reviews for: listing #71255 - Carlsbad, California Condo rental

Beachfront Rental with Oceanfront Patio, Private Spa C5103-3
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $297 - $897 /nt

sort by:

carlsbad vacation

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The location is perfect. The condo was small but had everything we needed. The issue was with the upstairs unit was very loud. It sounded like elephants stomping. The other issue is that the patio of the other unit is right outside the window of the bedroom. If people are out it sounds like they are sleeping in bed next to you. We had to change rooms with our kids because of the noise and then we were up for 3 nights.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Property

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at this property. This two bedroom unit was very comfortable, very clean and with a phenomenal view of the ocean. The attractive patio is steps away from the sandy beach. Restaurants and shops are just a short walk away. The property management company was very professional, courteous and readily available. We plan to return soon for another vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Relaxing time at the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than cruising!

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved our week in the vacation rental and thought it better than cruising as we got the ocean, could walk to restaurants and shopping and when mood hit us we could take the car and explore.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect to Rest, Relax, & Renew

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is our 10th year vacationing in Carlsbad Village, but the first time in a Beach House! The close proximity to the beach was so convenient as we spent every day but one on the sand. It was so easy to bring lunch or drinks down. Also, we love being in the village - with all the great food, shops, and Wed farmer's market in walking distance!
We had 3 issues which were not that big of a deal as we made it work 1.) the angle of the shower head in the master bath did not fit that small shower since when it was fully turned on, the bathroom would flood and if it was at low pressure, it never would get very warm. We used the other bathroom shower or the outdoor shower with a bathing suit of course. 2.) On our last day someone moved in to the unit right above us and the sound of their footsteps and kids running echoed in our unit, plus their hot-tub patio is right outside our master bedroom window and they were out there at 11:30pm which woke us up. That unit was vacant for most of our trip which was nice for us, but not good for the owners I am sure. 3.) the gazebo on the deck for the top unit blocked half of unit C's view and we never saw it used since that unit has the roof-top deck and we saw them use that deck - so not sure why that gazebo is needed. But the view we did have was still amazing and loved our stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The location wqas amazing and beuatiful. The Condo was clean and very centrally located. Anyone staying here could not be disappointed. Too bad we had to go back tom reality. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach Convenience

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is a great convenient location on the beach in Carlsbad. The patio hot tub was a hit for the kids after a cool swim in the ocean. Fall weather best since it is not air conditioned, but was quite pleasant open windows and fans. BF staff is great and very accommodating, but parking is dicey with a small garage and neighboring cars. Walking distance to the village, highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Dai and I had an amazing honeymoon here at the beach house. Everything was amazing and very satisfying. The mood, the location and everything else was perfect. It was a beutiful dream came thru for both of us

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend in Carlsbad

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The smokers upstairs created an unpleasant experience due to smoke drifting in forcing us to close windows several times each day. Their cigarette butts also ended up in the patio. The smoking policy needs to be updated to say "no smoking on the property". This bed in the master room was extremely worn (sagging) and needs to be replaced. The price of the stay was not cheap and the worn out mattress was not commensurate with the location or price. The visitor/guest book needs to be updated with the correct wifi information and also needs to describe places of interest in the town where we stayed (Carlsbad). The inaccurate wifi information required a phone call to management and the other information targeted Cities that were not Carlsbad. The village in Carlsbad is fantastic and the beach is fantastic also. If the above detailed issues are addressed; I would not hesitate to revisit or recommend the stay to a friend.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful time in Carlsbad

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
All the arrangements were really easy to make and We found the property in oustanding condition. We were 26 people in 2 units and were extremely confortable. There was a bed for each of us and every bedroom has a complete bathroom. Parking was easy too.
Carlsbad village is lovely and there are many attractions nearby. Would definitely stay again. Thumbs up for Beachfront.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved every bit of it, could not figure out DVD but otherwise very satisfied!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Carlsbad vs San Diego condo

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was a gorgeous little condo with spectacular views and plenty of top-notch amenities. My only advice would be for first-time visitors to San Diego---it's a long drive on an often congested highway to go back and forth to the city every day (35 miles). Staying further south, closer to San Diego would have been much more convenient for all the things we wanted to see. Guess we'll just have to come back! ; - )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great View, Tiny Space

