reviews for: listing #70188 - Newport Beach, California House rental

Best Priced Luxury Beach Front Views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Balboa Island
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $265 - $500 /nt
    $1,450 - $3,250 /wk
    $4,250 - $8,900 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful beach home, excellent location on the Balboa peninsula bayside

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

We very much enjoyed our week vacation in this serene bayview Balboa Peninsula beach house. Directly across the street is a quiet little beach with lapping bay waters and a swim-out dock. It's not crowded and families hang out there during the day. A two block walk or bike ride puts you at the ocean, lovely wide beach with lifeguards and a younger vibe. The house is clean, well-maintained and nicely laid out with a large living/dining room that faces the bay. Kitchen was convenient, loved the washer-dryer in the garage (a must for the beach), and the provided bicycles of all sizes - no need to rent. Everything in the unit was as pictured, no issues at all. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation, great spot

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Had a great time. Located almost exactly half way between Newport and Balboa piers. Nice walk in both directions. I was very nervous renting. My first time renting directly with the owner. Rental was as advertised, even better. Would rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Location

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

We highly recommend this property. Excellent location with a fabulous view of the bay. We rented this beach house with another couple and loved the location! It is just across the street from a small beach on the bay and a very short walk to the ocean. We woke to a beautiful view each morning and started our day with a relaxing breakfast at "home". Then had fun biking, boating, whale watching, eating at the local restaurants, relaxing on the beach, playing in the ocean and returning to a comfortable place to retreat and recharge for another day of fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place, great location

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

We had a great time in Newport Beach. The house was perfect
for our family. Nice and clean. Espectacular view and on a quiet
neighbourhood.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Weather

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We had a great time and the condo was very nice. My son had to sleep in the room off the deck and he complained it was cold and uncomfortable..other then that it was great. If you rent this condo be aware there is info hanging on the fridge and did not realize you needed to flip it to read more. We came in at night and we had a hard time finding the condo and took a while to realize the garage was in the back. You need to unlock the front door and go in and get the garage door opener so car can be parked in the garage. The view was great from the living area and we loved the Newport area. We have visited Ca several times and this is by far our favorite area so far. We drove to LA on most days, the traffic to LA is quite busy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Our great and wonderful time in Newport!!

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

My family and I stayed at this house last year 2011 and again this year 2012. The palce was very clean, the property maintained well. It was everything that you promised. We loved it so much we are again returning in 2013. Great place, great location. I Would highly recomend this property to all. If you have kids this is perfect. Close to the boardwalk and the penny arcades, as well as the beach and the harbor. The restaurants that areso close by are to die for if you enjoy GOOD food and service. The weather is usually wonderful the time of year we do which is in October. The bikes in the garage are there for our use and we did just that. Hardley ever got in the car.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Bay View

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Joe's condo was perfect for our family. It was well stocked with everything we needed and very clean. The view of the harbor was perfect for sipping coffee and cocktails. We use the beach across the street often and rode our bikes to the ocean and fun zone every day. It was a perfect stay and we would certainly rent this seaside condo again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Location!!

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our family spent a fabulous week at this beach house over the 4th of July 2012. We were able to ride bikes all over the peninsula, Balboa Island, and over to Lido Island. Enjoyed a breakfast at Ruby's at the end of the pier. The ocean is a quick walk ... very close.

We loved the house!! The view is very nice!! Everything was there. We cooked in a couple of nights and ate most breakfasts in. The coffee pot was constantly in use. Kids enjoyed playing games at the table with friends when they were not out at the beach or riding bikes. The back patio was cool in the evenings ... nice place to hang out. Out 13 yr old daughter loved the room in the back with the bunkbeds. We were very comfortable.

Thanks to Joe for opening his wonderful home to our family. We just might have to go back next summer!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Newport beach

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

The property was exactly as described. It was roomy, well maintained, functioning appliance and fabulous location. About one block from the beach. I had to contact someone for instructions on how to get the four remotes to operate the TV and they called back quickly.
The check out time is on the early side (10 am) and I guess in the on season that is necessary but not sure why that had to be in January!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect - want to come back again!

