reviews for: listing #70215 - Bahamas, Caribbean House rental

Off The Reef-Romantic Beachfront Home-*Wi Fi*-Fun
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  North palmetto point
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $200 /nt
    $995 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,600 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

best value on Eleuthera

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

Stayed at Off the Reef for one week in June 2014. It was exactly as advertised. Wish I could say the same for the island. If I was to return to Eleuthera, I'd stay here again, but that won't happen.

Had a couple of issues: TV didn't work most days, bring DVDs. No water for two nights, and backup system was broken, so I had to draw buckets of water from the cistern.

Owners response: We would like to thank these guest for staying on Off The Reef. We are always trying to improve our second home.
Eleuthera is not for everyone. It has many beautiful, secluded beaches untouched by our modern world. It is an outer island of the Bahamas. Things are done at a slower pace, almost everything is hard to get and expensive. Most supplies and equipment have to be shipped to the island and the duty fees are high and take time.
We plan on adding many more DVD's to the ones that are there. No TV service on the island is reliable except maybe cable which we cannot get as of yet. We are looking into netflix.
The back up system for the water is now working. When the town water goes out we just have to switch it over to the cistern. What has been going on lately with the water board we don't know. We have never seen this many problems with it since we started renting. I suspect they will get to the problem and deal with it in time.

All the best,
Allan and Carolyn
Owners of Off The Reef

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful location, with a lot of Eleuthera Charm

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

Off the Reef is a nice little cottage right on the beach. It's less than 30 seconds walk from the door to the water. It's a nice place to watch the sun rise and spend time relaxing. We couldn't believe the stars at night. There is so little light around the island, that the skies were incredible. Please spend some time on the hammock stargazing!

The house itself is very nice and clean. It is very well organized and has everything you'll need. I'd recommend stopping by the grocery store on your way and stocking up on snacks and the basics.

They have provided many things for the guests to use such as snorkeling gear (I think there are 3 or 4 decent sets of gear), some fishing gear, boards and beach towels.

The caretaker is very nice and helpful, and was available when I contacted him after the water went out, which happens occasionally on the island of Eleuthera. He came up to the house and helped get water from the cistern to use for washing, etc. It was very nice to not have to worry about anything. The time was spent enjoying many parts of the island.

Many thanks to the owners of Off the Reef! Wonderful home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Eleuthera's Best 'Off The Reef'!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

'Off The Reef' was just as we expected and then some! A serene setting just a walk to our own beautiful beach! I want to thank Carolyn for answering my numerous questions before our trip. I also had the pleasure of talking with her and Allan when they called to see how everything was during our stay. The house is very clean and the care taker, Ben, called after waiting for us when our flight was delayed to make sure we arrived that night.
When we were not exploring this beautiful island, we spent our time outside sitting on the new wooden swing or laying in the chaise lounge chairs (with comfy cushions!) just embracing the wonderful views!! Any direction you look, there was never a disappointment! As others noted, many cruise ships can be seen passing by in early mornings and later evenings. The stars on a clear night are something never to be forgotten.
Inside the house, the fully equipped kitchen was our favorite. We LOVE to cook and everything we needed was there to prepare our meals. We dined on the patio just steps from the ocean! The bedroom, living area and bathroom were more than adequate and most comfortable. Full laundry as well!
The island has so much to offer and we recommend exploring as much as you want to. As others noted, the locals are very friendly, be sure to wave as you pass! And stay left :)
Can't wait to stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

25th Anniversary

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We stayed at Off the Reef for your 25th anniversary the week of June 15-22 2013. I want to thank the owners for answering my endless questions and the phone call in the middle of the week asking how things were was really appreciated. The beach house for us was perfect, we could not have found a better place. The house is ideal for 2 people wanting to "get off the grid" and just decompress and enjoy the beautiful island of Eleuthera. We explored many beaches but hands down the best snorkeling is straight out from the house about 30 feet from shore and you will see all kinds of tropical fish and reef life. we spent every evening in the chaise lounge chairs watching the ocean and the cruise ships go by and not once did we see a soul. if you want your own beach that feels like yours this is the place. if you and your partner are looking for a secluded spot in the Caribbean this is the place.

