reviews for: listing #70975 - San Diego, California House rental

Vacation San Diego County, Pool Oceanfront on Sand Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $238 - $350 /nt
    $1,255 - $2,245 /wk

sort by:

Gorgeous views, fantastic beach, equipped with everything!

Review submitted: August 9, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

This is the first time I've ever had a rental match up to pictures, and exceed expectations. This is a really nice 2-BR, fully equipped condo - right down to coffee maker and kettle. (Short a few table knives, but hey - I can imagine those have to be replenished annually!) 1 King Bed, 2 Twins were perfect for us and the two teens. Comes fully stocked with towels, bedding and even cleaning equipment/supplies - thank you - including beach towels. All you need to buy is food. I loved sitting out on the balcony with my book and cup of tea every morning, listening to the waves break, watching the early surfers look for the perfect wave, and seeing the family of dolphins that usually came in once or twice per day. The beach is clean, gravel free and is raked for seaweed daily. It's a five minute walk to the pier, and for restaurants nearby, Aroma Thai, IB Sports Bar, and Sea 180 (in the hotel next door) were excellent. (I'll be posting reviews of those separately.) The pool and hot tub were also well maintained. Honestly, this was about as perfect a vacation rental as I've ever had. We rented through http://sandiegovacations.com and it was seamless. Check-in and out was easy, and loved having our own designated parking space below. Easy access to Coronado, the airport, the zoo, the outlet mall, and old town. Thank you Gerry F. for sharing your home away from home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo with beautiful views

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

We booked this for 4 adults and 2 children, 6 & 9. Location was perfect for travel to Legoland, Sea World and downtown. We loved watching the beach activities and the grand kids enjoyed swimming in the pool, soaking in the spa as well as beach time. Easy walk to local places. Beach is immaculate.The beds were very comfortable as was the furniture. Well stocked with dishes and pans, although a few new pans would be nice. No cabinet storage for groceries. Balcony was nice too. Opening for Windows are on lower part of view windows. They aredifficult to open and there are no screens so watch young children. Although available, we only used the dryer and not washer. Two parking places but location is challenging if you have a large truck as we do. We would consider staying here again if we visited the area again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!!!!!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

This condo was perfect in every way! We always rent homes/condos/cabins when we travel and this was one of the best. I loved the location. Just a short drive from downtown San Diego. All the major attractions are close by. The ocean view is awesome! We saw dolphins and sea lions from the beach and pier. We saw blue whales, dolphins, and sun fish while touring with San Diego Whale Watching Tours. The condo was spotless and nicely decorated. The beach was clean and my son loved looking for shells. I'm picky about beds, but the bed was the most comfortable of anywhere i stayed and the pillows were the best! I wish I knew what kind they were. Great shower pressure, too, which sounds silly until you stay somewhere where it's terrible. Thanks so much for sharing your great place with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely place...great location

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights before heading to Anaheim, CA. The condo was as pictured, clean and in great condition. The ocean view was amazing and such easy access to the beach.

We enjoyed the pool, grill area, and hot tub as well during or stay. The condo location made for easy on and off the Interstate for getting to local attractions such as Sea World, San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park.

Even though there are other condos in this complex we did not have any troubles with any of the other neighbors or noise during or stay. The under ground secured parking was an added bonus. The area overall seemed very safe.

Working with the staff for the rental went smoothly, and they were quick to get in contact with us when there was a last minute change in instructions for key pick up.

We had a fantastic time during our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quality family time

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

We were here last weekend and were pleasantly surprised by the good weather and were able to enjoy the beach for two days. The condo was as presented and exceptionally well stocked even down to beach toys , chairs and umbrellas. Having a washer and dryer was a plus. Took our grandson to Legoland and Zoo and found the commute shorter than expected. Thank you so much and we will recommend you to all of our VRBO friends. Connie Tucson Az

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LOVED this condo!!!

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We just returned from the best vacation of our lives! This condo was incredible - the views were awesome! The unit was very clean upon arrival - the pictures do not do this place justice at all. The layout was perfect for our family of 5 - 3 teenage boys and us. We did not feel cramped or crowded at all. The kitchen was great - more room than I expected and had a direct view of the ocean while I was cooking. There are more than enough pots, pans, plates, etc. The only thing the condo didn't have was beach towels - we never did find them when we were there (I did leave a note with the property manager when we left). The laundry is INSIDE the unit and was sooooo nice to have. I absolutely LOVED the master bath, the tub was amazing and I soaked in it many times! Each bedroom has a flat screen TV and the bed was very comfortable (I am VERY picky about beds - this one was great!).

This condo is on the 3rd floor of the complex and at the end. We only had one common wall and we never heard anyone. The outside patio is small but big enough to 2 to enjoy a morning coffeee or evening glass of wine. In fact, the way the patios are constructed made it feel like we were the only ones out there. The underground parking was great, there was space for two vehicles (we only brought one). Also, they have carts in the garage so that you don't have to make too many trips up the elevator with your luggage. My kids loved the pool area and met some other kids to hang out with. I did use the grill once during our stay - it wasn't incredibly easy to get started but there was a "pro" down there with me and we got it going.

