reviews for: listing #71050 - Narragansett, Rhode Island Cottage rental

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Breakwater Village
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $225 /nt
    $700 - $1,300 /wk
    $2,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

perfect little beach cottage

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

The house was very cute, well stocked, and perfectly located. This was the first vacation for our 13 month old son and he did great here. We ended up setting up a pack-n-play in the bedroom (just enough room) for our baby and sleeping on the futon in the living room. We enjoyed the fantastic sunsets, chats with the friendly neighbors, the beach (just across the street), and of course the hot tub. Spain and Crazy Burger were our restaurant highlights. Would definitely recommend this cottage and we hope to visit again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect little beach cottage

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

The house was very cute, well stocked, and perfectly located. This was the first vacation for our 13 month old son and he did great here. We ended up setting up a pack-n-play in the bedroom (just enough room) for our baby and sleeping on the futon in the living room. We enjoyed the fantastic sunsets, chats with the friendly neighbors, the beach (just across the street), and of course the hot tub. Spain and Crazy Burger were our restaurant highlights. Would definitely recommend this cottage and we hope to visit again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This is a beautiful ,cozy cottage with an amazing view of the water! The house is so well taken care of and the owner was a pleasure to work with...even left a bottle of wine for us. The sunsets are stunning and the beach is directly across the road, what more could you ask for? The cottage is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. This was our first vacation with our 1 year old daughter and it was just perfect. We could leave our things on the beach and feel comfortable going back to the cottage for lunch, a nap, etc. This house and location definitely exceeded our expectations, would highly recommend it! We all slept great too, the sound of the ocean lulling us to sleep every night!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

My husband and I rented this cottage for our 1yr anniversary and we can not say enough to how much we enjoyed our stay! We visited in the beginning of June, when your not quite sure how the weather is going to behave. We had sun, cold, rain, and warmth, and on all days we found things to do. The location is perfect!!! Right across the street is a private beach, couldn't ask for a better spot. The cottage is in perfect condition, and the owner was very easy to communicate with and very accommodating. I would highly recommend renting this great location.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

This is the perfect beach house, beautifully designed and lovingly cared for. The house faces the beach front and center - stunning views and close enough to hear the waves. Fully equipped with everything for a comfortable stay, and the landlord even left a bottle of "Beach House" Pinot Grigio on the kitchen counter for me when I arrived - great touch! As I watched the sea at sunset on my first night there, I thought it couldn't be any better - until a man standing out on one of the jetties began to play "Amazing Grace" on a bagpipe - transcendent!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!!

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Cottage is in great shape and equipped with all of your needs. " Pride of Ownership" shows everywhere. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there
Will & Eileen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just perfect!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

What a wonderful place! The cottage itself was probably the nicest rental we've ever stayed in. It was very well-equipped, everything you could possibly want or need was provided. The cottage itself was very clean and comfortable. It was nicely furnished with a personal touch that you don't see much in rental cottages. It was so pleasant to have coffee out on the patio each morning and look out over the ocean. The sound of the ocean waves lulled us to sleep every night. It was nice to watch the boats and see Block Island from the cottage.
We found the neighborhood quiet but friendly, with families, kids and dogs.
All the amenities were very close by - shopping, restaurants, the Block Island ferry, and (most of all) the beach! Beach access was literally across the street! We had a lovely vacation. We would give our vacation more than 5 stars if we could! Thanks Cara!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Location

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

This was the absolute perfect location. Ocean views, sounds of the surf and oh those sunsets. This cottage is in the perfect location for convenient trips to all of the local attractions and beaches. Great restaurants within walking distance or a short drive away. Spain is a must if you are a fan of Paella, although something for everyone is on the menu. The cottage is very clean and well equipped. The owner has taken care of all of the little things even providing fresh flowers. The hot tub was a great treat after a long day. The community is very friendly but your privacy is respected as well. We can't wait to visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Locastion

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

This was the absolute perfect location. Ocean views, sounds of the surf and oh those sunsets. This cottage is in the perfect location for convenient trips to all of the local attractions and beaches. Great restaurants within walking distance or a short drive away. Spain is a must if you are a fan of Paella, although something for everyone is on the menu.

The cottage is very clean and well equipped. The owner has taken care of all of the little things even providing fresh flowers. The hot tub was a great treat after a long day. The community is very friendly but your privacy is respected as well.

We can't wait to visit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation Cottage

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Excellent Waterfront cottage with a great view of the Ocean and Sunsets. The sound of the waves from the ocean right outside the door! Great little cottage for couples or small family. Cottage comes with everything you need just bring food. There are also great places to eat just around the corner like Iggy's or Charlie O's. There are private beaches just steps away! We had a wonderful time in this little community called Breakwater Village. Everyone was friendly and respectful of your privacy. You just couldn't ask for anything more. We want to go back next year. We highly recommend this to anyone wanting a great vacation and getaway. The owner Cara is very nice and responsive Steve & Barbara

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Get-Away Seaside Cottage

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We couldn't believe our luck. This cottage met and surpassed all our expectations. It's location was outstanding. Hearing the waves and seeing the ocean was bliss. The cottage was most tastefully appointed without being too cute-sy. Not only was everything there that we could possibly need, but it was in the most logical and appropriate places. It helped that anything that we might have need upon arrival was detailed in Cara's pre-arrival welcome e-mail.

