reviews for: listing #71266 - Hot Springs, North Carolina Cabin rental

Creek View Cabin, A Cozy Peaceful Mountain Retreat
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $140 /nt
    $840 - $840 /wk

sort by:

Exactly what we were looking for!

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

We can't say enough good things about Creek Side Cabin. It was everything we expected and so much more. The cabin was adorable, clean and in outstanding condition. Even the yard was immaculately maintained! The artwork were all original pieces and simply amazing! Bill and Liz were so kind and obviously cared about the company in the cabin, which was very comforting.
We enjoyed nightly fires with our two small children and our Lakeland terrier. The cows in the pasture in front provided (quite and a non-smelly) entertainment all day long while listening to the the creek. The mountain view was stunning (especially in the morning). A million fireflies provided the kids something extra to collect (and release) while the sun was setting. The creek was a lot of fun to explore, cool off and fish. My husband actually caught a large enough trout for a couple of bites enjoyed by all.
Make sure to check out Bill and Liz's home studios. Being someone that crafts at home, I especially enjoyed the tour and talent! Also, drive up to Max Patch for an unbelievable 360 degree view of the surrounding mountains! I don't think I've ever seen something more gorgeous in nature!
Thank you again, Bill and Liz for allowing us to have an amazing vacation that I know won't soon be forgotten. We look forward to visiting soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything you see in the write up....and MORE

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

The photographs and description of Creek View are accurate however I think both are understated. The cottage is very well appointed and impeccably clean....very comfortable with two porch/deck areas that are both delightful. We rented Creek View for a week and it was the perfect 'home base' for Hot Springs, AT, drives and hikes on Newfound Gap and the Blue Ridge Parkway.

I especially appreciated the gas stove (partial to gas vs. electric), an ice maker - love ice water 'with' ice cubes - very nice pots, pans, utensils etc. 'cooking at home'.

The pastures and the cows grazing too were an added bonus to the tranquil and soothing babble of the close by creek. If you are seeking refuge and peace and comfort - the Creek View Cabin will meet if not exceed your expectations!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful cabin for a stay in the mountains

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at creekview cabin. The cabin is very neat, clean and well equipped, and having the owner nearby is a plus for any questions that arise during your stay. The rental process was easy from start to finish. Having the creek visible from the deck and easy access from a path in the woods was great. It was fun to explore the creek and just relax by the shore in the hammock. At night, fireflies put on a show while we sat around the fire pit. The location near Hot Springs and Asheville allows for exploring Max Patch mountain, rafting the French Broad River, relaxing in a Hot Spring tub, and shopping/dining in Asheville all within an hours drive. Navigating the mountain roads was an adventure in itself for us flatlanders. I'd definitely recommend this cabin to those wanting a NC mountain vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Everything listed on the website was exactly how we found it when we arrived. The cabin was nice and clean and well equipped. We had snowfall apon arrival which made oru stay so beautiful, enjoyable, and relaxing. Great owners nearby if you happen to leave your light on in your car and have a dead battery the next day. Can't get this in a hotel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful and Homey

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Creek View Cabin is fairly and accurately depicted in the pictures. What you do not get from the pictures is how peaceful it is and how wonderful that creek sounds. Yet it is convenient to the town of Hot Springs, which is about 8 or 9 miles up the road. The owners, Bill and Liz, where wonderful to work with and were very accommodating. We loved the nightly light display from the glow worms and thoroughly enjoyed the fire pit area. The hammock by the stream was so beautiful and relaxing as well. The beds were extremely comfortable and the stove worked properly. I would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

delighted vacationer

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

wonderful cabin with caring owners nearby.Original art work, tub & shower, very comfy chairs/bed,big yard for dogs/kids,secluded area with chairs/hammock right on stream, surrounded with numerous hikes, stream for kids to play in. Kitchen stocked with condiments, spices, etc. even a candy dish filled with candy. Had everything you ned and more. More reasonable than any comparable as no dog fee, cleaning fee, tax added on.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great cabin and owners

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

I met a friend for a girl's weekend away and we had a fantastic time/! The cabin was exactly as it was advertised, clean and perfect for a weekend away. Bill was great to work with and prompt with all of my inquiries. He provided great driving directions to the cabin. Although, I will caution future visitors to watch the mileage as it is easy to pass the turn. We loved seeing their studios and getting personalized pieces of jewelry and art.