This condo is directly on the beach and right by the playground; we could easily see our teens from the balcony. The condo does not have boogie boards - it does have a surfboard. We bought some from WalMart and saved $$ in rentals.

Imperial Beach was too wonderful for words. I did not want to stay in Mission Beach - too crowded. IB is the PERFECT So. Cal. beach town - a great mix of family, beach people, kids. Everyone seemed to know everyone. It is exactly what you would picture as the perfect beach town. We went to the farmers market on Friday - lots of great stuff. The best pretzel I ever at is on the pier - don't miss it!
I would stay in IB tomorrow - it was worth the 20 minute drive to the major SD attractions.

This was a great vacation - I can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

endless beach, pure relaxation

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2011

The pictures of this condo are pretty good, but the real thing is even better, much better. Sitting at the window, we felt like we were sitting on the beach, could hear the waves, watch the surfers, enjoy the sunsets. I liked to sit at the kitchen counter, facing the window and watching the ocean, while working on my computer. The beach was right there when we stepped out of the condo complex. There are several good restaurants and cafes within walking distance. Everyday we took long walks on the beach that stretched endlessly. This condo doesn't have seaworld or balboa park around the corner, but we had a truly relaxing vacation there. The condo itself was spacious and full of light. The only thing we didn't like was the very much outdated fitness room, you should consider the fitness room non-existent. But who needed a fitness room when we could run on the beach, watching dolphins jumping out of the water, and the Coronado island stretching in front of us? The pool and jacuzzi did look nice.

Other details:
The Cow-A-Bunga ice cream shop at the beginning of the pier is delicious! We tried 10+ flavors there and all of them were outstanding!
The farmer's market on Friday afternoon. There was live music that was very fitting to the ocean scene and happy people everywhere.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

More than what meets the eye

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

My family and I (which included a toddler and an elderly disabled individual) recently resided at this condo for a family vacation and we loved it. it was exactly as pictured. the view was great, the condo was in great shape and had everything we needed. i enjoyed the privacy. and even though they were doing construction next door it did not bother us, we couldnt hear it. access to the beach was wonderful. all in all it was a great trip and the condo was awesome. i will definitely be returning there.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fabulous condo !!

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

This condo was exactly as pictured and described. It was very clean and comfortable. The master bedroom bed was fabulous. The view from the condo was wonderful overlooking the beach & ocean. The property managers answered our questions and were very helpful with the a/c. I would recommend this condo to anyone interested in going to Imperial Beach. It was very quiet and close to grocery stores and pharmacy and great access from the freeway. It has a separate shower that was easy for my physically challenged husband to enter. A hotel is being built two blocks south of the condo and the noise started at 7 am and continued for most of the day. A great alarm clock! We didn't let it ruin our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

DING! It's time to get away!

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

What a WONDERFUL break we had in IB here at this rental! We've been pleasantly surprised with each of the rentals we've done from VRBO, and this one is definitely at the top of our list...we WILL be back!

Imagine a family of six, four of which are teenagers, staying for three nights and four days in ONE place...wait, no, picture a HAPPY scene, as that's what it was staying in this very roomy accommodation! Free Wi-Fi, INCREDIBLE views of the beach and pier, and walking distance to some VERY YUMMY restaurants (try the Thai place across the way and the little Greek place downstairs...oh, and be sure to drop by the coffee house next door, too!), and a short drive to the estuary.

I always look at the reviews of places, so let me make sure I've got this down straight for those of you who do the same...this place was very well maintained, as were the grounds. Strict rules are in place, so there isn't any riff raff (at least not while we were there), and it was a very family friendly location. We loved having secured parking, as we know how crazy parking can get in IB, not to mention the fact of safety.

We were bummed that we'd run out of room to bring our chairs, but were pleasantly surprised with the stash of beach chairs we found in the closet. There was even a surfboard at our disposal, but we weren't brave enough to give it a go...maybe next time!

The photos represent this beautiful condo quite well. It is beautifully decorated...including the lovely artwork, which we found out was done by the owner's wife! Having a wonderful view, a place to sit outside for morning coffee/evening wine, just added to our enjoyment. We look forward to coming back again, even in the winter time, as the ocean is definitely our meditation spot!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Wonderful Visit!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

Although we were only there for a weekend, we thoroughly enjoyed the condo. It's so nice to be able to all stay together in one place. There were several amenities nearby to take advantage of (shops, restaurants) and the beach being just outside the door was the gem of the whole visit! Having secured parking and a well-appointed condo were comforting and we felt very welcomed. Very private and quiet building. The key pickup/drop-off was very close and convenient, also. Definately will recommend this to others and my party hopes to stay there again and for a longer visit next time!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review