reviews for: listing #71107 - Cedar Key, Florida Apartment rental

Pelican's Perch
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Town Center/marina
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $170 /nt
    $750 - $850 /wk
    $2,350 - $2,475 /mth

sort by:

Absolutely Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

What a wonderful relaxing experience! The condo is absoutely beautiful and so peaceful. We basically lived outside on the "long"porch. So relaxing! The condo was furnished with everything you needed. We will definetly go back. Make sure you visit Cathy's shop below the condo, Key West Emporium! Very nice lady..and so helpful with our questions. And of course you have to taste "Tony's World Famous Clam Chowder" at Tony's Restaurant just a few doors down from the condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Beautiful Condo!

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

We booked this condo as a stopover on our way from Punta Gordo to Panama City Beach. What a great choice! The condo is beautiful with gorgeous decor, a full kitchen, two bedrooms and two baths. Everything you need is provided here. The kitchen is well stocked including morning coffee supplies. Towels and toiletries are provided in the bathrooms and there are even a selection of DVDs in the living room. The huge porch is terrific for relaxing or people-watching downtown. Terrific restaurants are a short walk away. We had world champion clam chowder at Tony's as well as a delicious meal at the Island Hotel. The beach is within walking distance as well as the harbour where you can watch the fishing boats come and go.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good Location right downtown, wonderful porch!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

This property is really clean and has been recently updated. We picked the Lookout Cottage because it was pet friendly and located right downtown. The owner and manager are very friendly and helpful. This was our first visit to Cedar Key (not our last) and the location was great for walking everywhere. The Island Hotel is right next door for dinner and Happy Hour at Neptune's Bar. The City Park is one block away for our little doggie. Morning coffee on the porch is so relaxing. The bedroom is up on the 3rd floor and is very very comfortable. The home has a lot of history and we just fell in love with Cedar Key. We will be back. August seems to be very slow and the restaurants on Dock Street were not very busy but we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We had breakfast at Ken's 50's Diner and Annie's and ate "World Famous" Clam Chowder at Tony's Restaurant and lunched at the Pickled Pelican. The weather did not allow us to do the Tidewater Tour, but we will do that on our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A real gem

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

When we first entered this property, that is what I thought! Space and quality. The pictures do not do this justice. The balcony is spaceous and the furniture much better than the Island hotel opposite. Cedar Key is a gem not to be missed and this is right in the heart.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your fantastic review! Hopefully, you will visit Cedar Key and stay here again. I am taking your suggestion and will enter new pictures on this website soon. Thank you for choosing Lookout Cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

This was my second stay at the Lookout Cottage and surely will not be my last. The cottage is everything you want in a vacation rental; clean, large and in the perfect location. The cottage is dog friendly, the kitchen was fully equipped and the views from the open porch were beautiful. I would recommend this rental to anyone visiting the Cedar Key area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful comments. When guests take time from their busy lives to enjoy a few days away, it should be worry free. We do our best in hope that our guests enjoy the amenities of Lookout Cottage and so that they take in all that Cedar Key has to offer and make great memories. Thank you for returning to stay with us and we hope to see you again, soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful experience!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We could not have chosen a better place to stay for our first visit to Cedar Key! The location was perfect--right in the heart of the laid-back town, close to park, beach, restaurants, shops, and dock street. Dale and Grace have provided everything needed to ensure a comfortable stay. The cottage was immaculate, charming, beautifully decorated, with incredible architectural features that give it a special identity of its own! Our favorite spot was the large porch with comfortable furniture. It was so inviting, we couldn't resist spending a good amount of time relaxing there and people watching with our morning coffee. Dale and Grace were amazing and gave great suggestions for restaurants and local activities, I even joined a yoga class for a morning (one of the best I've ever been to) at the public library. Grace runs a small shop downstairs that is quaint and sells fun items, even hand-crafted jewelry made by a local. We spent quality family time kayaking, touring local museums, fishing, sight-seeing the Lower Suwannee Wildlife Refuge, and walking to the beach for the sunrise/sunsets (amazing!)...My husband and I agreed this fell into our "Top 10" vacations over the past 23 years and are already talking about when we will return, and we will be sure to stay at Lookout Cottage! Thanks to Dale and Grace for making this a memorable trip--we will always remember your friendliness and kindness.
Peace and Blessings...