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
First I would like to say the place was very clean and all appliances worked, and who can argue with the ocean view...spectacular. The bed was comfortable and closet nice and large.
The App for Beachfront is/was useless. Sorry I downloaded it and deleted it as soon as I left. The linens smelled stale. There is virtually no place to eat a meal as the bar area is too narrow and small. There is no bathtub and my friend really missed also took a long time to get hot water. The living area is very small. Glad we spent most of our time away.
Exterior: Very irritating as we were in C and had to lug heavy luggage and groceries down 3 levels of stairs. Parking is horrible,crowded along the street and garage door entrance is super narrow. The patio is not well designed. The placement of the table and spa is poor and should be reversed. That Gazebo needs to go. Totally blocks 1/4 of a grand view.
On our last night there we walked to Carlsbad for dinner and when we returned at dark the gate was locked and the gate code failed after 3 tries. Luckily the other side gate was open or we would of had to stay in the car! Absolutely not acceptable. I think the people who came in late that afternoon locked everything, but why didn't the gate code work?
Next time I will look for something a little more spacious.

Manager responded on 10/29/2012:
Hello Diane, thank you for your review. We are sorry that your stay wasn't everything you hoped it would be. The app is a new thing for Beachfront Only, and it will be a continual process of trying to make it better for our guests. It is really meant so that you have all the property information and codes at your fingertips rather than a booklet inside the house. If you were locked out of the gate, we hope that you would call us on one of the numbers provided and we would have been able to help you out right away. We have an emergency line that is available after 9pm for things like lockout. As far as the space, it is smaller, but we feel it is represented well in the photos. We do not advertise it with a kitchen table. That is also why we only advertise it for 4 guests. Parking used to be street only and the owners just recently assigned one of the garage spa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall Break 2012

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The view is outstanding. The unit is cozy and nicely furnished. As mentioned by others the gazebo on the adjoining deck blocks a portion of your view. Removing it would enhance the view tremendously.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Small Detail

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't thank the management enough for relocating us here after our experience with thoughtless smokers in another location. Our only complaints were that the ice maker in the frig was broken necessitating purchasing ice by the bag and that we had to spray for ants in the kitchen regularly. Considering the quality of the kitchen equipment and everything else in the rental, I was surprised that the bed linens were not of higher quality. I would recommend taking your own if you rent from BeachFront Only. The first location we were in, especially, had very cheap and very OLD bed linens. Had we stayed there, I would have gone out and bought new sheets.

Manager responded on 10/8/2012:
Hello Donna, thank you for your feedback. We do not advertise ice-makers in any of our units because these do break down often. Rather, we provide ice-trays as an alternative. Ants are definitely a seasonal thing in southern california. We apoligize that you experienced this. Our operations team can be called at any time if this is ever an issue again, and they will come in and spray, or do what they can to get rid of them. Regarding the bed linens, we actually have never had any complaints. We use premium hotel grade linens in almost all of our rentals. We are sorry that you felt this way. ~ The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location Location Location

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great little place on the beach. Walking distance to almost everything you need. Great ocean views and a fun beach to play on.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Property

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is the third time we stayed at this property. It will not be the last. Beachfront Only is a GREAT company to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week getaway!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall, very pleased with our rental. Management comoany could have been more responsive. For example, when we called to see if the unit was ready around 2:30 so we could start moving in for our week long stay, I was told someone would call me back. They never did. Don't like their policy of charging an extra $50 per bedroom if you go in early. Even top hotels will let you in if room is ready! Beds had really thick comforters on and no options of lighter blankets. It was hotter than normal however. Beach was great. Location was great. I would go back.

Manager responded on 10/26/2012:
Hi Bill: thank you for your feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We are sorry you did not receive a callback re: check-in time. Please know that the level of preparation required for our homes cannot be compared to that of preparing a hotel room, and for this reason, we must assess a fee for early check-ins, to ensure that you ultimately receive top quality on the rental. The fee goes directly to cover staffing costs for increasing housekeeping staff and making sure the unit can be ready for an early check-in. We appreciate your understanding and we hope to see you again soon! ~The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, memorable experience

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My husband, 21-month-old son and I had a great time at this condo. The location was ideal, and we loved being just steps from the ocean, with a shower outside our back door to rinse off the sand after every beach romp! Considering the price of the stay, we would have liked the king-sized bed to be in better condition: One side has a severe dip, as if a very heavy person had slept there night after night. However, the other, smaller bed was very comfortable. Also, the placement of another unit's hot tub directly outside of the north bedroom was not ideal. The people in that tub were so loud one night that we had to move our son to the room with the king-sized bed so he could get some sleep. We felt a bit cramped in the smaller bed. Also, the outside shower should have had a bit more pressure. Additionally, occasionally during our stay, I would catch the scent of something that smelled of human waste. The smell only lasted briefly; I always smelled it as I was walking past the south bathroom (I have a very sensitive nose). However, the maids appeared to do a very good, thorough job of cleaning the property. Overall, we had a great time and are considering renting the condo again sometime in the future.

