reviews for: listing #70891 - Coeur d'Alene, Idaho House rental

Cider Mountain large family retreat
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $4,950 - $4,950 /wk

sort by:

The property was excellent. Pictures and descriptions are as accurate as they can be.

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

As with any unseen rental, we were optimistic. But as other family members arrived before us we started receiving texts from them say the place is "fabulous, unbelievable, wonderful" so we could not wait to arrive. We were not disappointed. The main house has everything you need from entertainment to cooking needs. Fully stocked industrial kitchen, game room, laundry facilities were all in great shape. The cabins were a great get away for the grandparents, quiet and just far enough from the main house to get rest if required. The grounds are well maintained and again well provisioned with outdoor sports equipment. The crown jewels would be the owners, Corrie and Chris. They were just a phone call away and responded immediately to the smallest request. Thank you both for a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply stated... PERFECT!

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

Only one word can adequately describe Cider Mountain - PERFECT! We just completed our family reunion last week and everyone had a fantastic time, and a big reason for that was Cider Mountain. We have been doing these family reunions for the past 15 years...and the Cider Mountain property was without a doubt the best, definitely. We have stayed in very nice accommodations in Summit County Colorado, Black Hills South Dakota, Zion National Park Utah, etc - but this place was far better. It not only has great amenities, beds, espresso maker (which was a huge hit with everyone), juke box, wireless speakers throughout, chair lift for the stairs, amazing kitchen, massage chair, outdoor fireplace, large screened porch, laundry room with multiple washer/dryer, nicely furnished, etc., etc.,....but also has activities for everyone of all ages (we ranged from ages 7 to 85) with video games, board games, pool, ping pong, basketball, karaoke, poker table, tetherball, soccer goals, playhouses, frisbee golf, volleyball, Jacuzzi, outdoor shower, huge lawn area for playing sports, large back yard deck, and the list goes on. Prior to booking, I looked at a lot of places and read a lot of reviews - I am one of those people who does a lot of research, so I had high expectations of this home before I showed up - but the pictures and reviews are not able to adequately describe this place. And then on top of all this, the owners Chris and Corrie were simply great to work with. They did everything to help make our stay amazing and even resolved issues for us that were not theirs to resolve - to put it simple, if you cannot get along with these two nice people, you may have issues. I highly, highly recommend this property to anyone wanting a perfect and private retreat home for a group of 25 to 45. We will be going back...and thank you Chris and Corrie for making this reunion the best one we've had...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mom Grandma G-Ma

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

Outstanding accommodations for multi-generational family reunion. Could not ask for a better set up. Kitchen is fabulous and well stocked. Any special request were handled quickly and courteously.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wish we could give more than 5 stars!

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

Beautiful, amazing, functional, thought of everything, couldn't ask for a better home away from home... these are a few of the statements that come to mind. Chris and Corrie have done a phenomenal job creating a retreat home that is perfect for families, or wild women on the loose! This is our 2nd stay here and we look forward to many more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing location!

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

I brought my private school class of 8th graders to this location for their class trip. We had an amazing time. It was easy to separate the boys and the girls with the main house and the additional 3 cabins. Owners were extremely nice and accommodating. Almost everything is provided too!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retreat

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

The facilities were absolutely beautiful! There was some construction going on, but not too much of a hindrance. Everyone in the group was so grateful for such a beautiful and relaxing place to retreat. It was also very clean and there were some cool additions from the year before.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great family place

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We have an unusually large family and it is wonderful to find a place that we can all gather together. The beds are very comfortable. There are enough activities and space that everyone enjoyed their stay.
The karaoke night is a favorite also. We will be returning.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Celebration

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

Our special day was made even more perfect by this beautiful lodge and the ever-helpful owners. More than accommodating and so friendly and easy to work with. The lodge itself is fully stocked with anything you could ever need. Just bring groceries and you're set for the perfect vacation no matter the occasion.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for a family reunion!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

