reviews for: listing #71021 - Newport, Oregon House rental

Happy Clam
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Beach
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $499 /nt
    $2,075 - $3,465 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful home and location,

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

The happy clam was clean and bright.... perfect for our family gathering. We used the upstairs and also the cozy downstairs apartment. There is plenty of space in the home for people to gather together or have some alone time too. We all thought the house was actually nicer than it looks in the listing photos. It was a fun and easy walk along the jetty to the beach and we all enjoyed walking over to the brewery for dinner one evening. We hope to stay there again sometime and would recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you had a great time!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic family reunion from England and NZ

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

We were a group of 9 who were gathering from across the globe (England, New Zealand and USA) for a family reunion. The Happy Clam was perfect for us all to spend time together and have space for quiet moments when we needed to. The house had everything we could have wished for - great views, very comfortable house with everything provided that we needed. The smallest details had been thought of and we all felt as though we were living in hotel quality accommodation but with all the comforts of home. The description of the house was accurate and the whole property was clean and smelt fresh on our arrival. The owners were exceedingly helpful, patient and friendly as we organised our booking from the other side of the world with all the complications of time zones and transfers of funds that this entailed. Diredtions to the house from both Portland and Eugene were accurate and helpful. Access to the house was easy. We would definitely recommend this house to others and will let all our friends know that if they are planning to visit Newport to book this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic home away from home

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We rented the Happy Clam for a long Thanksgiving weekend for family from Salem and Minneapolis. We had 3 generations there and everybody had a wonderful time. The beds were really comfortable, the showers were great (and hot!) While we brought a lot of supplies and equipment to have nice family dinners, most of it was unnecessary as the place was well stocked. Next time I will bring bottled water, though, as the coast water did not sit well with all of our party :( Very enjoyable weekend and we hope to come back again. One of our party just had bilateral knee replacements and was able to be comfortable in the basement apartment as there were only a couple of steps going into the place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Happy Clam Kept Us Happy!

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

The Happy Clam is an amazing location and a lovely home. Our group of 9 ladies was very comfortable there. One had a little trouble with the stairs but had a great time anyway. We had a card game going at the main dining table, a puzzle going at the table in the loft and liked that sense of still being in the same room. We were together for great meals at that dining table and got to watch 7 sailboats during one dinner. There were pleasant walks right from the front door. We went out to a pier halfway out in the bay, and also walked down the road to the south jetty. We saw killer whales heading into the bay on that last walk! The beach by the jetty is quiet and uncrowded. Even watching the bridge and the vehicles UP THERE was fascinating. We got out a little to antique stores or to pick up something we needed, but we were quite content to "live" in that wonderful house for a couple days. Thanks for sharing it. Everyone enjoyed it so much, I do expect you will here again from some of us in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much and we so look forward to having your group back soon. You described all the things we love about the house as well!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

EXCELLENT Home, EXCELLENT Service, EXCELLENT Location! Already planned our return visit!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

The view is absolutely amazing! Our group was delighted to find this treasure. The Owners are very nice to work with and super helpful. The service provided was perfect. The Owners are proactive in keeping the home in great shape and it shows!
Our friends enjoyed the "apartment" guest house section of the home- it provided an extra hint of privacy. PRICELESS.
We have already made arrangements to return. The deposit was refunded in a very reasonable time frame... sooner than expected.
As we left this beautiful home, we were all discussing what adventures our next visit will bring. There is so much to do and enjoy within a mile radius, we simply did not have enough time!
Thank you Sherie and Gary for sharing your wonderful home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! We love it when our home is enjoyed and folks have fun.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We were ripped off!!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

This place was not clean when we got there, not filthy, just not sparkling. We were told they were keeping our entire deposit to clean the carpets etc. This is my worst experience renting a home at the beach ever, and it was the weekend my father passed away......nice....

