reviews for: listing #70996 - Franklin, North Carolina Cabin rental

Rustic Cottage in Scenic Iotla Valley, Orchard Hill Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $79 - $89 /nt
    $483 - $553 /wk
    $1,372 - $1,662 /mth

sort by:

Cute little spot with great views!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

This is a great cabin for two! The views off the back porch are amazing - eat breakfast or supper out there and enjoy! The only drawback was it was a little tough to park our huge truck in the designated parking spot, but we made it work with a little effort. The owners were very sweet, fixing us up with coffee, hot chocolate and all the trimmings to go with it. Had a great time there! Say "hello" to the cows and calves next door when you go!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A small piece of heaven

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

I loved this beautiful cottage and beautiful scenery. Gene and Diane are awesome people to deal with. They gave me eggs from their hens which made for a delicious breakfast one morning. My husband and I will be going back this summer to stay again. You can't beat the place for the price. Just absolutely gorgeous. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Relaxing

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

The cabin itself was very cozy and clean. Gene and Diane were extremely accommodating. The few days I was there North Carolina was experiencing record cold temps, they supplied me with extra heaters and came by to turn the fire place on and everything. This is a great place to stay if you want to get away for a bit. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great guests post wonderful comments.
We welcome all who desire 5 star relaxation at an affordable price

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Cabin

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

The Feathered Nest cabin was charming, tucked away in breathtaking Iotla Valley. Gene and Dianne were not only the perfect hosts but quickly became dear friends. Let me add that Charlotte and Scarlet, my roommates, kept me company and provided good conversation in the mornings and evenings. And yes, sweet Teddy was entertaining as he hopped,and ran through cemetery on Sunday. I felt like I was home! And I will be back.... Thank you, Gene and Dianne.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Great Escape

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

What a wonderful, relaxing week in the mountains. The owners and the cabin are very relaxed, comfortable and hospitable. It is well away from the tourist venues and yet near everything we needed. This was not our first visit and we will likely be back in the future. I just wish it wasn't such a long drive from home...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Rustic Cottage in Franklin, NC

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

The Rustic Cottage was so cute and quaint. We loved the uniqueness of the decorations and the peacefulness of the surroundings. It was just what the doctor ordered - peace and relaxation. It was fun shopping at the antique shops and flea markets that were close by. Franklin, North Carolina, is a beautiful place.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic little Jewel of a Cabin!!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

Perfect little cabin for our honeymoon. Great view, cozy and comfortable. We loved it and will definitely return.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Forget the hotel and make reservations for cabin life

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

The hospitality was significant, and the scenery was gorgeous. The cabins/cottage had a very-clean rustic look. We were in town for a wedding and really enjoyed our stay, wished we could have stayed longer.
We had a soundless night, with our windows open, fresh air and rain drops hitting the tin roof.
If you are ever in the Franklin,NC area. This place is a MOST!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tank you for your kind words. You will always be welcome in our little corner of heaven on earth.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stress Relief

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

We had a wonderful time in your cabin. It is just what we needed, to relive the stresses of life. We are planning to return in the near future. We will become a regulars to your place.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!!!!!!!
See Ya soon
DRBunn

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little, no make that a BIG slice of Heaven on Earth!!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

My wife Sandy and I had found this cabin on line a few years ago and then for some reason or another wound up going somewhere else for vacation. In the meantime we had lost the information and even the location of the cabins. Well low and behold this year we found it again, (with I belive a little help from above.) Are we ever DELIGHTED!! this was by FAR the best and most realixing vacation we have had in many years. Not only was the cabin everything we had ever hoped for but Gene and Diane are just so warm and genuine. The weather was quite cold and cloudy but we didn't even mind it that much. We just hung around the cabin and grounds and thoroughly enjoyed the surroundings and the company! Again, Gene and Diane, we can't thank you enough for your hospitality and "chats". Look forward to seeing you in the late spring or early summer of 2013.God Bless!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

little cabin #2 in lotla valley

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

What a wonderful little cabin. Beautiful, great scenery, warm welcome, decor was outstanding all around one of the best cabins we have stayed at. Gene welcomed us and took us to the cabin to make sure it was everything we wanted and visited with us for a bit. Gene and Diane are just wonderful and friendly folk that you immediately feel like family. Looking forward to sharing more time with them in the future. Our stay was short but looking forward to the next stay being much longer. The cabin was perfect with all the comforts of home and making our stay more enjoyable. We highly reccommend if you want a great place to get away and such special treatment from such wonderful people like Gene and Diane make sure you check out these cabins. We promise you will not be disappointed. Can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind remarks. Guest satisfactions is our main goal.
Gene and Diane of Orchard Hill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Solitude and Peace