PS. Careful with the rum bubbas at the Friday night fish fry in governors harbor. they are POTENT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

Excellent location, very well kept small cottage, ideal for couple seeking privacy. It feels like another planet, so beautiful....It is not a luxury house, but it has everything you need. The owners were very helpful before arrival and did bother to make us a phone call to make sure things were going ok.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Eleuthera

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

What a beautiful house! The pictures are great, but it's better in person, of course. The house is perfect for a couple. Huge kitchen, washing machine, and all the cooking utensils you'd need. They have a cooler, boogie boards, umbrella, everything! The BBQ was awesome too. Barbeque'd fish and burgers were fantastic! We usually cook at the houses we've stayed at, but this time we stopped by Mate & Jenny's, which is close by in S. Palmetto, for pizza. And by Unique Village is very close by, and the food at both places was quite good. We recommend both for sure.
It's the Atlantic side, and many people said they enjoyed the snorkeling right behind the house. We weren't brave enough to try, but on our next visit to Eleuthera we'll go for it. We really enjoyed the view from the house, and the constant breeze. There are some amazing beaches right near the house, and tons of others within 1/2hr or so. Make sure you rent a car so you can explore all of the island beaches.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for two,again!

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

My wife & I spent 19 days at Off the Reef for our second year in a row. The house was better than the year before if that's possible. It's in a perfect location, has great views & everything you need to have a great secluded time. Saw numerous cruise ships during both the day & night. We highly recommend Off the Reef for two people.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Christmas @ Off the Reef

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Just a note to add to my prior review for others to share: We really had a fabulous time at Off the Reef.
How funny I was… I “ran” outside every morning to grab the sun’s rising & again waited impatiently for the moon to rise as well.
I wanted to share a couple of moments that melted my heart...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The sun rising and sun sets with an ocean backdrop are amazing to behold. Well worth getting up early to admire.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas at Off the Reef

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending Christmas week 2012 here. The view was stunning & accommodations were perfect, just as they were listed. The people on the Island are very kind & helpful. The property clean & the bikes were priceless for local exploring. We returned with the calm & serenity the photos claimed & some of the most beautiful sun & moon rises I have ever had the pleasure to view in our lives.
We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for this wonderful review.
We consider the view in front of Off The Reef to be it's best feature. It's great to see that the guests do too.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our home for a week

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2012

Off the Reef is a lovely little house we could call our home for a week. We had everything we needed from a bottle opener to a blender to flashlights and extra pillows and blankets and many towels. When we arrived the caretaker was there to greet us with a smile and the air conditioner on. It worked so well we turned it off to enjoy the warm Bahama air. The grounds were so well kept and beautiful. We've been home for a month and I just can't believe the memories we've created. Get the book The Elusive Beaches of Eleuthera and follow it. We could of never left Off the Reef the whole week and been perfectly happy but then we would of never seen the most beautiful beach we have ever been to., Whiteland Beach was way out of the way but so worth the trip. Walk the beach and get in the water and play. We are in our 50's and never had so much fun! We wish we could of stayed there forever. We want to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review.
We found your comments about Whiteland Beach interesting. We have not seen it but will the next time we are there. We have also been told that the most beautiful beach on the island is Lighthouse Beach and Lighthouse Bay which are on the southern most tip of the island. Now we have two beautiful beaches that are going to be a must see for us.
One of our first purchases the next time we visit will be the book called The Elusive Beaches of Eleuthera.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Rental with superb views and snorkeling.

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

The cottage is on great stretch of beach on the Atlantic side of the island. What you see on the website is what you get. The cottage is small but perfect for a couple getting away from it all. It was nice to have Internet at the cottage.
The bikes make a great touch. We were able to explore around Palmetto Point with the bikes. It made a nice change from going in the rental. You need a rental car to stay here, 4-wheel drive for some of the nicer beaches around the island.
Lighthouse beach on the south tip of the island was the best beach that we have ever been on.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful week at Off The Reef

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

We stayed at Off The Reef for a week. The cottage was as advertised and very comfortable, and you can't beat the price! It was a great experience dealing with the owners. When I sent emails to them I received quick responses. The cottage sits on a small hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, with beautiful views of turquoise water dotted with coral reefs and magnificent sunrises. The beach at the cottage is sandy and nice to walk on but pretty rocky when you try to go into the water, but many beautiful, sandy beaches are a short drive away. It's about a ten minute drive into Governor's Harbour, where you can buy groceries, supplies, gas and souvenirs.

Two of our favorite beaches close to the cottage are the beach at Tippy's Beach Bar and Restaurant, where we swam and snorkeled after a delicious lunch, and Popone (good snorkeling), just South of Tippy's and accessible by a dirt road (look for the little sign on Banks Road).