The house was wonderful: super clean and beautifully decorated. The beds are very comfortable. Everyone in our family loved this place! The owners have gone to great lengths to make it a comfortable home away from home. The kitchen has everything one might need. There was a lot to do for all the kids from teenagers down to the little ones. And our most memorable time was our family talent show and karaoke in the studio! What a blast! We would definitely recommend Cider Mountain as a vacation rental and we are definitely looking into coming back. Thanks for everything, Corrie & Chris!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Words cannot describe how AMAZING this place is!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Over the years we have rented/stayed at numerous places via VRBO. This one, hands down, is the best, most awesome place ever!! Our entire girls fastpitch team and their families stayed here. In total we had approximately 32 adults and children combined and there was PLENTY of space for all. The kids thought this place was better than Disneyland. There was so much to do, the kids never got bored. Even the adults were caught more than once playing all the video games once the kids had gone to bed :) We ended our trip with a super fun night of karaoke that was the best. The owners are wonderful to work with. They are right there if you need anything. They went above and beyond for us during our entire stay. They are extremely hospitable and super easy to work with. This place was extremely convenient to Silverwood, though we only went there one day because of ball games. The commercial kitchen was huge and allowed many of us to be in there at once and not bump into each other. The serving kitchen also worked out perfectly to set up all the food and just have everyone come through in a line. Tons of seating. Another favorite was the music that is piped into every room. All our girls were in the bunk room (which was also awesome in and of itself-worked like a dorm room for all 9 of our girls) and had to get up bright and early a couple of the morning for games. They would crank the music and get pumped up and ready for the games. We also loved having the jukebox for meals and game time as well as poker time. Even with all that said, there were still several things we did not get a chance to do i.e. the dunk tank and will definitely be returning next year and staying a little long to relax and enjoy the property more. I would highly recommend this place to any groups even remotely considering staying here.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Place

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

We had our family get together at Cider Mountain this past week and it was a wonderful place to be together. There was plenty for the children do to and the adults had a great time as well. We brought sleds and snowmobiles with us but everything else was supplied including the snow. A beautiful area and a wonderful facility.
The karaoke was really fun. Those that had seemed reluctant before hand even enjoyed it.
The sleeping areas are quiet for the little ones during the day.
Clean, pleasant and great customer service.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best New Years Celebration!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

This was our second stay and everything was perfect! House and rooms are always super clean... kitchen has everything you need and more...Our kids love the playrooms..Thank you for making our New Years Celebration so AWESOME!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Perfect

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

We found the perfect place for the family. The sleeping arrangements were great, especially the cousins room - they loved it. The entertainment room and arcade room kept everyone entertained when we were home, kitchen was large so we had enough room to feed us all. We have looked around and there is no other place like it. We hope to return again. The owners were more than accommodating. Close to shopping, Silverwood, and lots of really nice lakes. You will not be disappointed and book early.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

This property is absolutely the greatest! It was accurately described with lots of photos. Every thing sparkling clean. The Phillip's are very helpful and immediately replied to any question that we had. There were 33 of us and plenty of places to sleep, relax and play. Loved the commercial kitchen with every available utensil, lots of dishes, pots and pans, and unending ice! Many, many games and things to do for all ages. Property is very close to Silver Wood Theme Park and Farragut State Park which were enjoyed by all. I would highly recommend this property not only for families but as a place for business retreats, seminars and recording groups.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolute perfection.

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

A trip to the Northwest would not be complete without a stay at Cider Mountain. 20 of us New Jersey-ians came to Idaho for a family wedding and we were in awe of the scenery and of Cider Mountain. Our stay was PERFECT. There was nothing left to be desired...other than more time there because during our 10 day stay we were not able to take advantage of all the house has to offer! The home (if you can even call it that...more like a resort) was equipped with a professional kitchen, immaculate hot tub, game room (board games, arcade style, and pool), play houses and play ground for the kids, outdoor ping pong, basketball, volleyball, and the list goes on. We have seen nothing like it before. It was quiet and every guest felt like they had their own space in the house. The owners, Chris and Corrie, are INCREDIBLY accommodating and some of the nicest people you will ever work with. Definitely rent out the recording studio (very reasonably priced) for a night of fun karaoke. The home is conveniently located between Coeur D'Alene and Sandpoint, and about an hour and a half from the airport. There are tons of activities and sights within driving distance. Cider Mountain is the perfect way to spend a large family vacation full of fun and activities...if you are in Northern Idaho/Washington/Montana, you must check this place out. The surrounding area is simply beautiful. You will not regret it! Best vacation we have ever taken. Thanks, Cider Mountain! We hope to see you again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cider Mountain Retreat is a real gem!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

This home is everything you could want in a vacation retreat for a large group (20 +/-). commerical style kitchen; nice suites / cabins; old fashioned video games; spacious; very quiet. The setting is incredible - in the middle of nature. For our group, the location between Coeur D'alene and Sand point was perfect. The homeowners Corrie and Chris are very accomodating. if you stay there, get some time on the recording sutdio for karaoke - fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Reunion Site

