reviews for: listing #69653 - Manzanita, Oregon House rental

Hummingbird Hill-Cozy Home in Manzanita!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $119 - $260 /nt

sort by:

Hummingbird Hill Home - Manzanita Beach, OR

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

I would highly recommend this darling and COZY little home...Lots of light and a wonderful arrangement of space...though it is advertised as one bedroom, the three adults (and one 3-yr.old grandchild) felt as though we each had our "own room" with mom and son upstairs in the bedroom with the delightful adjoining sun-room/tv room, the downstairs trundle bed, privately separated by a drawn curtain at night, and the living room fold out futon...It was a close walk to the beach by foot or stroller and to downtown Manzanita, which is most charming and much less touristy than local towns up and down the coast, but has EVERYTHING one needs! I will rent this house again, but most importantly, working with the individuals at VACASA was an AWESOME experience! Each individual was so helpful and accommodating! Thank you kindly for a PERFECT vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

This was a really great house to stay in. It's walking distance to town and to the beach, which is the most important thing really! We managed to squeeze six adults in, which was a little tight, but doable. I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our second visit to this charming house

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

This was our second visit to Hummingbird Hill. We very much enjoyed our stay. What we appreciate most about this house is that the upstairs turret is a perfect lounge to hangout and our kids enjoyed watching tv up there in the evening. They also really had fun with the "glass" table up there that looks down into the kitchen. The house is very unassuming from the road, it really is a hidden gem. We found it to be very comfortable for our family of 5. Sad to say goodbye but we will be back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay for very reasonable rates!

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We had a fantastic time!!!
We spent over a week in Manzanita and loved the cute and cozy Humming Bird Hill house. It was a perfect size for the 2 of us and our dog Mylo. It's very private and quiet and only 10 minute walk to the beach and main street. Even though there was no view of the ocean, most of the windows face the trees so you feel like you wake up in a forest. Very relaxing and we will definitely be coming back! The only little thing to improve is the patio area, needs a new umbrella and a new table.
The house was very clean and well equipped.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy little house

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

We loved our stay in Hummingbird Hill. The house is on a nice quiet street backing onto a forest area. Lots and lots of privacy. We appreciate that the owners allow dogs as not all vrbo's do, just be aware that there isn't a fenced yard to let your dog run loose outside. The house is very cute and cozy and everything you could possibly need is supplied for you - very much appreciated. The house location is a short driving distance from the main part of Manzanita town. We had hoped it would be closer to allow for our kids to walk there and back, but it's a bit further so a bike ride works better. We don't have any negative comments at all, the only thing we would ask to be changed is a new toaster as the current one only toasts one side and we couldn't figure out how to get the stereo working. Very minor issues. Anybody having major complaints must have impossibly high standards as we loved this little house and plan on returning many times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking a moment to comment on Hummingbird Hill. I am pleased you enjoyed you stay. We are looking into the toaster and stereo matter, as we do not want these amenities to effect your overall enjoyment.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hummingbird hill

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Cute little place and very comfortable. Deep bathtub was heaven! I left some bubble bath in the cupboard! Could hear the roar of the ocean and was at peace! Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving week at Hummingbird Hill

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

This little house is very charming. We really appreciated the ability to bring our dog...although I wouldn't recommend this for folks with small dogs because the outdoor area is very limited. We arrived during a severe storm that knocked out the wi-fi and created a leak in the bathroom. Not only that, but the smoke alarm began chirping in the bedroom on Thanksgiving. However, the Vacasa staff and the house's owner were VERY responsive and friendly and took great care of us to resolve these issues. We loved the tile and the sky lights. Very comfortable home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Cottage in Manzanita

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

Rating: 5/5
It's a very very quiet house, unique lay out, private, comfortable and well equipped. Great bathtub (nice and deep and great for soaking), comfortable bed. The chairs upstairs in the turret are great! The kitchen is beautiful. Easy walking distance to downtown and the beach and you can hear the ocean from the open windows. Great place for a couple. While your in Manzanita, take in Longevity yoga...and don't miss Bread and Ocean for breakfast (only open Weds-Sat).

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

September week in Manzanita

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

The listing understated this property. The Queen bed upstairs was larger than described with a wonderful view of the beautiful trees. It felt like waking up in the bowers! The tile floors worked well for us with our two little dogs. It is such a nice walk down to the town and to the beautiful 7 mile beach we didn't drive much. The place was very clean when we arrived, but the odor of the cleaning agents were quite strong. This house has lots of windows and aired out quickly. I would definitely recommend this property to my friends and plan to return myself. We preferred the quiet tempo in Manzanita and used the nice kitchen to stay in for most meals. I would recommend Longevity for yoga and massage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay in Manzanita

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

I stayed at Hummingbird Hill for a few days in August. The experience was a pleasant one for the following reasons: 1) The house was comfortable and well equipped, 2) The location was close enough to easily walk to town or the beach, but far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet if I chose, and 3)the deck that wraps around the house was awesome--great place to enjoy breakfast, sip tea and read in the afternoon, and relax, which is why I come to Manzanita in the first place.
The town of Manzanita has a great bakery/restaurant called Bread and Ocean, and an amazing healthy food store called Mother Nature's.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hummingbird Hill, Manzanita

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Hummingbird Hill cottage in Manzanita. The house is perfect for a couple, might be a little tight with more people. Very cheerful and sunny, soft suble colors throughout. No beach view but nice cozy outdoor nook for breakfast. We did grill out on Friday night, but there are some many options for dining nearby that it isn't necssary. The checkout instructions on frig refer to the dishwasher, but there was none. It might be helpful to supply rubber gloves as you will need to hand wash the dishes. (Another reason to dineout!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Manzanita - Man, it zure is Neata!

