reviews for: listing #71001 - Kemah, Texas House rental

Look No Further! the Kemah Country Cottage its One of a Kind
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $850 - $850 /wk
    $1,650 - $1,650 /mth

sort by:

Our first time in Kemah

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 14, 2014

We want to thank you for letting us rent your cottage.. we loved it and was very pleased on the space.
The listing description was accurate regarding the location.
The photos that are posted are up to date,the property was very clean and ready for us to go right in. And the only reason why we didn't give 5 stars is because there were fleas and only window units. BUT all we did was buy some flea spray and sprayed it all over and turned on all the fans in the rooms. The owner was very helpful and answered our questions. and YES we recommend this property to anyone who wants to stay at a cottage and have all the "extras" a motel room don't. the property offered everything you like at home.. a kitchen, washer, dryer, BBQ pit, living room, separate rooms and restrooms, the list can go on. Also, the cottage was close to the Boardwalk and stores like Walmart and Target. The property was quiet and felt so peaceful. we even drove to Galveston Beach. It was a 20 min drive. I will definitely ask to rent this property if we ever go back..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Another Great Review! Thanks for letting me know about the fleas I will have my cleaning help buy some flea balms. Thank you so much for letting me know.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bill

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2014

Very quaint and private. Great layout for us with three grand kids. Loved all the old charm. Had an issue with the fridge but called and someone was there ASAP to fix it. Very convent location- we could get to Galveston or Kemah in minutes. Sure beats a hotel!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for a weekend get away

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

My family and I just recently spent a 3 day weekend at the Kemah Cottage. We had 4 adults plus kids ranging from 1-12 years old. We had a great time. The property was as described. We typically use hotels when we travel and decided to try something different. We were very pleased with the outcome. We were able to spend quality family time there at the house. It was great having a full kitchen, laundry room, and living room with satellite tv. The house was very well supplied with kitchen accessories, utensils, spices, towels, etc. It was great being able to bring groceries and prepare big family breakfasts each morning and we even had a cookout one night. I recommend this property for family vacations if you plan to visit the kemah boardwalk, nasa, the USS Texas, or even Galveston island. It is affordable compared to hotel prices. We will stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kemah Cottage

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

My daughters and grandchildren just stayed at the Kemah Cottage. It was very nice and clean. It's very close to many activities so we kept the children busy and they loved it. I also had one of my foster dogs with me. The yard was well fenced so she could run around. One problem we had was that we ran out of paper towels and toilet paper. We went to the dollar store (only 2 blocks away) and got some. Also, there was no hot water in the front bathroom so we all showered in the back bathroom which did have hot water.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I am so glad my guest enjoyed there stay at the cottage. I have contacted my cleaning help about the toilet paper and paper towels. The bathroom in the front bedroom is on a separate hot water heater and sometimes throws a breaker. I wish she had contacted me. I do my best to get back with my guest ASAP.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Yeah

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

I was so glad it was close to everything, NASA Galveston Island Kemah Boardwalk.....Great Place!!!!! Loved it

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Four Guys

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

Very comfortable for 4 guys spending a weekend fishing in Galveston Bay. With 2 king beds, we had no trouble "keeping our distance" while sleeping. Really wanted 2 full baths, and this fit the bill. Clean and had all linens, etc.
Real easy to drive right past when looking for it due to the large greenery, but it made the place feel like a tropical retreat.
Will consider it again next year, depending on where we will be fishing.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Adorable!

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

The home was so cute! We loved it. The beds are comfortable & the house serene. Was a very pleasant stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A family oasis close to Kemah~ we will be back!

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

After reading the reviews, we thought we'd give this place a try, as we we're looking for someplace that allowed dogs and was close to Kemah/NASA. Don't let the unincorporated neighborhood scare you! As soon as you pull into the driveway, you instantly feel secluded. The house itself has a covered patio in the front and back. We we're pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms and the amenities....nothing fancy, but everything works and the place is cozy and comfortable. Our dogs loved playing in the backyard or lounging on the front porch, which had a little gate so they couldn't escape. We BBQed out back and really enjoyed ourselves. It was a five minute drive to Kemah and about 20 minutes to NASA. We drove through many of the small towns along the bay and found great places to eat and drink. There IS the rooster next door who alerts you to the break of day....but we just turned on the a/c and couldn't here him. Our kids were begging to come back before we even left. Best bang for your buck!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mixed bag

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

The inside of the home is very nice. Some great antiques and interesting pieces of furniture. The home is located in Bacliff, a few minutes from Kemah. Close proximity to Houston and Galveston Island. Johnson Space Center is also near as well.

The area is unincorporated. The property owner had told us before we rented. This means that there are really no zoning laws. The area looks fairly rough with many run down mobile homes and tin shacks. We made the mistake of leaving a car on the street one of the first nights and it was broken in to. Three jackets stolen from the trunk. One over $400. The lawn ie weed patch hadn't been mowed in months. Outside furniture was all dirty and we had to clean it to use it.

The rooster wasn't an issue. In the front bedroom there isn't a door going into the bathroom, just a curtain. Also we couldn't seem to get any cold water in the shower, so it was very hot. The TV has basic service, no ESPN, TNT, or TBS to watch the NCAA tournament. There are a number of remotes with no instructions, so you better know how to change inputs or you won't get the Direct TV to work.

