reviews for: listing #71043 - San Luis Pass, Texas House rental

The Family House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Treasure Island
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $300 /nt
    $750 - $1,450 /wk
    $3,000 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful, clean with an ocean view

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

Upon arrival we found the beach home to be clean, with beds made with fresh linens, stocked with plenty of towels and clean dishes. The beach home deck provided a wonderful view of the surf, and was situated to allow a nice ocean breeze. This was a cheerful home and all the guests enjoyed their stay. We would definitely return in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

House was wonderful!! it was described accurately, had plenty of room for our whole family- my husband and me, a son, two additional sons with their wives, and three grandbabies. It was clean, and well stocked- even having some basic food/cleaning supplies in the kitchen that I was not expecting...and we loved the extra towels! Paul was wonderful to work with. He always returned my calls while we were in the process of getting ready to go, and when we arrived we had a couple of additional questions that he answered immediately for us. I definitely would recommend this location- within 20 minutes of Galveston Moody Gardens, Bishops Palace, seawall, and its attractions, but far enough away from the crowds and bustle for actual relaxation with a family. The beaches within walking distance and across the bridge were great for the kids, shelling, and fishing without all the crowds. We had to visit Shrimp and Stuff to eat again- my favorite fish taco headquarters! I have saved this rental in my favorites- it is a definite keeper!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Well stocked beach house that sleeps plenty!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

We loved the location of the beach house. Great for kids and great for fishermen. The kitchen had plenty of cooking utensils and supplies. The house was clean and well decorated. Plenty of beds. Plenty of space. Would visit again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great house!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

I can't say enough about our experience! The house is spacious with everything that we could need for the kitchen and bathrooms. A short walk to two beaches, very secluded area for a quiet family reunion. We celebrated our son's 5th birthday with friends and family on the beach close to the house and on the patio under the house (bubbles, pinata, pizza, cake and ice cream) - this was the perfect setting for it. Paul was easy to work with, very accommodating. I hope to stay there again next summer.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

This was a very beautiful home with lots of space for my family! Plenty of beds, extra sheets, and very clean. The house was well stocked with everything you would need to do laundry, cook at the house, and clean up. We loved the location to the beach and being able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the ocean breeze! There are mesquitos around due to the water but the owners have kindly provided the house with some insect yard spray that I would recommend you use the minute you get there. I would recommend this home to all my family and friends and we definitely plan on staying here again!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Would Definitely Rent Again!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

This beach house is very nice and looks just like the pictures. It was me, my 9-year-old daughter and her best friend and we had a great time. The loft with perfect for the girls, they felt like they had their own space. We stayed for 4 nights and it rained every day, but we walked to the beach a few times and it was so nice to not have lots of people around. When we went to the beach there were 3 or 4 other families. It is a VERY short walk to the beach and there were tons of shells!! Paul was very easy to work with and was helpful with what to do in the area. (Moody Gardens is a definite if you have children!!) Very happy we rented this home since it was so rainy and we weren't able to get out and do much. Can't imagine vacationing near the beach and staying in a hotel!! Already looking at haivng a girl's weekend here and definitely thinking of spending our vacation here next year. I would absolutely recommend this beach house!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Get Away!

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

We all loved the house. It had everything we needed and more. It was just a very short walk to the beach. We were there July 5th for a week. It was like having our own private beach area. There was only one other set of people on our beach every time we went. The area is very secluded and I loved that. We especially enjoyed looking for shells every night. Galveston was about a 25 minute drive to our place and we LOVED looking at all the beach houses every time we drove to the city. This house was perfect for our family and we will certainly be back again to this house and location. Two thumbs up, Paul is very awesome to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

This house was perfect! Super clean, great location, and the water and beach were clean and peaceful. The house was very well layed out and accomodated a group of 12 with ease. The kids loved the loft and it was great to have a kitchen and washer/dryer. Paul, the owner was super helpful and answered all my questions. We will be back next year for sure. Our group would highly recommend. The neighborhood and all houses around this property were well maintained and very clean. Thanks for a great vacation!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Aweome family vacation

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

We rented this house with another family and had a Great time! We were so pleased with the house when we arrived. The pictures do not do it justice. The property is very clean and just a short walk to two different beaches. Most of the time, we had the beach closest to the house all to ourselves. The house has everything you need to "eat in". Paul was very pleasant to work with and the neighbors were all friendly. I highly recommend this property. We are already considering booking for next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic home! fantastic vacation!

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

My wife decided we were taking a short family vacation to the Galveston area. Being lifelong houstonians, we knew what to expect for the beach. When we found this house, it met all of our needs: close to the beach, great fishing, and easy access to The Strand, seawall, etc... When we got there, we had no idea just how nice the house was! it was perfect! our kids (ages 2 and 4) had their own playroom upstairs while mom and dad could relax downstairs. the beach was maybe 150yards away and the kids loved riding in the wagon every morning to go collect sea shells before breakfast. The sunsets were beautiful off of the balcony. We love going to the beach and staying at such a wonderful house made it that much better. like the person above said, Paul is so easy to work with and his house has to be one of the finest in the San Luis Pass area. I highly recommend this house! Bring lots of buckets for sea shell collecting. No other beach in the area has more than this beach.
If you are hoping to not miss the important game, fear not! Paul has equiped the place with Direct TV. I didnt miss a single baseball game while we were there. Everyone in this community is very friendly and make sure you go into the corner store and say hi to Bubba the talking cockatoo! I managed to talk with him every morning when i went up there for a cup of coffee. the worst part of the vacation was leaving to go back home. We are already planning our next trip back. Thanks for everything Paul! you were right, the kids had a blast! and so did mom and dad!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

5 Star Spring Break Get-a-way

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

We rented this place not knowing to expect. Paul was very nice and answered any questions that I had in a timely manner. The house was amazingly beautiful and much more than anything me or my friends had expected, especially for the price that we paid during spring break. It had all the comforts of home plus a little extra. The weather was awesome. The sun was out, just enough wind to fly kites, and just enough heat to make the water feel nice. It was a big group of friend, 11 of us between the ages of 19-25, and we all had fun. The neighborhood was awesome as well. Everyone was friendly, they smiled and waved at you as they passed by. I would highly recommend this house for you to get a way and just have fun, but only if you have respect and treat the home with respect as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best in Town

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

After visiting Galveston for 20 years plus, we have found our favorite place to stay ! For the price, you just cannot find better, cleaner and nicer accomodations on the entire island and surrounding areas.

It was my wife and our two children (7 and 11) that were so lucky to stay at "The Family House". We've never rented from Paul before but our expectations were exceded by a mile ! Completely remodeled, beautiful decorations, very nice appliances, great deck and the list goes on and on and on !!

We will be back very soon and would recommend this property to anyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

5 Star Plus

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

The best beac home by far we've ever stayed in, but being the first time we have ever rent oneout for ourselves we struck gold with this on.I would definitely recommend to all and we have already started. We will be back and trust we can't wait. Sleeps about 12-14 easily and with a loft, oh my goodness the kids didnot want to leave from upstairs. Thank you to the owners for renting this out on short notice and being so kind to my family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review