reviews for: listing #70021 - Pacific Palisades, California House rental

Los Angeles~ Stunning Ocean and City View Home, Santa Monica
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pacific Palisades
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $500 /nt
    $2,250 - $3,500 /wk
    $8,500 - $9,500 /mth

sort by:

Comfortable house in gorgeous setting

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: June 26, 2014

We just returned from a terrific weekend in Pacific Palisades, for a family wedding. Our large group (10), ranging in age from 1 to mid-60s, had a wonderful experience! The house was fully equipped - the kitchen and new grill made restaurant reservations unnecessary. The spectacular view coupled with relaxing outdoor space - love the fireplace - provided for a memorable family weekend of relaxing, cooking, reading, sipping cocktails, watching the sunset - marvelous!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A House Of The Angels

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

The house is fantastic. We were 9 people in the same family, with ages ranging from 20 to 80. Everybody loved it! Very well located, well equipped, with a spectacular view and a very peaceful atmosphere.
The evenings by the fire with a lot of wine, enjoying the sunset, honestly, were priceless

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful Home

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

My family and I stayed the week of June19th-26, 2014 .

What a beautiful home with so many great memories! The house was welcoming and convenient. We enjoyed the outside sitting area and fire place.
The evenings were so quiet we felt like we were all alone , while in a hustling, bustling city ...
Thank you Catherine, it was lovely.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Uma casa dos anjos em Los Angeles!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

A casa é fantástica. Estávamos em 9 pessoas da mesma família com idades variando de 20 a 80. Todos adoraram. Muito bem localizada, bem equipada, com uma vista espetacular e uma atmosfera de muita paz.
As noites ao lado da lareira, com muito vinho, apreciando o por do sol, sinceramente, foram impagáveis.

Owners response: Thank you Antonio, we are so pleased that your family enjoyed their stay! Do come again!

English translation of review:


The house is fantastic. We were 9 people in the same family with ages ranging from 20 to 80. Everybody loved it. Very well located, well equipped, with a spectacular view and a very peaceful atmosphere. The evenings by the fire with a lot of wine, enjoying the sunset, honestly, were priceless

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Our Stay

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 13, 2014

Just wanted to say we enjoyed your house very much!
The location and the artwork were fabulous,
not to mention the views~
Thank you,
Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What A View!

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

Hello, we just wanted to say thank you for the great stay at the home in Pacific Palisades.
It looked just like it does in the pictures online, what a view! And we
had everything that we needed.
We ( 5 gentlemen) definitely hope to stay here again!

Thank You!
Robby

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Inspiring Home -We Really Enjoyed Our Stay !

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

The house is so inspiring to be in. Both outside with the most amazing views ever, but also inside with creative interior, glass work and paintings. Looks like nothing else.

We were 4 guys, mainly staying put at the house, where we were finishing up our Danish recording/album. Creatively, the house and location couldn't be more spot-on than this one. There was plenty of space for all of us, and with two bathrooms there where always one free :-) It has very nice bed linens, etc.

Even the kitchen was over the top, with a really nice view of the sea and an entrance to the outdoor lounge/terrace where we hung out a lot. And you can also sit out on the roof, with an even greater view.

The property manager and booking agent were extremely helpful and stayed in touch with us to make sure all was well.

I can really recommend this house. We will return and we will definitely recommend it to our friends.


Kind Regards Jonas / Copenhagen - Denmark

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Odd house but good rental

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

We stayed here in December 2013. Pro's: great views -- 180 degree view of the Pacific -- and super location. It is an easy 15-minute walk down to Pacific Palisades and not-so-easy walk back up. You can walk to the beach, though driving is much easier. Outdoor space with couches and chairs is particularly nice. Brand-new grill was great. Beds are comfy and linens were clean, if not luxurious. Lots of bedrooms. Close to Santa Monica. Con's: the house gets a lot of use and it shows; appliances, furniture and linens and showing wear. For this price, things should be a bit fresher and nicer. And anyone renting really needs to know about the enormous artworks that cover every wall throughout the house (sometimes 2 deep). The subjects are religious/ mythological/ fantasy subjects and they are more than a little odd. There's quite a bit of nudity and there are sexually suggestive images, all of which was a good source of discussion with my group but might not be okay for some families. Overall, it was a pleasant experience -- rental agent and on-site person were easy to deal with & very responsive.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Has It All !

