reviews for: listing #69716 - Laie, Hawaii House rental

Luxury Oceanfront Home with Pool and Spectacular Views!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $625 - $750 /nt

sort by:

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

For years Hawaii has been on the top of our vacation destinations. Like most people we were a little nervous about traveling somewhere new. I also, had a thousand and one questions. Luckily we chose the right house and wound up working with an amazing set of women. Jenny the owner was simply fantastic, she answered every question I had and helped me plan our amazing stay. Chailoh the housekeeper was super nice and came to our rescue when my kiddos tracked in what seemed like a bucket of sand into the pool, she came right over and helped us clean it out. This was very important to me and she also backed me up when I explained to the kids the importance of showering before getting in the pool. She assured me, this really wasn't a major problem but understood my concern. Both of these women are extraordinary in their excellence and assistance.

This house looks exactly like it does in the beautiful photos but your socks will be knocked off by the breath taking views! Our party of seven, had plenty of room to find a make a special place of our own, in this home. The pool was a little smaller than I expected but turned out to be the perfect size. Our little guy had plenty of room and time to learn how to use his snorkel gear. I also appreciated the rules of this home, it was a perfect guide and mirrored many of the same rules of my own home, so we felt right at ease. With a home this nice and opening it up to strangers... I felt the rules were adequate. Jenny provides plenty of toys for the ocean. We damaged a boogie board so we took the short walk down the hill to the store and replaced it. I believe it cost us somewhere around $15. It was well worth it, this little board brought lots of laughter, smiles, and screams of joy to one of our days at Hukilau Beach. We will surly be returning to this home again. As silly as this may sound, my highlight of this trip, was waking up and eating buttered toast as I watched and listened to the waves outside the kitchen windows. My toast at home never tastes this good.

Thank you again for making our first trip to Hawaii, a memorable one. We are truly grateful and look forward to returning. Aloha.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home in Paradise

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

I don't usually write reviews and our stay was almost a year ago but this trip was one that my family still talks about and one that we will never forget. I still keep the website on my computer and hope to return to this beautiful home once again. Dealing with the owner, Jenny, was a delight. She made the whole booking process easy and was so helpful in providing suggestions about activities for our family. When we arrived, we found the home to be immaculate and every possible item was provided to make us feel like we were 'at home'. Having the drawers in the kitchen labeled with their contents made it easy for us to find items quickly. I have to say that I read the review by Sherri A. and could not disagree more with her. The 'rules' of the home were very reasonable and easy to follow. Being respectful of another person's property and cleaning up after oneself should be a 'no brainer'. As for the "strong winds" that Sherri A. complained about---I found the breezes to be fantastic! We loved having the windows open to not only enjoy the breeze, but to hear the soothing sounds of the ocean. Thank you again Jenny for sharing your beautiful home with us :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: A big MAHALO for your kind words of review! We do try really hard to make our home a special place for guests to have the best vacation ever! It is such a wonderful blessing to hear that you appreciated all that we provide and do for our guests! Just makes it all worthwhile! Many blessings! Jenny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Return to Paradise

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

Wow, just read your previous reviews! Mine may be boring, but, promise to be objective. We, again, were entirely pleased with the accommodations, both the attentive, thoughtful, personal service, dealing with the owner directly and the first class linens and kitchen organization. The kitchen labeling of drawers and cupboards not only helps to locate items in the large area, but is certainly necessary in considering the next visitor's convenience.
The very pleasant surprise was, not only, that we payed less than last visit, but, two showers and the pool have been beautifully re-tiled. We were comfortable on the decks, wind/breeze wise and especially basked in the gorgeous view of the ocean and little islands that don't show on-line. The owner provides much info in the way of restaurants, beaches and shopping. There is also a phone with long distance included. You definitely need a car, though, a strip mall with various fast food is within easy walking distance. Beach/pool towels also provided.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Mary,
Thank you for your review and sharing what you found enjoyable in our home. Yes, we have done alot of remodeling and renovations in the last two years! Its great you got to see the before and after of the improvements as we try to continually upgrade and keep everything in tip top shape!
Mahalo! Jenny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

