reviews for: listing #70 - Sanibel Island, Florida Condo rental

Blind Pass / Bowmans Beach Best Winter Rates
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Blind Pass
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,934 /wk

sort by:

Blind Pass, the BEST of Sanibel

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

Having visited many seaside places Sanibel and Blind Pass stand out from the rest. The location is unique, no other condos nearby, a beach than goes on for miles with no crowds of people, just birds and at times dolphins just off shore. The condo is spacious with all amenities and an owner that keeps in contact an is readily available to assist with information and concerns. A car is necessary due to the away from it all location at the "quiet end of the island." The island has many restaurants and we were fortunate to have the fall special with the dining booklet that made it a better deal than otherwise. The grounds are quite large and well planted with two tennis courts and a large pool. A great place to experience a naturalist experience but with all activities such as the Wildlife Refuge, shopping and restaurants all within a ten minute drive. Highly recommended for all vacationers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 93 / 103

 

Wonderful place, great time

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

My family (with two young boys aged one and five) spent a week at Blind Pass condo in October 2011 and had a great time there. If you are looking for quiet place far from crowd and near nature, this is a perfect place. Bowman beach, which is only a few steps away is the best on Sanibel for relaxing or shelling. Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge is only few minutes drive away. Nice restaurants and supermarket are all fairly close by. The owner is one of the few who manage the renting by himself. Thus no overhead cost of the condo association management fees. His unit is maybe the most in-expensive ones of all from the same complex. He also kindly and promptly answered all our questions before our trip with very helpful suggestions. In his comfortable condo, we found everything we need – plenty of cooking utensils, towels, sheets and beach toys. We indeed had a wonderful time there.

Helpful votes: 91 / 101

 

Best Sanibel Experience

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful time on Sanibel. Have visited the island many times. This condo was the best because of its location and the amenities provided. New living sofa/bed and love seat, fully tiled kitchen, spacious and well equipped.
The pool is just down a few steps and the walk to the beach is a short hop over the bayou by a footbridge. We saw many wading birds in the bayou and on a canoe trip really saw nature up close. A beach carry all on wheels helps bring anything you like to the beach without having to carry it. If you want a comfortable, reasonably priced fully equipped condo on the island's best shelling place, this is the place to stay. The owner is very helpful and is happy to answer all questions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 103 / 140

 

Our Island Time

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We were referred to another condo owner as this unit was already rented. The unit was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. This time of year is quiet, hot and rainy, but it didn't effect our vacation plans. There is a walk to the beach, about ten minutes. If you have any mobility issues the walk can seem much longer. There is a public side to Bowman's Beach, to the right and to the left a much less populated stretch of beach. Shelling is much better in the winter/spring months as the currents bring the shells to the beach. We still found great shells, just not tons of them. The pool area was nice, posted rules were not always followed and there was no one there to enforce them. It was a plus to have Weber grills to use.
All in all we had a great vacation and we would consider going back in another season.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: The other condo metioned here is at the furthermost corner of the property and is a few minutes additional walk. Shelling is actually much better in the summer, especially after an afternoon thunderstorm. In the winter/spring months there is much more competition for the available shells. Fall is probably the best as it is much quieter on Sanibel.

Helpful votes: 53 / 86

 

deceiving

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Upon arrival at this condo it was not quite ready for us. We returned later to find the condo not updated. The screen was torn and the windows needed sticks to stay up. The refrigerator had an awful odor. We tried to contact the owner because we were not happy with the condo. Since the owner is NOT part of the association at Blind Pass they will not help you with anything. It took the owner 16 hrs. to get back with us. The owner told us he lived in Ft. Meyer and he would take care of everything. However, the owner was out of the country. The owner also told us the walk to the beach was 100 yds. It is more like 300 yds. The balcony they mention is where you walk into the condo. We opted not to stay in this condo and found a wonderful condo on Sanibel Island. Also there was no cancellation policy in the contract we signed. Now it will be up to the owner if we get back any or all of our money. Since we had to pay all up front there is no guarantee that we will get anything refunded. As of this date 6-21-11 we have not received a refund and owner will be out of the country till fall. We were not happy at all with this situation.

Owners response: This review was submitted by people who DID NOT stay in my unit. The cleaning crew was there upon their arrival and had not even finished cleaning as they had arrived an hour before check in. Unfortunately some weeks need more cleaning than others. Renters are asked not to arrive before 3:00 as the cleaning may not be completed. Refund policy is full refund six weeks before arrival, less time if rented to another party. There can be no refunds upon arrival, no such request has ever been made. Read the review of the renters that stayed in my unit the following week. The walk to the beach was remeasured and is 125 yards over the picturesque bayou with many wading birds. Most people enjoy the views crossing the bayou on the footbridge.