We made the best of it but I wouldn't rent the property again.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: We are very sorry to hear about the vehicle that was broken into. The cottage has been a vacation rental for over 4 years now, and my personal home for over 5 years prior to this incident; with no problems. We are curious to know what the police report details?

The cottage provides a 50 ft. of driveway with motion sensor lights and is very private from the street. It is so unfortunate, that these type of incidents happen all over the country. Unfortunately, we as the landlord, have no control over criminal activities and highly recommend anyone renting anywhere, to file a police report immediately, so the neighborhood does not suffer. The location is great, the cottage is well situated, and it always gets good reviews. The renter's insurance, with proper documentation, may have covered this unfortunate loss of property, IF, the guest contacts the owner.

On the advertisement, it is clearly stated; basic cable is offered along with free Roku and Netflix, and instructions are provided on the back of the remote control for the Roku, plus the use of the remote for the TV is basic.

The door to the bathroom it is oval & not a standard door shape; this is why there are curtains and they look fine & serve their purpose. The yard is manicured after the each winter, and is sometimes not completely pristine.

We, strive to keep our guests safe and comfortable. We wish to extend our deepest apologies for this isolated incident.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best New Year's retreat ever

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

My husband and i booked the "cottage" as a special treat for the second half of our two week vacation to the Houston area. The cottage was an absolute delight. The pictures are just what we got and it was very clean. Plenty of extra linens, towels, pantry items, cleaning supplies, even a stocked medicine cabinet. We even found a blow dryer straightening and curling irons. I never expected to find such a relaxing hideaway. We had several friends visit and all were very impressed. The beds were comfortable, the water pressure was fine. The porches were a great place to relax. We were able to view the fireworks display from the nearby public boat launch. This was everything that I expected and far more. Some mentioned in their reviews that the local area might be a bit down trodden but I never felt unsafe. Several neighbors do have roosters but we found it amusing. We highly recommend this property. The owner was very helpful when we realized that we had left a medication in the refrigerator. She contacted the cleaning folks and we were able to retrieve everything just as we had left it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Another Wonderful Stay at The Kemah Cottage!!

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

The Kemah Cottage has become our Bay Area home away from home! This was our second stay at the cottage. Everything was very comfortable. A strong artic front followed us into town, but the heating in the cottage easily took care of that. (Our first trip was during the heat of late May / early June and the cooling in the house was also great.)

Clean, well equipped, comfortable, pet-friendly, near all area activities...we will hopefully stay here many more times, if we are fortunate enough to book the cottage in time. Starting to look at the 2014 calendar now!

We definitely recommend The Kemah Cottage!

Tracey

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location, great for pets!

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

Amazing little gem, full of interesting antiques but with a modern kitchen, plenty of storage space, and a nice fenced back yard. The front porch is also enclosed and gated so a safe and pleasant place to sit with dogs, kids, or just by yourself

You're a few minutes drive to the Kemah Boardwalk, and an easy drive to Galveston as you avoid I-45 most of the way.

Food: Clifton's and Brooklyn Pizza are nearby and we enjoyed both. (Get the garlic bread with cheese at Brooklyn...). There are several great places to eat on the Kemah Boardwalk and of course lots of shopping and restaurants in Galveston.

About that rooster next door (mentioned in another review) - he's still there but the only place we heard him was the back bedroom. At night we just turned a fan on low for some "white noise" and that took care of the problem. During the day, if one of the hens lays an egg you'll be entertained by about five minutes of celebratory clucking.

Overall the Kemah Cottage quickly felt like "home" and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Kemeh Cottage

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

Sharlene, Thank you for sharing your cottage. We had a nice time. It was close to everything we needed. If we get back, we plan on staying again. Happy Holidays!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean & pet friendly!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

This property was exactly as the photos show. Nice, quiet and super clean. And a back yard for our dog to escape to. The owner is very friendly & helpful and answered any questions we had. Close to Kemah boardwalk and restaurants. We were very pleased with this property and the beds were super comfortable!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this cottage. All amenities were wonderful. Clean and quiet environment. Close to Kemah, which is what we wanted. Not far from Galveston either. All in all we had a wonderful experience here and would come back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Comfortable and great location

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We stayed two nights at the cottage and enjoyed it. It was very comfortable and centrally located. We visited Galveston & Kemah throughout the weekend. We used the kitchen for breakfast and ate out for the other meals but the house was fully equipped. Plenty of towels, kitchen utensils, spacious, washer & dryer worked great. We had an air mattress in the living area and everyone slept comfortably. We couldn't find a beach (sandy) area near by so we had to pay at a private beach. No big deal though. We will definitely be back to the cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Really great place to stay

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

This house is great. Some friends and I stayed for a weekend and one friend actually said that the house looks even better in person than in the pictures. There are some little quirks. We stayed in the summer and while there is no central heat or A/C, the window units kept the house perfectly cool. There were space heaters which would keep it warm in the winter. Also both bathrooms have to be entered thru the bedrooms, but again, no big deal. I saw one review that mentioned mosquitoes, and we did notice them, but that is to be expected in South Texas in the middle of summer. The owner had left plenty of citronella candles to ward them off. The house is decorated very nicely and both bedrooms were large and comfortable. The front porch and back deck are also very relaxing. There are lots of trees and bushes, and while there are neighbors on either side, the plants make the house feel very secluded. The house is also centrally located to many attractions. It is only about a 20 minute drive to Galveston, and only about 10 minutes to the Kemah Boardwalk. The rental price is very affordable. You get a full 2 bedroom 2 bath house for the same price (or less) that you would get one hotel room. We enjoyed our stay very much and are already working out plans to stay here next summer, hopefully for a full week. I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kemah Cottage - A great home away from home

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

The Kemah Cottage was a great place for my husband, myself and our 4-legged kids to stay. We are from the Clear Lake area and have many family and friends in the vicinity. We like to travel with the "kids", so it is wonderful to have a place that is pet friendly. The cottage is very comfortable and nicely decorated. The 2 decks are great for morning coffee and for entertaining. The kitchen is well equipped for the meals we wanted to prepare and many restaurants are close by for the meals we wanted prepared for us.

