reviews for: listing #69869 - Montecito, California Cottage rental

~*~ Poolside Cottage ~*~
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $375 /nt
    $1,350 - $1,800 /wk
    $3,700 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Excellent Week

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

My husband, dog and I enjoyed 7 nights in the Poolside Cottage. I have never seen my dog so comfortable in a new space as this cottage. The grounds are just beautiful and so relaxing. We never took the time to go into the pool or hot tub (actually it was only warm the last 2 days of our stay). We never heard any sounds at night. We felt very secure within the compound. The area is just lovey, with quiet roads to walk. I was so impressed with the laundry facilities--two LG steam washers and LG dryers. I was really excited to get clean clothes. My husband played golf at the Sandpiper in Goleta while the dog and I shopped on State Street (Saks and Nordstrom are dog friendly). We were highly disappointed with Pierre Lafond nearby to the point we sent our pizza back (probably the worst pizza we have ever eaten). But we did enjoy Carlitos on State Street (with a lovely outdoor dog friendly patio and easy parking) and Stellas in Santa Barbara. Last year, we stayed at the Four Seasons Biltmore and prefer the Poolside cottage--no train whistles and less money. Reading was difficult and the cottage needs brighter light bulbs (but that is our only minor complaint). We would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We stayed in the pool side house and had a wonderful time. The weather was warm, but having the pool there was perfect.

I would recommend this property to my family and friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carla's Cozy Cottage

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

We were looking for a special place to celebrate my birthday while traveling to care for ill parents. We also needed this place to be pet-friendly. Our hostess Carla was absolutely wonderful and her cottages are beautiful and immaculate. The grounds are beautiful and private. The Cozy Cottage is part of a large estate with a beautiful pool and spa. It was raining while we were there so we didn't have the opportunity to utilize those particular facilities. The cottage had a full kitchen, living room, bath, and a large bedroom and a walk-in closet across from the bath. Both the livingroom and bedroom open out to a fairly private patio and lawn with lovely old growth landscaping. Carla made sure we had all we needed and gave us our privacy. The property is truly pet friendly and close to recreation areas, shopping, grocery stores, and restaurants. As well, it is only a few miles to the beach. We would love to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

May at Poolside

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

My husband, small baby and family dog all stayed at the poolside cottage for the month of May. This place is a gem and even better than we imagined! Carla is a wonderful hostess, the property is private and serene, the cottage is cozy and functional and the location can't be beat. We did not want to leave! It is an excellent value and we would love to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful vacation stay - this place has everything !!

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

We loved our stay at Carla's Cottages - everything was perfect and Carla and David were very gracious hosts - we would go back anytime ! The property is every bit as beautiful as it looks in the pictures - it's like being in a tropical garden yet only 10 minutes from Santa Barbara downtown.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A glorious new year!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

My fiance and I were looking for a quiet getaway after the whirlwind of the Christmas season. Carla's place was the perfect choice! The property and house was very well kept, and the neighborhood was nice and quiet. We had such a lovely time that we did not want to leave! We especially loved the fireplace, the full kitchen, and there was even a Christmas tree which made our stay extra cozy. We will be back in the summer so we can make better use of the pool! And then maybe again for this new year to make it our tradition.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A glorious new year!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

My fiance and I were looking for a quiet getaway after the whirlwind of the Christmas season. Carla's place was the perfect choice! The property and house was very well kept, and the neighborhood was nice and quiet. We had such a lovely time that we did not want to leave! We especially loved the fireplace, the full kitchen, and there was even a Christmas tree which made our stay extra cozy. We will be back in the summer so we can make better use of the pool! And then maybe again for this new year to make it our tradition.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We can't wait to go back

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

My husband and I just left Carla's Cottages. We fell in love with the property immediatly. We brought our 2 mini Aussies and it was so fun to have them be with us. Beautliful Montecito location. Carla and David are wonderful people and made sure we had everything we needed. The bed in our cottage was the most comfy ever. We are already planning a trip with our whole family and renting all the cottages!!!!! Great couple or family get away. Thank you

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation Rental 286531--Montecito Poolside Cottage

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

We had a great time in a lovely, cozy setting. Felt like we in our own home. Would clearly recommend to all others, albeit not a young child type of setting since pool area is best for quiet time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

Excellent. Very well maintained, clean and spacious cottage. Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids also enjoyed the pool and beautiful garden. Yes, we would stay again and recommend it to anyone traveling to Montecito and/or Santa Barbara.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderfully comfortable, relaxing getaway

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Young married couple with approx. 1 year old infant stayed for eight nights in June 2011. We found the property to be wonderfully comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. The bed was extremely comfortable, the grounds are idyllic and private, and the master closet was plenty large and comfortable enough for our infant's portable crib so she could still sleep close to us but have the requisite peace and quiet for a good night's sleep. The cottage in general was spacious and, well, nice - tastefully decorated, clean, cozy, etc. The owners (David and Carla) are gracious, accommodating, and seem genuinely to care whether their guests are comfortable. They live on-site but are not intrusive; the property is certainly quiet and private, yet they make themselves available if necessary via text, email, or a phone call. We definitely hope to return and can recommend the property (we stayed in the poolside cottage specifically) without hesitation.

