reviews for: listing #69642 - Manhattan, New York Townhome rental

Upper Upper West Side 2 Bed/2 Bath Gem
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Hamilton Heights
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $300 /nt

sort by:

A true gem

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

My family had the fortunate opportunity to stay in this brownstone apartment. My husband is a tv fanatic, so I worried about the lack of this amenity. He didn't even miss it!!! Our son (35 years old) enjoyed the historical DVD collection about NYC. He watched every one of them and was able to give us background on areas while touring the city. We had hoped our daughter, son-in-law, and granddaughter were not able to make the trip. But, the apartment would have accommodated all of us very well.
The downstairs bedroom was perfect for him to escape for some "me" time after full days of guiding his parents around, while we escape to some of our own private time. The apartment is very comfortably appointed, clean, and secure in a nice neighborhood. This was our first time to NY so we had our apprehensions. All apprehensions proved to be unfounded! The people were friendly. The number 1 subway to town and all the happenings is only a block away. If you want to experience the cultural diversity of NY though, I suggest a walk down the street and catch the number 1 farther down the line.
We walked by the river to a wonderful Italian restaurant, Covo's. The prices were appropriate, food, service, and atmospher were great.
The apartment has a full size refrigerator, stove, and coffee maker. No microwave. But, we managed without the microwave.
Norbert was there to let us drop off our bags for an early arrival. He was friendly and informative. Unfortunately, we never had the opportunity to meet Karen. But, when I emailed her about forgetting to print our passes for the 9/11 Memorial, we arrived back at the apartment after an evening out to find them in an envelope at the door ready for us. Karen was always responsive when I emailed her about any questions prior to our arrival.
Thank you Karen and Norbert for helping to make our first trip to NYC such an awesome experience. Our son says he wants to go back to see more, and when he does he wants to stay at the very same place. No uptown high rises nor stuffy hotel rooms when there is such a fabulous warm and inviting apartment like this to stay at.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Valerie

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

A wonderful stay, the house is identical to the photos, it has everything we need (laundry, bathroom, slipper, bathrobe ...). We were greeted by the husband (very nice) and Karen pity we could not meet her.
Karen gave us food for the first breakfast, fruit, milk ... which is nice.
The neighborhood is very friendly and we quickly near the metro L1.
After each day we enjoyed the hot tub ....
If one day we have the opportunity to return to New York we will definitely stay in this accommodation.
By cons not to book shuttle because it does not take you to Harlem (147St) only to the 125 ST. We were able to negotiate with the driver with a few extra dollars to 21.00 because we did not want to venture into the subway with children, luggage and especially fatigue.

thank you Valerie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Valerie

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

Un magnifique séjour, la maison est identique aux photos, elle offre tout ce dont nous avons besoin (linge de bains, pantouffle, peignoir...). Nous avons été accueillis par le mari (très agréable) de Karen et dommage que nous n'ayons pu la rencontrer.
Karen nous a laissé des aliments pour le premier petit déjeuner, fruits, lait... c'était très appréciable.
Le quartier est très sympathique et nous sommes rapidement à coté du métro L1 .
Après chaque journée nous avons beaucoup apprècié le jacuzzi....
Si un jour nous avons l'occasion de retourner à New York nous retournerons sans hésiter dans ce logement.
Par contre ne pas réserver de shuttle car il ne vous emmène pas jusqu'à Harlem(147St) seulement jusqu'à la 125 ST. Nous avons pu négocier avec le chauffeur avec quelques dollars supplémentaire car à 21h00 on ne voulait pas s'aventurer dans le métro avec les enfants , les bagages et surtout la fatigue.

Merci Valérie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Brilliant experience

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Everything was perfect, a fantastic stay in the Big Apple, the appartment was a lovely and cosy place, Norbert & Karen were very kind and attentive, the kitchen was just like at home and we feel like real new-yorkers from the first minute.
The location is peaceful, there's plenty of shops in the district for food, everybody speaks spanish and always smile....!!!That's the melting pot of Spanish Harlem. Subway is just 5 minutes-walk, good restaurants all around, just a dream.
When we come back, we go there, no doubt about it and we recommend it to our friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Elsa

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Awesome place, there was 6 of us there for a week in nyc, great flat, big super clean with everything you need in it. We highly recommend it, really close to the subway too. Karen and her husband helped us a lot and answered all our questions. Amazing stay!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nicander

