reviews for: listing #7003 - Lubec, Maine House rental

Rocky Cove House -- waterfront; views!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $200 /nt
    $800 - $800 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Very relaxing

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

This house is exactly as described, except the chairs on the deck have been replaced with a table and chairs. We rented this house for a week in July when the temps were close to 100 degrees everywhere else, but were comfortable at Rocky Cove. Jody offered a fan, but didn't really need it (the house isn't air conditioned). Because this house is on a cove and away from the town, it is really quiet. There are close neighbors,but you can't see or hear them. Even when you climb down to the shale beach, you still have a sense of privacy. This isn't a swimming beach, but you wouldn't want to--the water is cold!! Lots of sea glass. When we arrived at the house, we found it very clean and there is a notebook with information about the area. This is a great area for lobster--got it cooked and brought it back to the house for $6.70 a lb and uncooked for $4.50 lb. We ate gooood!! The town is small, some shops, but not swarming with tourists, Everyone we met was very friendly. Went across to Campobello Island and went whale watching. There are a few companies that take people out, we chose Island Cruising and they were great, would reccomend highly. Overall, we would recommend Rocky Cove if you are looking for a quiet getaway. The only real negative to the house is that the living room furniture is not very comfortable and should be replaced, that's why I gave it a good, not excellent rating. It was reallly easy to work with the property manager and our deposit was promptly returned.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great location, comfortable lodging

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Having traveled all the way from Germany my wife and I had high expectations. We wanted to get away from mass tourism and be close to the water and the famous Maine coast. We were fully satisfied.
One has a wonderful view of the bay from the seaside of the house. It is just a few yards to the shore. Trees and bushes on both sides of the lot provide complete privacy. The road in front of the house is not busy . After approximately 3 miles it takes you to the center of the old town of Lubec. The community is still struggling with the closing of the fishing and canning business. The locals have to wear many hats as our house manager phrased it. There is a bank with ATM and a market where you can purchase all your daily supplies including a variety of beer and liquor. The different restaurants and bars we did not frequent. Instead we enjoyed tours to the neighborhood, e.g. Canadian Campobello Island with its beautiful cottages, Qoddy Head with the old lighthouse and a most informative little museum, and Eastport which was once a booming harbor. We also got a kick hiking the various well-maintained trails around Lubec.
The house is fully equipped and nicely furnished. We found it picobello clean. The house manager seems to take pride in keeping it this way. A minor defect of a screen door was promptly taken care of. I want to mention that the manager turned out to be an amiable and competent helper whenever we as foreigners had questions or problems. Furthermore she had furnished a folder with descriptions, maps and suggestions that we appreciated very much. The finances were handled super correctly.
We consider to rent via the same manager again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very Peaceful

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

Stayed at Rocky Cove House in August 2009. Location is quiet, with a great back yard to explore (Note: seaweed is very slippery when wet!) House was clean and just as advertised; fine for our group of 6 (4 teens.) Everything worked, and we had room to spread out. Communication from Jody was great, and our deposit was promptly returned. We took a puffin tour, which I would highly recommend- our time on the island was the highlight of the trip. Other highlights: great hiking on the bold coast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Unique & Wonderful Experience Downeast

Review submitted: November 7, 2009   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

If there were a truth in advertising award for vacation rentals, this property would deserve to be a winner--with one caveat: it is even better than the description and photos indicate. Having recently returned from a week-long, mid-fall stay, I can confirm that the view is spectacular; the cottage was neat, clean, cozy, and comfortable; and the neighborhood is interesting and offers many beautiful vistas. Although there are a few other homes in the vicinity along the sparsely settled road, the property itself offers considerable privacy. Be sure to heed the advice of locals about the steep and swiftly moving tides when exploring the beautiful and rugged cove at the doorstep. Lubec, Campobello Island, the limited number of shops in the area, and the public lands and lighthouses in the vicinity were lots of fun to explore, and there isn't a shopping mall for miles and miles. Management was a pleasure to deal with, and there really was free, unlimited Internet service.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review