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

We have been holding family reunions for the past ±15 years. This is far and away the best site we've found. The facilities are extraordinary and the maintenance/cleanliness is the best. If anything, the facilities are better than the description; they just couldn't include everything and be concise. Moreover, the owners, Corrie and Chris, are immediatley available to handle any questions and address every need. The location offers access to so many activities that I believe we can keep returning for several more years without duplicating any experiences. We toured, hiked, enjoyed watersports, but didn't have time to get to the amusement park that is only 10 minutes away! The kids prefered to stay at the reunion site. It was that good. Highly, highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cider Mountain Vacation Rental

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Wonderful house and amenities! Owners were wonderful to work with and very helpful. Secluded, private, and very nice place to stay. The beds are very comfortable as well! Highly recommend to groups! Recording studio / Karaoke was a lot of fun also.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

familly getaway

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

We had a great time staying in a wonderful house. The house was filled with : lots of toys and games for kids. The kitchen had everything you possibly can imagine to have. If you are an outdoor person you would love it(volleyball net, soccer field, hot tub,fire pit, and a big playground). It was very quiet outside it feels like you are in the middle of a forest. The bedrooms were comfortable with modern furniture and had every needed item. Our group (16 adults and 25 kids) expirienced the best getaway time ever!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Friends familly getaway

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

We had a great time staying in a wonderful house. The house was filled with : lots of toys and games for kids. The kitchen had everything you possibly can imagine to have. If you are an outdoor person you would love it(volleyball net, soccer field, hot tub,fire pit, and a big playground). It was very quiet outside it feels like you are in the middle of a forest. The bedrooms were comfortable with modern furniture and had every needed item. Our group (16 adults and 25 kids) expirienced the best getaway time ever!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow!

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

Thank you both for the opportunity to stay at Cider Mountain. The entire group enjoyed themselves and the location nestled up in the trees was perfect! We do this retreat every year (my 34th year) and I think this is the first time I have ever seen a place so well thought out. You guys have done an amazing job with the overall comfort and ambience as well as the creature comforts---as long as I can have tunes in the kitchen I will cook anytime! Also, we appreciated the personal touch from you Corrie and the explanation and history of the photos taken by Chris' great grandfather. Very cool! Thank you and we hope to visit again :-)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

50th wedding anniversary

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

Dear Corrie and Chris

I want you to know that our family had a wonderful time staying at your place at the end of July. We couldn't have picked a better spot. There was so much to do that we should have stayed for 2 weeks. The grand kids are still raving about the play houses and play ground. The big kids had a great time with all the electronic games. We had lots of laughs watching the kids play with the dunk tank too.

The Moms with babies were happy that the rooms upstairs were so quiet that the babies could get undisturbed nap time. That made it nicer for everybody.

It was thoughtful of you to bring us cherries. There were enough for everybody and nobody ate too many.

The little girls and I picked a wonderful array of wild flowers. What a lovely variety. We loved watching the bluebirds and hummingbirds too. We don't get them here. The children were excited at discovering on the ground east of the building the junco nest with three babies and one egg. Other wildlife sighted: moose, wild turkey, coyote.


Watching the stars from the hot tub was a great treat. You have a lot of stars there.

It's hard to think of never coming back to Cider ranch so maybe we'll need to celebrate our 60th anniversary there too.

Thanks for everything,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

80th Birthday and Family Reunion!!!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

By far the most enjoyable family reunion we have shared together. So much room, so many things to do and the facility is absolutely 5 Star. The owners are very helpful and available if needed. We without a doubt would and will be back for another family outing. I would and have recommended this facility to family, friends and business associates.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Idaho Getaway/ Family Reunion

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

Our experience at this rental surpassed our expectations. We gathered for a family reunion with 26 people attending. The spacious common rooms, plentiful beds and baths, and the helpful hosts contributed to our high level of satisfaction. The high-tech extras were quite a surprise: the xbox kinect, the ipod sound system, the arcade games, the fabulous commercial dishwasher. and the incomparable espresso machine with all the flavorings; truly something for every palate. The hot tub was also a big hit. Thanks to our hosts for being readily available to help with some of the details during our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for a family reunion

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

We just completed a week at this beautiful lodge. I arranged it for my family reunion this year. We had 31 of us there. The place is amazing. The 3 separate cabins were perfect for our kids that had families of small children. The main house has a bunk house type room where all our older single adult kids slept and they loved it. Then my parents and brothers and sisters stayed in the rooms with private baths. It was perfect for us. We had brought up our boat to spend time on the lake but several days the family stayed at the cabin and played since it was so nice. The owners are great hosts. They made sure we had everything we needed and were so accommodating. I would highly recommend this place for family groups.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation Property

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

This property is truly one of a kind for a family reunion or vacation headquarters for an extended family or group.