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We couldn’t fault this property at all. We are two couples in our late 20s/early 30s and it was better that we could have hoped for.

The property is located within a an easy 15 minute walk from Balboa Pier and Newport Beach Pier which is perfect for going out for drinks/dinner in the evenings and breakfast at Ruby's Diner in the morning. As it's in-between both piers, we practically had the main beach to ourselves each day as most people keep close to the piers and car parks. There’s also a small private beach opposite the property looking out to the inner bay, which is perfect for swimming and watching the yachts/seals go by.

The property is located in a quiet, friendly area and at night you can hear the waves crashing on the beach and the occasional sea lion, which was very relaxing. In fact we could see some sea lions from the lounge window which had a great view over the inner bay.

It is very spacious, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed including two bikes, body boards and a BBQ. We would live here if we could!

Joe was great to deal with and even met us when we arrived to give us lots of tips on the local area. I'd definitely rent from him again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

My wife, two children and I rented this beach house for five weeks during the summer. The location was perfect for us – it is on the harbor side of the peninsula which is quiet and more private than the ocean side yet only a block from the ocean. It is located about half way between Balboa Pier and Newport Pier which in my opinion is the best ocean beach area. There is a small "bonus" beach in front of the house with a roped off swimming area that feels very private and is a great place to wind down in the afternoon.

The house itself is spacious and has an outstanding view of the harbor (we very much enjoyed watching the boats go by). The beds are extremely comfortable and the back porch is very large and great for entertaining and/or cooking on the provided barbeque.

One of the best features for me was the dedicated office in the back of the beach house. It is fully equipped with internet and a desk and shelves and is located off of the back porch where there is complete privacy. Since I worked while we were visiting, I found this office extremely valuable.

Overall, I highly recommend this beach house for any couple or family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

AWESOME AWESOME!!!!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Everything was as shown in the pictures and then some.The place was so central you could go anywhere in minutes.Very comfortable clean and quiet.When we go back to Newport we will stay there for sure.Joe is a great guy to deal with and when we had a couple of very minor problems he was right on them and looked after everything top notch.We had 6 adults and there was all kinds of room for everyone.I highly recommend to anyone going to newport for vacation to check this place out you won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Newport rental

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

This was a wonderful week. The location was great for the beach and shopping and Disneyland. We could not believe how quiet it was. We slept in every morning. We got to the beach and pier everyday to hang out. A very relaxing vacation.

Thank you,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice Stay

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

The property was very comfortable. Enough room for all and short distance from the beach. The deck was nice and made a lovely sunny spot to relax as we prepared dinner.

The only thing; I wouldn't preceive it as a negative but I think it needed to be disclosed. The 3rd bedroom with the bunk beds is off the patio and not within the house. For younger children this might be something you would want to think about. It worked out fine with my girls 4 and 7 but I was a bit apprehensive at first.

It was a great stay, and would recommend it to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Exceeded expectations

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

The place was immaculate. Very well put together! Exceeded all expectations! We can't wait to go back! Joe is on top of things, has great attention to detail, and is very responsive!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

review of newport beach property on balboa penisul

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

This property was amazing! Everything was clean and well stocked and in good working order. Joe, the owner, was very responsive if we had a question. We came for Christmas from Wisconsin and our grandchildren loved the easy access to the beach and the roominess of the unit. There were pleanty of things to do both indoors and out and no one felt crowded. I would definitely recommend this unit to a friend

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

We were a group of 4 adults and a one year old. We loved the location, the proximity to both the bay and the ocean made it perfect. The pictures were spot on and we would happily rent again. Hope to come again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Beach House!

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at the beach house. All of the accomodations were great. After having rented for the last 4 summers along the Southern California coast, I have to say that I've never met such friendly neighbors! Everyone we met was so welcoming and kind. That made our time at the house feel so much more comfortable and homey!

Thanks again for the hospitality!

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Wonderful Newport Beach House

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We loved staying in this house. It is clean, nicely decorated, and wonderfully located. Would give it 5 stars and stay here again next time. The owner was a pleasure to work with and very helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review