reviews for: listing #70481 - Birch Bay, Washington Condo rental

Beach View Condo
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Cabana Club
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $250 /nt
    $990 - $1,250 /wk

sort by:

Beach View Condo

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We have stayed at this condo a few times and it has always been very clean and well run. We have been to others in the complex but this is always our first choice.
Birch Bay is a very friendly community and Beach View Condo is a great choice to stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

We had a great time. The pool, the hot tub, great condo, the beautiful sunsets and the amazing view from the top floor. Enjoyed watching those sunsets. Hope to return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice place

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

What a nice place to stay, so comfortable. Friendly and accommodating owner.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope to come back

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

This is a beautiful part of the country and we really enjoyed our stay. Everything was in place for our arrival - including pool towels and sand toys. The kitchen had everything we needed and more.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just great!

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Everything was perfect - just what we wanted for our vacation. Nice, friendly owner and very clean and modern condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow - We had a great time!

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We had such a fun and relaxing vacation here. Very nice condo, GREAT views, good location and lots of things to do in this area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope to return!Everything is so beautiful here.

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

It was my first time in the area and it was so beautiful! Condo was clean and comfortable and the pool and hot tub were fantastic.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for a great 4th of July!

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

We had a great time, everything was so nice. Really enjoyed the 4th of July and walking down to the State Park.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic!

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Love this condo, plan to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views but some disappointments

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

The condo is in a great location in Birch Bay. The views from the condo are beautiful and it was very nice to sit outside on the patios. The amenities in the clubhouse were fantastic. We were able to walk to many great places including the beach and stores nearby. It was nice having our own parking spot as well. There are a few things that we were disappointed by. One issue is the wireless internet connection was very poor and we were unable to connect to the internet. The second issue was the condo was not very clean and some parts of it were outdated. The floors needed to be vacuumed and washed and the barbecue had to be scrubbed down before use. The beds in the upstairs loft were very nice and had new bedding; however, the beds in the downstairs bedrooms were very uncomfortable. The bathroom upstairs was beautiful; however, the bathroom downstairs needs to be updated. The third and most concerning issue was when we returned from our vacation we were sent an email stating that we would not get our damage deposit back which completely surprised us. We were accused of breaking items in the condo, leaving too much hair to vacuum and not following the clubhouse rules. We were very concerned and disappointed as we were quite certain we didn’t break any items so we requested a detailed description of the items that were broken and where they were located and photos so we could see the damages. We also explained the issue with the clubhouse which was a misunderstanding and seemed to have been resolved during our stay. We were not given details as of where these items were located and were not supplied with photographs and were told to “get a life” and that we enjoyed being “critical and complaining.” I find these remarks to be very unprofessional and suggest that future guests request a walk through before and after their stay at the condo to avoid the experience we had.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Disappointed in property condition, good location

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

We had an enjoyable time at the condo in spite of the condo itself, which was in a worn out condition but was very clean. The pool was nice but did not open until 10am, a bit late for everyone. Generally, this is a laminate-floor, popcorn-ceiling kind of place that hasn't been updated for years. Non-working smoke detectors, a tired old kitchen where the cupboard doors don't quite close, and, in general, a place that needs repair and renovation.

Birch Bay was great fun, however, and we will love to return at some point but not to this place. The final disappointment was our security deposit was not returned because of a small infraction, very disappointing.

Owners response: Let's accentuate the positive, shall we?

Over the last 2 years, extensive upgrades and renovations have been made to this 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation home, located in a 32 year old condominium complex. In the condo, the bedrooms, bathrooms and hallway were painted, there is new wood laminate flooring throughout, new carpeting on the stairs, and new ceramic tiles in the bathroom upstairs. All beds and linens are new, there is a new love seat in the loft bedroom and 4 padded chairs and a glass-top table were purchased for the balcony. The interior stair railings were painted, all insulated draperies, shades and lace sheers are new, there is a new TV, DVD/VHS and stereo system, a new garbage disposal, and a new hot water heater. In the kitchen, there is new stemware and new cutlery. There is high quality Italian cookware. The electric thermostats are new and programmable, the smoke detectors are new and up to code, the BBQ is 2 years old. An antique copper bin is used for firewood and an antique wood chest is used as a coffee table next to the new loveseat. Most guests are pleasantly surprised at how nice the condo is and have reported that it looks even better than the photos suggest.