It was definitely worth the drive and the money! I highly recommend the property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect mountain getaway!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

Our stay at Creek View Cabin greatly exceeded all of our expectations. The surroundings are beautiful and the owners were beyond hospitable in every way. You can hear the river flowing from everywhere around and throughout the cabin. While our focus was relaxing at the cabin, it's obvious that there are many wonderful things to do in the area. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone looking to get away and relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect mountain getaway!

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

Our stay at Creek View Cabin greatly exceeded all of our expectations. The surroundings are beautiful and the owners were beyond hospitable in every way. You can hear the river flowing from everywhere around and throughout the cabin. While our focus was relaxing at the cabin, it's obvious that there are many wonderful things to do in the area. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone looking to get away and relax.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Weekend at creek view cabins

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

Accommodations were perfect, immaculate, very clean, well maintained and stocked. Loved the setting, great time hiking the area, really appreciated the book that was provided, helped us find hiking trails that we really enjoyed. Had a wonderful time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Creek View Cabin provided the perfect place for my husband and I to relax and rejuvenate.

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Cabin View Creek provided all the conveniences of home along with the serenity of a cabin setting. We loved having access to WIFI, a full amenity kitchen, and the washer and dryer. When my husband and I arrived in the pouring rain on our motorcycles, we appreciated being able to pull under the covered car port. Our days were spent enjoying the area on our motorcycles as the cabin was so close to so many beautiful areas to ride, and things to see and do. We spent a day whitewater rafting, sliding on Slippery Rock, and riding the Blue Ridge Parkway. In the evenings, we enjoyed sitting by the campfire listening to the creek and watching the fireflies light up the sky. We truly enjoyed our stay, meeting Bill and Liz Weldner, and seeing their art studio. We do hope to return someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved my visit at Creek View Cabin

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

I stayed at Creek View cabin over Thanksgiving weekend and only wish my stay could have been longer. The views from the cabin are beautiful. The cabin was clean and was very accommodating. Bill & Liz were so nice. I definitely want to go back. Hot Springs is such a charming town. Enjoyed visitng the Artisun Gallery.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful cabin

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

My brother, a friend and I rented this cabin for three nights during mid-October for the fall colors. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. The cabin was cozy with a beautiful view and equipped with everything we needed.We hiked up to Max Patch for a picnic lunch, then spent the evening relaxing at the Hot Springs Spa. We definatley recommend this cabin for small parties.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful, if too short, visit at Heaven’s Place, and we couldn’t recommend it more to anyone looking to relax, enjoy the surroundings, enjoy each other, and just “be.”

“Cozy” can sometimes be code for “cramped” but the house could easily accommodate four and the two full baths eliminate any awkward traffic jams you might encounter at other places.

The house was so comfortable, so clean and had an open feel to it. You could never go outside and still have a relaxing stay, but the setting makes that a moot point. The rushing waters of the stream provide beautiful background music, while Bluff Mountain by day and the stars overheard by night add their own beauty. And the hammock on the stream bank that is completely secluded yet close to the house is a special treat.

We very much enjoyed the extra care Bill and Liz took in outfitting the house. Fresh linens and towels, having the spices, condiments and dressings already on hand, and the original artwork decorating the house are things that are rarely offered but always appreciated.

Being so close to the Max Patch Bald and the Appalachian Trail gave me what I hope is not a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to explore them, and a rafting excursion on the French Broad was another highlight of the trip. Heaven’s Place’s location really gives you the opportunity to do as much or as little as you wish.

We were in the area attending events in Greeneville, Tenn. Our hope was to simply enjoy some scenery while avoiding a dreary hotel stay. s We left with much more than that!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Secluded with Great View

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We loved our stay with our lab at Creek View. Having rented many homes over the years we have experienced both ends of the spectrum - Bill and Liz have created a little haven in Hot Springs that is dedicated to the enjoyment of their guests. Totally equipped from towels to mustard; washer and dryer (good for those dirty clothes after treking and jumping in the creeks!); outdoor deck,enclosed porch; and a comfy LR for indoor time. Fire pit for fall evenings would be amazing but in summer no need to light a fire. We brought beach chairs and just moved them around the grounds as the sun moved. Always a breeze. There is a individual a/c unit in the LR; but opening doors and letting the breeze in was the best way to experience the mountain air. Evenings were always cool in July.