We definitely loved our stay and plan to call the Kemah Cottage our bay area home away from home. We'll be back as soon as possible.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very private!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Upon arriving, everyone was in AWWW of the place! We loved how it was very private and you couldn't even see the neighbors! Beautiful decks on both ends of the house made for a great gathering in the evenings. Very clean! We will definitely come back in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not bad at all!

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

This cottage reminded me of a lakehouse or a weekend camp house retreat! Everything was clean, well decorated, and a very short drive into Kemah. The kitchen is well stocked and the open floor plan is great for cooking/entertaining. Both rooms have large beds and bathrooms -- plenty of towels.

The front porch is spacious enough for several people and the citrus fruit trees provide some privacy. There is a small backyard which is key for a pet friendly place. WIFI allowed me work when I wasn't enjoying some relaxation time. There is a washer & dryer too for those who do an extended stay.

Ultimately -- dollar for dollar you get more amenities, space, and privacy here than you would at a hotel room. I frequent the area often and have stayed in many different Kemah hotels. Depending on availability I will stay here everytime I visit Kemah as opposed to a hotel. The pricing is better and you get many more accomodations.

There are indeed roosters in the area however they did not bother me during my stay. Probably because I slept in the front room. The hot water did not work in the front bathroom however the property owner called in advance to advise which is much appreciated. I mention this not to complain about the hot water but to state the character of the property owner. There was a small concern in regards to the surrounding neighborhood however everything is fine. Don't judge a book kind of thing!

I would not let any of these things discourage you from staying. The property owner is very accomodating and attentive. She is prompt in her reply to any request you may have.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The hot water issue turned out to be a braker. There is a seperate hot water to the front bathroom. Thankfully it turned out to be a flip of a switch. I am glad my guest enjoyed there stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Time!

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

My husband and I had a great time staying at this cozy house. We felt very comfortable and the whole house was so warm feeling. We would recommend anyone to stay here. Our only complaint was the neighbors have roosters who started crowing at 5 am, the walls are thin and you could hear it most of the day, not so fun. Other that that it was great!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: I have filed a complaint with the police and animal contol. There was an expensive ticket issued to the neighbor and they will be taken to court if they do not comply. This is a great laid back little town. Do to the fact there are no deed restrictions it makes it difficult to accomplish anything unaccommadating neighbors.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Place

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

House was very nice and clean. It looks just like in the pictures. It's only 3 miles to Kemah Boardwalk and 20 miles to Galveston. I would stay here again, thanks Sharlene for everything.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Time

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

A friend and I rented the cottage for a week to catch up on our lives as we do not get to see each other often. We had a great time! The cottage is perfect for sitting and conversing while at the same time having separate bedrooms for some quiet, alone time. Hotels just do not offer this option - you are always in the same room! We loved sitting on the porches with a some wine and cheese and having coffee every morning in our pajamas! It was great not having to get dressed to go get food. There is a Wal-Mart only a few minutes away and the Family Dollar is very convenient, We made a pack to not eat at any "chain" restaurants and would highly recommend Stomp's Burgers, T-Bone Tom's, Skipper's for breakfast, and the Kemah Cafe had great Vietnamese food. The cottage was equipped with everything you need - even WiFi. Several people made comments about the neighborhood, but don't fret. The owner is correct in that this is a fishing village with no code restrictions, welcome to Southeast Texas. As two females, we felt very safe and no noise from neighbors banging on the hotels wall or walking heavy in the room upstairs. This is the way to go!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Cottage stay

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We enjoyed the house very much! We have talked about staying again. The only thing was the lighting was dim. Many lights didn't seem to work. We were able to move lamps around to get more lighting in the bathroom. Very nice stay and nice place!

Owners response: I am so glad these guest's enjoyed there stay at the cottage and are thinking about staying again. I will be sure to have my cleaning service check into the lighting. This is why my guest's feedback is so important.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Our home away from home! :-)

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Thanks Sharlene and staff for making our vacation time great. I'm looking forward to booking another getaway here very soon. We really felt like we were home with all the attention to details provided in this clean and cozy cottage. This cottage is in the perfect location for all the activites we took part in.It took us only 1/2 hour to take part in Galveston beaches and Schlitterbahn waterpark. The next day we went bowling in Texas City only about 8 minutes away.But taking park in Kemah boardwalk was only 5 minutes away.Our last day we decided to head into Houston which was only 25 minute drive. It was great to spend all day and night out taking part in the many attractions and then coming back to this great home away from home. There's no way any hotel in the area could meet the wonderful experience that was provided in this vacation rental. This place showcases southern hospitality! We're looking forward to our next stay!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Very horrible neighborhood

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

If you don't mind filthy neighbors and driving through a neighborhood with RV's, trailors and and almost demolished houses for homes, and having a neighbor with a yard like "Sanford and Son" well you may be fine with staying here. The home smelled musty, but looked okay just like in the picture. The A/C in one of the bedroom did not work. I wish they had given an accurate description of the neighborhood. The outdoor bushes attracted lots of mosquitoes that swarmed us as we got out our vehicle. I don't think I would stay here again.