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

The house has it all!
It’s got an amazing view, a great location minutes away from Santa Monica,
and spacious rooms. The rooftop is incredible, as is the beautiful and
very unique artwork that covers the walls of the house
(rented house with a group of coworkers while traveling for business)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Has It All !

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

The house has it all. It’s got an amazing view, a great location minutes away from Santa Monica, and spacious rooms. The rooftop is incredible, as is the beautiful and very unique artwork that covers the walls of the house. – (rented house with a group of coworkers while traveling for business)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Fantastic House At A Fantastic Location"

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

We were a family of nine traveling from Australia, who rented this amazing house instead of constantly staying in hotels. There were four+ bedrooms to sleep us, all very comfortably, as well as fully equipped kitchen, two bathrooms, living room, heaps of TV’s, and most importantly a washer and dryer ! We wanted to be able to have some normality to our holiday by being able to cook some of our meals, wash our clothes, relax in front of the TV, and most importantly to chill out after long days of sightseeing - and this house allowed us to do it all. The outdoor areas were great to let the kids run around, but also great for the adults to sit and enjoy the spectacular views in front of the outside fireplace. Everything we needed was provided. The location was fantastic for all of our sightseeing, just a short drive to the shops, Santa Monica beach, Universal Studios and LA. The organization of our stay was made easy with help from Kathleen (and also from Gabrielle who was there to greet us on our arrival). I would recommend this gorgeous house to anyone due to the location, the comfort and space and the total ease of booking. I hope to visit you again one day and have told all of my Australian friends also who are hoping to visit the USA !! “

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Memorable Stay

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Our stay at your home will be one of the most memorable family vacations for us.
especially with my Mom having the early states of Alzheimer's Disease. :-)

Whenever we travel to CA, in the future, we will definitely contact you, regarding staying at your home again, if available.

Thank you so much, & God Bless You!

Carla

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Really Enjoyed Our Stay !

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

The house has the most incredible view of the ocean and the beaches of Pacific Palisades and Santa Monica. The outdoor lounge area was perfect for entertaining guests and mingling. Each room has a different large original painting in it, which created a unique experience. The beautiful paintings are primarily of women, often nude and set in nature. The kitchen had all the necessities for our group .
The house is in a great location - less than a mile from all the Village stores and restaurants in Pacific Palisades.
We really enjoyed our time at the house and would return in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Return !

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

Location. location, location !! the view from outside is breathtaking.
Outstanding service. Very spacious house. Beautiful and creative paintings.
Had party of 12 staying, everyone was comfortable. Minutes to everything in L.A.
Definitely looking forward to renting property in future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Views of Santa Monica

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

The property has a wonderful view of Santa Monica! It is a very quiet place, location is easy if you have a car as we did. The house comfortably fit our 10 people, and we found the 2 bathrooms more than adequate.
The kitchen has all you need and has a really nice view, I loved it there. The house is very cozy, we would be very pleased to stay there again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Loved This Home !

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

This wonderfully creative home in Pacific Palisades was just perfect for the week stay with our adult children. The outdoor lounge was a particular favorite with the view, fresh air and calm, quiet feeling. The owner is a very talented artist whose paintings are found throughout the property. The vivid color and unique themes of her work made for a fascinating journey throughout the house. We celebrated a birthday there and used some of the paintings as clues for finding the birthday present at the end of the mystery trail. There is ample room for plenty of guests, including a room off the master bedroom that also serves as an office. Also, in the backyard there is a small wooden cabin with a bed for one. Further up the stairs, guests can venture onto the roof for a truly classic view of Southern California. This fun house has marvelous privacy with nice relaxed feel inside. We all enjoyed being there with our six ages spanning from 24 to almost 70! If we have another chance to stay in this artist's house, we would surely do so. It was truly a fabulous week for all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Views and the Art!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

I rented this place for the cousins who are coming to my wedding in LA for 3 days.
The house was located on the hills of Pacific Palisades, 10 min drive to the ocean. The house has a secret pathway leading to the front door through a garden with great views over LA and the ocean. The patio area is my favorite; it has a huge outdoor sofa, which provides comfort and luxury to enjoy the views. The rooms and the kitchen are large with nice set-up, we didn’t cook in the house, but it has all the necessary kitchen tools.
The paintings in the house are absolutely beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Views and the Art!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