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us. Jill and Tim (along with their son and sweet dog) were wonderful guests and we look forward to having them visit us again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Jones's from the UK

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

This was a most excellent apartment centrally located in Cedar Key. The apartment was light and airy and beautifully presented with all the comforts of home. Cedar Key is a remote location and typical of 'Old Florida' so not the kind of place for excitement although the local bars and restaurants provide entertainment in the evenings. We had a most enjoyable and relaxing time in lovely surroundings. The apartment is highly recommended and Dale & Grace the proprietors a most charming couple.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Well thought out accomodation!

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Wow!!!
Just returned home from a wonderful stay at Lookout Cottage in Cedar Key. Our hosts Grace and Dale couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming! We were able to fall in to the Cedar Key Vibe and became woderfully slowed down to a healthy calm.
The cottage is well appointed and the decor is well thought out with all the necessary attentions to detail.
This is a must return and I look forward to our next vist to be swallowed up by the tranquility and peace found in both Lookout Cottage and Cedar Key!
Thanks for sharing your beautiful place with us!!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words Chris. It was our pleasure being your hosts and we look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Birthday!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Dale and Grace were great as usual...had a nice bottle of red wine for my wife so she was happy. The place was great, clean and roomy. The view is nice from the porch and the window in the master bedroom. This was our second visit and we hope to return soon.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Bruce, Kim and Katie were wonderful guests again! We look forward to their next visit to Cedar Key and the Lookout Cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise found

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

We were looking for an escape from busy South Florida, and we certainly found it in Cedar Key and Lookout Cottage. The charming little town and its friendly residents are perfectly content to move at a slow and relaxing pace. Dale was right when telling us we could park the car and not get back in it until ready to head home. Talk about slowing down! Everything we wanted to do and see was within easy walking distance. We even rented a golf cart to venture further around the beautiful island.

Sometimes, when visiting locations like Cedar Key, the accommodations can be on the 'rustic' side. Even though the cottage is in an historic building, the modern conveniences were plentiful and very much appreciated. The cottage was nicely decorated, sparkling clean (no sea-side, old building smell here) and offered a cool respite from the afternoon sun. With the beautifully appointed kitchen, it would have been easy to have meals right there. (If we had caught some fish, we most certainly would have cooked it there :). We spent every morning on the porch, and ended the day there as well. It was a great place to people watch, and just relax!

Dale and Grace were wonderful hosts, making sure we had what we needed and making recommendations for our evenings out. The Cedar Key Emporium that Grace owns & operates is a darling shop that has been put together with as much care, detail and talent as the Lookout Cottage. It is truly a magical place.

My husband and I can't wait to return with friends and family in tow.

P.S. I am hesitant to publish this review, for fear the secret will get out!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Michele and Kevin were wonderful guests and seemed like part of our family. We truly enjoyed their visit and look forward to their return. We want other wonderful guests to come to our hidden paradise and will also provide them our best possible hospitality!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Getaway Spot....

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Dale & Grace,

Thanks for a much needed break in allowing us to stay in your property in Cedar Key, FL. The accomodations were great, location was ideal , quiet and included all the amenities of home for our weekend getaway. Keep up the good work, we look forward to visiting again in the near future when our travels allow us to getaway to some Old Florida Charm.... Your recommendations for dining were most appreciated..... GO GATORS !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: The Buckleys were outstanding guests and it was our pleasure to be their hosts. We look forward to seeing them again and to have other guests who could enjoy the Old Florida charm of Cedar Key and the Lookout Cottage.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Everything you would expect

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

Upon arriving at Cedar Key you are instantly taken aback by this amazing corner tow. It looks like something that has fallen off of a postcard. Grace and Dale treated us like long lost family They are warm and welcoming and as perfect a fit as two people could ever hope to be. The cottage was even better than it looks online...truly breathtaking! It is the perfect place to get away and somehow still feel at home. Our favorite part of the trip was sitting out on the balcony at night and watching...nothing! Looking at the stars and enjoying the silence. It is a place that all should visit.

