reviews for: listing #70813 - Grand Haven, Michigan House rental

Yia Yia's 4 Bedroom Cottage On Boardwalk; Lake Michigan View
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $450 /nt
    $3,000 - $3,300 /wk

sort by:

Laurie K.

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

This house is AMAZING!!!! The location is excellent, close to everything. We did not want to leave!! My whole family agreed that we were ready to move in. The home is extremely spacious & cozy at the same time. Everything you need is there. We got home yesterday, & we're ready to go back NOW! David is wonderful to work with & very pleasant. Wish we could have turned the clocks back a few days, instead of just an hour.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our time here. What a great place to create memories for my graduation, which acted as a family reunion. David was very helpful through the process and was very flexible with our needs. Wish we could live there! My little niece and nephew loved it. Hoping to make a reservation in the future!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fun for all!

Review submitted: October 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

Everyone that stayed at the Yia Yia's cottage had a great time. Four girlfriends had three nights of gab sessions and drank coffee on the porch every morning, five sisters spent two nights catching up with their family news, the kids and grandkids spent three days swimming, flying kites, playing games, and walking everywhere.
The weather was great, water was warm (for lake Michigan) and the Mulligans Hollow playground was awesome.
We want to return next Labor Day to do it again.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Yia Yia's Cottage

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Loved this place! We needed a place to contain family from the Chicago and Detroit areas for a college graduation (GVSU). Lots of room, great walking area, deer( can you believe!),freighters,tugs and sail boats practically within arm's reach. Grand Haven is a charming walk about town. Everyone is friendly. Don't miss the Morningstar for breakfast and the delightful bookstore next door. We recomend Yia Yia's cottage to anyone who wants/needs a large but comfortable home for a gathering.Full sized gas stove,big fridge.Lotsa deck area. Awesome location.

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Fantastic getaway!!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

This was a perfect place for a girls weekend!! The location in Grand Haven was wonderful, could walk to everything. Walked along the Boardwalk and into beautiful Downtown area every night. Didnt even use the car the whole weekend! Beautiful and spacious living area was great for playing games and relaxing!! The owner was super nice and always pleasant to talk with!
Overall had a wonderful visit and would most certainly recommend it!!
Look foward to staying there again next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Fantastic getaway!!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

This was a perfect place for a girls weekend!! The location in Grand Haven was wonderful, could walk to everything. Walked along the Boardwalk and into beautiful Downtown area every night. Didnt even use the car the whole weekend! Beautiful and spacious living area was great for playing games and relaxing!! The owner was super nice and always pleasant to talk with!
Overall had a wonderful visit and would most certainly recommend it!!
Look foward to staying there again next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Spacious and comfortable!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Yia Yia's Cottage was perfect for my vacation! I had a group of 14 girls for a girls weekend/reunion of sorts and it was absolutely perfect. Not only was the weather gorgeous in Grand Haven and the surrounding area perfect for a good mix of relaxation and entertainment, but the cottage itself was so spacious and comfortable that with such a large group it could not have been more perfect. Tons of room and the house was furnished with just about everything we could think of needing. The fact that there were 2 bathrooms (with 14 girls!!) was also a non-issue which was surprising. I will most definitely be coming back to this cottage-whether it be another girls reunion or coming back with our families....this cottage is perfect for larger groups and I would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Perfect.

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Yia Yia's cottage is the perfect place for a get away! We loved the location -- being able to walk to the beach as well as downtown was awesome. We parked our cars when we arrived and didn't have to use them until we left! The cottage itself is so spacious and open, which was perfect for a big group. The sun was setting as we arrived and we were amazed by the beautiful view from the balcony! We had such a great and comfortable stay at the cottage, and can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Relaxing getaway!

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Had a great, relaxing getaway at Yia Yia's Cottage. We had a large group, but the house was large enough to comfortably accommodate the entire group. I really enjoyed the open floor plan on the bottom floor and that the living room had a really nice flat screen TV. The views from the cottage are magnificent as you can see the lighthouse and Lake Michigan. Downtown Grand Haven is just a short walk away and full of shops and really good restaurants.

Can't wait to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The Perfect Get-Away Place!

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We had a great time! There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep, eat, relax, and hang out. The cottage has a great view and the neighborhood area is adorable. We really enjoyed being so close to the downtown area, which had great restaurants and tons of really nice small-town charm. We used part of the weekend to ski at the nearby ski slopes and would love to come back and see what the other seasons have to offer!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Escape!

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

We rented the cottage for a ski weekend, and it was the perfect spot - the drive to the slopes was short, and the large property provided the perfect environment for relaxing evenings. The gigantic kitchen is open to an even bigger living room and dining room; perfect for entertaining and hosting a big group.

Plus, the cottage is walking distance to Grand Haven bars and restaurants. Breakfast or brunch at the Morning Star Cafe is a must - be sure to order the oatmeal pancakes; you won't be sorry!

I would definitely recommend this cottage; I'm already making plans to go back in the summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Cottage

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

The two best things about this cottage are its location and size. First, the cottage is huge with a awesome open layout (great for entertaining). I went with a decent size group of friends, and we had more than enough space. The cottage's location is perfect - a short walk to the beach or the downtown area (where there are some great restaurants and shops). Speaking of restaurants, you must stop by the Morning Star Cafe in downtown Grand Haven, MI. It has the best breakfast (especially the oatmeal pancakes), and is an easy walk from the cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Grand Haven Cottage

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We had a wonderful vacation. The weather was awful but the cottage is so great we had a great time. It had everything we needed and plenty of room. It's the best location for Grand Haven.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review