reviews for: listing #71162 - Panama City, Panama Studio rental

Tropical Paradise in Gated Community - Kitchen, Pool
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $169 /nt
    $900 - $1,100 /wk
    $2,900 - $3,900 /mth

sort by:

Serene Environment & great location for canal adventures

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

The staffs are very pleasant and helpful. They promptly addressed our questions and needs. The location is private, serene and beautiful. The access to Cerro Ancon is great! The studio is simple, but adequate. The wireless internet does not reach the studio. Strengthening the signal would be a nice addition.The availability of a cell phone was a pleasant surprise. The animals, birds and other fauna are entertaining. The tropical flora along Calle Quarry Heights is beautiful!

This is a great place to vacation

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Very Comfortable. Close to everything

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

Very happy with accommodations and help getting anywhere we needed to go. Clean, Grounds are beautiful. Cell phones helpful.

Had a wonderful timer.

Early check in was helpful.

Karolina was great. Francisco was helpful in getting us where we needed to go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Thoroughly satisfied!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

Thoroughly clean
Thoroughly helpful
Thoroughly efficient
Thoroughly explained (notebook)
Thoroughly furnished
Thoroughly well kept
Thoroughly friendly
Thoroughly maintained
Thoroughly decorated
Thoroughly relaxed atmosphere yet conveniently located
Thoroughly nature
Thoroughly thought through every detail.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Los Angeles

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 14, 2010

Panama vacation quarters are clean. The staff members are very helpful. The surroundings are beautiful and peaceful. The price is reasonable. I have enjoyed two visits so far and intend to stay there again when I return to Panama. One added benefit for travelers is PVQ provides a cell phone with limited complimentary minutes. This was very helpful upon arrival. I highly recommend Panama Vacation Quarters.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect place

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

My family (including an 8 and 5 year old) recently stayed at PVQ in a studio apartment for a week. There was plenty of room for us all to stay comfortably. The kitchenette was well-equiped with a microwave, toaster oven, and double-burner hot plate. The facility and grounds were very clean and manicured. The location could not have been better! Ancon hill—further up is a great view of the canal and city, down the hill is Napoli pizza (famous among the Pacific Zonians!). You can also walk to the Administration Building and the town of Balboa (Niko’s café for ice cream!).

We would definitely stay here again. Everyone was so helpful and friendly at PVQ; and, we loved its location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Place to Stay in Panama

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

Staying at PVQ made our Panama trip so much better than staying at a hotel. We stayed at PVQ the middle of January this year for the first time and found the facilities perfect. PVQ is centrally located with only a few minutes to get off to our day's adventures. The staff at PVQ are wonderful and extremely accomodating which made the stay even better. We stayed in one of the basement studios and felt like being at home with a full kitchen and plenty of space. I highly recommend PVQ to everyone. We will certainly be back to stay again. Thank you to the PVQ staff.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Bill & Margaret. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Panama Vacation Quarters

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

I have stayed at the Panama Vacation Quarters three times with my wife and four children, most recently, March - April 2010. We stayed in one of the 4 bedroom apartments. The location is great, a former U.S. Military base on Ancon Hill overlooking both the Panama Canal and Panama City. The grounds are kept beautiful with tropical foliage and wildlife including many birds and even small wild monkeys that come to feed. A beautiful swimming pool with a waterfall is ideal for the kids and the nearby bohio (pavilion) with hammocks is perfect for an afternoon siesta. The location is convenient for a wide variety of activities including a nature walk starting right outside the front door to the top of Ancon Hill for the breathtaking views. The accomodations are outstanding and the staff friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying again on our future trips to Panama.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great time!

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

We had a great time! We enjoyed looking at the beautiful flowers, birds, monkeys and sloth. The patio and room were very comfortable and equipped with all the necessities to relax and enjoy our stay in Panama. Most importantly the entire staff made us feel welcome with friendly attitudes and informative answers to all our questions. I enjoyed meeting Ed & talking to him about history of Panama & PVQ. I will recommend PVQ & Panama to all my friends. Thank you!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Comfortable and secure

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at PVQ. The central location with clean, comfortable and secure rooms were perfect for our visit back to Panama. The staff we found to be helpful, friendly and efficient. They kept our room and the grounds in order. I would certain recommend the PVQ to anyone visiting Panama but especially former residents of the Canal Zone because of the familiar surroundings. When we visit Panama again the PVQ will be top in our list of places to stay while staying in the Panama City area. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Updated and comfortable