Owners response: My Lord, You cannot please everybody. I tell my future guest's that Kemah and Bacliff are small coastal towns with no deed restrictions and the neighborhood is not conventional. Most people rent the cottage for the location, price, acommodations, and the aminities which offers more in comparison to a hotel.

The last 5 reviews have been 5 stars and I think this lady went overboard with her review and is very difficult and hard to please. The reviews are there for everyone to read and she should have read the reviews of my entire list of former guest's, 37 reviews, if she is this picky. The reviews tell the story. I think this customer needs to stay in a hotel atmosphere on her next vacation and definitely find a state that is mosquitoes free and no where near small towns along the coast.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

No Place Like Home!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

From the moment we walked into the cottage, I knew we had found the perfect vacation home! The surroundings and decor reminded me so much of the home I grew up in. The beds are super comfortable (I wanted to take the one I slept in home with me lol), it is very spacious and comfortable and Sharlene has pretty much thought of everything. The kitchen is well equipped with all the necessities and a lil more, everything was very clean and neat. We had lots of towels (never enough of those at a hotel!), and the washer and dryer made my life easier with two children, we were able to come home with clean clothes instead of suitcases full of dirty clothes lol.

I am not a hotel-type person--too unfriendly and impersonal for me. The cottage has personal flavor throughout it. There were so many unique things to look at that we spent the first few hours while unpacking just checking things out. There was on old wooden ironing board just like the one my Mom said she used when she was growing up, and my Great Uncle and Mom both enjoyed guessing where the pieces of furniture might have come from and the history behind them, and of course, the kids were after the more modern amenities, t.v. with satellite and computer. As for me, I just took a deep breath and let it go slowly because I felt comfortable and relaxed! I knew even it happened to rain the entire time we were here (which it didn't) we would all still be comfortable and happy.

This is a place that I could return to time and time again and the fact that it is so close to Kemah, Galveston, Clear Lake and Houston makes it even more appealing. Rest assured, if and when I find myself back in this area, I will be calling Miss Sharlene for another stay at her cottage.

Thank you again, Miss Sharlene, for a perfect vacation getaway, it made for a PERFECT VACATION!
Gina

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

No Place Like Home!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

From the moment we walked into the cottage, I knew we had found the perfect vacation home! The surroundings and decor reminded me so much of the home I grew up in. The beds are super comfortable (I wanted to take the one I slept in home with me lol), it is very spacious and comfortable and Sharlene has pretty much thought of everything. The kitchen is well equipped with all the necessities and a lil more, everything was very clean and neat. We had lots of towels (never enough of those at a hotel!), and the washer and dryer made my life easier with two children, we were able to come home with clean clothes instead of suitcases full of dirty clothes lol.

I am not a hotel-type person--too unfriendly and impersonal for me. The cottage has personal flavor throughout it. There were so many unique things to look at that we spent the first few hours while unpacking just checking things out. There was on old wooden ironing board just like the one my Mom said she used when she was growing up, and my Great Uncle and Mom both enjoyed guessing where the pieces of furniture might have come from and the history behind them, and of course, the kids were after the more modern amenities, t.v. with satellite and computer. As for me, I just took a deep breath and let it go slowly because I felt comfortable and relaxed! I knew even it happened to rain the entire time we were here (which it didn't) we would all still be comfortable and happy.

This is a place that I could return to time and time again and the fact that it is so close to Kemah, Galveston, Clear Lake and Houston makes it even more appealing. Rest assured, if and when I find myself back in this area, I will be calling Miss Sharlene for another stay at her cottage.

Thank you again, Miss Sharlene, for a perfect vacation getaway, it made for a PERFECT VACATION!
Gina

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

All the comforts of home!

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

My husband and I decided to to take our son (14) and three grandchildren (14, 6 and 3) on a mini-vacation for the weekend to Kemah and Galveston. Everyone of us enjoyed our stay at the cottage and were very comfortable the entire time.

The home is beautifully decorated and filled with everything anyone might need away from home. The kitchen and bathrooms were well stocked and clean. We enjoyed every room of the home. In the evenings after we cooked, my husband and I would make sure the kids were fine and disappear to the master to relax in the king size bedroom to watch a little tv. A simple pleasere we treasued after a very active day with our children. Even our little doggie seemed content to stay in the laundry room on our down time and enjoyed relaxing with us on the front and back porches. The only that would have made it more enjoyable was a better forecast. Had it not been for the rain we would have fired up the electic grill and had ourselves a cookout.

The trees in the front of the home provides a sense of privacy and makes it feel like you're in your own secluded getaway. The backyard is nice-sized and well-kept. There are even banana and orange trees out back. You can cetainly tell the Ms. Sharlene has a sense of all that's necessary to make her guest feel right at home.