Manager responded on 8/16/2012:
Hi Robyn: thank you for your feedback. We will replace the mattress. The patio for the upper unit will be moving down to the gazebo area, and thus the spa in front will not longer be used by that unit. We will investigate the smell to ensure there are no plumbing issues at the unit. We hope to see you again soon! ~The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July-Carlsbad

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We love this rental/location. it can't be beat! I just wish it was "our secret" so we didn't have to share!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach front property

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great location and very professional management. Best I've ever experienced.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place 4 beach

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Real nice relaxing time. Just poor parking. No desinated spot to park foor place.

Manager responded on 10/26/2012:
Hi April: thank you for the feedback and we appreciate your business! We now have an assigned parking space for 3015C Ocean St and we hope to see you again soon! ~The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing vacation!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A perfect vacation destination...will definitely do this again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderul place to stay

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was the first time i ever rented a place on the beach and I was not disappointed. Everything was so clean and the manager's were so helpful. This unit does not have a parking space but they allowed to park by the garage for a couple days which was wonderful. The view and location is outstanding. The only negative is that crazy pavillon that blocks your view to one side. Why they don't tear that down and put up an umbrella makes no sense. It is a mismatch there. I would love to have an outside fire pit. WE had an absolute blast and can't wait to rent from beachfront again.

Manager responded on 10/26/2012:
Hi Kathy: thank you for the feedback and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! Our renters at 3015A Ocean St really love the Gazebo, so it has been a decision the owners have struggled with---whether to remove the Gazebo and replace with umbrellas or keep the Gazebo at the rental. We hope to see you again soon! ~The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great location, in Carlsbad Village, can walk everywhere. Very clean, small but very nice and clean. Will stay again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a wonderful time in this condo. The condo was beautiful inside and out. We will definitely want to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carlsbad mini vacation

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Always a pleasure to stay in any Beachfront Only rental. Very professional and friendly staff in all areas.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Location

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We really enjoyed our vacation rental in Carlsbad. Everything was perfect!!
The property was very well maintained, fully loaded, and in a perfect location! We had a chance to visit other vacation properties in our location while we were there, and we found that ours was one of the best in the neighborhood. It exceeded our expectations! Outside we had a private deck area with our own spa, shower, patio table, barbeque, and lounge chairs directly in front of the ocean! It was amazing. Inside, we had everything we needed and more. Ocean view from every room, granite counter tops, new modern appliances & cookware, ice maker, flatscreen HD TV, gas fireplace, first class washer & dryer, 2 perfect size bedrooms both with awesome private bathrooms, & walk in closets. This place was all inclusive, lacking nothing!! Big thanks to Beachfront Properties for making our family vacation a special one. We will definately look forward to doing it again. One suggestion that we have that would make this location even more perfect would be to remove the Gazeebo on the ground level because it obstructs the ocean view from the deck of unit C a little. Thanks again Beachfront!! We will be recommending this property to our friends and family, and we look forward to staying at one of your properties in the future. We're hoping you have properties in Hawaii for next year!! :)

Manager responded on 5/31/2012:
Thank you for the suggestion. We will definitely consider this. It does provide shade for the unit it belongs to, and if that was not there we would put up a few umbrellas. Thank you for your feeback. ~ The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Right on the BEach

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Was very nice to have beach access right outside of our patio.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location and Beach Access

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great Location. My wife and kids (4 of us, 2 elementary age kids) had a great time. Walking distance to surf rentals, restaurants, bike rentals, coffee shop, etc. Great experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Ocean Getaway

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The location could not be better; great beach and right in the heart of Carlsbad. No need to drive anywhere: good restaurants and shops all within a few blocks. Dog loved the beach!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great vacation!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love it!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great location. Great beach. Wish we could live there!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The property lived up to it's billing as it was very clean and had a great location. Easy access to the beach and downtown Carlsbad.I would highly recommend this rental.
The only suggestion I would have is for management to consider removing the gazebo from the lower patio and replacing it with an umbrella. The gazebo offers little to no shade for most of the day for visitors on the lower patio and it significantly detracts form the ocean view of this condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovin Carlsbad!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved the location and the house especially the view of the dolphins from the patio! The hot tub came in so handy with the colder weather. Only negative, the bedding was stained....and the stairs to the beach from our unit were taken down the last day and 1/2 so we had to walk to public access. Not a big deal but we weren't given notice until I got home there was a message on the home phone which we didn't get. All in all loved it and would come back again and again!!! thanx you Beach Front Rentals!