The required security/damage deposit is fully refunded if there is no loss or damage and no need for above-and-beyond cleaning. In this particular case, the deposit was retained to pay for a bi-fold door which was left broken and required repair.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great place to getaway to and relax

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Some friends and I met here to escape our wives and kids for the weekend. This was my first vacation rental from an owner. I was nervous at first but it was great. Janet, the owner, is very accommodating. Like the reviewers before me mentioned, the pictures don't do it justice. It is very clean. I was surprised at how well stocked the kitchen was. It was more like being at my own kitchen than being at a hotel kitchenette. There were 7 of us and there were always plenty of plates and cutlery. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms had more than enough towels. The complex has an indoor hot tub and a heated outdoor pool. The beach is a block away. I thought we would have been able to build a fire at the beach but it turns out that we weren't. If you want to build a fire on the beach, you have to use the fire pits at the state park which is a few minutes drive away or you can use the pits by the creek at the rear of the complex. Or, even better there are two fireplaces in the unit! The bbq on the deck is great. I think we ate steaks for all our meals. There is a grocery store a few minutes drive away near the I-5. It has a great selection. My only criticism is the wireless internet. We weren't sure how we were supposed to connect. We found one unsecured network which only worked from our laptops. For some reason, our cel phones couldn't pick it up. But, it was a weekend away to relax so its probably a good thing that we weren't on the internet!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Guest comfort and enjoyment are of highest importance. Thank you, and I hope to welcome you back to Beach View Condo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mother's Day 2012

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

This condo was really clean and comfortable. The morning sun on the deck facing the creek was perfect for morning coffee. The location was great with easy access to the beach and some little stores.The owner is friendly and easy to work with. We enjoyed grilling steaks on the deck and taking in the sunset. The views from both decks are fabulous. The pictures really don't do it justice. The owner even furnishes beach towels and sand buckets! I'm already planning another trip. I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place to Stay!

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We spent a wonderful week at this condo. The pictures online do not do it justice. When we walked in we couldn't believe what we saw - it was beautiful, clean, nicely furnished and well-equipped. The view of the bay and sunsets from the top were awesome. It was just 35 miles from the Canadian border and close to all major highways. The owner was very accomodating and helpful. Do not hesitate to rent this condo!

The "Five Girls" from Scranton, PA

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

Place was well maintained and clean, was described online adequately, good value. Highly recommend this place!

L & D from Wisconsin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2011

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

It was an awesome break! We enjoyed the peace and quiet and wonderful sights and experiences. You have a lovely place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2011

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Lovely place, lovely village! Really enjoyed our stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2011

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We are five travelers from N.E. Pennsylvania. We had a great time, it's a lovely condo. The Internet pictures did not do it justice. We loved the area - Seattle, Vancouver and Victoria, too, beautiful scenery and especially the Bald Eagles.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2011

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Had a fantastic stay. It's a wonderful environment, hope to return. It is so peaceful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2011

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

Mmmm great time here...lots of positive vibes in this home....I hope to come back.
The beauty will not be forgotten.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2011

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

Great stay in Birch Bay! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2011

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Loved our stay in your condo! What a beautiful place! Enjoyed walking down to the state park. Saw lots of loons and a kingfisher!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2011

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at your condo and in Birch Bay! The 4th of July fireworks were great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to rent

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

We had a good time at this rental property. Everything was clean and well kept. The owner was very friendly and a pleasure to do business with! We are looking forward to renting again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great all-family get-together!

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

Our older son, his wife, and 2 sons (4 & 6) and our younger son joined us at Birch Bay for 5 days. We walked in and felt at home. Grandsons spent every minute they could in the pool; the rest of us also enjoyed the 'bubble-bowl' as Tom called it. The kitchen was well furnished, the floorplan worked well for us. We enjoyed the morning sun on the balcony off the kitchen/living room, and enjoyed the sunsets from the upstairs balcony off the upper bedroom. The first looked across the lawn to Terrell Creek, and the 2nd had a view of the bay. Short walk to the beach. Lots of golfing choices nearby. A short walk to CJ's with candy, ice cream, and lunch (perhaps seasonal?) Friendly and informative communications with the owner. Toward the end of our stay, one grandson wanted to stay l0 days, the other thought we should stay 'a trillion.'

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for family/kids

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We spent four days with my folks and our two boys ages 6 and 4. It was great. The boys spent more time in the pool than in the condo. The pool was warm which was great. The only problem was my older son would get up at 6:30 a.m.to check the clock to see how much longer it was until 10 a.m. when the pool opened!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review