Also, it was really nice not having to rush to get up in the morning to prepare for a long drive to the area attractions. Kemah is just five minutes away while Galveston is about twenty-five minutes. Just enough time to keep the kids from chanting "Are we there yet?" There are big chain stores nearby like Target, Kroger and Walmart to name a few for grocery shopping and such.

Overall, a great place to stay. Check-in and out procedure was very simple and Ms. Sharlene is a very pleasant owner ready and willing to answer any questions and address any issue.

My husband and I plan to return for a weekend on our Harley to hang out the local enthusiasts (without the kids of course) to enjoy this quiet little cottage all alone next time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our stay in Baclif,Texas off of Galvaston Bay. Quiet solitude. Pure Enjoyment at Kemah Cottage!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

This was our first time staying at Kemah Cottage, we liked it so much we are going back in August. The cottage was clean, spacious, and the kitchen is to die for. The beautiful wood work and antique furniture gives it class. You can tell a lot of love was put into making it special. It is well stocked from towels to cookware and dishes, it is like a home away from home. I loved sitting on the front porch in the morning drinking coffee, listening to the birds, and reading a book. Sharlene had contacts for us if we needed any help. Robert was our go to guy and he was very helpful and kind. I had to thank him for his awesomeness. I loved sleeping on the king size beds, my head hit the pillow and I did not wake til morning. There was five of us with six dogs and all had a good time.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

Spent 3 days with my hubby and siblings. The cottage was absolutely adorable, clean and very well stocked.

I had a lot of questions due to this being our first time renting a vacation home and she displayed a great amount of patience and understanding.

My husband and I plan on renting this cottage again soon for another weekend get away, just the two of us.

Thanks again Sharleen!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great time.

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

My family and I had such a great time at the house we felt at home there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A true "Home Away from Home"...

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

The minute you retrieve the key from the lock box and open the door (A very easy check-in process) you'll understand just what staying in a "home away from home" is meant to be. It's also obvious that the owner does too and has made every effort to make your stay a nice one. The cottage has style, character and comfort that just can't be found in the big hotel chains. But it's not just the comfortable beds and designer linens. It's kind of the feeling you get that you've been offered an opportunity to share in someone else's lifestyle. Artfully remodeled and creatively decorated, the beamed ceilings, quaint accents and antique furnishings make it seem more like a private retreat with just a bit of adventure. And although it's not the expensive beach condo you might have thought you wanted, you can easily find a sandy picnic spot that's not too far away. There are also loads of interesting things to see and places to go... The Kemah boardwalk, restaurants like T-Bone Tom's, or as was the focus for our trip, a fishing excursion. The cottage is close and convienient to lots of recreational areas, parks, boat ramps, charters, marinas... Bayshore Park, Speck-Tackler Guide Service, etc.

Our visit at there was for an Easter weekend and family birthday celebration. Due to "last minute" planning, we were fortunate to find the cottage unoccupied as a holiday cancellation must be a rarity. Even more unusual was the owner's pet friendly policy and doggie door that allowed us to bring our two Yorkies. The dogs loved the freshly mowed backyard and were highly entertained when they heard a rooster crow somewhere nearby. The anglers had great success and fried up a nice catch on the grill while the shrimp that we found at Rose's Seafood Market was boiling. The efficiently updated kitchen and eating areas both indoors and out made dining-in a pleasure. Kicking back on either of the two porches after a meal or anytime is even better so bringing a book and a relaxed attitude is a must, but bring a bicycle if exercise is more to your liking. We brought our own and found the neightbors to be exceptionally friendly and the streets safe. The area has an eclectic mix of mansions and mobile homes that are typical to the Texas coast which might seem remarkable to other guests but should not be alarming. The ease of life and charm of the location is the treasure. The experience might not suit just everyone but for kindred spirits, the Kemah Cottage is an excellent destination.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Girls Get-Away

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Once again Sharlene you have out done yourself. My girl friends and I get together once a year and once it was decided that we were going to Kemah I told them about your great cottage that my family and I stayed in two years ago. They we just as impressed as I was. You have thought of all the comforts of home and the cottage is beautifully decorated! We loved staying at this cottage and had such a great time we will be sure to come back! Thanks again for you're big Texas hospitality, you know doubt have a great place to vacation at.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

cottage is precious!very pretty inside

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

The little house is decorated so nice.The porches were nice sized and very comfy.the beds were very comfortable and again decor was lovely.It rained the entire weekend that we were there,so we didn't get out much.instead we stayed in and cooked in the wonderful kitchen.Everything we needed was there.For a girls wekend it was perfect!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Fraudulently Advertised!!!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

First of all this ‘cottage’ is not even in Kemah, it’s in Bacliff a couple miles down the road in an unkempt neighborhood with overgrown vegetation, not my idea of a vacation destination. It was advertised as smoke free, but wreaked of smoke and there were dirty ashtrays around. It was also advertised as having two bathrooms, however when we arrived on December 22nd, we found that only one of them had any hot water. The plumber was tentatively scheduled to come out December 23. The owner had called several times before our arrival to complain about the things that she was having to fix prior to our arrival, including the refrigerator, the plumbing, yard clean up and to warn us of an uneven foundation which made one of the toilets wobbly, but she said it was only cosmetic and not to worry.
We could live with a wobbly toilet, but not the smoke smell and no hot water in the bathroom. We did not even stay a single night and were left scrambling to find other accommodations at the eleventh hour before a Christmas Holiday.
Since the cottage was not as advertised, and we did not stay there I requested a full refund. The owner initially refused any refund whatsoever, but since has refunded the cleaning fee and taxes, and she still stands by her original statement that the place is smoke free and one working bathroom is enough and we’re just too picky.