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 29, 2013

Our stay at Norbert and Karen's place was fantastic. The apartment was clean, luxurious, simply excellent! All five of us had ample space and all facilities were present. We would stay there again any time. The apartment is just two blocks away from the No. 1 metro line. Norbert and Karen are some of the nicest people. We wish them all the best.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location and amenities

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

The apartment is lovely and the pictures are a true representation. It is very clean and has all the extra little touches that make staying in a vacation rental the experience one hopes for. The neighbourhood, from our perspective of coming from Vancouver, Canada, would be described as ethnic - a wonderful mix of spanish, indian and american. The streetscape is interesting and completely safe. I found the owner Karen open and approachable and she gave us great hints on local eateries. Navigating the subway from this location is super easy. The apartment would be ideal for two couples or a small family. The second bedroom is in a lower level so there is a great deal of privacy. Beds are super comfortable and you really do feel like you are living in New York for a few days. I hope to be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Kirstin for the great review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

James

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

We were very impressed when we arrived to Karen's place. The place was very clean, well kept, with many upgraded features. There were plenty of clean towels and robes. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of extra linens. We were three adults with three kids 14, 11, and 6. With two full baths, two queens, two twins and a full kitchen, we were set. There were plenty of books, a little set of DVDs, and a nice stereo. No cable which was nice too. The subway stop was only a block away along with Dunkin Donuts :). A negative was the wireless. It was a weak signal so only worked in certain areas of the house. We had a great stay. It's a great deal and great experience if you're looking to be immersed within a cute neighborhood.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Alejandra

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Hola!! karen es una excelente anfitriona, el departamento es muy bonito, limpio y con todos los servicios necesarios para pasar unas excelentes vacaciones en la gran manzana! en metro se llega facil a todos los lugares, cerca hay tiendas, super mercado, lugares para comer, es amplio, las camas son comodas. calificacion: LA MEJOR!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Joanne

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Karen and Norbert's apartment was spectacular. It really served our needs (we were three college students and their professor shooting a documentary in NYC.) The apartment was extremely roomy and Karen and Norbert had filled it with all the necessary amenities from dryer sheets to crushed red pepper flakes to multiple umbrellas. We especially appreciated the location--it was just a few steps away from the subway and less than a mile from the best grocery store ever: The Fairway. The place was immaculate with great beds and beautiful hardwood floors. Thanks so much for letting us stay here.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Marian

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

nous avons réservé l appartement de karen par airbnb dans le quartier de harlem et nous avons été trés satisfait de la facilité et du seriéux de la réservation .nous recommandons cette formule de réservation car tout était conforme aux descriptifs énoncés.quartier calme, metro a 5 min à pied et à 10 minutes environ de manatthan.messe à ne pas rater à harlem experience unique et touchante! merci karen et norbert pour le petit déjeuner compris dans la formule c etait trés appréciable.
May 2012
Marian
Marian

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beth

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

We booked this holiday home based on Karen's photos and on the excellent reviews from former guests. THEY DID NOT LIE!! Now I'm faced with the challenge of trying to express my enthusiasm for this wonderful unit and generous host in a way that hasn't been written many times already. Can't be done: this is just one more rave review. The accommodation is spacious, stylishly comfortable, very well equipped, and on a charming, quiet street. Extremely comfortable beds and pillows, beautifully thick towels. The subway is less than 5 minutes walk away, taking us in no time and without any changes to the major tourist areas: Lincoln Centre, Columbus Circle, Times Square, Chelsea, and right on down the island of Manhattan to take a free ride on the Staten Island Ferry. A slightly longer walk took us to a subway station on the A&C line for other destinations. Absolutely everyone we met, without exception, whether on the local streets, the subway or in the stores was helpful and friendly. As country bumpkins, we had been expecting to feel anxious on the streets at night, but the area felt safe and comfortable. The nearby Riverside Park was only five minutes away and was a wonderful place to get fresh air, exercise and views of the stately Hudson River. Can't tell you anything about the local restaurants because we chose to eat "at home" when we spent the evening in Hamilton Heights. The kitchen was so well equipped, and it was so relaxing just to hang out in the condo after a long day of sightseeing. Considering all the people to whom we will be recommending this unit, I hope Karen won't be too booked up in the future to accommodate us again, when we return to NYC.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Veronica

