reviews for: listing #71007 - Fort Lauderdale, Florida House rental

Waterfront Home with Rock Waterfall Lagoon Pool & Dock
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Also for SALE 680 k
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,950 - $3,900 /wk

sort by:

beautiful waterfront garden home

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

We loved this home and the gardens both front and back and the view of water from practically every room in the house.
One thing we absolutely loved was the view of the beautiful lush tropical gardens both front and back. My wife loves gardening and she couldnt stop talking about the beautiful front garden with the picket fence covered with the fragrant jasmine vines as well as the many many gardenia bushes which line the entire garden. We could smell the fragrance couple of houses away. She filled the house with gardenias every day.
The back yard is a tropical oasis between the beautiful pool complete with a rock waterfall and of course the cannal with boats going by and a beautiful dinning table on the dock which we used extensively.
The house is perfect size for us our 2 kids and my in laws.
We actually took couple of day trips down to the keys and Miami Beach but always looked forward to come back home and relax.
We also took a canoe and explored the canals which are extensive. I understand why the call Fort Lauderdale the "Venice of America".
We did not get to see the yacht which was chartered during our visit but we would love to charter it next time!!
We would love to come back again in the winter!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect tropical home and pool garden

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We loved this cozy warm tropical house. It was so homey that we felt very comfortable and ended up spending much more time at the house then planned. We were 3 couples and loved the pool area with the waterfall and all the tropical trees and plants it was like our own little paradise.
Our bedroom was the master bedroom and it was like a little suite with our own little separate area with full view of the pool and the cannal. The yacht was incredible have never seen such a beautiful big sail boat. It is like a floating house with everything a full furnished house has. From satellite TV DVR, dual A/C zones, full kitchen, 2 full bathrooms dinning room living room area stereo system inside and outside, on and on. What a setup beauriful house on a cannal with your own yacht parked on the dock next to the pool. The day charter was the highlight of our stay with a open ocean sail complete with dolphins and sea turtles!!
We also loved how close to the beach the shoping and dining areas as well as a short drive to South Beach.
We are definitely coming back next year with my parents!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

very cozy home

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

We loved this warm home. We were 3 couples each one their own room. The master suite with the amazing bathroom all slate and waterfall faucets was the best!!! We also loved the pool area it is like a Hawaiian resort in small scale. Full of palms and beautiful plants with water everywhere. The back yard has a dock on a canal its just a beautiful property. We loved it.
We also liked the location and the house is so cozy and comfortable that we ended up spending a lot more time at the house then we had planned. Still the beach and the Las Olas as well as the airport are all close.
We also wanted to charter the yacht but unfortunately it was taken maybe next time.
The furniture is all Tommy Bahama style with beautiful details and a perfect kitchen. The thing we liked the most was the front and back garden and pool which you can see from every room in the house. We plan to come back next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Warm tropical home, feels like a home

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

We loved this warm home. We were 3 couples each one their own room. The master suite with the amazing bathroom all slate and waterfall faucets was the best!!!
We also loved the pool area it is like a Hawaiian resort in small scale. Full of palms and beautiful plants with water everywhere. The back yard has a dock on a canal its just a beautiful property. We loved it.
We also liked the location and the house is so cozy and comfortable that we ended up spending a lot more time at the house then we had planned. Still the beach and the Las Olas as well as the airport are all close. We also wanted to charter the yacht but unfortunately it was taken maybe next time.
The furniture is all Tommy Bahama style with beautiful details and a perfect kitchen.
The thing we liked the most was the front and back garden and pool which you can see from every room in the house.
We plan to come back next year!!
Thanks John

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great house, increadible pool back yard!!

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Rented the property for my family 2 adults and 2 kids. We loved the house which gave plenty of room for our kids and gave us some privacy since the master suit is on the other side of the house from the kids bedrooms.
We loved the kitchen had all high end appliances and great flow to the main dinning living room area.
What we loved is the amazing back yard!!! It is like opening the french door to a tropical paradise. The back yard is beautiful with the pool with a waterfall serounded by coconut palms and all kind of unusual tropical plants. There is a dinning area on the dock overlooking the cannal. We had dinner and most of our meals there. You can see the boats go by and even huge yaghts on the New River.
We also took the canoe and explored the cannals and a nature park west of the property with a lot of wild life.
The house is in a quaint neighborhood which is private and quite. Yet it is very close to the airport the center of Fort Lauderdale and the beach. We also did go down to South Beach and Miami which is a short drive.
I think it is a very cozy warm property if you want to relax and just enjoy the beautiful tropical setting.
We actually talked to the owner about some friends coming in October and he gave them a good deal so I think they booked it.
The owner and his caretaker were very helpful when we were trying to operate the sophisticated entertainment system as well. Nice people.
Maybe next time we will spend the money and charter the yacht as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

What a beautiful property, perfect location

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We arrived at the property and we first noticed the increadible frangrance from the jasmine vines the cover the entire front picket fence of the property.
The house is so beautiful and cozy we actually asked if the owner would consider selling it.
The master bedroom suite is beautiful and you can see water from every window or the huge french doors opening to the pool area. The house has a great layout that keeps the master suite very private from the rest of the house. We were 3 couples and found the house layout ideal. The kitchen is beautiful and flows to the dinning and living room area. Beautiful furniture, exotic carpets looks like out of a magazine.
The back yard is actually even prettier than in the pictures. We also chartered the yacht for a day sail and I must admit that though not cheap was an amazing experience what an beautiful boat.
We also loved the location of this very private house. It is a very close drive from the airport, close to Las Olas center of town and the beach but still private and quite from all the hassle of the touristy areas.
We will definately be comming back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Property not as described

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

House not as described and deposit withheld illegally. Upon arrival the key was given to us by the owner's handy man with no inventory or walk through. Once unpacked we discovered appliances did not work (refrigerator thermostat was faulty all food was frozen in chiller compartment, washer could not be switched on as on/off button was missing, oven door would not close, waste disposal broken). The wall in the bedroom lobby had a piece of drylining cut away so the interior of the wall was visible. A roach was found near the open wall on our third night. The house had not been cleaned properly; there was congealed food in the leaves of the coffee table, stale bird food and other foodstuffs in the kitchen cupboards, the house was dirty. Bath in the guest bedroom had no enamel, en-suite bathroom shower was faulty and tiling was missing/damaged. The property was grubby and had a bad odour, owner’s personal effects in drawers and wardrobes. No curtains or window coverings to the main bedroom, one morning we were awoken to find gardeners looking in at us. The property is near a highway constant traffic noise can be heard in the pool area. The internet did not work for the first 4 days of our stay and took repeated requests to get the owner to re-instate. Once we could communicate with the owner he refused to address any of our complaints, we asked for a refund of unused nights so we could leave early. He sent his handyman who agreed that the property was faulty but would not address the problems. The owner (via e-mail) started getting very difficult and would not return our deposit. We are from overseas and we were at a loss how to recover our deposit and threatened to remove goods to the value of the deposit and place with a pawn broker. The owner still refused to communicate with us and we had to call Broward county police to collect the key and secure the property so that we could not be falsely accused of damage or theft. The police witnessed our departure and that the property was left in good order but the owner still refused to return our deposit within the 30 days required by Florida state law. Two months late our deposit has been refunded as the owner wants to re-list and re-advertise the property. All the above is documented with the police and verifiable with photographic and video evidence. This property could be OK if the owner spent some money on repairing and cleaning it and behaved as a responsible landlord.

Helpful votes: 10 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review