reviews for: listing #69921 - Pemaquid, Maine Cottage rental

Alison's Wish
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pemaquid Point
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $975 - $1,175 /wk

sort by:

Paradise Found...

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Nestled in on Pemequid Point
Right near where the road make a joint
A lovely yellow cottage sits
Come rest your frazzled self a bit.

Daily walk the beautiful loop
Morn or Eventide your spirits won't droop.
While on the loop smell the rose hedges
or stop at the Lighthouse and view from the ledges.

The ocean delights both young and old
and maybe a starfish you can hold.
The waves do thunder as you sit and wonder
Neap or Ebb, the waves crash assunder.

Travel a bit to find great treasures
and fun you'll have well beyond measure.
The seafood is fresh with great lobster claws
just up the road on the wharf - it's Shaw's.

The cottage - so quaint and all kinds of cozy
the perfect retreat - the neighbors aren't nosy.
Seashells appear in jars and on walls
to find some go to the shore not the mall.

The rooms have the feel of Maine, oh it's true
Out of a dream this reality grew.
Two young girls made our rest more pleasant
for this family from Vermont it was such a present.

We've gone there twice now and love it so much
we're ready to book again with just a keypad touch.
You'll love it too, for rest you will find
The lull of the ocean you will not mind.

So book it today - for it fills up fast
And you can remember the Maine of the past.
The cottage has all the amenities needed
Just bring yourself and to wonders you'll be treated!

**Our family cannot say enough wonderful things about this picturesque part of Maine. I remember Pemequid from you youth and I was not disappointed going back 40 years later. Please take the time to book either Alison's Wish or Serenity Cottage. You will find no place more beautiful than here. We invited friends and family to stay here with us and all agree, it's well worth a second trip!

The Moore Family
So. Newfane, VT

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Neat Place For a Relaxing Week

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

This house is very adequate for 6 people. All bedrooms are up a flight of stairs. The queen bed is very comfortabble. A family of 3 would fit the second bedroom. The house is old but very well kept - quite large. The TV is cable and the internet access was perfect. No problems at all. The kitchen has everything needed for cooking - adequately furnished with dishes pots, and utensils.

We enjoyed being able to take a day trip to Acadia National Park and visit Bar Harbor as well as other towns nearby. Don't miss Boothbay Harbor for shopping and lobster dinner. The best lobster roll is found at "Red's Eats" at the west end of the bridge in Wiscasset. Well worth the trip and the usual wait in line!!

We look forward to next year already!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Alison's Wish -wishing to go back soon

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

I would highly recommend this property/vacation spot. It was clean, well maintained, cozy, and well stocked with everything we needed. We have been vacationing in the area for 10 years now and had outgrown our other cottage of many years. Alison's Wish was an excellent find for us. Plenty of room for us to spread out but feel cozy at the same time. This is a very family friendly, quiet, beautiful location. We were able to do short local trips and day trips up and down the coast to favorite old and new locations. Great location if you like outdoor excercise. Wonderful local places to eat( and explore) or just stay at home and cook. Owner is friendly, prompt with response and communication is easy. Would recommend to my friends and family members.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

One of the best places on the Point

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

My Wife and I spent two wonderful weeks in this charming home in a supurb location. The owner and sister did a marvelous job remodeling the place with a new eat-in kitchen (including a dish-washer), Clothes washer and drier, front porch and back deck with gas grill), and fully screened sleeping porch. We definitely have fallen in love with the place and are making our reservations for 2012!

Besides being around the corner from Pemaquid Light, the house is close to a number of attractions, restaurants, etc, and a grocery store.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

serene and peaceful vacation at Allison's Wish

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Such a spectacular spot to relax near the rocky coast of Maine. A short walk to the lighthouse, bring your camera, the view here is stunning. Also, a restaurant and gift shop located here where you can eat your blueberry pancakes while be mesmerized by crashing surf right outside. We brought bikes and found the loop road a perfect spot to bike along the coast and back up the inner road to the cottage. We found many quiet spots to watch the sunset out on those rocks, and will never forget the tranquility there. We enjoyed kayaking off Christmas Cove and Round Pond and found sea glass and driftwood along the shores. The cottage itself was perfect, roomy, comfortable, and quiet, stocked with good movies and books! This was one of our favorite vacations, truly relaxing and soothing to the soul, to get away and breathe in the sea air and listen to the surf while watching the sun set over the horizen. Next year we hope to return and do it all again!
Sue from CT.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful and relaxing

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Spent a week at Allison's Wish, and it was a wonderful time. The "cottage" (more like a house) was clean, comfortable, and felt like a home away from home from the moment we walked in the door. The sun porch was one of my favorite places to sit and read, or just enjoy the scenery. It was only about a 5 minute walk down the road to the lighthouse, and the location was remote enough to be quiet and relaxing, yet close enough to be able to drive to tourist attractions. All of my communications with the owners were via email and responses were always prompt. I could not have asked for a better experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review