Our favorite beach is the beach at Sky Beach Club, a beautiful resort North of the cottage, where we had lunch and drinks at their poolside bar and they let us use their beach, with two covered palapas on the beach and loungers to lay on if you get there first. We also used their beautiful, warm infinity pool with a swim-up bar, even though we weren't renting a room from them.

The people on the island are very friendly and wave to you as you drive by. Everyone we met was kind and hospitable.

We recommend Kean Stubbs for car rental. He is great to deal with and he led us to the cottage after he met us at North Eleuthera Airport with the car.

Take bug spray and sun block!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for enjoying Off The Reef.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect for Two

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

We stayed at Off the Reef the last 2 weeks of February 2012. The accomodations are perfect for 2. All the amenities anyone would need are there. The views are fantastic (8 cruise ships in 1 day). Owners were very nice to deal with. Renting a Jeep from Kean Stubbs worked perfect.(met us at ELH and took us to the house. We've traveled throughout the Carribean and Central American and this is one of our better vacations. The only negative was we had to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying at Off The Reef and for you kind words. It makes it worth while when guests enjoy our home on Eleuthera as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice quiet getaway

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We stayed at Off the Reef for a week in early September 2011. The pictures are exactly as the real thing; the cottage is very clean and tidy, well equipped but basic. The satellite TV worked well; no internet, no phone service which was fine with us. It is located about a 10-15 minute bike ride from North Palmetto. If you do not plan to rent a car, check with the owners to make sure the bikes are in good working order - if not, you will be trapped!! The cottage is on the Atlantic side of Eleuthera and has a nice beach in front of it and the snorkeling is fair although not great. If there is any wind at all, the snorkeling is not good as the waves stir up the sand. You can ride the bikes to the Caribbean side of the island to get calmer waters. North Palmetto is a very small and quiet town. We visited a few local market shops to get our supplies and had several fun visits with the locals at the Corner Bar. There is really nothing else there including restaurants. I would recommend this place if you really want to disconnect and have some alone time. If you want to go anywhere around the island, you must rent a vehicle. If you are content with the local scene, the bicycles are adequate. We had a few power outages and a bit of a problem with the bike maintenance but overall I would give the place a four out of five rating. The owners are quite easy to deal with and communication was good. Enjoy Eleuthera and its very nice people!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Just to clarify, we do supply a cell phone for guest use. Phone cards can be purchased in many stores both in North Palmetto Point and Governor's Harbour. This is an excellent way to get in touch with the caretaker if there is a problem that he needs to take care of. There is now a regular phone for local and incoming calls as well as internet service. Getting parts for the bikes can be a problem on an outer island of the Bahamas. We have since brought some bike parts with us and are doing our best to keep them maintained. An extra bike has also been added. There are three bikes, now. We do recommend a car rental because it is a rural setting but we try to help guests who do not wish to rent a vehicle. Thanks! Happy Holidays!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful property & home, wonderful holiday!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

We`ve visited Off the Reef twice and cannot say enough good things about it. The house has everything you need and is perfect for a couple! The property is absolutely gorgeous with lots of space. We found the locals extremely friendly and helpful and enjoyed travelling around the island meeting people. Don`t miss the Governor`s Harbour fish fry on Friday evenings. The snorkelling is great, we saw lots of aquatic wildlife including sea turtles, stingrays and many beautiful fish species.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Week at Off the Reef!!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

We just returned from a week at Off the Reef. It was everything that was promised and more. The house is exactly as presented through the photos. We were delighted with the equipment in the "beach closet" to use on our adventures. The location and view were surreal...truly a paradise. The owners were super responsive when we were planning the vacation and every step of the way until we left. We were then under the care of the caretaker, who arranged for car rental, brought us some fresh veggies, and gave us kind advice, directions, etc. We enjoyed bike riding, visiting Ten Bay Beach, dinner at Tippy's and Jenny and Mate's, beaches where we were the ONLY people there most of the day! My husband and I have never had a more perfect, relaxing and 'off the grid' vacation. We enjoyed it so much that we plan to go back sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your rental of Off The Reef. We are delighted to hear you had such a great time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A trip of a lifetime

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Our vacation to "Off the Reef" was life changing. The experience of waking to the sunrise over the ocean, and watching the ships at sunset started and ended each day perfectly.
The cozy home atmosphere inspired relaxation, and a sense of well being.
The home was clean, and all the necessities were present, and the great extras too (bikes for example) made the stay easy.
The island was truly remarkable, the people wonderful.
We consider this holiday our best ever, as it was lifechanging.
I would recommend this holiday to everyone, as I count the days until our return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoy seeing happy guests. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review