What we didn't expect is the friendliness of the people around us, while being respectful of our privacy. We also couldn't get over how well behaved all the kids were and how caring their parents were. It was a rarified experience in our modern age.

This rental was a win-win proposition hands down. Location, immediate surroundings and atmosphere were perfect. This Memorial Day weekend will definitely be memorable. And it was so hassle free! We'll have to do it again, soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway Rental

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

A friend and I rented this cottage as a last minute escape from a ton of work and life related stress. And it was perfect. I felt much farther than 3 hours away from New York City. My friend occupied the bedroom, and I slept on the comfortable futon in the living room. It was a delight to open the curtains each morning to a magnificent panoramic seascape. The owner had just put in new flooring, and along with that everything else was clean and in great condition.

It was late April and unseasonably cold, but that was no problem. The house was warm and cozy, and there was plenty to do in the area besides. We enjoyed a day trip to Newport and locally there were plenty of great restaurants. The owner was exceptionally courteous, and we were fully accommodated despite our last minute booking. My friend and I are certainly considering returning. It was very lovely. Everyone I showed my photos to was jealous.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Cottage in a Wonderful Location

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Just about the perfect beachfront cottage for lovers of nature and the outdoors - directly adjacent to a very nice private beach, and close to numerous parks and nature and wildlike preserves. Just a few minutes from the Block Island Ferry, which makes a fabulous day trip. Also close to a number of good restaurants.

The cottage itself is small but well laid out, very clean and very nicely decorated, and has full kitchen facilities. The main living room is large and comfortable and has big windows that look out over the ocean - a nice view to wake up to!

The owner is very considerate and responsive, our arrangements were made very easily and without any hassles.

Overall an excellent experience, highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay in this cottage. Can't beat the location or the view, and the cottage itself is very cute, clean and had everything we needed. We even had a bottle of wine waiting for us when we got there. The nights were cool enough to use the hot tub, even in mid-August, which served as a unique and relaxing end of the day. I have nothing at all negative to say about this place. Would definitely rent again if the opportunity arises.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We really enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

This was our second season renting the cottage. We really enjoyed ourselves, the view is great and the beaches are very convenient and not crowded. My son met friends there last year and was able to get together with them again, very family friendly neighborhood. The sunsets are beautiful and everyone comes out to see them, someone even played bagpipes when we were there! The cottage is very clean and has everything you need, we were very comfortable. There is plenty of space to sit on the patio and enjoy the day or evening. We spent a lot of time there enjoying the view. There is also a lot to do if you venture out of the village. We really had a great time and would go back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sheila, Barefoot Bay, Florida

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This cottage is a great place to stay, with a fantastic view of the ocean.
My daughter and I were very comfortable, and had everything we needed. We didn't use the hot tub, because the beach was so nice to visit.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect for family with young kids

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This was our second year renting, and again it didn't disappoint. With the proximity to the water, it's great to bring chairs, umbrellas, and toys down to the private beach and feel comfortable leaving them there if you want to head up to the house for lunch. To say nothing of how much easier it is to make multiple trips with gear. The beach itself isn't overcrowded and the surf is just right for beginning boogie boarders.

Just enough space for a family of four with two young children, the house is cozy and well appointed, with terrific views of the ocean from all points, especially the outdoor dining space and adirondacks. The neighborhood is quiet and family friendly with bikes and scooters, and the ocean breezes a much appreciated respite from the hustle and bustle.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our family LOVED our stay at this cottage

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

This little cottage is even better than you'd expect. I did a TON of research before going to this house so was expecting a tidy, clean house smack on the ocean. I got exactly that. The house had everything you could want. I was pleasantly surprised by its location. It's in Breakwater Village, which is this adorable little beach community right on the ocean. It's like a hidden treasure in Narragansett. The beaches were so nice that we never felt the need to go to the main town beaches. It was quiet, very family friendly. Everyone comes out in the evening to walk on the main street to enjoy the beautiful sunsets. The house is located kitty corner to the stairs that lead down to the beaches. It couldn't be more ideally located in this community. I loved all of the outdoor space the house offers, which many of the other houses do not offer. We and our children also loved the hot tub, which turned out to be a huge bonus for our daughter. We definitely plan to come back and rent this house again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Week

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We had a wonderful week in this well-equipped and well-decorated cottage with its beautiful view of the ocean. Since we live in Germany, it was important to us that we didn't have to bring sheets, towels, etc. with us. In addition to relaxing in the cottage or on its patio or on the beach in front of the cottage, there were many things to do in the vacinity. For example, we took the ferry to Block Island, rented bicycles there and toured the island or, on another day, we drove to Newport and viewed several mansions and walked along the Cliff Walk. Cara, the owner of the cottage, was very helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed meeting her and talking to a couple of the neighbours.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wouldn't Change anything