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Karen and Norbert's cozy and comfortable apartment for 10 days during the Christmas holidays. The apartment was clean, spacious for 3 adults and 2 teenagers, and there were many nice touches: thick, fluffy towels, slippers, robes, and even a decorated Christmas tree to welcome us! There was so much space that we never felt crowded (like in a hotel room), and having 2 bathrooms with very hot showers was a luxury. It was also nice to have the full kitchen, as we started each morning with a good breakfast before venturing out for the hard work of sightseeing! The subway station is just around the corner, so it's really convenient. Karen and Norbert are friendly and helpful, and if we needed anything, they responded quickly. The best part about staying here, was that after a full day of sightseeing, we knew we were coming home to a quiet, warm, and relaxing apartment in a residential neighborhood. We hope to return to NYC, and will definitely recommend this place to our family and friends!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

What can I say...a great place to stay in NYC. Karen and Norbet were great hosts. The apartment was just as the pictures looked! The beds were very comfortable. And being able to find free parking just outside the apartment on the street, put the icing on the cake!! Subway was just two blocks down the street. Never heard any noise in the apartment from the outside. Initially when we saw the area on Broadway we were a little concerned, but by the end of our 5 day stay, we were completely comfortable with the area. Just one street away from a nice place to jog along the River Park. Norbert gave us directions to a nice grocery store (Fairway) about 3/4 of mile down the road. Easy to walk to. Nice Chinese take out just around the corner with McDonalds just down the street and several deli's all around. Would definitely stay here again. Only one improvement that we suggested to Karen was to add a microwave for convienence and maybe a TV in the front room...even though we barely had time to sit and watch with our constant sightseeing schedule.

Thanks Karen and Norbert...great vacation stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A beautiful vacation in he Big Apple!

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

I could not have been more pleased with this rental. We arrived a day early and stayed in a hotel the first night. This apartment surpassed that hotel (and ANY other I have stayed at) a million times in every aspect!

I was on vacation with my four teenage kids and they were impressed with the apartment as well. It is GORGEOUS, CLEAN, WELL EQUIPPED and the decor is BEAUTIFUL!! The beds are SUPER COMFY and what a great location!

This was our first visit to NYC and we found our way the first day! We were able to buy everything we needed within a few blocks. Delis, restaurants, grocery stores, ATMs and hundreds of little shops within walking distance (they even managed to find a McDonalds....teenagers!). The subway (1 Train) is just around the corner and with 1 or 2 transfers you can see all the sites Manhattan has to offer.

You also have a great view of the Hudson River from your doorstep!

I will tell everyone I know to be sure to stay here when they visit NY!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great times!

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

Brought my 3 kids down for a Manhattan adventure, and we couldn't have been more pleased. Apartment was warm, clean and inviting, and felt just like home after a few days. Close to subway; we got downtown in a jiffy, safe and sound. Karen and Norbert's hospitality and kindness could not be beat; they made you feel welcome and pampered. Will definitely return in the very near future with the rest of the family! Thank you so much....

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

wonderfull stay

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

It was my first experience staying on a different place than a hotel, and it was spectacular exceed for a lot my expectations I Am telling to my friends than if they go to New York they have to try the same place i did

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Suzzanne C

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

December 2010 - Excellent apartment would definately recommend it. The beds were so comfortable. Very close to subway to easily get into central Manhattan. Karen & Norbert certainly made us feel welcome with a fridge full of fruit and food and drink for breakfast, as well as all other staple supplies you may need. Would recommend V&T Restaurant on Amsterdam between 110th & 111th Street (only 3 stops on subway).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lindsay P

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

We had a great time at Karen's apartment. It's really cosy and comfortable...the beds in particular are fantastically comfortable...and it's very safe and secure. I am sure that the garden would be a real bonus in spring and summer, but it was a little chilly for us to take advantage! We enjoyed visiting a new (for us)neighbourhood of New York and travelling downtown on the 1 is quick and easy. Karen and Norbert are charming and friendly and we hope to visit again someday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thomas H.

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2010

Apartment was excellent, great location near Metro, supermarket and Riverside Park. Had a great time in the "Big Apple" We would thouroughly recommend the apartment to any friends visiting N.Y. Thanks again, Janette & Tom.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nick

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

Hi Karen Its been an absolute pleasure staying at your apartment. Everything we needed was supplied; the beds were comfortable; we always felt safe travelling the subway which in itself was an easy and convenient way to get everywhere. In fact, our party felt quite at home. Thank you from all of us. I would certainly stay here again. Regards Nick and Friends (Old Bar NSW AUS)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Michael M.