Owners response: O My God! This lady's vacation fell through and now she's NIT PICKING against my vacation rental. I tell people its in Bacliff but still 2 miles from the Kemah Boardwalk and they know this because once payment is received I send them the address to the cottage. I know the cottage had not been smoked in. Do to the fact that I had a family staying there for 4 months with a new born baby and 2 small boys and they did not smoke. There are ashtrays on the patio, not in the house, people are allow to smoke one the patio. HELLO! I was there for a week going through the cottage with a fine tooth come making sure that it is prefect after this family vacated. Yes, I did have to call someone out to fix the refrigerator and 2 plumbing issues. The refrigerator and the toilet was fixed prior to her arrival, so what is her problem? There are 2 hot water heaters in the cottage and the element went out on one of them. It was not easy to find someone on Christmas week to fix problem so all the amenity’s would be available to this party. That was addressed the day after she was suppose to have arrived and there was hot water in one bathroom anyway.

What really happened here, is she booked it for a party of four for December 22 her sister had not arrived till December 23 late at night and she told me her sister was unhappy with the accommodations but yet she mention that she would not be there till December 24 and I don't think she ever arrived since Christmas morning is on December 25. So my feelings are her party of 4 turn into a party of 1 and her sister went and stayed with family for Christmas.

Now, I come into town once a year for Christmas for 2 weeks and I would of loved to have my cottage but instead I was sleeping on my grandma's couch for 1 of the 2 weeks because I leased out the cottage to her and she new because I told her this when I leased it to her. So this lady ruined my vacation and has the nerve to give me a bad review.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Cottage was awesome and comfortable

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the cottage. We normally stay in Galveston every year but decided to stay in Kemah and drie to Galveston this time to have a different type pace after being in teh sun all day. I am glad we did and I think this will now be our tradition. The cottage was extremely nice, clean and our puppies loved being able to have yard to go into. I had to call Sharlene because the AC in the living area quit working the first day but her response was great and she had someone come look at it right away. Even though he was unable to get it fixed, the aC units in the other 2 rooms kept the cottage comfortably cool. Driving into the neighborhood at first we thought oh my goodness but it was well worth walking into the cottage and seeing how nice it was. The mesquitos were not as bad as some of the other reiews I had read but we went when there was a drought so that could be why. I think we have found our getaway place from now on.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice email from a guest-Always greatly apprieated

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

Sharlene,
We both enjoyed your beautiful home with all the necessities of a home away from home. We had a relaxing time because the house is so cozy and homey. My husband said he would post comments on Yelp to let people know about the rental.


Mai

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mini Vacation

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

My husband and I were pleasantly suprised when we walked in the house. The house is very comfortable and very cozy. It is well stocked with just anything you could think of. The beds and sheets were very comfortable, house is kept cool with window units. It certainly is a place to go for a quiet getaway from the daily life. I would return if we go to Kemah again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Unique!

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Kemah Cottage very much. Although the weather was COLD and WINDY, we were cozy with a fire in the fireplace. The kitchen and dining areas are very nice for a rental cottage, and we were able to have family over for dinner. The porches on the front and back were my favorite spots, and the fenced in backyard made it easy for us to let our Shih Tzu out without worrying about her safety. By the way, the tangerines on the tree out front were spectacular!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Kemah Cottage

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

The cottage was roomy and well appointed with two king sized beds and two full baths. It had a very nice covered front and back porch. The cottage had an earthy feel with wood counters and wood based cabinet in dinning room. We enjoyed the upgraded stainless appliances. The negative would be the window unit with exposed wiring that was no longer attached to three prong plug and lack of heat. The cottage is located in a very run down area about 4 blocks from bay but with good access to the Kemah Boardwalk

Owners response: I am glad these guest enjoyed there stay at the cottage. The cottage has window units in every room but the unit they are referring to was supposed to have been replaced prior to there arrival. I have been out of the country but during the month of November in Texas I was surprised they were uncomfortable. I did apologies for the inconvenience. The cottage is located in an older mature small town some what diversified but the majority of the reviews seem to enjoy there stay and the town. I would like to add all of the towns along the bay are small towns they do not have new subdivisions for example, La Port, Sea Brook, Kemah, Bacliff, Texas City are all small towns along Galveston Bay.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Kemah cottage

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We had a great time at the cottage. Everything and more that we needed was there for us. There was plenty of room for everyone. Even when the mosquitoes started eating us alive the owner had mosquitoes coils that we lit and we were able to enjoy the covered porches. The cottage is in a great location, close to the boardwalk and Sylvan Beach We ate at the Aquarium restaurant and T-Bone Tom's; our meals were delicious. The kids had such a good time on the Boardwalk Beast and all the amusement rides. We will no doubt be visiting Kemah once again. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice place to stay

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

The cottage was clean and we really enjoyed our stay. The owner was quick to get back to me with questions, but we weren't able to get a hold of the property manager during our stay. If you plan to enjoy the nice porch, bring bug spray; the mosquitoes are relentless! I would return to the cottage if I were planning another visit to Kemah. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