I rented this place for the cousins who are coming to my wedding in LA for 3 days.
The house was located on the hills of Pacific Palisades, 10 min drive to the ocean.
The house has a secret pathway leading to the front door through a garden with great views over LA and the ocean. The patio area is my favorite - it has a huge outdoor sofa, which provides comfort and luxury to enjoy the views. The rooms and the kitchen are large with nice set-up, we didn’t cook in the house, but it has all the necessary kitchen tools.
The paintings in the house are absolutely beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Class Trip

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

What can I say? What a beautiful house with a beautiful view!

I was in LA for a class trip and the house far exceeded my class' and my expectations. Even being next to the beach, we were able to get to downtown, Hidden Hills and many other places quickly.
The house is big with plenty room for a group of 12, we never felt cramped.
The kitchen was more than adequate and the bathrooms were clean.

This house is a little paradise nestled in the Pacific Palisades and worth its affordable price! - Daren

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Splendid Family New Years party!

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

Catherine's home was perfect for my family's new year celebration. There was ample parking on the street, the neighbors were very nice, and the house was central to the various members throughout the LA area. The view from the garden is spectacular and the lawn was perfect for the kids to run around on. All the bedrooms were furnished and the bathrooms stocked. We also celebrated my parent's 30 year marriage anniversary and had plenty of room for both sides of the family to enjoy. The outside sitting area with fireplace was very impressive. The cable was our of order when we got there, but we were able to figure out how to fix it. Wireless internet was available which made it easy for the teenagers to access their online social media sites. There was unique artwork that the kids really enjoyed. Me and my husband woke up extra early to watch the sunrise from the rooftop deck and share our first new years together! Once the kids left, us adults felt very posh with the grand view. If ever again we are privileged enough to host an event for our family, we will most definitely check this house first!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you Richard and Bonnie and family! We are so happy that you
enjoyed the home, please come again for a longer stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

breathtaking view

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

We were in town for to watch Texas A&M play Pepperdine in baseball and decided
To make it an extended vacation so we decided to rent a house. what an excellent
choice we made. The pictures do.not do it justice because the view is breathtaking from
Every place in the home. The house was just as described! Catherine had everything ready when we arrived. Thanks for a great trip.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for coming to stay in our home! We are absolutely delighted you had a nice time. Let us know if you would like to stay again :-)

Warmest regards,

Celeste & Catherine

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We had great time while on vacation in this house. Everything was comfortable, great view. A perfect place to stay with children)).
We had a very warm welcome and I would really recommend Pacific Palisades!

Thank you,
Regards,
Natalia & co

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great space for families.

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

Our family stayed in this lovely home while attending a wedding in Malibu. It was a perfect place to relax and rest between events. Large kitchen, plenty of bedrooms, and an amazing yard space with great views of the beach community and ocean. The single story home with yard was perfect for our one year old and 90 year old grandfather as well (however, it is not ADA compatible). We would definitely recommend this home for families looking for a quite and comfortable space to stay in the Pacific Palisades/Malibu area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

Hi All,

Great place to stay. We had a great time here. It has great views and outdoor area to have a few drinks before you head out for the night. Shops are very close and the beach is about 5 mins away in the car. The Pier is about 7 mins away which is more-a-less the centre of santa monica. Therefore the location is super and if you want to stay in santa Monica, this is the place to go.

The house itself is lovely with plenty of space and a massive TV on the wall. The kitchen is very big also which opens up to outdoor area which has couches/seating also outdoor. The 4 bedrooms in the house are all double rooms which are a decent size. The master room has an extra bedroom and there is an extra room at the back of the house although its a single room. There is space for 10 people in this house.

I would defo recommend this place to anyone and I will stay here again next time.

Thanks guys

Martin and the Irish clan!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House review

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

Hi All,

Great place to stay. We had a great time here. It has great views and outdoor area to have a few drinks before you head out for the night. Shops are very close and the beach is about 5 mins away in the car. The Pier is about 7 mins away which is more-a-less the centre of santa monica. Therefore the location is super and if you want to stay in santa Monica, this is the place to go.

