reviews for: listing #69739 - Carnelian Bay, California House rental

Tahoe Luxury Vacation Rental (Hot Tub,Backs to Forest, WiFi)
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Agate Bay
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $350 - $700 /nt
    $2,300 - $4,500 /wk

sort by:

Review

Review submitted: August 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

Wonderful location, backs up to open space, there is a hiking/biking trail right next to the property. It is in a beautiful quiet neighborhood where Flapjack, the resident Bassett Hound will greet you upon arrival and come back to visit daily. Unfortunately this home has no sound proofing. The master suite (complete with steam shower) is downstairs and every footstep made from the 2 bedrooms above can be heard by unmistakable creaking. Also, between the walls of the two bedroom upstairs, every conversation could be heard.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Overall a Great Place for a Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

This home worked great for our annual family summer vacation. The four bedrooms comfortably accommodated our six adults and five children (that included two pre-teens and a 2-year old). The kitchen, dining room and family room are spacious and met our needs perfectly. The kids also enjoyed the hot tub and ping pong table. The location was very convenient to sightseeing, hiking, and water related activities (including boat rental, river rafting and beach) as well as dining and food shopping. Our only gripe is that the walls separating the bedrooms should have had better sound insulation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family and Pet Vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We loved our stay. We had grandparents, great aunts, a teenager and his parents and there was something for everyone here. Our dog even made a new friend in "Flapjack" the neighborhood Basset Hound. It was beautiful, well appointed and had everything we needed and more to enjoy our stay. We made great dinners in the fabulous kitchen. Relaxed in the hot tub and played cards till the wee hours in the stately great room. We look forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Tahoe home

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Stayed here in Sept with a group of friends. The home was beautiful and very well maintained. I could not believe that the pictures truly did represent the home well. The rooms are comfortable, the kitchen seemed to have everything, the outside area is great as well with a nice hot tub, a few nice lounge chairs and a great table to entertain. Highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Relaxing Cabin Experience

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

This rental was everything my family was looking for and MORE! It was elegant, beautiful, clean, and very well stocked. Everything you could ever need was in the kitchen! We loved cooking our meals each night and enjoying them together in the dining room or on the back patio. We loved that the property backs up to the forest so you feel more secluded.

When we saw the photos online, we fell in love with it and knew this would be the perfect place for our relaxing family vacation. We also picked this property because it had a downstairs bedroom and bathroom for my elderly grandfather, who is unable to walk up a full flight of stairs. The downstairs bedroom was perfect for him!

Also, I could tell the property was very well maintained. I was a little skeptical since it was a dog-friendly cabin. However, there were no smells or stains, in fact you would think this property never had dogs in it (except for small scratch marks in one of the upstairs bathrooms). We enjoyed being able to bring our family dogs on our vacation as well and not worrying about them back at home.

We were happy with the ease of booking the cabin over the internet and also it was easy to find the office to pick up the keys. The employees in the office were very pleasant and nice when we picked up and dropped off our keys.

I would definitely reccommed the Thompson rental!! I can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My dream Tahoe house!

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

We absolutely love this place. It's always clean and well stocked (plates, dishes, etc.). The management by Agate Bay realty is absolutely top notch. They are available and allow check-in at all hours. Directions (for the hot tub) and local dining guides are a huge bonus. And now..the house. If I could dream up my perfect home in Tahoe, this would be it! It has a beautiful great room, two master suites, a great bunk room...and all in a nice, quiet neighborhood. If you couldn't already tell, we absolutely love this place! Hands down the best value in north lake Tahoe for large groups and dog-friendliness.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: October 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our stay in the Thompson home was simply wonderful. Every detail has been thought of. It was the perfect home for 2 families with kids from 5-14. The older kids loved the bunk room with games and a bit of privacy. Younger kids could sleep near mom and dad (one master has a comfortable couch perfect for a little one, the other master has a room right next door with a queen bed). Every bed including bunks had extremely comfortable bedding. The cooks kitchen has everything you need to prepare a gourmet meal. The most well stocked rental I have ever stayed at. The home also backs up to the woods with hiking trails nearby. The little ones loved exploring the "forts" that had been built in the woods. Agate Bay Realty was a pleasure to work with and provided a binder with a ton of information about the area. The Thompson home is amazing. Rarely do you find a home this nice and still extremely homey and comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: October 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

You know when you book a place and you start to wonder if the house will really look like the pictures? After a few failed vacation home stays, i (and my friends) was really surprised and happy to see this house was just as advertised. It's a beautiful home inside and out. Great living room and a really nice kitchen. All the bedrooms are spacious including the "kid" room with 5 individual beds. In the back there is a nice hot tub, a huge table and a nice barbeque. Truly a nice place, will definitely book again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Haven at the Thompson House

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 24, 2012

So relaxing and restful. The hot tub and sauna were soo nice. we made a luge track in the forest and had so much fun. We plan to make it an annual event.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time as Always

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

We've rented this cabin 3 years in a row now and every year has been great! We could have used a bit more snow this year. Can you guys work on that?