There is a huge book detailing trails and streams around the area; where to go eat (bring "must have foods" as grocery stores are very basic) however, we found plenty from the local store in Hot Springs to grill out one night; Iron Horse was nice and there is a great cafe opened on weekends at Trust Store. Bill is there to answer any questions just a phone call away; and an invite to see his incredible studio should be a must. Meeting the owners is as much fun as seeing the area. I'd go back just to visit with them! Our lab was treated as a guest and she had a ball walking many stream side trails listed in the info book - jumping in for a swim; coming back to the cabin and hanging out in the yard watching the cattle across the drive. There is a wonderful spot through the wooded trail by the cabin with a hammock, chairs, and your own entrance to sit on rocks in the creek or do as we did and just plunk down in the stream. A wonderful getaway!
Do not miss Max Patch, Laurel Trail and the Trails at the campgrounds down the road esp.with a dog; ours loved the water features.. All are listed in the cabin's book, with many more we were unable to get to but plan on going back to experience. There is a hose convenient to the back door to rinse off and towel dry your pet; nice thing to do to keep the cabin clean as the owners allow pets and respecting their "guest" quarters will assure they continue this policy. As you may know it is difficult to find such nice places that take pets!!!

Creek View is maintained more as "guest house" than a rental house; that should be the quest for all rental properties! Well done Bill and Liz and Thank You for a special experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent place to stay

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

An excellent place to stay. The location was wonderful. It felt as you were away from it all but there was still TV, WiFi and a telephone with long distance calling available at no extra cost. Nice to relax on the deck part of which was screened. Lots of information about trails and local attractions. Max Patch was well worth the drive as were the trails at Rocky Bluff Campground. We have a teenage son who enjoyed it all, the WiFi and dierctv helped when we wanted to relax on the deck.

We all went whitewater rafting (Huck Finn) and made side trips to Asheville and Gem Mountain (Spruce Pine approx. hour and 30 minutes away) where you really can find real gems.

Bill and Liz are wonderful hosts who really care about their guests stay. They are laid back but available when you need them. They live close by but the cabin is still private.

Roads are very windy and recommend arriving in daylight at least the first time and pick up groceries from Ingles on New Leicester Hwy (if coming in from Asheville) as choices limited near to cabin.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great, peaceful cabin, secluded and relaxing

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We stayed at Creek View during the hottest week of the year! It was rough for a couple days because the heat was so excessive but we had a great vacation. This cabin has everyone one would need - tons of thoughtful touches from spices, fishing poles, hiking sticks, and picnic coolers to detailed trail maps, books and a charcoal-ready grill. This was by far the most "stocked" cabin I've ever stayed in. The owner was very nice. I even saw some of his artwork and jewelry at the ArtiSun Gallery in town and love the necklace and bracelet I purchased. Great place, loved it.

If you are looking for tons to do, it is a 20 minute (9 curvy miles) to town (Hot Springs) and about a 45 minute ride to Asheville. Not that much in town, but enough to enjoy one's self. Solitude abounds, which was really nice. Lots of hikes in the area too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most relaxing vacation ever!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

May 26 – June 1
My husband and I were looking for a place to unwind and we couldn’t have asked for more at the Creek View Cabin. The house was perfect, clean, well stocked, comfortable bed, ceiling fans on the warm days, and much more.
My husband fly fished daily in the creek and caught several trout. I spent the days listening to music, beading jewelry on the kitchen table or on the porch. The surrounding environment is truly conducive to creativity. The landscapes are just beautiful.
We also spent a day in Cherokee. My husband on a guided fly fishing trip and I took a jewelry beading class with some local ladies, which was a treat. As Northeasterners, we found everyone so warm and friendly.
Bill and Liz were very gracious to share their studios, home and artwork. They are blessed to live in such an inspirational place.
If you’re looking for a scenic, peaceful and serene vacation spot, this is it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place for a relaxing weekend in the mountains

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Creek View Cabin and just loved it. The owners are great people and extremely accommodating. The cabin itself was clean, well set-up and nicely furnished.

The creek behind it is beautiful and was fun to fly fish for the small stocked trout. Evenings on the deck bring the comforting sounds of the creek and a firefly show the likes of which we have never seen.

Hot Springs is close by and fun to explore with its quaint shops and restaurants.