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2009

I have been here several times and each time is better than the next. Always updated and comfortable. The outdoor area and pool is a nice welcome after a long day of exploring the wonders of Panama. Ancon Hill is a short walk up the hill behind PVQ and I have seen more wildlife, including numerous toucans, than just about anywhere in Panama and spectacular view of Panama City & the entrance to the Panama Canal. I can’t say enough about the staff, they are friendly, helpful and they really care that you enjoy your stay in Panama and PVQ.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location, great home base while in Panama

Review submitted: June 4, 2008   Date of arrival: May 14, 2008

My family and some friends rented a 4 bedroom unit AND a studio in May 2008 and it was the best vacation we have had in years. The location of PVQ is very convenient to Panama City or other places we went. When coming back form the beach you arrive at PVQ first when entering Panama City, saving 20+ inutes of driving downtown. The staff and owners are very friendly, helping us with many bits of advice. WE HIGHLY recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Freindly local staff but uncooperative owners

Review submitted: February 26, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

I was very disappointed in the response that I got from the owners of this property. I reserved February 2nd to Feb 11th and from February 15th to the 18th. The reservation was confirmed by telephone and payment was made for the first portion by courier and I was told that the second portion could be paid on my arrival. Just before we got there the owner canceled our reservation for the second portion because he said that he had another renter that wanted the unit. OK! Then tragically my Brother in law suddenly passed away and I had to return to Canada. My young family had to stay in Panama during my absence and the time period coincided with our final days at this location, so had to move my fammily out 2 days early and get them to the the new location before leaving the country. This last minuite change cost was expensive and we asked him to cancel our stay in the unit 2 days early so that I could get my family into the new location without having to travel for 2 hours in a strange country alone with 2 kids. They refused. It is OK for them to cancel my reservation for the last few days but not OK for me to do the same. This is totally one sided.

When I got here I was a little disappointed at what I found. It was not a Queen bed as stated in the Email. The DVD did not work, the safe was locked and I could not open it, the BBQ was all locked up, the pool has algae growing on the walls and the floor, There were no oven gloves or spatulas in the apartment, In the apartment upstairs we have kids pounding on the floors and people coming and going at all hours of the night. We were woken up numerous times during the last few nights. Along with the other things that have been happening in my life recently, these items added to my levels of frustration. It was not a pleasant stay.

Owners response: I am sorry to read this review, knowing how hard we work to make our property special and our guests happy. We're a small exclusive property, frequently booked up. We don't "overbook" like airlines and hotels do, we “hold” a booking for 7 days awaiting payment, and then we guarantee the unit when payment arrives. The courier he used to pay must've been Pony Express because it took 20 days, not arriving until after the guest was in Panama! Normally we don’t allow check-in without paying in advance, but in this case we did. Regarding the 2nd portion of the trip, the 3 night stay was offered, but he never made any effort to send payment. When I had another guest who wanted the apartment and paid immediately, we accepted it. It was not until this reviewing guest was on his way to Panama he said he would mail the payment, but it was too late. When I realized the situation this guest was in (on his way to Panama and having no place to stay for the 2nd portion), I called Panama and after 2 hours calling properties, found and made reservations at another property for him (although he never stayed there or contacted THAT property to cancel the reservation).

Once at the property, he asked me to check out early so he could go to the beach. I certainly did not want to offer a refund so he could go to his next destination early! When I reminded the guest of our no refund policy and offered a 100% credit towards a future trip, he was angry and said “he would never be coming back to Panama.” This was contradicted by the guest asking our manager which schools in Panama are best as he may be moving there (his first email mentioned this). She typed him up a list of schools with their phone numbers, but no mention of that in his review.

Finally, our beds ARE queen size beds, the safe was open and BBQ locked upon arrival, but this is our procedure (explained in a Welcome Packet I emailed in advance). We have never had algae in our pool. We DID forget to put oven gloves and a spatula in the unit as it was just remodeled in December, but the maid apologized and said she gave him new ones within minutes when he asked. We do sometimes ask noisy guests to quiet down and be respectful of other guests. This happens once and a while in a multi-unit property (even hotels), but we strive to make all our guests happy.

I am very proud of how we operate our property and after 3 ½ years of being in business, this is the first negative review we have had.

Helpful votes: 23 / 26

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review