Owners response: We have had a lot of large groups and have never kept a full deposit before. We hated to do it, especially because of the circumstances. However, there was tobacco spit jars all over the house, some spilled and our carpet was permanently ruined in two places. There was also smoking and other things. Perhaps Beth had to leave the house before the rest of the group and maybe she did not see the condition of our home at the end.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Favorite vacation spot

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

When we went around the table at the end of the year and asked everyone what their favorite vacation was this year my wife said, "the Happy Clam in Newport." You were competing against Disney W World in Florida, San Diego beaches and LasVegas.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Game day

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Watched a great (rivalry) game. TVs had plenty of room. It's a great place to stay. I designed the geo heating system and it heats great!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

seals and crabs

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

We had the best time at the Happy Clam! It was one of the best places we have ever had. We went crabbing and got 10 crabs! We loved looking at the seals that came so close to shore.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Amazing, amazing time for granny to be with all the great grandkids and grandchildren. We celebrated my 73rd birthday and my daughters 44th. All our needs and more were provided at the Happy Clam.

Thanks for all the extras. We'll be back and in the meantime we will live with our wonderful memories.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

What a great place for our family summer get together. 5 cousins had a blast collecting rocks & shells, playing foosball and ping pong. The plays we put on were memorable. The best part of the trip were the memories that were made.

Thanks for providing an amazing backdrop for our trip!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

When my daughter says family she is talking about 4 generations from 4 yrs old to 75 yrs. The Happy Clam was perfect for all of us. The Whale watching trip, Sea Lion Caves and the Aquarium were wonderful.

It was great to come "home" to the Happy Clam. Such an interesting, delightful, location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had the most amazing vacation ever!!! Now that we have stayed at the Happy Clam, we can't imagine a family vacation anywhere else. The views are phenomenal adn what a great people watching location. Highly recommend the Marine Discovery Tour if you have your meds with you or even if you don't! There are some great silly photo opps at the Aquarium Village, just past the Aquarium.

Again, we are very fortunate to have stayed here and hope to come back soon! Drew and Ross Montegue California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

It must be a good sign when you don't know the date! The Happy Clam was ideal for our family vacation. The grandchildren had a great time crabbing..a first for all of us native Californians.

We are thrilled with the Newport kite store and the excellent opportunities to watch them soar. Even the gentle rain last night was a pleasure to feel and hear.

Thank you for your gorgeous home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

We loved the Happy Clam! The views are great. We all really enjoyed Newport and plan to come back. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

"Our visit was perfect. We so appreciated how beautiful and how well equiped the house is. Hopefully we will be able to come back soon."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

The stay has been first class all the way. Great home!


from an email by our wonderful guests from Maryland

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

I wanted you to know that we REALLY loved your home. The location was wonderful and the home was so big and comfortable! We even got treated to fireworks during our stay for the local high school graduation festivities! Thank you so much for allowing us to share it!

The house was PERFECT for our friends to walk down the jetty trail from their motel rooms!

We will definitely recommend your home to everyone!

(an email from some wonderful quests from California!)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

We so enjoyed renting your beautiful home in Newport. The accommodations were just what we needed. All our family members had a fantastic time being together, for many getting to see the gorgeous Oregon coast for the first time, and, of course, going to our son's wedding. We had some sunny days and the day of the wedding started out cloudy and drizzling, but just in time for the ceremony, the sun came out and it was beautiful.

Again, so glad i was able to find you and your house on the internet. If you ever come to upstate NY, please look us up.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

Team Rossi, 2010 amatuer home made wine makers of Gold Medal Winner Cabernet-Merlot blend and Silver medal Syrah. Both 2008 vintages entered as "Vino Rossi" and "Taste the Passion".
Our Seattle based group enjoyed the very comfortable "home away from home" atmosphere. Everything was perfect for us. We hope to be back in 2012.

from our guest book during the Newport Wine and Seafood Festival

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

We had a great mother-daughter weekend! Your home was perfect for out big group. The weather was great! Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. We hope to come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

Very nice home! Beautiful view! We were here for our book club (5 of us) and were delighted to find our book club selection on your shelves! We all liked our beds and bathrooms. Perfect accomodations. We'll be back! Our book club selection was "The Weight of Silence." Thank you. Cincy

From Our Guest Book

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Wonderful setting for a small intimate wedding and open house. Gorgeous views, lots of room. We had everything we needed for a great time.

from our guest book

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

Thank you so much for sharing your house. We loved the view. God bless you.

from our guest book.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Beach House

