house

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

Verrry nice and good time the property is clean and confortable.... we appreciated everything and peoples nice. thanks Karen

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: This was a big motorcycle group that rented both houses for 18 people and had a great time! they took advantage of our canoe and bicyle rentals and really enjoyed Lake Placid area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Adirondack elegance in an affordable bunk house!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

What a great find I came across while trying to lock down an affordable yet classy house in Lake Placid for our yearly couples Adirondacks retreat. The owners of this property are amazing, and personally welcomed us in to the 'bunk house'- I use the term loosely here because it easily could sleep about 10 people if you used all the bunks or if we wanted to bring the kids, but it was just me, my wife, and 2 of other couples. It worked out perfectly because each couple had their own sleeping quarters and the bottom beds fold out to a comfortable bed for two! The house was just renovated in the true Adirondack style with beautiful pine panels and flooring complete with similar furnishings and decorations - everything was clean and well kept and you can tell that the owners take great care in keeping it that way! One of the many bonuses to staying here is its proximity to town and all of the venues such as the Olympic arena, down town (it's right on Main Street - a little off the main hustle and bustle so it's not noisy, but with in a quarter mile to all of the cute shops and restaurants), Mirror Lake, Lake Placid, and a short drive, or bike if you want, to the mountains and trails. And one of the main selling points for me was that local pub is conveniently located just around the bend - offering one of the best micro brews I've ever had! The other great thing about staying here is that the owners are a wealth of information from where to go hike and bike, what to do on a rainy day, even where to eat...they own the gear and guide store next door, and can help you plan any adventure, and outfit you too! They took us rock climbing (a first for me - but tons of fun!) one day and paddling through some of the more remote lakes in the area another day - for a reasonable fee. We had a blast and can not wait to coma back - maybe in the winter this time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: great combo to stay with us and then do a guided trip.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Adirondack elegance in an affordable bunk house!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

What a great find I came across while trying to lock down an affordable yet classy house in Lake Placid for our yearly couples Adirondacks retreat. The owners of this property are amazing, and personally welcomed us in to the 'bunk house'- I use the term loosely here because it easily could sleep about 10 people if you used all the bunks or if we wanted to bring the kids, but it was just me, my wife, and 2 of other couples. It worked out perfectly because each couple had their own sleeping quarters and the bottom beds fold out to a comfortable bed for two! The house was just renovated in the true Adirondack style with beautiful pine panels and flooring complete with similar furnishings and decorations - everything was clean and well kept and you can tell that the owners take great care in keeping it that way! One of the many bonuses to staying here is its proximity to town and all of the venues such as the Olympic arena, down town (it's right on Main Street - a little off the main hustle and bustle so it's not noisy, but with in a quarter mile to all of the cute shops and restaurants), Mirror Lake, Lake Placid, and a short drive, or bike if you want, to the mountains and trails. And one of the main selling points for me was that local pub is conveniently located just around the bend - offering one of the best micro brews I've ever had! The other great thing about staying here is that the owners are a wealth of information from where to go hike and bike, what to do on a rainy day, even where to eat...they own the gear and guide store next door, and can help you plan any adventure, and outfit you too! They took us rock climbing (a first for me - but tons of fun!) one day and paddling through some of the more remote lakes in the area another day - for a reasonable fee. We had a blast and can not wait to coma back - maybe in the winter this time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great find in downtown Lake Placid

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

This is a a lovely vacation rental for a group or family. It is beautifully renovated in Adirondack decor and in a perfect location in town; close to great shopping and restaurants in downtown Lake Placid, as well as to head of town for skiing or hiking. The owners were very helpful and had many tips/ideas on what to do in town. They own a beautiful outdoor shop and guide service next door, so there is no limit to the activites you can do and see. We really enjoyed our stay here and would love to stay here again. It was very clean and comfortable and we had the option to bring our own linen ot use theirs to save on the costs. great deck outside to hangout or eat dinner. Wonderful and positive owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: thanks for the + review. That is out goal to make the Adirondack experience easy and active and affordable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

you can do it all

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

We so enjoyed the convenience and comfort of the High Peaks Cyclery guide house rental this spring. the owners were + and knowledgeable to tell us what to do and where to go. We even took a guided trip with them to sharpen our skills.
We love outdoor sports and it was inspiring here. Great house !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Location & Excellent Ammenities

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

With the help of the Delaney's (property owners) and the ever so trusty staff at High Peaks Cyclery (located just next door) we have found a place that we will come back to year after year! We stayed here two times, but most recently my wife and I came here over Labor Day for some 'adventure trips' during the day and fine dining at night. This place has everything we were looking for, and more! The staff at High Peaks helped map out our hiking route one day, and our road riding excursion the next - they even told us the best 'local' places to go after the hike, and the good 'pit stops' for our bike. It was also great because we could get any last minute hiking and biking needs from the store (energy bars, water bottles, first aid kits, spare bike tubes....you name it, they had it)! After the long days out exploring we relaxed and showered in the comforts of our rental and even sprawled out on the amazing back porch lounging in Adirondack Chairs with a bottle of vino! As if that wasn't enough, we were easily able to walk to all of Lake Placid's great dining and night life which means we can easily have a drink(or more)and walk on home since the main down town is less than 1/2 mile away! And as and FYI, the Lake Placid Bub and Brewery (with their famous Ubu Ale) is literally a few hundred yards away, right across from the Public Beach and tennis courts (but no need to worry we slept soundly and could never hear any noise from others). And one more fine point about his steal of a location (and price!) is that if you come for the Ironman, like we did the year before, the swim start is right at the Public Beach and the house is right on the bike and run course, and the finish area at the Oval is right up the hill; great for cheering and encouraging the thousands of racers! In one work this house is AWESOME!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review