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

I came up here for six weeks in search of solitude and peace . . . and found it. My writing project was completed. This cabin was well appointed, immaculately clean and offered all the conveniences of home, including an icemaker, air conditioning, and a deluxe wine bottle opener. Gene and Diane were most accommodating. They catered to my every wish and request. I’m making plans to return again next year, and will take the time to smell the roses and wildflowers. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lil, you are among the best of our guests even though all our guests are the best. You rate our top score, FIVE STAR GUEST *****. We look forward to your next visit and wish you ***** FIVE STARS on your new book.
Gene & Diane of Orchard Hill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely perfect!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

The cabin was perfect in every way. Immaculately clean, well-equipped and great location. Gene and Diane were very helpful. Hope to stay there again!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved the place

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

It is such a nice place and if you want to relax this is where you would want to go.It has all you need there just bring your food and your set. We went to the Gem Minds and it was close to alot of them. We had a nice time and would go back.Thanks Alisa from Graham NC

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So Peaceful...

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

Gene and Diane,

Thank you both so much for letting us have the opportunity to enjoy your beautiful cabin and for making our grandbabies vacation so special...During our stay and the many things we did, their favorite place to be was at the cabin. We will defintely be back very soon and highly recommend this cabin...it is beautifully appointed and Gene and Diane are such accomodating host. Serenity said, to tell Mrs. Diane she misses her" and Scarlett said, "her too." (smiles)

Thank you for sharing your home,
Dennis, Lisa, Serenity, and Scarlett

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nicest Surprise - Great Vacation

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

We had a wonderful, and cozy time for a week at this cabin. Very comfortable, and extremely cozy. Such a peaceful setting, and all the conveniences you'll need. Lots to do in the area, and a very comfy place to relax at night and in the morning. If you happen to find this cabin available, grab it. You won't be sorry.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Photos Don't Do It Justice

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect from the photos, aside from lovely flowers, but it was so much more than we expected. Clean as a whistle, cute as a button and very comfortable. The out-buildings and chickens and swings and creek are so pleasant. You won't be disappointed. Gene was wonderful and we were sorry Diane was away during our visit - we've heard so many nice things about her.
Grocery stores aren't too impressive but we found everything we really needed. Restaurants mostly close after lunch, so plan accordingly. We'd definitely stay here or at the sister property if we get back this way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Oh yes! Some of our locally owned restaurants only serve breakfast and lunch. Next time you are here you may want to try others like Fat Buddies, BBQ or Willy's BBQ; perhaps Gondolas Italian Cuisine or the Boiler Room. There are many we would recommend. If you have taste buds for a particular cuisine let us know. Many of our guests love the gourmet cuisine at Cafe Rel. They especially rave about the shrimp and grits! We happen to like the mushroom stuffed pasta and their pot roast. Let us know if we can help you make some good selections.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cabin on the hill - looking forward to a return visit. Loved our "double yoker" egg, courtesy of Diane and Gene's chickens!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our chicken, Hilda, has not been presenting us with delicious mountain eggs for sometime now. We are pleased she chose to share her one-time 2 yolk egg with Jerry and Celeste. We were afraid Hilda had forgotten us. A pleasant and timely gift.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We highly recommend this cabin!

