reviews for: listing #70950 - Fort Myers, Florida House rental

"A rental home with a bed & breakfast feel!"
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Palm Gardens
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $365 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,800 /wk
    $3,920 - $5,040 /mth

sort by:

Very comfortable home

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

This was the most comfortable home I've stayed in. It's large enough for a larger group of friends or family to stay. Close to downtown Ft Meyers. Large outdoor space for play or lounging around. Very nice covered veranda with plenty of comfortable chairs. Linens and towels were plentiful, as was kitchen and dining equipment. Very quiet area with a 2 minute walk to the river. This is a gem!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 13

 

Loved the House

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the house and it was wonderful. Everyone had an amazing time. The back/side yard was perfect for the tables and the kids really enjoyed the pool. I love how the house was set up as anyone who wanted their own space could have it. The only reason I haven't given this property 5 stars is because we had a few issues. First, the pool lights don't work and though we had called on Friday evening about them, we didn't hear back until Sunday. But my aunt brought out some extra lighting and that worked so it wasn't a major issue. Second, the pool heat was supposed to be turned on before we arrived; it wasn't. My cousin and I figured out how to turn it on and adjust the temp and it was ready by Saturday afternoon when everyone arrived. It was cold again on Sunday though we aren't sure if it automatically turned off or it the maid who unexpectedly arrived while we were out Sunday afternoon, or anyone else who may have come by such as the pool guy, turned it off. We tried turning it back on, but since the pool is so large it wouldn't have heated up in time for us to go swimming again so we just turned it back off. Regardless, we payed for 3 days of having the pool heated, but it was only on for one day. I have yet to hear back from Judy after emailing her over 3 weeks ago and have not received a refund for those 2 days.

The photos do not do justice to the outside. The pool is quite large and the yard is huge, we had ample space for everyone. This house is not for everyone, but we really enjoyed it and our wedding turned out better than we thought it would. I'm very glad we chose to have it here where my husband's family would also have a place to stay rather than doing it at one of the country clubs or hotels. Having grown up in Ft. Myers and having most of my family still there, it was awesome being able to get married in my hometown surrounded by family and have such a cozy, beautiful house to host the reception in.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 11

 

Roomy property, great for families and groups

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

We rented this house so our extended family could stay together over a long weekend, since a nephew was getting married in Ft Myers. The house is on a quiet street, near the Edison-Ford Museum, close to grocery and other shopping. It is a two-story, older house, with charm and ambiance. Three bedrooms are upstairs, with a large Master bath, and one hall bath. Sheets and towels all smelled fresh and were plentiful. The upstairs beds are VERY comfy!

Downstairs is all the living space: living room, sitting room, dining room, small eat-in kitchen area, and half-bath. The outside covered clay tile porch has lots of seating (12 or more), and there are several very comfy, padded chaise lounges around the pool. The backyard and the side yard brick patio area with swing, provide shade and quiet places to relax outside. We loved using the ping pong table outdoors. A gas grill is available for use.

The cottage suite has a platform bed, separate AC and it's own bathroom. Our teenager enjoyed having his own "pad" for the weekend.

The kitchen is well-equipped with microwave, stove-top, oven, dishwasher, and plenty of mixing bowls and glass 9x13's. There were several staples available such as salt & pepper, some sugar, tea bags, coffee filters, foil, condiments, etc. Small appliances include a hand-mixer, toaster, and small blender for smoothies. The washer and dryer are also in the kitchen. Full size fridge and freezer. Ice cube trays are provided. An infant/toddler size booster chair was available.

Overall, the house was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed watching movies and using the available WiFi service.

The property manager was very responsive to a couple needs we expressed, and did more than enough to accommodate our requests. She's easy to get along with, a warm hostess, and truly wants the guests to enjoy and relax in the house.

If you like a quiet place to hang out with friends or family, this is a great house to rent for the money. We also liked how the house was divided up into different spaces, so some could listen to a loud movie in the living room, while others used the dining room for the internet and talking quietly, and others could be outside playing ping pong or reading by the pool.

