reviews for: listing #7059 - Black River Falls, Wisconsin Cabin rental

Cottages At Serenity Lake
  • bedrooms  14
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  50
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $75 - $675 /nt
    $600 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

Lake water quality

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

I haven't actually stayed at the cottages but I wanted to add my comment to that of the Pheasant Cottage property owner. In the early 1970s, I owned the original 75 acre parcel that includes Serenity Lake. We had a cabin on the property and spent several weeks there each year. I had cleared seven acres around the lake with a riding mower and a hand axe and it was like living in the middle of a beautiful park.

The reddish-brown water color is present in all the water in that area of Wisconsin; lakes, rivers and wells. In fact, it is why the Black River got its name. The color is due to fairly high levels of iron dissolved in the water.

Before we purchased the property, we had a water sample tested and it was determined to be almost 100% pure. My whole family, including my three children, swam in the lake daily. Once you get used to the color, you realize that there is nothing wrong with the water at all.

Judging from the photos and descriptions of the Pheasant Cottage resort, it is apparent that the current owners have made many improvements and the property seems very nice and relaxing. Some day I hope to pay a visit to the old place. It will be fun to see how much it has changed.

Jim Schenk
Itasca, Illinois

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Eagle's Nest & Bear's Den a Dream!

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

My entire family (24 of us!) rented both Eagle's Nest & Bear's Den for the entire week. We were wonderfully surprised with all the amenities and overall quality. The scenery was beautiful, wildlife was everywhere, and it was the perfect mix of camping and comfort. It was the perfect place for fishing, canoeing, swimming, relaxing and just enjoying eachothers company. The location was perfect and we enjoyed how private and secluded the cabin/houses were. The owners were great to work with and made check-in and check-out easy not to mention they checked in throughout the week to make sure we had all we needed. There are not many things my entire family can agree on and be pleased with but Cottages at Serenity Lake did just that!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Eagles Nest Cottage

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

My group of 10 women arrived for a long w/e at Serenity cottages. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the whole experience. Brian came and explained the lake to us, it is different than we are used to and made sure we were comforatble. The cabin had all the dishes, pots and pans ect needed for a stay. We went for firewood and got a nice discount on oak firewood for the campfires as promised by Brian. The beds were very comfortable with clean linen and enough towels for all of us. Of course when you have 10 women you need to use more paper products and it was provided the same day as we asked for it. Washer, dryer and dishwasher worked beautifully. We got pretty loud at times but had no complaints. The cottages are far enough apart that you don't think there is anyone else around. Our stay was peaceful and pleasant, we saw eagles, a sandhill crane landed in our yard(that was magnificent), woodpeckers and 2 different families of ducks. The ducks came up morning and night looking for a handout.
Some of us used the hot tub and found that to be refreshing even in the hot humid weather we experienced. We had clouds and some rain but all in all it was a terrific w/e. Some of us loved the gated community setting and felt very safe. We spent a lot of time on the deck, at the firepit and in the hot tub.

Thanks Brian and Anna for the beautiful setting.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

lake water

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

big disappointment with the condition of the lake. not one of us in the group would swim in it. the setting is perfect and quite beautiful. the cottage itself was full of cobwebs and spiders and the vents and ceiling fans were covered in thick dust, indicating poor cleaning. But we did enjoy our stay and made the best of it. if you love to swim you may not want to stay here. if you are only going for relaxation, and nature walks i highly recomend it. The cabins have all the amenitites one could ask for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Serenity Lake is primarily spring-fed and cleaner than most lakes in the state of Wisconsin. The stain color is in most large-bodied waters in the area (i.e. Lake Arbutus, Halls Creek, Black River). There is also a sediment that sits on the naturally sandy bottom that is simply pine needles & leaves in the process of decomposition. If you are playing where there is sediment and you get some on you, you can simply rinse it off with the lake water as you would mud or dirt.
I contacted the host after receiving this review. She stated that the group had a great time and that at least most of the group did not come to swim and that the weather wasn't favorable while they were here. She stated that the reviewer had questioned the lake and that we had explained it to them, as well as one of her own group had pointed out literature explaining it. As far as the cottage cleanliness' went, the host stated that, though there were cobwebs in some of the corners, the cottage was fine and the sensitive areas such as the bathrooms and kitchen, dishes, etc. were very clean! The host also observed other clients swimming in the lake during her stay. She stated the group had a great time while they were here and this reviewer's opinion was an individual opinion, not the groups'.
In response to the cleanliness', we have clients coming in the same day other clients check-out so we do our best to prepare for the in-coming clients. We do thorough spring and fall cleaning when there is time to do so and address other issues when it is brought to our attention. Unfortunately, this was brought to our attention through a review instead of simply pointing it out to us. Since we do not stay in the cottages, client imput is very important.
As far as the swimming goes, we have clients swimming in the lake all summer and, as mentioned above, the lake is cleaner than most lakes. We respect the reviewer's decision to choose not to swim and her opinion regarding her stay but are disappointed that she felt she had to make it into a review instead of simply letting us know.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review