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A beautiful cabin in a winter wonderland!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

Everything was handled online quickly and easily. We arrived to a lovely, clean cabin stocked with everything we needed. There were plenty of linens, dishes, cooking utensils, all the comforts of home. It was close to town as well as to several ski resorts and a sledding area. Sitting in the hot tub with snow all around was especially nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best House in Tahoe!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

The Thompson house is my dream home and it's so awesome to be able to stay here, even if it's just for a short while. We had a group of friends up (13 of us total). Tons of room, everyone loved the house, the open layout allows for everyone to hang out but for multiple different conversations to go on at the same time. The hot tub is awesome! Our group was mostly couples and we opted to bring an aerobed and sleeping bags since the capacity includes single beds in the bunk room.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Loved the Thompson House

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic time in Tahoe, and loved the Thompson house. We would (and will) stay here again and again. The house is beautifully laid out, and equipped with everything you might need. We were very pleasantly surprised to find bathrobes in each room, and a very well equipped kitchen. The forest yard is a gorgeous and peaceful setting, yet the walk to the beach is short. What a great place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful and Comfortable Home

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

We were a group of seven needing 4 bedrooms, making the Thompson home a great choice. The house was sparkling clean when we arrived. It has a fully supplied kitchen with plenty of dishes, silverware, glassware and pots and pans for anything we could imagine needing! The kitchen had high end appliances and a dishwasher that was so quiet! Beds were comfortable and plush. The entertainment system in the living room worked great with surround sound, and a really nice wood burning fireplace with gas to help keep the fire going. Since the house backs up to the forest, it was private and woodsy making the spa time comfortable and nice. We were surprised by an early snow, so didn't have a chance to do much lake activities and were off season for neighborhood summer amenities, but had a nice home to stay cozy in. It's a lovely home with high ceilings making the house feel spacious, but the public spaces are all together so everyone can converse while some are cooking or eating or sitting by the fire. Would love to find an opportunity to enjoy this home again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time As Always

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

We've rented this cabin 3 years in a row now and every year has been great! We could have used a bit more snow this year. Can you guys work on that?

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful Cabin in Winter Wonderland

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

Everything was handled online quickly and easily. We arrived to a lovely, clean cabin stocked with everything we needed. There were plenty of linens, dishes, cooking utensils, all the comforts of home. It was close to town as well as to several ski resorts and a sledding area. Sitting in the hot tub with snow all around was especially nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

The Thompson Cabin was the perfect spot for our girls weekend get away. It's very spacious with a well-appointed kitchen, wonderful open living room, cozy beds, and great hot tub. All of these amenities made for a very fun and relaxing weekend away. We only stayed for the weekend, but easily could have stayed the entire week. I will definitely be reserving the Thompson Cabin for my next trip to Tahoe.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the Thompson home. The layout is ideal for larger groups/families, it is in terrific condition and really does look just like the photos...easy walk to the pool, quick drive to the beach. Large open deck. A great home to rent in a great area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heaven at the Thompson house

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

So relaxing and restful. The hot tub so nice. we made a luge track in the forest and had so much fun. We plan to make it an annual event.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful home, great location

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the Thompson home. The layout is ideal for larger groups/families, it is in terrific condition and really does look just like the photos...easy walk to the pool, quick drive to the beach. Large open deck. A great home to rent in a great area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

The Thompson Cabin was the perfect spot for our girls weekend get away. It's very spacious with a well-appointed kitchen, wonderful open living room, cozy beds, and great hot tub. All of these amenities made for a very fun and relaxing weekend away. We only stayed for the weekend, but easily could have stayed the entire week. I will definitely be reserving the Thompson Cabin for my next trip to Tahoe.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

For the past 10 years with family and we have stayed in a new cabin every year. Not anymore! This one's a keeper and we'll stay here again year after year. The only hiccup was that the TV didn't work in the main room. However, someone from the office came to look at it on a saturday. They couldn't fix it but we appreciated the effort.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

It was great to be able to start of a whole family yearly tradition with The Nunez Family. Knowing my dad's standards of any place he has to lay his head, there was no room for compromise. The Thompson House surpassed these qualities. It has all that you can expect and more. It was a pleasure to stay at this house and I will be staying here every year with the parents, brothers, nephews, daughters, wife and two dogs. I do recommend this house but please don't book it during spring break 2011,2012,2013,14,15... cuz thats when we love to go. Thanks Agate Bay for a wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House, Great Visit

