reviews for: listing #69858 - Poipu Beach, Hawaii Condo rental

Poipu Oceanfront!! Walk to Beach, Beautiful 2BD Condo!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $375 /nt
    $2,100 - $2,450 /wk
    $9,000 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

We stayed at this fantastic condo from Feb 28 - March 15 2013. The owners were great to deal with through the whole process, any questions that we had were answered very promptly. The condo is in a magnificent location and had more than enough space for the 4 of us (2 couples). The two recliners and two chairs/footstools on the lanai provided a very comfortable setting for whale/turtle/surfer watching and being on the ground floor gave us the added bonus of moving the furniture from the lanai onto the grass every night to watch the sunset. It was virtual solitude compared to the throngs gathering outside the Beach House Restaurant. The snorkeling is fantastic, if you're comfortable in the water swim near the rocks directly to the front of the condo complex, turtles everywhere in the late afternoon.
The kitchen is very well appointed, plenty of good cookware and the spice rack is very useful. The layout of the kitchen is great, we ate most of our meals at the condo and with all the windows/doors open, cooking and eating 30 feet from the surf was amazing.
We had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this condo.
Alan and Margaret, Edmonton AB

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Mahalo!

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

I am one to research things ad nauseam and still worry that I didn't find the right spot. Well, my fears were completely unfounded which I realized the moment we walked through the door. I had picked perfectly! Although a middle unit, it felt like we were in a corner unit with the extra windows, yet we didn't have to deal with anyone walking by to go to the restaurant. The amenities were fantastic; it was spotless with plenty of towels, chairs and toys. If you cook, the kitchen is ready for you - we were impressed by the level of the appliances, pots, pans, knives etc... Finally, turtles, surfers and rainbows were right on cue to watch from the comfort of the lanai and we had the good fortune of being there during the full moon so we not only saw the sun set, but the moon as well. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The week went much too quickly!

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

My daughter and I had such a great time. The condo is very beautifully decorated. We felt very much at home. The condo was spotless. The furnishings were wonderful. The beds were so comfortable that we were able to greet each new day well rested. The view of the ocean was amazing. When we arrived there were fresh fresh flowers (what a nice touch). The ocean was so close, I could just sit and watch it all day but, of course, we didn't. We had too much to do. We took the helicopter tour, went to a luau and went ziplining. Check in was easy and uncomplicated. The complex was quiet at night. The only negative thing I can think of was that there wasn't any A/C. In April it was fine, but I wondered what it would be like during the summer months. It was just a great experience all around. I would highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrific Condo at Poipu

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

We stayed in both Kuhio Shores 114 and 410 in March 2010 because neither was available for the full time that we were on Kauai. Bottom line: Wonderful site, beautiful condos, responsive owners. We give these condos our highest recommendation with absolutely no reservations.

The site: We've been to Kauai three previous times and always enjoyed staying at Kiahuna Plantation. This time, we decided to try Kuhio Shores which puts you right on the water with very good snorkeling accessible from either side of the condo building. Green sea turtles gather directly in front of the building and, if you venture out there with snorkeling gear, you will see *many* turtles. At one point, there was also a monk seal on the beach adjacent to the building. Does it get better than that?

The condos: 114 and 410 are owned by the same couple. Both condos were renovated recently, are beautiful, and are in superb condition. 114 is a first-floor walkout -- 25 feet of lawn, and there's the ocean. While 114 is at the center of the front of the building, the building bumps out at that point so the effect is like being in a corner unit, with an additional view along the coast to the west. 410 is on the top floor and does not have that additional glass but it's much easier to spot turtles from the higher vantage point.

Owners: We communicated with one of the owners (Ryan) several times via email and phone when booking and while in the condos, and he was always very responsive. He was also flexible about our checkout time as we had a very late-departing flight. Our security deposit was promptly returned after our stay.

Bottom line: We now prefer Kuhio Shores to Kiahuna Plantation because of its proximity to the water and for the excellent snorkeling mere feet away. 114 and 410 are absolutely beautiful and are owned and managed by people who care not only about their property but also about their guests. We give both condos five out of five stars, two thumbs up, and blue ribbons.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ocean Front and convenient

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 28, 2010

Ryan was great, directions where easy, the condo was perfect! it had plenty of towels, beach chairs, wireless internet, Bed was comfortable, and a flat screen TV, so it had just about everything to make it a great place to stay. The Condo is right on the ocean so you can watch the surfers at PK's and every few minutes a sea turtle will pop its head of out the ocean right in front of the lanai. The only down side for some people might be the lack of a pool for the condo complex, but the ocean front location makes up for it. We tried just about every restaurant in the area and found the all the menus where just about the same. (pacific cuisine)some a little better than others, but basically the same food, a new restaurant just opened while we where there called Josselins Tapas, a nice change for the area and the food was great, anyway thanks Ryan!
Great Condo! Aloha! The Alden's

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish I was there now!

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

Unit 114 is awesome, totally upgraded and spotlessly clean. The best part however is the location. Now this is a white water view! I've been to the beach at home and not been as close to the water as you are in the living room of this condo. Good snorkling is right next door at the Lawaii beach park and the Beach House restaurant is also next door. We were sorry to leave and would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

My daughter and I had such a great time. The condo is very beautifully decorated. We felt very much at home. The condo was spotless. The furnishings were wonderful. The beds were so comfortable that we were able to greet each new day well rested. The view of the ocean was amazing. When we arrived there were fresh fresh flowers (what a nice touch). The ocean was so close, I could just sit and watch it all day but, of course, we didn't. We had too much to do. We took the helicopter tour, went to a luau and went ziplining. Check in was easy and uncomplicated. The complex was quiet at night. The only negative thing I can think of was that there wasn't any A/C. In April it was fine, but I wondered what it would be like during the summer months. It was just a great experience all around. I would highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

We stayed in both Kuhio Shores 114 and 410 in March 2010 because neither was available for the full time that we were on Kauai. Bottom line: Wonderful site, beautiful condos, responsive owners. We give these condos our highest recommendation with absolutely no reservations.

The site: We've been to Kauai three previous times and always enjoyed staying at Kiahuna Plantation. This time, we decided to try Kuhio Shores which puts you right on the water with very good snorkeling accessible from either side of the condo building. Green sea turtles gather directly in front of the building and, if you venture out there with snorkeling gear, you will see *many* turtles. At one point, there was also a monk seal on the beach adjacent to the building. Does it get better than that?

The condos: 114 and 410 are owned by the same couple. Both condos were renovated recently, are beautiful, and are in superb condition. 114 is a first-floor walkout -- 25 feet of lawn, and there's the ocean. While 114 is at the center of the front of the building, the building bumps out at that point so the effect is like being in a corner unit, with an additional view along the coast to the west. 410 is on the top floor and does not have that additional glass but it's much easier to spot turtles from the higher vantage point.

Owners: We communicated with one of the owners (Ryan) several times via email and phone when booking and while in the condos, and he was always very responsive. He was also flexible about our checkout time as we had a very late-departing flight. Our security deposit was promptly returned after our stay.

Bottom line: We now prefer Kuhio Shores to Kiahuna Plantation because of its proximity to the water and for the excellent snorkeling mere feet away. 114 and 410 are absolutely beautiful and are owned and managed by people who care not only about their property but also about their guests. We give both condos five out of five stars, two thumbs up, and blue ribbons.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review