Thank you Grace and Dale!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We sincerely appreciate the kind words from Melissa and Mark. They were wonderful guests and a pleasure to meet during their visit with us. We look forward to hosting others in the future who can also enjoy the Lookout Cottage and Cedar Key.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxed and comfortable stay in Cedar Key

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

We very much enjoyed our time in Cedar Key and the “lookout cottage”. We enjoyed the quiet and relaxed atmosphere of both the town and the cottage and appreciated the balance achieved in keeping the charm and interest of an older building with all the modern amenities one may need. The central location was perfect - walking distance to everything we needed and great people watching but still quiet and peaceful. We particularly enjoyed our coffees on the porch in the morning. We hope to be back and would definitely want to stay at the lookout.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really enjoyed the visit by Sharon and Sally as they were wonderful guests. We would love to have other visitors to stay with us and enjoy the experience of Cedar Key and the Lookout Cottage.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Accomodations

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

Great accomodations. The weather did not cooperate but the people are very friendly on the island and it was great having the Lookout Cottage that met all our needs. We often ate on the porch and enjoyed the Gulf breeze. The Emporium below the cottage is the best shop on the island. The nearby grocery has all one needs and they too were friendly to tourists. Enjoy a stay at Lookout Cottage!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate the kind words and look forward to another visit by these wonderful guests! The best part of having a rental cottage is meeting such nice people.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful hosts

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

To be sure, this place is superb, but the best feature can be found in two considerate owners who care about their renters. We have rented in six foreign countries and numerous states, and Dale and Grace are the most thoughtful landlords we have met. The apartment is a perfect blend of old and new, an historic building combined with modern features. As bird watchers, Cedar Key is Nirvana as the Suawnee NWR is within easy driving distance. Capt. Doug provided a thoughtful, productive tour of the keys. His knowledge of birds, along with a history of Cedar Key, made our trip memorable.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: We appreciate the kind words from Larry and Mary Ann and are very happy that our guests enjoyed their stay. We look forward to receiving more guests and hope we can make their visit enjoyable also.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We Will Be Back!!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

My wife, various dogs and I come to Cedar Key several times a year, have stayed all over the island, but with out a doubt, this is the coolest place we have spent time in. History of the building, central location, new remodel work, the 40' porch overlooking 2nd and B streets with an ocean view are awesome! The owners, Grace and Dale are wonderful, Grace even gave our dog a collar charm from her shop downstairs! Walking distance to anywhere you want to be, Marina, Dock street, eateries etc...are all within a block or two. We make a point of stopping in the Emporium (Grace's shop)every time we come, it is the lovely people that are the trademark of Cedar Key.

Lantz And Tracy (Dogs Too!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

lovely and spacious

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

We found this to be perfect for our quiet holiday. Everything is pleasingly decorated, clean, spacious, and comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked, with attractive dishes and glassware, as well as good, new appliances. The double bed is comfy. The porch is great! The owners are very nice and helpful, and though nearby, very unobtrusive. A really good location, with nearby good restaurants and cute shops.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks - Great Time!

Review submitted: June 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

Thank You, we had a great stay. I'll make sure to tell all my friends about your place!!! We'll BE BACK!
FL

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Delightful

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

We were charmed - delightful space, great location, friendly hosts, next to everything. A last minute decision to visit Cedar Key over Memorial Day weekend had us discouraged about finding a nice place to stay but our concerns were unfounded. The second level porch collected the sea breezes throught the day and night. A very relaxing stay. All thumbs up.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review