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

This is the second year that we have enjoyed staying at this cabin. It was cozy, comfortable and well-located!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A MOST DELIGHTFUL VACATION EXPERIENCE!!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Loved our stay at the cabin. Rustic applies only to the outside of this comfortable cabin. We had a great stay, cabin is close to town and all shopping and attractions. The chickens are so much fun! We hated to leave and will return again for another stay. Gene and Diane are great hosts and make sure you have all you need plus Teddy the dog is so cute!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A MOST DELIGHTFUL VACATION EXPERIENCE!!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Loved our stay at the cabin. Rustic applies only to the outside of this comfortable cabin. We had a great stay, cabin is close to town and all shopping and attractions. The chickens are so much fun! We hated to leave and will return again for another stay. Gene and Diane are great hosts and make sure you have all you need plus Teddy the dog is so cute!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Scott and Shirley were ideal guests. Scott named our 2 chickens as Hilda and Matilda and they responded with a favorable "cluck cluck". We are all, with Teddy, eagerly waiting for Scott and Shirley to come again and enjoy the Great Smokey Mountains with us again. Scott caught some keeper fish while here. Way to go Scott....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GW, Roz and Makenzie

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

Thank you Gene and Diane for a wonderful week in the most precious cabin ever!! You treated us like prince and princess. Could not have picked a more pleasant place to stay. The rustic cabin was quaint, cozy and just awesome and near everything. We are looking forward to coming back in November. Makenzie cannot stop talking about the flowers, cows, chickens, art. You two made the trip so special. Thank you again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We wanted you to know that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your charming cabin. All the beautiful flowers growing around the cabin and the multitude of song birds were such a delight. Also, the pie you gave us was delicious. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

We came for our first year anniversay and could not have picked a more special place. Thank you so much for your hospitality. Here is advice for future renters of Orchard Hill Cottage. You must visit Cade's Cove. It's a long ride but well worth it. We also recommend Mason's Mtn. Mine. The mine is just 20 minutes from the cabin. Hard work yields results.
Different food at Cyprus Restaurant in the Highlands.
The best part of our trip was just pulling off on the side of the road and playing in the waterfalls and creeks.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

We highly recommend!
# 1 Mining at The Rose Creek Mine.. we found lots of awesome gems, some being made into jewelry. Pack a lunch!!
#2 Sheffield mine, we found smaller gems, mostly rubies. One was 23.5 carat. (having it made into a pendant)
Both are close by and lots of fun.
#3 Definitely go to the "Gem Factory".. It is a great shop. Chris will look at all of your "finds" and show you
what can be made. Great prices!!
#4 Drive up to Highlands--WOW. Stop at Dry Falls on the way up. You can walk under them.
#5 Driver "under" Bridal Veil Falls--just because you can.

We'll add more to the list when we return to our "new home away from home".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

It's like a "tree house" for adults. If you visit Franklin and stay somewhere else--you"ve missed the boat!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

What a great place to "run away" to! We really felt at home. Gene and Diane felt like friends. "You have a special place here. We would love to come back"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Orchard HillCottage was just what we needed!!The cottage was comfortable and well maintained. Gene was fantastic! We will be back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place to "runaway" to.

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our time at your cottage. It was very peaceful and relaxing. It was a very much needed break from our hectic schedule. Gene and Diane felt like old friends from the moment we met. We thank them very much for sharing with us their wonderful corner of the world, and making us feel welcome and at home. I could set on that front porch forever! We have stayed in much larger, fancier cabins but none of them were as comfy or inviting as this. We would love to stay again sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Rick and Anna were the ideal guests. We so appreciated their friendliness and care for our property. Our goal is to make every guest at Orchard Hill part of our family, if they choose, or they can have all the privacy they desire.

Come and visit out mountain setting in a secluded part of "Peaceful Valley". You will be glad you did...

.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An easy comfortable stay

Review submitted: March 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this quaint rustic cabin. It was perfect for the two of us. Gene and Diane were the most accommodating host from the reservations to our departure. We would recommend the cabin to anyone wanting a quiet getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Claire & Bob were ideal guests. They were courteous and a pleasure to have at Orchard Hill Cottage. We anticipate their return for their next visit to the Franklin area.

Gene and Diane

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exactly what we needed

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

One of George Washington Carver quotes was, '' take what you have, where you are, and make the most of it''. That's what Diane and Gene did with this cabin. It will take you back in time but it is also clean and relaxing. The perfet get away. Hope to return soon and have more time to get to know Diane and Gene better. They are good pepole.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We certainly appreciated our guests, Joan & Jimmy. They are the caliber of guests we have been enjoying ever since we first started on this rustic cabin adventure. Thank you and welcome back! Gene & Diane

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cottage Review

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the cabin. The cabin was very clean and well maintained. Gene and Diane were wonderful hosts. We would recommend this for anyone wanting a relaxing vacation. We relaxed on the porch, slept in, walked by the creek, visited antique stores in the area, had dinner out most nights, took drives around the area, and sometimes just did nothing. It was great!