Manager responded on 10/26/2012:
Hi Kim: thank you for the feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit. The bedding has been updated. And, as for the staircase maintenance, we are sorry this impacted your visit, but we are most grateful for your patience and flexibility while we completed necessary repairs. We have installed a brand new cement staircase to walk onto the beach from the rental (in replacement of the old wooden staircase), and we hope to see you again soon! ~The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

IF YOU ARE PLANNING ON TOURING THE BUSY ...

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
IF YOU ARE PLANNING ON TOURING THE BUSY AMUSEMENT PARKS AND ATTRACTIONS AND WANT A BEAUTIFUL, QUIET, OCEAN FRONT HOME TO RELAX IN AFTERWARDS YOU MUST STAY HERE !!

The staff at Beach Front Only is second to none, they made everything from booking our beach front home to the special requests we had and our stay easy and enjoyable!! Being first timers at booking online etc. we really appreciated all of your help and your honesty, your vacation home was exactly what you said it would be!! We were amazed with the location, it is literally just steps to the ocean, our girls were thrilled to be able to swim and boogie board every night, and we were more than happy to sit and watch them from the private hottub on our deck!! We had coffee watching the Dolphins play and swim past EVERY morning for 12 days straight. We also saw a seal, and two whales from our beach front deck!! The home was small but had everything we could have possibly needed and then some!! It was like heaven at the end of a busy day in the many Amusement Parks we visited. We loved Carlsbad it is beautiful!! It was easy to get to Disney, Hollywood, Knott's Berry Farm, the Zoo, Sea World and SanDiego Harbour!! We also had private surf lessons right in front of the house!! The grocery stores are all closeby and the restaraunts within walking distance were fantastic. We had a wonderful holiday and would recommend staying in Carlsbad to anybody, especially if you want to relax, and enjoy the sounds of the waves while watching your children have the time of their lives at the end of a busy day of touring the many Southern California sights. Thanks so much, we really enjoyed our stay!!

Manager responded on 5/27/2011:
Hi Laurie and Anthony: we are honored your family joined us all the way from Alberta, Canada and that you had such a great visit to San Diego! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you again soon! ~The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall great experience and great location. Easy walking to downtown Carlsbad. Property was clean and well maintained. Toilet paper and paper towels where scarce for staying for 10 days.

Manager responded on 10/26/2012:
Hi Richard: thank you for the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We supply starter rolls of toilet paper and paper towels, hand soap, dish soap, etc. as a courtesy for your arrival, but for extended stays, guests need to re-stock their own supplies. This is a primary difference between a vacation rental and a hotel. However, we find that our rentals are better-supplied that any other rentals in the San Diego market and we hope to see you again soon! ~The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Did Not Want To Leave!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is such a beautiful location. When you walk inside of the top unit, the view is truly breathtaking. It looked great in the pictures, but surpassed our expectations. We had a great family vacation with extended family. We can't wait to go back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

awesome beachfront location

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was one of the best beachfront rentals we've stayed in. Beautiful view of the ocean and gorgeous sunsets every night. Within walking distance to great restaraunts and shopping.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
the only negative was the stairs - my mom had a hard time with them. next time we'll rent the top floor!

Manager responded on 10/26/2012:
Hi Tom: we appreciate your feedback and your business. We have two new 2-bedroom properties to our inventory--one which has an elevator and another unit which can be entered from street level, which would be great for your Mom. Please call our reservation agents for more details and we would love to show you these options for your next visit. We hope to see you again soon! ~The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

January Carlsbad Fun!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We are wishing we didn't have to leave! We had a wonderful time and it felt so good to be there in the beautiful weather! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2010

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Wonderful Property! WIll definitely return! Two suggestions! Would be nice to have a few beach chairs! Also, the master bed is awful! I have never slept in such a horrible bed! The center is like a shelf with two "troughs" depressed on either side. Way to soft, old and pretty sad. Also the pillows..woke several mornings with a neck ache! They are practically falling apart with stains all over them! Pretty disgusting! This is a pretty huge part of any rental and the sheets were cheesy and too thin. I brought my own...thankfully, so at least I had nice sheets. Really, the bedding should be first rate for such a nice property!