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

I stayed at Karen's back in September. Her place was so nice! She and her husband put a lot into the home and they were very accommodating. The subway was less than a block away, there was one of the best organic food stores 2 blocks away. It is right near Riverside drive which is so convenient for travel and running.If you're thinking Harlem..., think again, the whole neighborhood is very clean nice and very well kept and The people were friendly, kind, and helpful. I have been to many places in many places. This was one of the best. When in New York I will be calling Karen again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heidi

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

We were two couples in their early thirties and early forties. The appartment was perfect and spotless. It's over two floors so it was a lot larger than we expected. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the rooms quiet at night. The garden/patio in the back was great. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our meals. The fridge was well stocked prior to our arrival. Parking on the street was a breeze. It's a bit far north but well worth it for the added comfort. Subway Ride to Greenwich Village is 25 mins. Thanks Karen!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Age

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

My daughter, my wife and myself have just returned from our first visit ever to NYC where we stayed in Karen and Norbert's well-equipped apartment. The apartment was perfect and clean (and bigger than we expected) and we felt immediately at home and enjoyed our stay there. The best part was actually that the location gives you the opportunity to experience a part of NYC less visited than Times Square and the like. We would definitely stay here again. All the best, Dalia, Maria and Åge

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jenny

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

My friend Debbie and I and our three boys had a great time at Karen's place. It was beyond our expectation and we felt right at home as soon as we stepped into the house. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable, and the bathrooms were so bright and clean. Every morning we had to beg the boys to get out of the house so that we could sight see the city a little. (They could've stayed in her place the whole time we were in New York if we didn't ask them to leave.) We were not too sure about the neighborhood before we arrived, but after we got out of the subway, we realized that it was a waste of time worrying; her place was so close to the station and the streets nearby were no different than any street we are used to. In fact, I would love to explore the neighborhood more next time I come back to NYC. Debbie is also planning to bring her husband back to Karen's place next time they visit New York. If you are looking for a place to stay in New York, just contact Karen right now, you won't regret it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Crystal

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

Six of us drove up to NYC for a 2 day stay and we had a wonderful time. The apartment was just enough space for us to stay comfortably. Some of the ladies decided that they would come back with their families and stay in the same apartment. The train was a short walk away. Karen blessed all of us with copies of her jazz music. The fridge was filled with food when we arrived! Make sure you ride the bus (100 or 101) down to 123rd st. where all the shopping is and Appollo Theater. We would definately rent from Karen again. Oh and the apartment was very safe to stay in.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heather

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

Karen's home was very spacious and homey. Location was very convenient. 1-2 blocks away from subway station and grocery store. We all had a great time and enjoyable stay. Thanks for having us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Frederic

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

We have been staying in karen's apartment for one entire week and we loved being here, it was nice and comfortable and everything was great : Karen and Norbert are charming people and they welcome you in their lovely place, nice street, furniture and equipment are top, we felt so at home...Pour les français, satisfaction garantie avec ce logement chaleureux, bien équipé, joliment décoré : le grand confort ! A louer absolument ! frédéric Jean-Marie Danielle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sharon

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

My family and I had a wonderful stay in Karen's apt. It has character and is very roomy. The finishes are top end and the beds are comfortable. It's located on a very quiet street and the subway is two blocks away. Will definately stay here again if it's available. Thanks Karen and Norbert!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Celine

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

What an amazing place ! We couldn't have dreamt of a better place to stay in NYC. The apartment is incredible with its 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms ; there's plenty of room and it's well decorated. Karen welcomed us with exquisite cinnamon and raisins muffins for breakfast, we really appreciated. The area is really nice and very close to shops and subway. I definitely recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

John W

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 8, 2010

Almost like living in New York. Karen's place is so organized and ready, the kitchen is so well equipped and provisioned. Next time I'll have to host a dinner party. I've already referred the apartment to 3 friends who visit New York frequently -- only problem is that its booking up too quickly -- my friend Trudy told me this morning that its already booked in Sept. when she wanted to visit. So, shhhhhh, don't tell anyone else.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cesar