A couple of great places we ate: Dillard House (Dillard, GA) and Cafe Rel in Franklin.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and restful getaway

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

My daughters and I spent a relaxing and peaceful three nights in this charming cottage and can't wait to return. Gene and Diane were warm and welcoming hosts, and the cottage is just as perfect in person as it is in the photos. I am already dreaming of seeing those lovely hills in the autumn.

Owners response: Gene and I can't express our thanks enough to all the travelers who chose our little rustic cabin as a place to rest in the hills. We look forward to serving new guest as well as our returning ones.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly what we imagined

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Thank you for everything. We had a great time !!! Your cabin was perfect and exactly what we had imagined it to be. God Bless
Melody and Candace Homer

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fairytale Cabin!!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

This cabin is AMAZING!!!! It is decorated beautifully with lots of details and you can tell that lots of love was put into it. Very confortable for a couple! If you want to relax and enjoy a beautiful view then this is the cabin for you. The location is great too. It is located in a valley surrounded by mountains and near the town of Franklin, NC. There is also a lot of fun things to do in the nearby towns and national parks. We went hiking, white-water rafting, driving through scenic roads and waterfalls. & the best part is that my fiance proposed to me on the back porch with a beautiful view of the sun setting on the mountains! You will feel like you are living a fairytale! Thank You Gene & Diane! We loved our stay in the cabin! Can't wait to go back :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 12, 2007   Date of arrival: August 12, 2007

This beautiful cabin is the perfect place to get away from it all! It provides an isolated, quiet place for R&R, while at the same time being close to many outdoor activities. Gene and Diane were wonderful hosts and graciously helped us anytime we asked. They have done an outstanding job constructing and decorating the cabin - you will love it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2007   Date of arrival: July 25, 2007

Not to be redundant, but I also would highly
recommend Diane's and Gene's worry free, relaxing
retreat for all the reasons already listed, but for me,
as an artist, it's also topped off with the variety of
inspiring Smokey Mountian views and quaint
vignettes for endless plein air painting
opportunities. Oh, how I wish I had had more time
there! Thank you Diane and Gene for your
wonderful hospitality!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2007   Date of arrival: July 25, 2007

We REALLY enjoyed our stay at your lovely cabin. Highly recommended for anyone looking to get away from it all and appreciate the peaceful country lifestyle. We will definately be back!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 2, 2007   Date of arrival: July 2, 2007

What a wonderful place! We just left and already can't wait to go back. If you're looking for somewhere to relax, this is the place you want to stay. Gene and Diane were very accomodating. The cottage was awesome. It was very cozy and really made you feel at home. The scenery around the cottage is breath-taking. Happy (Gene and Diane's dog), the sheep and the chickens were fun. We had the opportunity to feed the sheep and chickens. Now that we are back home in Illinois, we find ourselves missing North Carolina and our daily routine at the cottage. We would most definitely recommend this cabin. We are so happy that this is the place we chose to stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

The cabin is wonderful - every detail was intended to help us to "decompress" - which we did! Diane and Gene were so accommodating and willing to do whatever it took to make us comfortable. The sheep were a welcome addition to an already amazing pastoral setting. The mountain view was breath-taking - morning, noon and night. The flowers outside the cabin were like a French garden. It was great to be able to leave windows open for the fresh mountain air, even though the air conditioning was more than ample. The washer and dryer ended up being needed after my fall in the river by Highlands - a must see trip down NC 28. Plenty of good restaurants in the area, and bluegrass pickin' on the square every Saturday night in the summertime. We have found our "home away form home" until we can make North Carolina our permanent home!
I can't wait to return in October - thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 9, 2007   Date of arrival: May 9, 2007

I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful cabin in February 2007. What a quaint and comfortable little place this is, wonderful eat in kitchen, welcoming living room, and very comfy bedroom not to mention a wonderful porch with an amazing view of the mountain. The owners are very accommodating. Can't wait to have an opportunity to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 18, 2007   Date of arrival: April 18, 2007

Thanks for the wonderful experience in the cabin. I'll never forget the cold april weather and your warm hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review