Other than the horrible bed and bedding...enjoyed my stay immensely! Was just perfect for me and very clean and love the huge patio! Thanks!

Please do not publish my review...just for your request!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2nd week stay in Calif

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We stayed at this location for one week and is a wonderful location. Walk to town and to a wonderful mexican resturant. Out side of the condo was great also --to have our own patio and hot tub watching the sunset and ocean. The inside is really small. It is decorated very nicely but no dresser in bedroom and no where to put the suitcases. Also no counter in bathroom.
It is great to have your own washer and dryer. Had a wonderful time

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation by the Sea

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Wonderful relaxing vacation spot. Can't wait to return for a week next time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Need a visit from the exterminator. (ants)

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Manager responded on 10/26/2012:
Hi Lawrence: thank you for your feedback. Ants are a seasonal issue that we treat for. We do supply ant spray under the sink and if you are having a swarm, please call our Operations team. They will be happy to assist with treatment. We hope to see you again soon! ~The Team at Beachfront Only

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing in everyway but one CLOSET SPACE!

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Amazing in everyway but one CLOSET SPACE!!!!! DRAWER SPACE!!!!

It is nothing short of a complete joke to have a broom closet and two drawers and one 1/4 drawer in a master bedroom. Get rid of the door going to the master and expand the closet out, install a closet system with a chest of drawers in the closet.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our stay in Carlsbad was a great experience. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by wonderful locals. The property was well maintained and included wonderful views of the ocean. We actually witnessed dolphins surfing in the breakers. We’ve seen dolphins near this location before, but never this close. 4th of July fireworks could be seen up and down the beach. The local restraints were tasty and we’re already missing the knockout burger. I highly recommend this location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay in 3015C, Carlsbad, May 2010

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Thank you, we had a wonderful stay.
We completely underestimated how much we would enjoy/use the hot tub - with the temperatures in the 60s we were in it several times per day - fantastic amenity!!!
To quote your Governor: "We'll be back!"
Thomas & Helena Schaefer

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carlsbad review

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great location. Cozy but worth the view. Right on the beach. Only problem was the bed in the room behind the kitchen was very uncomfortable on the far side (as if someone had spent way too much time in one spot) so could not sleep there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

title

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Review

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 25, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The best s.d experience ever. Parked our car when we got there. Never moved it till we left. Walked everywhere.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean but Small

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

I stayed in unit C with a friend from Houston. The unit was nice and clean, the beds comfy and the closets ample, and who can argue with the location? Beautiful sunsets.
The unit living space and kitchen is small with no place to eat. The counter in the kitchen is narrow and uncomfortable. How a family of four or even three can stay in this unit is dumbfounding to me. No place to sit! Luckily we didn't stay at the condo during the day and only ate breakfast there. All the appliances were in good working order.
There are 4 levels of stairs from the street to the unit and carrying luggage and some groceries down the stairs was treacherous.
The Gazebo has to go. The small patio has too much furniture and the spa is not in a good place. Think of putting it behind that *** Gazebo.
Parking is horrid. The garage opening is so narrow I parked on the street most of the time. Street parking is very crowded.
On our last night there we walked into Carlsbad for dinner and returned to the condo after dark. During our absence another group came to the condo. We tried the combo for the gate and it did not work! It had worked for 4 days and our last night it didn't work. After several tries we found the gate at the other end of the condo was open. Thank goodness, or we would have had to sleep in our car on the street! Next morning we found that the people who came in locked the gate and the garage door. Thanks! Management needs to ask renters to leave gates unlocked. But still, the code that worked all week should have worked our last night.
I wrote this review before and it is not on the website. It will be interesting to see if it is on the website after re-writing.
If you are looking for something spacious look for something else, or if you have a family look somewhere else. Next time I'll find another place to stay.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback. I did just go on our website and your review is posted (the reviews are not in order by date, but by rating). Our team responded to it on 10/30.

Regarding your comments, the unit is on the smaller size, and that is something that we advertise. We have on the listing 720sf, and a maximum occupancy of 4 people, as well as photos of the kitchen and living space. We do not show it with any dining room table, or with any furniture that is not currently there. We feel like the listing accurately represents the property. Next time, we would be happy to help you find something larger.

Regarding the gazebo, we have had that comment before and will definitely discuss how to move forward with that. We have not had any comment on the placement of the spa - we feel it is located in a perfect spot for looking out to the ocean.