The cottage was clean and we really enjoyed our stay. The owner was quick to get back to me with questions, but we weren't able to get a hold of the property manager during our stay. If you plan to enjoy the nice porch, bring bug spray; the mosquitoes are relentless! I would return to the cottage if I were planning another visit to Kemah. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

sharlene,

i just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay! it was wonderful and very relaxing! the cottage was super nice... so much more than what we expected... it was like home away from home!

the only thing we didn't enjoy was the mosquitos! and that is something you have no control over... we thought they were going to carry us away!

thanks again! no complaints from us!! :-)

lisa, david, and the girls

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

sharlene,

i just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay! it was wonderful and very relaxing! the cottage was super nice... so much more than what we expected... it was like home away from home!

the only thing we didn't enjoy was the mosquitos! and that is something you have no control over... we thought they were going to carry us away!

thanks again! no complaints from us!! :-)

lisa, david, and the girls

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kemah cottage

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

My family had a wonderful time. The cottage was clean and comfortable and in a great location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oasis

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

We needed a get-a-way from DFW - man this little cottage is so cool, private - and it has EVERYTHING you could possibly need - and I mean it has it ALL. And you talk about clean....it is spotless. We stayed for a week - and will stay a month next time. Thank YOU Miss Sharlene!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kemah Cottage Review

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

Thanks for the use of your cottage this weekend - everything went fine. FYI we did forget some takeout food in the frig so hopefully your cleaning person will catch that. Otherwise it was a great place to stay and I had a great time at the Gateway to the Bay Triathlon! (I did finish the race - my first ever) Thanks, Robin Pimentel

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kemah Cottage Review

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

My group and I loved our stay the Cottage. It was a very relaxing place to stay during spring break. We were overall pleased with the Kemah Cottage and would recommend it for family vacations, group trips, or a couples retreat. Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kemah Cottage Review

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 16, 2010

Great New Year and Time with My Family !!!! Parque Alto, NM Review Submitted: January 16, 2010 Date of Stay: December 2009 The Kemah Cottage was very charming with lots of character. Each Bedroom has its' own private bath which makes it nice. We bought fresh shrimp in Kemah for New Year's eve and had a shrimp boil and some other appetizers. Nicely equipped kitchen, but could not find a can opener anywhere??? The cottage has a great covered back deck which would be fun in the when its a bit warmer. A little cool for Houston area when we were there. Overall nice cottage and not your run of the mill "Style Place" Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway Owner's Response: The can opener has been replaced.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kemah Cottage Review

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at Kemah Cottage. I felt it was easy to get to surrounding attractions and it was very comfortable. It was cozy and well furnished. Recommended for: Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kemah Cottage Review

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

We appreciated the privacy of this rental, athough it's difficult to see from the street because of the lush landscaping. Everything promised was there and in good shape. This is not the place to go for a resort experience, but as a "home base" during a vacation and family reunion it was a good place to stay. We love Kemah boardwalk, which is a 5 minute drive away. Plenty of places like Walmart, Target, etc., to stock up on pantry items and gasoline. We especially loved a nearby restaurant in Kemah name T-Bone Tom's. Great food! Good prices and value. Casual atmosphere great for vacation. We DID find some dried up "poo" which was left by someone else's small animal. It was under a table on a patterned rug, so I suppose it might have been easy to miss . . . . still, it was a little distasteful to find. We ARE pet owners (though we didn't bring ours along) but non-pet owners or people with young children might have been more disturbed than we were to find it. The grass in the very nice little yard was in need of mowing already when we arrived. When we left 11 days later, it still hadn't been mowed. The owner was quite distraught over that and did contact us several times to see if the people who had been paid to mow had done so. I would imagine that she will have worked out that kink before more guests arrive. We left all the dishes clean when we departed--the previous guests had not. That is, the dishwasher had been run, but the dishes had been so poorly rinsed that there was food crusted on that had not washed off in the wash cycle. The beds were very comfortable; the closets large and generously filled withhangers; the bathrooms were clean and nicely appointed. (One of the bathrooms had a leak in the roof--but there was a pan under it to catch the drips.) The appliances were all top notch, so were the furnishings. The front porch and back deck were great for enjoying the pleasant surroundings. There is a generous driveway--plenty of room for two cars to park in front and behind of each other. We really appreciated the accomodations even with the little kinks here and there. Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children

Owner's Response: The roof on the cottage has been replaced and the dishwasher has been addressed and I replaced my yard help.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

kemah cottage review

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We found the cottage to be very cute and well kept, clean and exactly what we needed. There was plenty of room for everyone and we were quite comfortable!

Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

blatant lies to refuse to refund deposit

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

We definitely WILL NOT RECOMMEND RENTING THIS PROPERTY FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS: there were lies about the condition we left the house so the deposit was refused to be refunded. We have traveled often and are always respectful of others peoples belongings. This is the first time a deposit refund has been refused to us. In my opinon I think this shows professionalism lacking in the ownership and operation of this rental. Even though there were problems with the property we stayed and maintained a clean surrounding. Problems: there was no internet available so we could not use our laptop we carried with us to conduct business,,,the computer in the cottage(haha-cottage?) was not working. These things we could live with even though it was misrepresented in the advertisement of the rental. The worst part which was repulsive to me was the stench coming from the back bedroom and bath (I suppose this is considered the master). It seemed to reek of sewer smell I suppose of bad plumbing. It was so bad I had to sleep in the chair in the living room so as not to disturb the other bed. Also, I might add the air conditioning did not keep the tiny house cool. I feel sorry for anyone who rents this place. We even left a day early because the bad odor was making me sick. The owner even had the nerve to say the smell was because my husband did not flush the commode. WHO WOULD NOT FLUSH A COMMODE. That is going too far to insult people just to keep their money.