If there is anything to quibble about, it is that the kitchen, while well-appointed for the basic vacation cook, is a bit lacking for cookware for serious cuisine. We enjoy cooking and planned all of our meals at home (having an infant will do that to you), and had to be creative a couple of times with regard to pots, pans, and other cookware. I would venture to guess that 95% of vacationers would find the equipment list to be more than enough.

Finally, it is worth mentioning that the rental property contains a large collection of religious books and videos on the shelves. We do not share the same faith as that espoused by the materials, but we were certainly not made uncomfortable in any way by their presence, and they are not displayed in an ostentatious way - the owners used to live in this property and this is clearly their personal collection. Those who are sensitive to issues of faith and/or who may be easily offended by such things should bear this in mind.

Overall, highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

the best place i ever lived...

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

My first visit to the cottage was in Dec 2004. I was supposed to stay for a weekend in Santa Barbara but ended up with a job offer and needed a place to stay. I reluctantly left in June of 2005.

The property is absolutely gorgeous and the owner's David and Carla are like family to me now. You won't be dissapointed staying here--it's like being on vacation 24/7! Montecito is the place to be not to mention only being 10 minutes from downtown Santa Barbara and Carpinteria. I loved it so much I came back and rented from them for another 2 years (March 2008- March 2010).

Now I live in a closet with a view in San Francisco and sometimes wonder why I ever left;)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best place I ever lived...

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

My first visit to the cottage was in Dec 2004. I was supposed to stay for a weekend in Santa Barbara but ended up with a job offer and needed a place to stay. I reluctantly left in June of 2005.

The property is absolutely gorgeous and the owner's David and Carla are like family to me now. You won't be dissapointed staying here--it's like being on vacation 24/7! Montecito is the place to be not to mention only being 10 minutes from downtown Santa Barbara and Carpinteria. I loved it so much I came back and rented from them for another 2 years (March 2008- March 2010).

Now I live in a closet with a view in San Francisco and sometimes wonder why I ever left;)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

monticwto cottage respite

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

My beautiful cottage was the perfect spot to both relax and restore and also be a comfortable home base for planning day trips to
Santa Barbara and other adventures.

Carla was a wonderful host - there if I needed her help, leaving me to my privacy if I needed that. I had hoped that this location would have been a bit less car dependent,- it is not. You definitely need a car to go anywhere. I got used to this though.

So much to do in and around Santa Barbara. I recommend the opera. Beautiful! Many wonderful beaches if you are traveling with a pet. You will feel relaxed and rested from your stay here.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good time in Montecito

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Poolside Cottage. Carla was a great hostess and all of our needs were taken care of. The grounds are spectacular and the cottage was wonderfully comfortable. Great thanks for a much-needed, relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thumbs Up

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

We recently stayed in Poolside cottage and enjoyed it very much. It's a great property and neighborhood, with excellent hosts. It's an idyllic, quiet retreat yet close to lots of activities; beach, hiking, and cultural venues.
We shall return!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Better late than never...

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2010

Ok, so this review is about six months old, and I really regret not posting sooner! But everyone pretty much has it covered, this place is heaven on earth. And Carla is the nicest and most accommodating owner I've ever encountered!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Getaway

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

Had a great time at the Cottage, gorgeous garden, beautiful pool, a wonderful place to relax or to recharge the batteries. Ocean is just minutes away - but belief it or not - we were hanging around the pool most of the time... :-))

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The best place I ever lived...

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

My first visit to the cottage was in Dec 2004. I was supposed to stay for a weekend in Santa Barbara but ended up with a job offer and needed a place to stay. I reluctantly left in June of 2005.

The property is absolutely gorgeous and the owner's David and Carla are like family to me now. You won't be dissapointed staying here--it's like being on vacation 24/7! Montecito is the place to be not to mention only being 10 minutes from downtown Santa Barbara and Carpinteria. I loved it so much I came back and rented from them for another 2 years (March 2008- March 2010).

Now I live in a closet with a view in San Francisco and sometimes wonder why I ever left;)

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

The best place I ever lived...

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

My first visit to the cottage was in Dec 2004. I was supposed to stay for a weekend in Santa Barbara but ended up with a job offer and needed a place to stay. I reluctantly left in June of 2005.

The property is absolutely gorgeous and the owner's David and Carla are like family to me now. You won't be dissapointed staying here--it's like being on vacation 24/7! Montecito is the place to be not to mention only being 10 minutes from downtown Santa Barbara and Carpinteria. I loved it so much I came back and rented from them for another 2 years (March 2008- March 2010).

Now I live in a closet with a view in San Francisco and sometimes wonder why I ever left;)

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

You won't want to leave!

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2004

My first visit to the cottage was in Dec 2004. I was supposed to stay for a weekend in Santa Barbara but ended up with a job offer and needed a place to stay. I reluctantly left in June of 2005.

The property is absolutely gorgeous and The Flynn's are like family to me now. You won't be dissapointed staying here--it's like being on vacation 24/7! Montecito is the place to be not to mention only being 10 minutes from downtown Santa Barbara and Carpinteria. I loved it s much I came back and rented from them for another 2 years (March 2008- March 2010).

Now I live in a closet with a view in San Francisco and sometimes wonder why I ever left;)

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review