This home is right in downtown Carlsbad, so parking can be a bit tougher, mainly during summer and weekends. This unit actually didn't used to have a designated garage space, and we recently assigned one of the garage spaces for the unit. The garage opening is standard size, and we have several guests with large SUV's that park in the garages. It just takes a bit more care pulling in and out.
Regarding the gates: the gate to the north of the property is actually only supposed to be used for A and B. The C code is not even programmed on that gate. The gate on the south end is designated for C and the code works on that gate. We do apologize for the confusion and will try and make this clearer to future guests. If you are ever locked out, do not hesitate to call us, we have a 24/7 emergency line for issues such as this.

We are sorry that your stay was not everything that you hoped it would be. We would be happy to assist you in finding a better suited property if you decide to return to us in the future. Thank you again for your feedback ~ The team at Beachfront Only.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay here. We had a rental car only on first day, returned it and stayed for a whole month without one. Great transportation close by.....Coaster train and bus south to San Diego or North to Oceanside. Took Amtrak on one occasion to L.Angeles from Oceanside, only about 90 minutes away and that was grand.
The unit is indeed small, but the view and hot tub make up for that in a big way.
Dolphins and suffers galor, while a bit away from the noisy part of the beach.
This was January of course, meaning it was not as warm as summertime but still warmer than where we were coming from!

Management did sort of mess up our time at the end by needing to start remodeling the top condos and asking if we would mind moving for the last 3 nights to another "upgraded" unit in Encinitas. We agreed, but felt that was a bit rushed as they moved all their tools, etc to outside our unit before we even left. The last weekend there was no unit phone working and wi-fi was kaput. Sigh!
Too bad. We had enjoyed everything else otherwise. And my guess is, since remodeling does not happen all the time, future stays may be as enjoyable as the first part of our stay.
It was just our "luck" I guess.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect getaway for birthday weekend!

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

WOW, what a perfect place to spend a birthday weekend with my friends. The condo we rented from Beach Front Only had everything we wanted and more. We got in late and watched the sunset from our patio over looking the beach while we enjoyed margaritas. So glad we spent a little more for the 2 bedroom 2 bath, really nice not to have to share a bathroom and have a full kitchen. We headed into town for dinner and the were lots of restaurants to choose from just 2 blocks away, we even found the Ocean House with a live band, great birthday surprise. Didn’t realize there is so much to do in Carlsbad, and we never used our car for 3 days! The beach was awesome, we even walked down a block and found Offshore Surf Shop that has surfboard rentals and lessons for next time we come. Definitely coming back in Aug or Sept, can’t beat the location and the condo was fabulous, we spent every evening in the spa relaxing, hoping to make it for a week next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Retreat by the Beach

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

This was a great property for our whole family. We wanted a property that would work for all of us: me, my husband, our kids and both sets of grandparents---which is no easy task. The property was perfect for us. The location is amazing: everything we could possibly want or need was in walking distance---I didn’t have to worry about packing the kids up in the car or the grandparents having to walk far. The front room for the property is wonderful---plenty of space for everyone to relax---and a big, beautiful picture window overlooking the ocean---the adults enjoyed watching the sunset and talking while the kids watched cartoons on the flat screen TV. We also enjoyed the nice, big dining table---all eight of us could sit and enjoy a meal together. The deck was also a wonderful feature: it was great because my husband and I could visit with our parents and have “adult time," with full visibility of our kids playing on the beach---whether sitting in the front room or on the deck, we were able to keep an eye on them. The hot tub was a great perk too! We kept the heat low when the kids were in there so it was more like having them soak in a warm bath and when the adults wanted to enjoy the hot tub, we turned it up to suit our preferences. We hope to make this an annual retreat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful location

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

We stayed at this location for one week and is a wonderful location. Walk to town and to a wonderful mexican resturant. Out side of the condo was great also --to have our own patio and hot tub watching the sunset and ocean. The inside is really small. It is decorated very nicely but no dresser in bedroom and no where to put the suitcases. Also no counter in bathroom. It is great to have your own washer and dryer. Had a wonderful time

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Experience!

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Our stay in Carlsbad was a great experience. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by wonderful locals. The property was well maintained and included wonderful views of the ocean. We actually witnessed dolphins surfing in the breakers. We’ve seen dolphins near this location before, but never this close. 4th of July fireworks could be seen up and down the beach. The local restaurants were tasty and we’re already missing the knockout burger. I highly recommend this location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review