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

It was a great experience stayin here for the weekend and plus day! the deli up the street is great for late night snacks and the metro station is literally a block away which was very convenient. Definitely coming back here when i have the chance , i already miss NY. THANKS KAREN!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beth

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

Karen's apartment on the Upper West Side of Manhattan was adorable! The location could not be beat -- accessible to NYC public transportation and to museums and wonderful restaurants. Every aspect of comfortable living was attended to: fresh fruit in the fridge; beautiful linens, dinnerware, cookware. Karen and her husband, Norbert, were delightful -- helpful and available for assistance at a moment's notice. We could not have found a lovelier place to stay with a beautiful waterfront park just a stone's throw away. We give this apartment 6 stars!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

YuanYuan

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

Karen and Norbert's apartment is terrific! It's our first family travel in the US. The home-like stay in NYC make this trip perfect. It's only 2 blocks away from the the subway, safe, quiet, and cozy. We do wish to stay her longer if time allows. Definitely, we will be back. Thank you, Karen and Norbert. Yuanyuan Liu from China

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maria

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2010

My family had a wonderful stay in NYC. Karen and Norbert´s apartment is perfect! It is cozy, beautiful, clean, comfortable, has great location and everything we need. Karen welcomed us with a beautiful smile, fresh fruit and a great breakfast. We intend to return more often and recommend to all this amazing apartment. And if you get a chance listen to their music on the CD player. It is fantastic! Maria, Waldomiro, João and Marilena (Salvador, Bahia, Brazil)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Josef

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

Me and my entire family (two adults and three children) spent a week in this fabulous apartment. We rented the two first floors, the ground floor and the rooms at the basement and there was space enough for all of us. The town house is fully renovated recently and well furnished with a new kitchen, Jacuzzi in the bathroom, queen size beds in each bedroom and washing and drying machine. We had a wonderful stay at the Apartment. It’s perfectly situated close to several subway lines, the closest being at 145th street, just couple of minutes walk from the apartment. Our hosts were really good people, helped us find good grocery stores, different addresses to places we wanted to visit and etc… best of all, they were always around in case we needed any help. We felt like at home, slept well, could choose to cook at home or dine out. Our children were so relaxed that they wondered if the place was our new home. We still wish it was the case, but most important of all- we would definitely come back and spend more time at this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Helen

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

We stayed in this wonderful apartment for a long weekend in November 2009- we had never stayed in that part of town before and discovered that it is fantastic, with beautiful architecture, rich history and great little cafes and restaurants nearby- also the subway is just moments away. The apartment itself is stunning- spacious, bright, with gorgeous original features, a luxuriously comfortable double bed, and a jacuzzi in the bathroom! The owners (Karen and Norbert) were absolutely lovely and friendly creative people with loads of helpful information on the area and made us feel totally welcome. Would wholeheartedly love to go back! From Helen and Chris, visiting from London, UK.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mark

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

My family and I spent the week this spring at Karen's place. There were five of us- two adults and three teenage kids. There was plenty of space for the five of us. The apartment was a renovated two-bedroom, two-bathroom apartment. The apartment had breakfast items and fruit upon our arrival. The apartment had wi-fi connection and a printer so we were able to print out our confirmation tickets. Our host and hostess were very friendly in helping us with directions and suggestions for shopping and eating out. We highly recommend this place. After looking at dozens of places in Manhattan, this is the best bang-for-the-buck. It is only two blocks from the subway to anywhere. Mark & Cara from California

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stephanie

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

That's serious competition there:)! Karen helped me host stranded French tourists and they landed in ...heaven! She welcomed them with warm cookies and goodies, a lovely smile and a superb place. I have to keep up with my place to be on Karen's level:), Definitely a place I would send my guests without any hesitation. Don't get turned off by the location, it's a wonderful part of Manhattan ..yes it's part of Manhattan. You will get a wake-up call from the birds instead of the car horns of midtown, and the express train on 145th street will take you midtown in 15 minutes. It's a keeper in my phone book! Thanks again Karen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Alicia D

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in NYC made even better by staying in this beautiful apartment. Karen and Norbert have a lovely and cosy place that was great to come "home" to after a long day/night of exploring the city. They were wonderful and friendly hosts and if you get a chance listen to their music on the CD player! The subway is only a few minutes away and apt is located in a great area where you can get a really good cup of cafe con leche from nearby Dominican cafe. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to others. Thank you Karen and Norbert! Alicia and Alin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review