reviews for: listing #7010 - Kailua, Hawaii House rental

Absolutely Oceanfront -60 ft Nat Salt Pool/Waterfalls-$199
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $199 - $199 /nt
    $1,393 - $1,393 /wk
    $5,500 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Standing Ovation!

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Our family of 3 spent week here in the Ocean View unit and had one of our best vacations we've ever had.
The accommodation was lovely and we especially enjoyed the comfortable decor and A/C + ceiling fans!
I loved sitting in a beach chair while my husband and daughter went hiking.
It was so relaxing just to take in the amazing beauty of the ocean while I read my book. Sleeping on that beach was even better.
Many times I slumbered off to sleep on my beach towel to the sounds of gentle waves and then took a super refreshing swim after my nap in the beautiful 60 foot lap pool.
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, what a way to live!

We used the outside grill a lot and ate our dinners on the pool deck under a blanket of stars.
Kailua is a great location for a Hawaiian holiday. Almost everything you'll want to see or do is just 30 minutes away and easy to get to.
The North Shore is a gorgeous coastal 1 hour drive.

We hope to come back for another visit next summer and will dream of it until then.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

The Best Deal Out There

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

I feel like I robbed some one after walking away from a vacation packed with luxury at such a low cost. I never used a bidet before this vacation and now I refuse to use any other toilet. Thanks a lot for spoiling me rotten! The view is spectacular and you may find yourself enjoying the beach out in front rather than going to the heavily populated Kailua Beach Park. Thank you and I will see you every year in May!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bed Bugs!

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

If you want your body covered in bed bug bites, then this is the ideal location for you! We stayed at this location hoping it would be a nice relaxing getaway in Kailua, however it ended up to be a nightmare that completely ruined our long awaited vacation.

At first glance, the property was pretty close to the pictures on the website. As we settled in after a couple of days we noticed that some of the amenities were pretty dirty and probably should have noticed the warning signs a bit earlier. The bed was riddled with tiny spots, but since we didn't know of the warning signs, we gave the property the benefit of the doubt and didn't think twice about them. As the trip wore on, I noticed that my body started to become covered with tiny little bites that covered about forty percent of my body. Finally one morning we decided to face reality and pick up the mattress only to find a rash of alive and dead bed bugs. Meaning that this had been an issue for a while. We notified the owners and they said they have never encountered this before. Tom actually picked up a few of the bugs and took them down to his unit to exam them. When asked what they were going to do, Tom's response was that "you" could probably rent another location Kailua. However, they did end up putting us in a hotel for the final 2 nights on our trip in Hawaii, but that still didn't make up for the trauma that we experienced as well as the clean up that followed to prevent bed bugs from spreading to our house. We politely asked for additional reimbursement for the pain, suffering and clean up we experienced following the trip. But, the owners ignored our request and refused to handle the situation in a non-confrontational manner.

So we HIGHLY DO NOT RECOMMEND staying at this property. Its hard to make paradise seem like a terrible place, but staying at this property had done just that. Lastly, its disappointing to know that there are people out there like these owners who actually don't care about their tenants, but are only in the business of making money.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing view - Okay rental

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

The owners are VERY accomodating! Working with them was easy - quick and thorough response all the time.

The view was AMAZING! Can't get any better than this. Right on the water with a great view of the coast. It is important to note that because it's right on the water salt will cover everything. You can swipe your finger on the outside door and leave a mark - it's not a problem unless you want to enjoy the breeze and open the doors and windows. In that case, salt will coat everything. Also, salt creates rust. So throughout the house you may see rust spots (shower rod, air conditioner, door hinges etc.).

The pool was PERFECT! So clean and inviting - perfect for our little one.

The house is in a GREAT neighborhood (safe and family friendly). However, the quality of ths portion for rent is not as glamorous as the pictures show. Yes, it was clean, and bug free, but it wasn't high end by any means. Just a heads up for those looking for that kind of trip. For instance, the front door is a beautiful wood, however the sofa was torn and uncomfortable. The toilet seat was new and heated, but the shower nozel was kind of scummy. Nice, but not great.

The furniture was okay - not too comfortable - definitely not for lounging. The bedroom set is cute (tropical looking) - but VERY dustly as it was woven and wicker like. The bed was comfortable, but the sheets were stained in parts (on the bedroom bed and the pullout bed). There was also dust balls all over the walls.

The air conditioner didn't work when we arrived (one of the two). However, the owners were VERY quick to apologize and replace. However, as they are small window air conditioners they don't cool that fast and definitely don't keep the whole room cold. The front room is very high and one of the windows does not have treatments so it gets pretty hot. Again, not too much of a problem if you want the windows open or don't care about air conditioning (but don't forget about the salt!).

Bring your own beach towels - not enough for a week unless you want to do laundry.

All in all, we were satisfied, but not impressed. If you aren't too picky and just want a great view because you are out traveling most of the time, then I would recommend. If you are looking for a glamorous getaway, this is not the place for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home in Paradise!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

My wife and I vacationed in Oahu 2 years in a row and this was our second year so we had a little more "know how" when shopping for a place to stay. I must say that this location continues to bring memories. We had by far the best time. There were plenty of everyday items available for us such as towel and dishes and such. Since we are not rich by any means when we vacation we prefer to shop for a weeks worth of groceries at the local stores and eat in way more than out. This location allowed us to enjoy the beach without the HUSTLE and BUSTLE of waikiki and by booking everything ourselves we saved a fortune, while enjoying a vacation better than any Travel agent could have put together for us. The pool is amazing, the location is off the beaten path ....but not too much off - We recommend this location at least once a month here at Home in Mississippi. Raining one day? just drive to the other side of the island... when it starts raining there...come on back ....There is no BAD day in Hawaii. We planned outings each day - leaving around 10am and returning later that night. Not sure if their PARROT is still there but they had a HUGE talking Parrot in the tree outside the home... Scared us at first, but soon became the subject of MANY photos.... and Videos... Thank you for a great memory we will not soon forget and have begun saving to return to soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words. We put many years of work into creating this vacation home and it makes it all worth it when we hear how our cutomers appreciat it.

Mahalo,

Cody Coffey

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect vacation spot.

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 16, 2010

Everything was as stated in the website. The owners were gracious hosts, providing us information on places to shop, eat and play. The house is right on the ocean, with a very small beach in front, but no access to water directly from the property. The location was ideal in a quiet neighborhood and within walking distance to the bay where we snorkeled and saw sea turtles. We stayed in the Mountain View Room, outfitted with a king bed and a kitchenette. Every morning we eat breakfast on the deck overlooking the ocean - can't beat that! The place had everything we needed, from kitchen supplies, to beach chairs, an unbrella, beach towels, etc. All parts of the island are within easy driving distance, with highway access just a couple miles away.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review