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

My family and I recently discovered the best kept secret on the Northern portion of the Oregon coastline - Manzanita. And when combined with a stay at the Hummingbird Hill House rental (through Vacasa Rentals), the experience and mini-vacation could not have been any better. We will be back!!!!!

Manzanita is a great location! Located about halfway between Seaside and Tillamook with lots to see, do, and expore in both directions. The town is charming, quaint, and beautiful. Outstanding beach access. Anyone can drive right up, park (huge area up and down the road), and walk out onto the beach - and don't forget to include the dogs because there is plenty of room for them to romp and run. The beach is beautiful and not too crowded. The town has a grocery store, a gas station, several eating places, and several shops for Mom to visit, not to mention a great 9-hole golf course for Dad. And at the end of the day, kick back at the Hummingbird house rental. Roast hot dogs and marsh mellows over an open fire (in a contained outside fireplace / oven) on the private deck. Make some smores. Listen to the sound of the ocean. Sleep in the very comfortable bed upstairs. Need I say more. What are you waiting on - schedule a trip now!!!! Life is too short not to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Spot

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Great little place for a couple or small family. Nice 5-10 minute walk to the beach or downtown. The windows throughout the place worked for us (Others had mentioned this as an issue) and the turret room upstairs was a great place to sit and read a book. My only quibble was the bbq could be upgraded/cleaned up. But a great place for the price and we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy and Nice

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Cozy and nice
Nice, small place. Apt description on the web-page. Patio and yard need a little love, and the bedroom windows don't open, but all-in-all an enjoyable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We love Hummingbird Hill!

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I (plus pooches) have stayed at Hummingbird Hill two times in the past few years and we love it! It's a great deal for a nice little home a short walk from the beach. Our stay at Hummingbird Hill is an annual tradition we intend to hold on to. Thank you Vacasa!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing and Beautiful

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

The home looks exactly like the pictures. The upstairs loft is perfect for reading, the kitchen is gorgeous, and the deck a great place to spend sunny afternoons. I'd highly recommend this place for a solo or couple who wants to spend extended time on the coast in the charming town of Manzinita.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hummingbird Hill

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

The house was nice and clean, but it could be better maintained. The light in the hanging fixture in the living room was burned out, so that room was very dim. In general, the house could benefit from more lights or at least brighter lightbulbs. The freezer was broken and would not make ice or freeze anything. The grill on the deck was pretty dirty, as was the deck around it, and some nicer outdoor furniture would give the place a nice lift. It would be nice to have some DVDs around and some reading material and games. The kitchen really needs some kind of table and some decent glassware. The hospital curtain around the daybed in the foyer does not make a bedroom. I cannot imagine sleeping arrangements for six, as the writeup claims. The two chairs in the turret are way too narrow and small for an adult. The futon in the living room was impossible to return to a sofa. On the plus side, the house has some beautiful mosaics and stained-glass panels, and the upstairs bed is very comfortable. To walk all the way downstairs to the bathroom, however, is a pain. Also, it's a little farther walk to the beach than we anticipated, but we enjoyed the walk, and it's a pleasant walk into town. It's a good house for a small family like ours, but it needs some attention.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sweet Getaway

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Hummingbird Hill! Easy walk to the beach and town, charming and sunny home. Vacasa was very helpful and friendly too. We'll be back. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The pictures don't do this rental justice.

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

My husband and I flew in to Portland get some R and R. The drive to Manzanita was very pretty. This cozy little bungalow was adorable, cozy and immaculate. While there is not a beach view, an open window will reward you with the roar from the ocean literally 2 minutes away. LOVED the sitting area upstairs. Eric our contact, was friendly and especially patient with my questions. I would rent this property again.

Driving one to two hours north or south, will take you to stunning views and culinary delights. On one occasion we drove thru Seaside and Cannon Beach to Astoria and Cape Disappointment(which was anything but) ate at the Rogue Brewery and watch the boats come in to the Astoria port at the opening of the Columbia River. Another hour drive heading up the historic Columbian river will take you to Mount Hood and Timberline Lodge, the site for the movie, 'The Shining', and spine tingling hike up Multnomah Falls. 1-2 hours south will take you to Tillamook, where we toured the cheese factory and drove through Netarts and Oceanside where more stunning views greeted us. Nehalem State Park was great. Take a horseback ride!

Whale watching trips with D and D Charters out of Girabaldi are a cool side trip, as well as the train ride to Tillamook. The only negative thing is that Manzanita shuts down before dark and finding a place to eat, as well as friendly locals, is sparse. However, the grocery stores are well stocked. The Buckhorn Inn on the highway to Nehalem had great breakfast's and the Manzanita Expresso and News had good coffee and service.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review