We went to the Edison Ford Museum one morning and truly enjoyed it. The grounds and buildings are full of history and relics from Edison's creative mind. Worth your time and money. We hope to come back later this year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 12

 

Classic Old Florida

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

This vacation rental home is in the old, historic part of Fort Myers very near the Ford and Edison homes and close to downtown. It is on a quiet street and just one lot from the river where we spent several evenings watching the sunset. The neighborhood is quiet and the large lot is very private. We enjoyed the heated pool and the wide veranda where we ate several meals and enjoyed the beautiful Florida spring evenings. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and there were several thoughtful touches like a bag of ice in the freezer, a vase of flowers in the kitchen and a bag of chocolates left on the counter. The bathrooms were all nicely done. The furnishings are an intersting, ecclectic mix. This house may not be a good choice for seniors as there are no bedrooms on the first floor of the house and the bed in the guest house is a platform bed which is difficult to get in and out of. Our 80-something patriarch chose to stay in one of the upstairs bedrooms and navigate the stairs. Judy is a very attentive property manager and is very concerned that her clients have a pleasant stay. We were in the area to see some Red Sox spring training games and the location of the house is very convenient to their current stadium which is close to downtown. They are building a new ballpark near the airport which won't be as convenient, but we'll probably still choose to stay in town, preferably in this quaint home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 10

 

Spring Break 2011

Review submitted: March 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

The house is everything they said it was and more. We actually had 4 more the it is suppose to sleep but we took air mattresses for 3 and a pack and play for the 4th one. Everyone had a great time lounging by the pool and soaking up the sun. Kids had plenty of room to run and play when they weren't swimming. Close to stores for anything you may need and not a bad drive to the beach. It was a absolutely beutiful house. Nice quite area. Hope to be able to go back.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 11

 

A Wonderful Sanctuary

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Such a wonderful home on gorgeous private grounds - the house is charming and lives beautifully, with plenty of room to spread out and relax. The sprawling back porch especially, overlooking the massive formal pool is just wonderful. We had many evenings of conversations late into the night asnthe setting is perfect.

The house sits on a huge private lot under gorgeous spreading oak trees - it feels like a secret walled garden, very quiet and peaceful.

We felt so at home here, our escape from the all the cares of the world. It felt like our own private Sactuary. We can't wait to come back here.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 8

 

Wonderful, Relaxing Vacation Spot

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

I would definately recommend this place to stay. It was very peaceful, quiet area. The pool was so nice. And the house! Where do I start. It was just wonderful being in a historic home! It was a very cozy atmosphere, but yet tons of room. It was also equiped with everything you need. Wonderful area. Great for walking the dog! Tons of historical houses to walk around and look at. It was so nice to be able to bring our dog as well. She had a blast as well. The very large yard is completely fenced so you don't have to worry about her getting out. And there is a child safety fence that is removable in case you don't want your dog in the pool. Very dog friendly area. There are even two beaches you can bring your dogs too. Highly recommended! We will definately be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 8

 

Christmas in Florida 2010

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

We have spent many a Christmas in rental houses in Florida. I must say, this was the nicest house, we have ever visited. We were met personally by Judy and given a tour of the place. It was wonderful. All the charm of a 1920s house completely restored and with all the modern amenities. Even our dog was welcomed warmly. W got there on Christmas eve and even found a Christmas tree waiting for us. The house and grounds were spotless. Other houses we have rented have felt like rentals, very impersonal. The separate pool house was very comfortable and the perfect place for this old grandma to get away from the teen grandchildren. This house immediately felt like home. My elderly service dog had a wonderful time in the fully fenced yard. Judy was a gracious hostess and felt like a friend immediately.
.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 8

 

Somewhere In Time

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

What a refreshing change to stay at a house with such charm. We chose the house for the location and also for the fenced yard. We have two Std. Poodles who have romped and played every day.

Judy the "innkeeper/manager" is very responsive to any need and is extremely pleasant to deal with.

The house has been completely updated with taste and style; yet preserving the charm, warmth, and ambiance of bygone years.

It is a 10+!

Janet Hannsz & Russ Marinucci

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh Janet,
I LOVE this! I'm so happy everything is OK there. You've been so quiet these past few days, I was worried! I called the lawn guy and he will be by some time this week. I told him to look for you and NOT to open any gates without checking with you first.

Is Russ enjoying himself? Did you contact your friend?

Again, let me know if you need anything.

Thanks again.
Fondly,
Judy

Helpful votes: 1 / 8

 

This place is amazing!

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

This house is amazing! It has so much charm and historic nature. The house is well taken care of and clean. Completely dog friendly fenced in yard that is great for dogs to explore and play in. The pool and yard are beautiful and well taken care of. Judy is great to deal with and very helpful. I would and will recommend this property to family and friends! We are already planning our trip back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review