If you are looking for a mountain retreat for a relaxing and fun getaway, look no further. We highly recommend the Creek View Cabin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxation at it's Finest

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We had planned to attend the Bluff Mountain Festival and needed a place to stay. What a wonderful discovery when we found the Creek View Cabin. We booked it and were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived there. It was exactly as advertised. Bill and Liz are terrific hosts and made us feel so at home. The cabin is clean, comfortable, and well appointed, just like home. We had a terrific weekend both at the festival and at the cabin. Nothing could be better than relaxing around the fire pit or on the deck, watching the millions of fireflies, sipping some wine, and listening to the water rushing by. The cabin is about 9 miles from the quiet town of Hot Springs with lots of area history. We had a delicious breakfast at the Smoky Mountain Diner in town. We will definitely return and are already talking about booking Creek View Cabin for the fall color season. Thanks so much Bill and Liz for a wonderful weekend!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxation at it's best

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We had planned to attend the Bluff Mountain Festival and needed a place to stay. What a wonderful discovery when I saw the listing for Creek View Cabin. We booked the cabin and had a terrific weekend both at the cabin and at the Festival. Bill and Liz are perfect hosts and their cabin is clean, comfortable, super well appointed, just like home. Nothing can beat relaxing in the evening around the fire pit or on the deck sipping some wine and watching the fireflies while listening to the waters of the creek. What you see in the online listing is exactly what you'll find when you arrive. The cabin is 9 miles from the quiet town of Hot Springs. Make sure you stop at the Smoky Mountain Diner for a delicious breakfast. We're already planning to return in the fall for the color season. Bill and Liz, Thanks so much!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Creek View Cabin--Home away from Home

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Our stay was wonderful! The cabin was cute, clean, and comfortable. We enjoyed exploring the property, fishing, roasting marshmallows, and taking in the beautiful surroundings! I would definitely recommend this cabin to friends and look forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

What a lovely place to unwind in this hectic world! Awesome, rushing stream is a soothing lullaby to my soul! The cabin was clean and had everything you needed and then some, including bandaids and aspirin. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The screened porch was a favorite place to read or relax. Firepit was nice and the stars were brilliant. Bill came by to introduce himself when we arrived and to make sure all was in order. Very nice gentleman! The informational binder the owners have put together was a great help. We went to Max Patch Bald, a very beautuful place. We also rented a natural spring filled hottub at the Hot Springs resort. Very relaxing and warm with soothing minerals. We had a very good breakfast at the Smoky Mountain Diner and nice evening meal with live entertainment at the Iron Horse Station. Only one complaint about the whole weekend....it ended too soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful, wonderful get away!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

The Creek View cabin was the perfect place to stay: close enough to Asheville to enjoy a great lunch and far enough away to hike the AT or a quiet mountain. Incredibly cozy and clean, the cabin had everything we needed and more: clean linens and towels, clean dishes and plenty of condiments and spices, firewood, fishing poles, satellite tv for playing music and a bowl of chocolates!

The local guide Bill and Liz provided was essential to our trip! The hikes were exquisite and maps, very useful. Definitely see Max Patch, if nothing else!

We will definitely be back for more creekside rests, views of Bluff Mountain and excellent hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful get-away!

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

The cabin was so cozy & provided everything we needed. Loved listening to the river rush by & the mountain view was awesome.
We visited the Biltmore in Ashville & the town of Hot Springs while we were there.Our idea of a great vacation is to read, nap & just relax and we were able to do that in front of the fireplace everyday. Also took a couple of walks by the river & in the woods with our dog who loved it too!
Bill & Liz provided superior customer service & were very friendly. We would recommend the cabin to anyone who wants to get away from it all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

9th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

This was a wonderful experience for my husband and I. We were looking for a different place to celebrate our 9th wedding anniversary and we found a little place in heaven. This cabin has it all. You can forget about everything and sit back, relax and enjoy paradise in here. The owner makes you feel like family when you meet with him. We can wait to go gack to this piece of heaven in the Creek Cabin. We love this pleace, thank you for make it available for everyone to enjoy.