Owners response: This was a nice elderly couple that was very happy with their stay at the cottage until I was informed by my property manager that they apparently let their dog on the bed, The dog scratched and damaged the expensive newly purchased comforter in the Master Bedroom. Both my Property Manager and maid noticed the cottage smelled like smoke and ashes were on the computer table. The Cottage has a large covered front and back deck for smoking, and it states in the rental agreement no smoking. Internet service is available and it works fine, I provided a computer as a courtesy, but I am going to take it out due to the fact one of my guest crashed it. The couple did complain of an odor in the bathroom prior to leaving. When the Property Manager and Maid arrived after the couples departure, both of them noticed the toilet had not been flushed and they could not find anything wrong. In fact, I had guest arrive a couple of days later with no problem. My Maid also mentioned that a lot of time was spent scraping denture glue off the bathroom sink and counter. I understand this couple is elderly and I thought they were very nice, but my comforter was damaged by their dog and they smoked in the home. This is why there is a deposit. I would like to add, I normally don’t even charge any additional rates for pets.

Also the cable was not working after their departure I don’t know what they did but no one could figure it out. They may have tried to purchase a movie and the cable only offers 1-100 chancels and movies can not be purchased. I had to call someone out and the cable had to be reset a simple thing but an inconvenience. I am very sorry this couple is unhappy with there stay at the cottage. Also, I have never experienced any complaints from guests that have stayed at the Cottage. I truly want guests to have a pleasant stay !

Best Regard,
Property Owner

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Oasis

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

We needed a get-a-way from DFW - man this little cottage is so cool, private - and it has EVERYTHING you could possibly need - and I mean it has it ALL. And you talk about clean....it is spotless. We stayed for a week - and will stay a month next time. Thank YOU Miss Sharlene!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love it when I have guest that really appreciate the cottage and I love even more when that give me fabulous reviews.

Thanks Poor ol Larry & Sweet Miss Kerry

Property Owner Sharlene

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

kemah cottage review

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

We found the cottage to be very cute and well kept, clean and exactly what we needed. There was plenty of room for everyone and we were quite comfortable!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

Thanks for the use of your cottage this weekend - everything went fine. FYI we did forget some takeout food in the frig so hopefully your cleaning person will catch that. Otherwise it was a great place to stay and I had a great time at the Gateway to the Bay Triathlon! (I did finish the race - my first ever)

Thanks,

Robin Pimentel

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Kemah Cottage

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

My group and I loved our stay the Cottage. It was a very relaxing place to stay during spring break. We were overall pleased with the Kemah Cottage and would recommend it for family vacations, group trips, or a couples retreat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great New Year and Time with My Family !!!!

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

The Kemah Cottage was very charming with lots of character. Each Bedroom has its' own private bath which makes it nice. We bought fresh shrimp in Kemah for New Year's eve and had a shrimp boil and some other appetizers. Nicely equipped kitchen, but could not find a can opener anywhere???
The cottage has a great covered back deck which would be fun in the when its a bit warmer. A little cool for Houston area when we were there. Overall nice cottage and not your run of the mill "Style Place"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: The can opener has been replaced.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Getaway

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at Kemah Cottage. I felt it was easy to get to surrounding attractions and it was very comfortable. It was cozy and well furnished.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Pleasant 11 day stay

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

We appreciated the privacy of this rental, athough it's difficult to see from the street because of the lush landscaping. Everything promised was there and in good shape. This is not the place to go for a resort experience, but as a "home base" during a vacation and family reunion it was a good place to stay. We love Kemah boardwalk, which is a 5 minute drive away. Plenty of places like Walmart, Target, etc., to stock up on pantry items and gasoline. We especially loved a nearby restaurant in Kemah name T-Bone Tom's. Great food! Good prices and value. Casual atmosphere great for vacation.
We DID find some dried up "poo" which was left by someone else's small animal. It was under a table on a patterned rug, so I suppose it might have been easy to miss . . . . still, it was a little distasteful to find. We ARE pet owners (though we didn't bring ours along) but non-pet owners or people with young children might have been more disturbed than we were to find it. The grass in the very nice little yard was in need of mowing already when we arrived. When we left 11 days later, it still hadn't been mowed. The owner was quite distraught over that and did contact us several times to see if the people who had been paid to mow had done so. I would imagine that she will have worked out that kink before more guests arrive. We left all the dishes clean when we departed--the previous guests had not. That is, the dishwasher had been run, but the dishes had been so poorly rinsed that there was food crusted on that had not washed off in the wash cycle.
The beds were very comfortable; the closets large and generously filled withhangers; the bathrooms were clean and nicely appointed. (One of the bathrooms had a leak in the roof--but there was a pan under it to catch the drips.) The appliances were all top notch, so were the furnishings. The front porch and back deck were great for enjoying the pleasant surroundings. There is a generous driveway--plenty of room for two cars to park in front and behind of each other. We really appreciated the accomodations even with the little kinks here and there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: The roof on the cottage has been replaced and the dishwasher has been addressed and I replaced my yard help.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review