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

Great location, fantastic views, large family friendly beach house. Our visit included 3 couples, 2 children and one single. We enjoyed watching movies on the very comfortable furniture in the large vaulted living room and there was ample room for several cooks in the well equipped kitchen. But best of all were the fabulous views and the short walk to the beach...loved our weekend getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy as a Clam

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

Our stay at the Happy Clam far exceeded our expectations. Having always stayed at properties with Ocean Views, we were somewhat reluctant to book a propterty without that ammenity. However, our fears were laid to rest the minute we saw the place: it has a beautiful bay view and is located in what we consider to be a hot spot on the coast (more about that latter). Inside, the place is extremely spacious and nicely appointed. We have 3 children, ages 9, 13, and 17, and they were thrilled to each have their own room and own bathroom. That feature alone was worth its weight in gold as we didn't have to listen to the teens figtht over the bathroom. The place is also large enough that you can find solitude on either floor or join together in the library/game room.
While we were impressed with the property, what we truely loved was the location. We discoved that we could walk to two of the Coasts premier destinations: the Aquarium and the Rouge Brewery. While the kids loved the Aquarium, we loved being able to try multiple Brewery's offerings without having to worry about driving home.
The other thing that surpised us about this place was its easy beach access. Most the the places we'd stayed at in New Port are on the bluffs. That means no direct beach access, or difficult beach access at best. Not so with this property. It sits at the edge of a preserve. Walk out the front door, turn left and you hit a path that runs along the intlet to the bay. After a 10 minute stroll, you hit the Ocean beach. This proved to be the easiest beach access we've ever had in Newport, and we took advantage of it daily. Finally, if you like to fish, don't forget your pole. The jetty is a terrific spot to try your luck and its just outside the front door (though much to my 9 year olds disappointment, we didn't catch anything). We wouldn't hesitate to book this place again, as true to its name, it left us Happy as a Clam

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful house, great location.

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

We had a great time staying at the Happy Clam. Beautiful views, easy to walk to the jetty, beach, food and the aquarium. I recommend it to anyone looking for a nice peaceful place to stay in Newport.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

Don't want to go home! Great place, good times.

---from guest book

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

Loved every second here! Fantastic house, fantastic view, fantastic fun, fantastic friends! Thanks for everything!

--from our guest book

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Good morning! I just wanted to let you know that our trip to Oregon was lovely. Your house was absolutely perfect for what we needed...everything suited just fine. Thanks again for the hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

Had a great time! Crabbing was fun. The grandkids loved it, so did the son-in-laws. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

We did lots of crabbing off the dock (got 9 keepers) & cooked them outside - yummy crab melts for everyone. Then bought incredible albacore at the "Rose...a boat on the docks. Didn't find many bay clams but had fun looking.
Played vollyball on the beach & played on the surf, found a few agates & Jelly fish. I still love eating at the Coffee House on the waterfront-- incredible peach turn overs & you must try the delicious spinach mushroom omlette -wow & the pancakes. Finally got to explore Ona Beach -- so pretty.

We love Newport! Enjoyed this house --great kitchen & windows.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

Had a great time, good location and nice house. God Bless!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

The Carabine & Trumley families had a great time! Thanks for all the games & the great beds! Home to Vancouver BC now!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Big family group -- lots of fun. Your house is great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

We have had a wonderful visit to this terrific home. We spent days on South Beach, even built a small fire for smores. The children loved the game room. The adults loved the views.

Thank you for having such a well stocked pantry. We had great fun fixing fresh tuna and crab. Thanks for sharing this spectacular spot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

We had a great time in this beautiful hom in the most scenic place on earth- thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Love the views of the sky, boat traffic, bay, clamers and seals. Walked paths in the dunes and dropped crab traps off the dock. Yummy crab! Very comfortable house -- loved the color sceme. Thanks again!
P.S. the game room with the pool table, ping-pong & foos ball was a big hit with everyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

What a beautiful house, and a great location. It was the perfect place for our family.

We enjoyed your home and our stay in Newport.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

Great house-great views-good beds! Had a great time. May the Lord bless this home for all who stay here.
I liked the huge TVs and the showers with seats.-Dominic
I loved the house. I liked the huge flatscreens. And the big showers. I had lots of fun. Brayton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

We loved our stay. A great place for our family to get together. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review