Maria and Gregory Roberson
Kissimmee, Florida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great mountain get away

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2011

This was a lovely place to spend our 30th anniversary. It was very clean and the view was magnificent! Bill and Liz were great hosts....can't wait to visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

My husband and I looked for a while for a place in the mountains to spend our 10th Wedding Anniversary. We ran across the ad for the creek view cabin and the description fit what we were looking for. What a find! My husband loved fishing the stream in front of the cabin and he caught a couple of the little trout! He was happy! I got to relax in the wraparound porch and enjoy the beautiful fall colors and the peace and quiet:)
Thank you Liz and Bill for your wonderful hospitality and sharing your lovely cabin with us.
We are looking forward to our next trip up there:)
Thank you,
Chris and Ariana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Top 10 things we LOVE about Creek View Cabin

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

What a perfect, peaceful getaway! Here are the top 10 things we love about Creek View Cabin:

1) Free lightning bug show every night
2) That noise you hear in the background is a stream, not the freeway
3) The hammock
4) No mosquitoes
5) Sleeping with the windows open
6) The stars are like a sparkling blanket over the mountains at night
7) Beautiful sunsets
8) No cell phone service (yessssss!!!)
9) The friendly wave from the folks you pass on the road
10) The "Congressmen" sitting on the rock wall across from the Triangle in Hot Springs

Our time here was too short, so we will be back - next time as Mr. & Mrs! :-)

Thanks for giving us a beautiful setting for a proposal and engagement! Until next time -

Angie & Clint

PS - You know the funny thing is, Angie - she wrote all of that, and I agree with her. When you imagine how an event in your life will be, and then it turns out even better than you imagine, well then that's a blessing.

I was blessed to be here with the love of my life enjoying a time that came to be more freeing and more meaningful than I had ever imagined.

Thank you - Clint

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

We liked this place so much, we rearranged our schedule to stay an extra day. We want to go back to enjoy it at different times of the year. If you appreciate nature, quiet, and beauty, this is your place. Nestled in lush forest with a mountain view and a bubbling stream, Creek View Cabin is a private little gem. With a screened porch on one side and an open deck on the other, you can choose your spot for relaxing. Bill and Liz were very accommodating and provided everything we needed to make our stay as comfortable as possible, and then left us alone to our private retreat. The drive to Asheville is scenic but if you want to stay in the area, the Trust General Store and Cafe has great, fresh food prepared by Chef Cliff. His pulled pork BBQ and fresh peach pie are a must! If you're visiting during blueberry season, take advantage of the fresh berries at the general store! We can't wait to return to Creek View Cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Getaway

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

We have to echo the sentiments of those that came before us. We left the cabin this morning after a lovely 3 night stay. Thank you Bill and Liz for sharing this most remarkable getaway spot. In addition to watching the fireflies, we also had fun watching the groundhogs sunning on a rock across the creek and eating in the yard below the cabin. I would recommend anyone coming to bring binoculars.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Relaxing Get Away Spot

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

We wanted to visit the Hot Springs area decided to rent a cabin. This was the first time that we tried VRBO and found the website very helpful. Creek View Cabin seemed perfect to us. It exceeded our expectations, and I'm afraid set the bar very high for future cabin rentals. It was exactly as described, and better. It was incredibly comfortable and I was amazed at how thoughtfully it was stocked. It felt like home, but better because it was in the mountains of North Carolina, and had a creek in the front that could be heard from the deck! We arrived late at night, and when we went to the deck we were greeted by the beautiful stars in the sky and the most amazing "Firefly Fireworks" show from the trees in the ridge. While staying at Creek View Cabin we hiked Max Patch Mountain, had an exciting day of whitewater rafting on the French Broad River with Huck Finn rafting, visited Ascheville, and also hiked some of the local trails recommended by the owners. We loved relaxing on the deck which also included a screened in porch area, and made a camp fire one night in the fire pit. The owners Bill and Liz were very nice and interesting people, they made us feel so welcomed and comfortable. It was a wonderful retreat and we would love to go back again. I'm sure that the autumn colors must be beautiful. Thank you for sharing Creek View Cabin with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing by the Brook

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

This charming creekside cabin was a relaxing get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life! It was nicely furnished with attention to little details like flashlights and binoculars which you often forget when getting away. The kids loved the big giant stuffed bear in their room and playing in the creek. The wraparound porch was a great place to have coffee in the morning and a glass of wine at night. Beautiful drive to Asheville to see the Biltmore Estate and lots of hiking nearby. The Max Patch trail is worth the trip with spectacular views and a great picnic spot. The cabin was clean, well maintained, and the towels smelled just like they had been taken out of the dryer! This is the perfect place to get away for some much needed family time!! Bill was kind enough to introduce himself and was just down the road if we needed something but allowing us plenty of privacy, as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful relaxing weekend