Our family has a reunion every two years have have rented properties in Washington, Oregon and Idaho. This property was by far the best we have experienced. We would recommend this property without hesitation to anyone looking for lots of room in a mountain forest setting, and especially to large family groups with children.

It is set in beautiful surroundings with all the privacy one could ask for (no other homes can be see from the property). Silverwood Theme Park is only about 12 minutes away. Hayden Lake (relatively warm water with a park and great boating facilities) is close by as well.

During the week we enjoyed hiking, boating on Hayden Lake, two lake cruises, a mine tour, a day at Silverwood Theme Park, and all kinds of sports and in-house games (including video arcade games and pool competitions) at the lodge.

The mostly new lodge and cabins were very clean, well laid out, and well maintained. All kinds of sports facilities and equipment for everyone from small kids to adults is provided. And there is plenty of room to use all of it.

The owners (who are very pleasant and helpful) live in the area and went out of their way to make our stay one to remember.

Our family will definitely be returning in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sisterhood Retreat

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Every year my sorority goes on a spring sisterhood retreat; we normally camp out in tents for a night but this year I decided to change things. I found the link to this cabin and instantly knew I had to have it for the retreat. All the pictures on the website doesn't even capture all the amazing features of this cabin. It comfortably fit all 55 of the girls and the open arcade, and hot tube kept all the girls entertained. Everyone had a wonderful time, we all dreaded leaving, and we are all really hoping to make this a tradition!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great and relaxing place. Corrie and her husband

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

Its an exceptional facility and great place for bonding as a family or business destination. Its everything and more than the add shows. The layout is what makes the whole thing work. wether togher in the family/dining room or the seclusion of the bedrooms and cabins. Cant wait to go back

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic re-union!

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

There were about 24 of us ranging in age from 10 to 70, in a mini family re-union! This property was perfect. Beds for everyone, great living/family/dining room for all of to gather in, the outside cabins for those who wanted privacy.Something for everyone, Pool, ping pong, cards, and even PAC-MAN! The hammocks were so nice and relaxing! The huge professional kitchen was also a huge hit! Everyone wanted to cook something in that kitchen! The Phillips were so gracious and kind, they gave us a tour of the wonderful recording studio, and it was a hit with everyone, specially the teenagers! The large open field out side was perfect for playing ball, and Frisbee.The only hard part, was that no one wanted to go anywhere because it was so much fun just to stay in the property. Also, bring plenty of mosquito repellent, because the mosquitoes are viscous! Overall the place exceeded our expectations, and we hope to come back again and again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great and relaxing place. Corrie and her husband were perfect host. Just a call away.

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

Its an exceptional facility and great place for bonding as a family or business destination. Its everything and more than the add shows. The layout is what makes the whole thing work. wether togher in the family/dining room or the seclusion of the bedrooms and cabins. Cant wait to go back

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic re-union!

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

There were about 24 of us ranging in age from 10 to 70, in a mini family re-union! This property was perfect. Beds for everyone, great living/family/dining room for all of to gather in, the outside cabins for those who wanted privacy.Something for everyone, Pool, ping pong, cards, and even PAC-MAN! The hammocks were so nice and relaxing! The huge professional kitchen was also a huge hit! Everyone wanted to cook something in that kitchen! The Phillips were so gracious and kind, they gave us a tour of the wonderful recording studio, and it was a hit with everyone, specially the teenagers! The large open field out side was perfect for playing ball, and Frisbee.The only hard part, was that no one wanted to go anywhere because it was so much fun just to stay in the property. Also, bring plenty of mosquito repellent, because the mosquitoes are viscous! Overall the place exceeded our expectations, and we hope to come back again and again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

I just wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed our stay at Cider Mountain Ranch!

I asked the guys what they liked best...answer: the espresso machine!!! (And the Kareoke )
We were all taken by the kitchen! You run a great crew in the cleaning and even having supplies right there!

The gals especially liked the bedrooms. They were all such nice sizes, clean, comfortable, and private.

We took many family pictures around the backyard and the old pickup! Great!

Thank you so much for being so attentive to our needs. I would recommend your place to anyone. Everyone said they would enjoy returning.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

I just wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed our stay at Cider Mountain Ranch!
I asked the guys what they liked best...answer: the espresso machine!!! (And the Karaoke)
We were all taken by the kitchen! You run a great crew in the cleaning and even having supplies right there!
The gals especially liked the bedrooms. They were all such nice sizes, clean, comfortable, and private.
We took many family pictures around the backyard and the old pickup! Great!
Thank you so much for being so attentive to our needs. I would recommend your place to anyone. Everyone said they would enjoy returning.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review