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

I wouldn't change anything about this cottage, or the area around it, its perfect and definatly more than I expect, Great things do come in small packages!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect vacation in perfect little cottage

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Never having rented a vacation home my husband I were a bit sceptical. I perused hundreds of listing, looking at photos, reading descriptions and reviews. We were delighted when we arrived and found this home to be everything in te description and more. The home was immaculate, decor charming, setting beautiful. Although we had 3 warm days the hot tub was fabulous in the evenings. the home was equipped with everything we needed and more. We had great chowder at Iggys and breakfast at (yes) Crazy Burgers. We grilled the rest of the time. We enjoyed cocktails in the evening watching the sunset from the patio. My husband bought his guitar and I think the neighbors were entertained. We went to Block Island on the ferry which was fun and walked alot. My favorite part though was just vegging on the beach. I would highly recommend this rental to everyone looking for a lovely affordable geteaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect weekend!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

Our stay at this cottage was perfect, the location was the best in the area, the private beach was phenomenal and the cottage itself had everything we could ever need and more and it was immaculate! We didn't get a chance to use the hot tub, so I can't speak to that, but judging by the condition of everything else, I'm sure it was wonderful. We hope to come every year for our Anniversary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect & Clean Beach Condo

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We wanted to escape New York City to Newport RI for a few days during the Memorial weekend. We didn't want to stay directly in the busy Newport area but more a quiet area nearby. We were very lucky to have found this perfect little cottage. This location is steps from the beach, near great restaurants, and within a short driving distance to Newport and the Mansions. Though we didn't have a chance to use the grill or hot tub, we'll definitely try it out next time. The best features of this particular property, compared to similar cottages in the same location, is how well it's furnished and how spotlessly clean everything was. I highly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a quiet get-away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks for a beautiful honeymoon!!

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

The cottage was cozy and the view was amazing. The neighbors were friendly and very knowledgable of the history of the area. There were so many things to do and see but simply not enough time in a small honeymoon weekend. So, we look forward to visiting again! Someone mentioned September is nice... =)

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

British Traveler

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

I cannot praise this location and accommodation enough. I had a fabulous week in this cottage which is of a very high standard. It has a great view of the ocean, with restaurants close by. I would highly recommend Spain's for a steak. The hot tub is a fantastic way to relax at the end of the day. The nautical theme of the cottage is very fitting. I will definitely be returning to this superb beach house.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Anniversary Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful cottage on the ocean this past weekend and everything was absolutely perfect!! The weather was so beautiful and the sunsets were truly amazing and could be enjoyed right out the front window..The view from this cottage is absolutely breathtaking and for a romantic getaway with someone you love, you will find no better cottage than this.. Walking the beach and the jettys so close to the front door you just could not ask for more.. And local dining is delicious...I highly recommend the french onion soup and prime rib at charley o's...absolutely delicious! and reasonably priced...for breakfast the hammerhead grill within walking distance of the cottage is the best around!! and the views while you eat and just as amazing.. I would come back here again and again and again.. I just cannot say enough about this wonderful cottage and the beautiful little city of galilee..(The one thing to stay away from is the ribeye steak at the wheel house tavern) trust me... Everything else about our weeekend was absolutely sensational..My wife and I had a perfect anniversary...and you will too!! Thanks Cara for the opportunity to enjoy your cottage...we will be back!!

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful cottage

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 2, 2010

This is a gem of a cottage in a spectacular location overlooking the ocean. Despite stormy weather, we had a great vacation week there, including some beautiful sunsets.
The cottage is immaculate and very tastefuly decorated in a nautical theme. It's well equipped with all the necessities. We would love to go back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a wonderful place

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

This was a lovely place to unwind and relax. We enjoyed the quiet slow nature of the island. The constant view of the ocean allowed us lots of time to just watch nature and clear our minds. very well equipped for cooking full meals. The hot tub was love on the cool fall nights.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect spot

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

We loved our vacation at this beautiful little cottage. Everything was absolutely perfect, even the weather! THIS is my idea of the perfect spot......a place where I can see, hear, and smell the sea from the minute I wake up until I fall asleep, to go out and walk up and down the beach, and come back to this spotless, bright, sunny and charming cottage. We all really hated to leave this little bit of paradise. I'm saving my money already so I can come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Breathtaking views

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed here and love it, very clean and the owner Cara had everything we needed. We ate breakfast on the patio looking at the ocean what a treat. The neighbors are nice and the community was great for long walks, we didn't want to come home, I can't forget the beautiful sunsets they were priceless. We will be going back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect place

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

The perfect place for a wonderful vacation! Hope to be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved your place!

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

Loved your place! I don't think the web pictures do it justice. The view is incredible. The subdivision is absolutely lovely with the nicest neighbors. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review