In Response to the Review By Sherri A

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

I have spent alot of time in this Beautiful Home and Have been very Blessed to have taken part in its up keep from time to time. And to have such irresponsible,Slovenless,Lazy,Disrespectful Pigs come in and treat it otherwise says alot about how they keep their own home !!!! The RULES of the HOUSE is VERY SIMPLE. If you Use it put it back,if you make a Mess clean it dont leave it to fester !!! If The TRASH is full take it out,dont leave it overflowing,If you break it OWN UP TOO IT !!! If you breach your RENTAL CONTRACT YOU ARE AT FAULT...Dont try to sneak more Guest into the unit and not think the Owner wont find out...OMG and to Leave your half eaten food for the HOUSEKEEPER to deliver to THE HOMELESS was Just Plain DISGUSTING !!!! Its Like saying that Those Unfortunate People Deserve no better then your GERM INFESTED FOOD!!!! That you were to lazy to put into the TRASH!!! As Per the Laundry,That is Bull !!! The Owner Comes out at least once and most times twice a year and BUYS New Bedding,Towels amongst other things just to Keep Her GUEST COMFORTABLE AND Welcomed in her HOME...The owner is not asking you to clean the whole house and have everything SPOTLESS when you check out,all She asked is you SHOW AND TREAT HER HOME THE WAY YOU WOULD YOUR OWN....I should create a website for Vacation Rental Owners TO Comment and Write Reviews about Guests that have no Respect for The Rentals they Occupy!!!! And believe you me,You will be on the top of the list !!!! I Think I will Call It Pigs For Guest!!!! Let see how much places will rent you their home for your next vacation...LMAO For all future Guest who have read the review above mine,pay no heed to that woman,she was just angry because the owner found out about the extra people that she had sneeked into the house... I can Guarantee that your stay at this Beautiful Home is More than Worth It in Everyway...Now the only thing the house does not provide is a MAID,and if you require one then you have to pay for that yourself...but maybe the owner can assist you in recommending a Cleaner to come in during your stay..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not worth 8500.00

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

This house is titled "Luxury" and it is nice. I would rate it 3 stars. It is clean, there was room for all of my family.
Part of our disappointment with this location had to do with the wind. If you don't mind strong winds, then this is the house for you. I should have had warning bells go off when the owner talks about not using air conditioner as there is enough "trade" winds to cool off the house. We had too much wind to use any of the decks. When we talked to locals, they informed us that the wind is typical. Which is why there is good surfing. ( I know..., should've heard more warning bells)
As for future renters, there are a lot of "rules" that come with this house. And if you follow all of them, you will be happy with this home. Make sure you vacuum your own sand, make sure you put all kitchen utensils in appropriate drawers, make sure you don't have any excess garbage, don't leave anything there that wasn't there previously (even if your think that the next renter may be able to use it) . These all seem petty to me, but to the owner, they represent disrespect. The cleaning fee you pay is not to cover that. You may also want to take your own towels, as they are limited and very worn.

Owners response: Mrs. A, We are sorry you were not pleased with the weather or standards of our home during your stay. Fortunately, for all of us, this is the first such experience since we opened our home almost four years ago. While I am not one for bickering I would like to reply for the benefit of those who may be considering our home as their vacation destination.
Possibly this family was not familiar with tropical climates. For more information about wind, weather and other climate conditions look up NOAA, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. This week, for example, wind speeds ranged between 4-14mph with 24mph gusts and is pretty typical.
As for the standards of our home...we do ask that people care for our home "like you would as if it were your own". Although behaviors are unique to each family we respectfully ask that wet and sandy people not sit on the furniture, linens and bedings. For convenience and organization we have labeled all kitchen cupboards and drawers so guests can find things and then return them to their proper locations so the next guests can also find them easily. Since our home is not a hotel there are such responsibilities as taking out the trash for pick-up. We do consider 3 industrial sized garbage cans plus 4 more 55 gallon bags and a run to the dump to be excessive trash. The refrigerator full of left-overs and a dozen Rubbermaid containers "left for a shelter, the homeless or the next renters" is not acceptable to us in any way!
Regretfully, we did not charge for any of these things and that was that mentioned in the comment. But what we did charge for was a broken chair, damaged bed and two extra guests for 14 nights not listed on the Agreement and thus this review. Finally, we usually put out 10-12 towel sets per group which is more than one set per paid person. The part about the "worn towels"...well that is just an untruth! Please know that both we as owners and our housekeepers try our best to please our guests! We take our home and your stay very seriously. Cleanliness, convenience, comfort, beauty and "the at home extras" are what we truly strive for to make your stay very special.
For more guest comments see Homeaway #232519.
Respectfully, Jenny

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review