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

If you’re planning a trip to Hot Springs you need to stay here. We celebrated our anniversary and had a great time. The cabin was clean, quiet, comfortable, well stocked, and what a view!!! It’s exactly as advertised. We hiked up Max Patch then relaxed in a hot mineral bath at the Hot Springs Spa. We had two delicious meals at the Iron Horse Tavern and the Smokey Mountain Diner. We took a nap on the hammock by the creek then roasted hotdogs and marshmallows on the fire pit. Bill and Liz – your cabin is wonderful. Thank you for everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

creekside cabin

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

This was a great find.It was clean everything on the web site was exactly what was there.I will definitely recomend and will be coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

creekside cabin

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

Everthing about this cabin was exactly what you expected. I would recomend staying here to anyone.
It was very clean, photos were accurate, description perfect.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

This is a very neat and clean cabin located in the North Carolina mountains. Well appointed and trouble free. And while it was too cold for us to sit out at the fire pit (firewood stacked near by) we did enjoy the gas fireplace inside. The owners, Bill and Liz, are right up the road, and very helpful answering any questions about the cabin and area. The four of us trailered two motorcycles up and there was ample room for the car,trailer and the bikes, not to mention a beautiful area to ride.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Relaxing!

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Great place to stay. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed escpecially the kitchen. The creek was beautiful and we really enjoyed using the firepit. We hope to go back with our kids next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2010

What a great place to escape!!!! We went for a one night stay and then wished we had booked a longer visit! The cabin is well appointed and had all the amenities of home. The cabin was very clean. The creek was beautiful and we enjoyed fishing from the creek banks. Making smores at the fire pit was the perfect ending to our day. We will be back again soon for a longer stay

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing and Peaceful

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

What a lovely cabin! We enjoyed our stay here very much. The cabin is extremely clean, well appointed and comfortable. The view of Bluff Mountain off the back deck is spectacular. We especially enjoyed the screened-in porch at dusk. The gurgle of the creek was wonderful to sleep by along with the crickets.

Hot Springs is just down the road and Asheville is less than an hour away. Liz and Bill are accessible but not intrusive. I highly recommend this to anyone that wants a few days away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

We have a new favorite place to stay when visiting Hot Springs!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Little Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

WoW!!! My family & I had a great time at the cabin. This was the cleanest cabin we have ever stayed at. We have been visiting the mountains for about four year now. We did not have to worry about anything while we where here. We all loved sitting in the river. Thanks for giving us a great vacation, BIll & Liz!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Summer getaway

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

Very tidy and neat cabin. Lots of extras--great linens, spices and condiments, etc. Very nice location with the beautiful sounds of the creek to sleep by. Remote yet close enought to town for dinner or adventures. Tons of great hiking, rafting, etc. Terrific artwork--a nice place to get away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful cabin in beautiful location

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

We really enjoyed our weekend stay here and had a wonderful time. The cabin was very clean and comfortably cozy. Nothing was lacking. The view was beautiful and the hammock by the creek was great. Meet the owner while walking and he could not have been nicer. The local restaurants were very friendly and the blackberry pancakes in Trust were delicious. As a previous reviewer mentioned, if you plan on cooking, you might want to stop before getting into town for supplies. We would highly recommend this cabin and look forward to visiting again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

enchanting time in the mountains

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

We have rented cabins and condos through VRBO many times. Our experiences have always been good ones but this cabin and host were the best! Very clean cabin in a quiet location with every amenity you could desire in a mountain cabin. The creek is noisy and lovely, the decks and yard and firepit are beautiful, and the inside of the cabin is simply perfect. The beds were comfy, the kitchen well-equipped, and everything was TRULY clean. The owners are artists and it shows in the extra touches throughout the property. Great area for exploring the outdoors and Hot Springs is small but charming. We would recommend this cabin without hesitation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A lovely cabin

Review submitted: July 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend and it was a great getaway. The cabin was spotless and well-stocked. It was just the two of us but you could have easily fit a family of four or more. The place is nicely appointed with interesting art on the wall, a bookcase filled with local guides and some videos as well. We especially liked the view of the mountains at dusk from the porch. There were fireflies by the creek and it was very beautiful. The owners live down the road if you need anything but you can't see their house and the cabin felt very private. One tip: if you want to cook, stop at the store in Hot Springs on the way in. The closer one in Trust, NC has a great cafe but the groceries are pretty basic. In any case, I highly recommend this cabin. We'll be back as soon as we can. I've stayed at a lot of home away properties and this was the best by far.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review