reviews for: listing #70827 - Holland, Michigan Cottage rental

Cottage next to Holland State Park
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  West Michigan Park
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $800 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Just as described

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Property just as described, very clean, nicest and largest yard in area. most all neccesities provided. Decent grill, I grill alot and was concerned what I might find, very pleased with unit. Nice neighbors, area is quite at quite time, great for 2 yr old grandson.
The provided wagon was a plus as it is a bit of a walk to get to beach which also is very nice.
Nearby bike paths take you everywhere in area
Hope we can return in future

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Repeat visitors enjoyed it again

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Stayed here 2 years running now, love the place. There were noticeable improvements to increase the size of the parking area and improvements to the landscaping which obviously shows the owner's interest in maintaining the place. Great location, house is clean and comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All around great house, location, value

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Walking distance to beach, nice cottage with all necessary amenities, best lawn that I saw in the area was especially good for kids, house looks better than you can tell from the pictures, great. Communication from owner. Would definitely rent again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful house and location!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We loved this house and we loved Holland. The house was perfect for my husband and I with our 4 and 5 year old boys....plenty of space in the house and a great yard. The house was clean and comfortable. The firepit was well used by us and the outdoor shower was so great for cleaning up after a walk back from the beach. Having the beach, a hot dog stand, and an ice cream shop within walking distance was great for the boys. Holland is a cute city with lots of shops and restaurants downtown. We loved the Thursday night street performers downtown that they have during the summer and the farmers market on Wednesday. This was a perfect family vacation spot!!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic vacation!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Great cottage, impeccably clean, perfect location! We had a fantastic time in Holland. The location of the cottage is perfect for the beach, taking a run, going for a bike ride, or climbing Mt. Pisgah. The cottage was very clean and had everything you could possibly need. We can't wait to go back next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review of cottage, Holland MI

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We just got back from a great week at the Atlantic Ocean of the midwest, Lake Michigan. It is a jewel of "flyover" country. With temperate summer waters, white sandy beaches and water as far as the eye can see, it is every bit as good as the ocean. The cottage we stayed in was terrific, here is a short review:

The very short review is that everything about the cottage exceeded expectations. It is newly and delightfully decorated. The proximity is superb--less than 10 minutes for a very pleasant walk to an un-crowded, private beach. The physical location is great, too--in a cute little neighborhood, just north of Lake Macatawa and east of Lake Michigan. The yard is spacious, and there is good privacy on the lovely patio. The cottage is really a recently re-modeled, very-well-kept and well-decorated house. It has everything you would want, including extended cable, wi-fi, laundry, air-conditioning, a gas grill, and a handy outdoor shower for rinsing off the sand. Everything, without exception, was in excellent working order.

The cottage is advertised as sleeping 8, but we asked the owner, Mike, if two families totaling 9 persons would be okay. He candidly replied that the sleeping arrangements would work fine, but we should be aware that there is only one bathroom. We said we could make that work, and it was not a problem at all. As to sleeping, there are 3 spacious bedrooms. Two equipped with double beds, and one with 2 pairs of bunks. So if you, like us, are vacationing with another family, you can turn a good deal into a great deal, by splitting the cost, very easily and very comfortably.. The rooms of the cottage are also very large, so there is plenty of room for 8-9 people, even on an unlucky rainy day.

The greater Holland location was also very good. There are all kinds of stores and restaurants within an easy 10 minutes' drive, if you want them. As for us, we hardly go in the car at all. Kayak rental is a 3-minute walk. Boat rentals on Lake Macatawah are just 1 mile down the road. There was just hardly any reason at all to leave the immediate vicinity. Bottom line--this is a great cottage rental, and at unbeatable price.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review