The house itself is lovely with plenty of space and a massive TV on the wall. The kitchen is very big also which opens up to outdoor area which has couches/seating also outdoor. The 4 bedrooms in the house are all double rooms which are a decent size. The master room has an extra bedroom and there is an extra room at the back of the house although its a single room. There is space for 10 people in this house.

I would defo recommend this place to anyone and I will stay here again next time.

Thanks guys

Martin and the Irish clan!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So wonderful!

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

Hello Celeste and Catherine!

Thank you once more for your lovely hospitality. The house is so fabulous and we really enjoyed our stay. We felt so comfortable and the view was just perfect. We will definitely recommend you!

We hope to be back soon to enjoy LA again.

Warmest regards,

Britta

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Pacific Palisades House

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

From the moment i saw the outdoor sitting room, covered by its Architecturally fascinating roof feature, with a view of LA city that takes your breath away, i knew that this was where we wanted to stay for our first experience of LA.
Keeping it as a surprise from the others, when we first arrive the true excitement kicked in!
With a garage space for two cars, fitting our proudly hired Corvette and V8 Dodge Challenger, we then entered the beautifully kept garden area featuring BBQ, chairs and tables.
Leaping over our garden stream feature separating the Garden from the outdoor sitting room, we then entered the house.
Choosing rooms, checking out the two bathrooms, happy that there is a washing machine, watching Family Guy on the Flat Screen, relaxing in the garden, viewing the many painted images of beautiful women, the fun never ended.

Overall the price was right, the view was amazing, the location perfect and away from the evils that are the LA traffic jams, this place is highly recommended and as a group of family and friends from the UK, we were impressed.

Thanking you very much.

Omar & the UK Crew

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Omar ! We are so happy you enjoyed the house and beautiful Pacific Palisades.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

The Pacific Palisades House
From the moment i saw the outdoor sitting room, covered by its Architecturally fascinating roof feature, with a view of LA city that takes your breath away, i knew that this was where we wanted to stay for our first experience of LA.
Keeping it as a surprise from the others, when we first arrive the true excitement kicked in!
With a garage space for two cars, fitting our proudly hired Corvette and V8 Dodge Challenger, we then entered the beautifully kept garden area featuring BBQ, chairs and tables.
Leaping over our garden stream feature separating the Garden from the outdoor sitting room, we then entered the house.
Choosing rooms, checking out the two bathrooms, happy that there is a washing machine, watching Family Guy on the Flat Screen, relaxing in the garden, viewing the many painted images of beautiful women, the fun never ended.

Overall the price was right, the view was amazing, the location perfect and away from the evils that are the LA traffic jams, this place is highly recommended and as a group of family and friends from the UK, we were impressed.

Thanking you very much.

Omar & the UK Crew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Pacific Palisades House

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

From the moment i saw the outdoor sitting room, covered by its Architecturally fascinating roof feature, with a view of LA city that takes your breath away, i knew that this was where we wanted to stay for our first experience of LA.
Keeping it as a surprise from the others, when we first arrive the true excitement kicked in!
With a garage space for two cars, fitting our proudly hired Corvette and V8 Dodge Challenger, we then entered the beautifully kept garden area featuring BBQ, chairs and tables.
Leaping over our garden stream feature separating the Garden from the outdoor sitting room, we then entered the house.
Choosing rooms, checking out the two bathrooms, happy that there is a washing machine, watching Family Guy on the Flat Screen, relaxing in the garden, viewing the many painted images of beautiful women, the fun never ended.

Overall the price was right, the view was amazing, the location perfect and away from the evils that are the LA traffic jams, this place is highly recommended and as a group of family and friends from the UK, we were impressed.

Thanking you very much.

Omar & the UK Crew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation Home Near Beach

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

Thank you Catherine for renting your beautiful home to us.

My husband and kids had a wonderful trip and hope to come back again soon.
We were sad to leave but couldn't have asked for a better vacation"

Warmest Regards,
Tom & Beth"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

"Thank you Catherine for renting your beautiful home to us. My husband and kids had a wonderful trip and hope to come back again soon. We were sad to leave but couldn't have asked for a better vacation"

Warmest Regards,
Tom & Beth

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2008

Hello Catherine,

You may recall we rented your beautiful home last summer.

I hope all is well. Would you please let me know when you are planning to
rent out your home this summer? My family and I would love to come back again this summer.

Thanks,

Tom

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review