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

Ourselves and another family rented the house forski week (5 adults, 6 kids) and it worked outperfectly. the layout was great for everyone(three nice bedrooms with access to bathrooms, abunkhouse that the kids loved). the location wascentral to anything we needed (ski resorts,groceries, shopping, the lake, etc.).the property backed up to open forest, whichprovided nice privacy and scenery. the hot tub wasused every day! we cooked in most nights and thekitchen was great for cooking and entertaining.ping pong in the garage was a bonus we had notplanned for...all in all, we would look to rent this place againsummer or winter!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream Tahoe House

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

This was an amazing house. The kitchen, open layout, bedrooms, hot tub...were all amazing for our large group + beloved four-legged family members. The realty office was a little hard to find and we couldn't figure out how to turn on the lights in the house for awhile but definitely was user error. Note to anyone who stays there in the future -- the hot tub take a long time to warm up so plan accordingly! Overall it was a great place and is definitely the best place I've rented for large groups in North Lake!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2000

For the past 10 years with family and we have stayed in a new cabin every year. Not anymore! This one's a keeper and we'll stay here again year after year. The only hiccup was that the TV didn't work in the main room. However, someone from the office came to look at it on a saturday. They couldn't fix it but we appreciated the effort.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Da New Nunez Familia Tradition

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

It was great to be able to start of a whole family yearly tradition with The Nunez Family. Knowing my dad's standards of any place he has to lay his head, there was no room for compromise. The Thompsom House surpassed these qualities. It has all that you can expect and more. It was a pleasure to stay at this house and I will be staying here every year with the parents, brothers, nephews, daughters, wife and two dogs. I do recommend this house but please don't book it during spring break 2011,2012,2013,14,15... cuz thats when we love to go. Thanks agate Bay for a wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

Loved the house and large open floor plan. Backyard was peaceful and relaxing. We had an incredible visit and will definitely rent the house again, it was very clean with many amenities.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Years Eve Fun

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

We had an excellent stay at the Thompson house for New Years Eve 2009, the rooms and house in general were perfect for our group and we thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, fire, media facilities and general living space. We also enjoyed the ping pong table which formed the focus for a very enjoyable tournament whilst we were there. I would highly recommend the house to anyone looking for a comfortable, spacious and homely base whilst staying in the North Tahoe area whether its for water sports in the summer or the awesome range of ski resorts on your door step in the winter.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House; Great Visit

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Ourselves and another family rented the house for ski week (5 adults, 6 kids) and it worked out perfectly. the layout was great for everyone(three nice bedrooms with access to bathrooms, a bunkhouse that the kids loved). the location was central to anything we needed (ski resorts,groceries, shopping, the lake, etc.).the property backed up to open forest, which provided nice privacy and scenery. the hot tub was used every day! we cooked in most nights and the kitchen was great for cooking and entertaining.ping pong in the garage was a bonus we had not planned for...all in all, we would look to rent this place again summer or winter!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

We had a fabulous time, with our family and friends. I would definitely come back here. Great for kids, great location, clean. We had a Wonderful time...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

We had a wonderful reunion of college friends at the Thompson House! The house was beautiful, clean and dog friendly! We enjoyed skiing close by during the day and relaxed in the hot tub at night. I would definitely recommend this property for a Lake Tahoe getaway!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 4, 2009   Date of arrival: February 4, 2009

This house was perfect for our winter get away trip. The hot tub was perfect after a hard day on the slopes. Thanks for the usage of your beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2008   Date of arrival: July 10, 2008

The home was exactly as advetised and in excellent condition. We had a lovely family gathering and the house was spacious enough to accommodate us and not feel crowded. One suggestion: replace the plastic deck chairs with something more sturdy.

Owners response: FYI, the chairs are in the process of being replaced. Thank you for the feedback.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 23, 2008   Date of arrival: January 23, 2008

The house was great. Works well for a family. The pool and pier membership is an added plus.

Would rent again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 22, 2008   Date of arrival: January 22, 2008

Beautiful, clean house! Great location and perfect for
dogs. . .would love to stay there again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 4, 2007   Date of arrival: April 3, 2007

We loved this home. It was a perfect winter getaway with the kids and our Berner who loved the open space right in the backyard! We would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 3, 2007   Date of arrival: April 3, 2007

This is a great place. Large, open sitting room with a big fire place. Lots of nice and spacious bedrooms. It is a perfect place if you have dogs since the house backs directly into a wooded nature area. Outdoor hot tub is new. Will definitely rent this place again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 3, 2007   Date of arrival: April 3, 2007

This was a very comfortable house. Nicely decorated and clean. I loved the heated floors!! We would definately stay here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review