Helpful votes: 49 / 102

 

Relaxing Sanibel Style

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

My Wife and I have been coming to Sanibel Island for over 15 years straight now and this Blind Pass Condo was by far the best we have stood at. The condo was clean and spacious and priced right. With a short walk to the beach and and centrally located on the island, my family and I had a great time shelling, relaxing and enjoying the sunsets. Having a well equiped kitchen and outdoor grill area, we ate in most of the time. I will definately come back here as the owner Ed was easy to work with and very accomodating. Thanks for letting us have a great time at our favorite vacation spot!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It is nice to get a great review from someone who ACTUALLY stayed in my unit. I guess you can't please everyone but it appears my unit is close to 100%. Over the years the reviews have been great and the people who rent have been very nice and easy to accommodate. Thanks for an honest review

Helpful votes: 49 / 88

 

tropical vacation for families

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

I would love to recommend this condo as a perfect place for families to rest and relax. The condo had everything we needed to complete our week vacation. We cooked several nights in the kitchen and enjoyed the open living room, dining room area. The short walk to beach was a favorite as we walked over the bridge. The jumping fish were fun to watch and we even saw an alligator. We were able to use the beach chairs and umbrella and my son enjoyed the sand toys. We enjoyed our walks on the beach each night. My teenage daughter and son enjoyed the pool too. It was by far the best family vacation spot we have found in several years. We will definitely go back. AWESOME CONDO!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 52 / 90

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

This was our first time to Gulf Coast and Sanibel and we are so glad we chose to stay at Blind Pass. It was a convienent walk to Bowman's Beach for early morning shelling. We enjoyed canoing with the canoes provided there. The condo was at the quieter end of the island, which was nice. It was convient to Captiva for the amazing sunsets. We were able to bike to Ding Darling Nature preserve. While the condo reminded us of our college dorms, it was comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff at Blind Pass was kind and helpful. The other people staying there seemed to be those seeking a quiet holiday/vacation rather than the loud partying kind. Really we were quite pleased by everything with this place. The only thing we wished for were some shelling or birding books in the condo for reference. We had to go buy some of those to satisfy our curiosity.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy you enjoyed our condo at Blind Pass. There had been several shelling and birding books in the condo. Upon checking my guest list it appears this renter stayed in a different unit at Blind Pass as the shell books are still there and the reference to college dorm rooms is not accurate.

Helpful votes: 47 / 75

 

Loving Blind Pass

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Review #[123345] Review Title
Over 15 years ago my husband & I were seeking a holiday spot on Sanibel with, our then young son and his buddy. Such luck to have found this condo. We have returned year after year and have loved every moment. One week became 2 weeks each year and family & friends have all agreed that it is paradise. First, the owners take wonderful care of the unit. It is clean and ready with everything you might need from washer/dryer, linens, dishes, pots, pans, movies, books, beach chairs and towels. This place is huge, plenty of room for 6 without crowding. The grounds are lovely with a big, CLEAN pool, tennis courts and canoes to borrow in order to explore the lagoon. People in the office are always helpful and cheerful offering tons of information about the area. The couple of minutes walking over the lagoon to the beautiful beach is always magic for us. The wildlife in the water, fish jumping and all types of birds cause us to linger a bit and just gaze at the beauty around us. The beach is never crowded and as my husband sets up for a day of surf fishing I begin gathering gorgeous seashells to bring back home. (they don't call it the Sanibel Stoop for nothing, it becomes an addiction and every few feet there is another "treasure" I can't resit bending down for and adding to my shell bag.) The sand is soft and the water is warm and clear and Sunset on Bowman's Beach shouldn't be missed! The island offers everything one could desire for a vacation. Bikes can be rented for a short time or delivered to the condo, leaving your car parked for a good part of your stay. My elderly Mom loved Blind Pass and was able to continue doing so even when walking became difficult for we were able to rent a "dune buggy" wheelchair which allowed her to enjoy the beach as much as ever. Swimming, fishing, wildlife parks and trails/bike paths everywhere for walking and bike riding, all terrific. Now you add the rest of the Island where there are numerous restaurants with delicious food & drink. There is music, art, shops, theater, and places we haven't discoverd yet. Sanibel has everything. Best of all, after an afternoon or evening being out on the unique "Sanibel Town," we return to the beauty and quiet of "our" condo at Blind Pass. Nothing beats our visits. It has become our second home. Thanks to the owners of this lovely condo and thanks for sharing it with those of us wanting the perfect get-away with something for everyone in the family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: As the owner I really appreciate the fact that my condo brings such joy to my renters. I try to keep the condo in the best condition by calling each renter to ask them directly if everything in in order or if they need anything. I feel Sanibel is a unique place and my condo is one of the best places to experience the "real" Sanibel in its natural state. Welcome to all who love Sanibel and to those of you yet to experience this wonderful piece of paradise.

Helpful votes: 54 / 81

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review