reviews for: listing #70591 - Mendocino, California House rental

Pacific View Retreat
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $160 /nt
    $700 - $800 /wk

sort by:

Family Getaway

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

The house was exactly how the pictures portrayed it but it was even more spacious in real life! Very well stocked kitchen with plenty of dishes, pots and pans, even a crock pot, rice cooker, blender and waffle iron! We ate all our meals there so that was an important feature for me, the cook! It is very well kept and clean. Even on the days when the sun did not shine much, the house is very light because of all the sky lights. The hot tub was a welcome feature in the cold evenings. There is a post office and small grocery store just 5 minutes from the house and if needed a pharmacy just 30 minutes away. The drive to Ft. Bragg is beautiful the entire way. We had our seven year old grandson with us, and he loved playing with the neighbor dogs that came often to the sliding glass door by the hot tub. He even gave them names! The beach at Manchester State Park was virtually empty and there is much sand for walking. The view is so peaceful and watching the cows grazing and hawks sitting on the trees outside the house was fun. There are plenty of games, puzzles, DVDs and even some books. It was about an hour drive to Ft. Bragg, but I could have easily spent the entire time staying at the house and exploring the beach and the small towns both north and south that were just 30 minutes away. We will go back. Well worth every penny. I would highly recommend it for getting away from everything and relaxing. The owner responded very promptly to every single question I asked. Good to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So close to Manchester Beach

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Great cozy home with skylights and windows that make it spacious. Private back deck with amazing views of the pastures and mountains that transforms into a sanctuary at night when immersed in the hot tub under the stars. Easy to find and very close to Manchester Beach. We'll be back and some of our friends too. Our three children didn't want to leave and enjoyed all the board games available in the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our relaxing four night stay at Pacific View

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

I recommend staying here in this beautifully decorated immaculately clean home. Upon entering the home there awaited a welcoming wine bottle for the guest.There are lots of windows that make you feel so happy as the light beams in. On the back porch the view was so nice and relaxing.There sat two nice rocking chairs on the porch a place to read a good book, or just view the countryside.The area is so quite and serene.This place is great for all ages.The owner was very prompt in response to all my emails and questions.I hope that you too will come and stay and enjoy your time there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Three Night Stay

Review submitted: November 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Thank you for a wonderful three night stay at Pacific View Retreat! Your home is cozy, comfortable, impeccably clean, bright and beautifully decorated. The views out back are breathtaking! Half the fun in staying here is the quiet and splendor of nature unfolding before us- birds circling, little frogs staying warm by the hot tub, views of the ocean, without unwelcome wind, misty fog rolling over the hills- always changing sunrise over the mountain tops, brilliant star gazing at night!
Your kitchen and bathrooms were lovely and well equipped. We appreciated all the information on things to do in the area, and we loved the bottle of wine that welcomed out stay.
Thank you we hope to come again.
Tony, Lorie, Olivia, Christopher and Grace

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What I Like About Pacific View

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

What I Like About Pacific View Retreat

The View -- As advertised, the wooded pastureland behind the house is beautiful, with cows usually dotting the landscape. The Coastal Range rises above the pasture and a creek valley winds down from there to the ocean.

The Hiking -- Going to the beach is delightful, along a path that is easy and not too far, through wooded grassland. Manchester Beach is terrific for beachcombing, especially if you enjoy odd shapes of driftwood. Sand dunes, a vibrant estuary and a great circular route for joggers/hikers/walkers makes for fine wandering for those so inclined. An old abandoned house along the path and the beach make for interesting perusing if you are into wondering "who used to live here."

The Quiet -- the house sits at the end of a cul-de-sac and the neighbors are quiet.

The Location -- While Manchester, California is a drive from the Central Valley, the location is perfect for visiting Mendocino and Fort Bragg to the north, or Sea Ranch to the south. Golf is available at Little River Inn to to the north and Sea Ranch to the south (Little River Inn is a 9-holer with challenging greens, Sea Ranch is my "Pebble Beach" of the North Coast). Excellent tide pooling is available near the Point Arena light house (small parking area on the left, just before the road turns to the right when the light house is in sight), where you can also see sea lions and seals and take in bird or whale watching. If you are into geocaching, the old cemeteries near here are popular hiding spots, as well as the many beaches lining the coast.

The Wineries -- The Anderson Valley has many worthy wineries. I like Navarro best, for their natural pest control practices. The white wines here are excellent, the reds also commendable. A complimentary bottle of Husch wine is also provided to renters. If you like beer, do not miss the Anderson Valley Brewing Company (which also has a great disc golf course on the grounds of the brewery), just outside Boonville on the road to Ukiah (about a thirty to forty-five minute drive from Pacific View, depending on your preferred speed).

The Drive -- I like driving, and touring the coast and through the redwoods along highway 128 en route to highway 1 is outstanding.

Cooking -- My wife enjoys cooking and the kitchen area is well-stocked with the necessary utensils and cookware.

We come twice a year and enjoy every trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Stay at Pacific View Retreat

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

Our stay at Pacific View Retreat was wonderful. We enjoyed everything about it. From the beautiful views of the landscape, the close accessiblity to the beach, and the comfort of the home itself, we could not have expected anything better than this. Upon arriving, we were welcomed by the warmth of the home itself. It had everything you would want, just like a home away from home, only better. A fully stocked kitchen with great pots and pans, great for cooking if that is what you like to do. The home itself is beautifully designed, you could tell that a lot of effort went into making sure the "guests" were made to feel welcomed. The master room bed is a "sleep number", so you are able to adjust the firmness to just what you like. Oh, and the skylights were perfect for looking at the stars and for hearing the lullaby of raindrops that put you right to sleep. We were also entertained by the cows and the horses in the meadow. We even saw some deer and a bobcat, it was really like a little "paradise". The house was impeccably clean, with fresh luxurious linens on the beds and in the bathrooms. Lots of hot water to use, it never ran out.The tv's were great, although we didn't use them much, we had such a good time just visiting with good friends and enjoying the hottub, the bbq and the good wine we all brought along. There are many things to do nearby also. But we'll leave that up to you to find, because that is half the fun itself. We hope all enjoy this retreat as much as we did. We highly recommend this home to those wanting to have a vacation to remember. Enjoy!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Perfect Honeymoon

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

This property made for a perfect, romantic, and peaceful honeymoon week. The home has a very cozy and warm feeling. The views from the back porch are breathtaking. The hot tub is perfectly located for privacy while still taking in the gorgeous sceanery. The trail down to the ocean is conveniently located across the main road and is an easy and enjoyable walk to the ocean. We utilized the campsite (firepits & picnic tables) within the grove of trees just before the shoreline. The beach itself is beyond beautiful and you feel like the only people in the world on that stretch of sand.

This Cozy Cottage was the perfect start to our marriage. We will definately be back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Pacific View Retreat January, 2011-Wonderful!

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

My husband and I love staying at the Pacific View Retreat! Being able to enjoy such a beautiful home while we enjoy the beauty of the coast is the best. It is so easy to relax after a day at the beach or shopping or wine touring. The owners sure knew what they were doing building their house with such wonderful views. We love to sit on the balcony in the morning or the late afternoon and breathe in the beauty of the meadow and surrounding mountain. The house is so comfortable and cozy even just staying at the house is a relaxing vacation in ifself! Thank you for sharing your wonderful relaxing vacation spot with us. We look forward to staying there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review