reviews for: listing #713 - Bald Head Island, North Carolina Villa rental

Oceanview Villa on Bald Head Island (Frost/Villa 20) New WOW
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Villas
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $350 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,400 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Trip!

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

Thanksgiving on Bald Head Island was wonderful. I have stayed on Bald Head many times but "The Frost Villa 20" was tops! When you walk in the door you just get this warm cozy and comfortable feeling. Every thing you would need is there. Thanksgiving dinner at the BHI club was out of this world. Jack and Sharon have done a great job with their villa and I certainly would love to rent from them again. Even though we live only about an hour away, a trip to Bald Head Island puts you in another world. I love BHI !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation & Rejuvenation (Hickory, NC)

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

My review has erased twice, but I am once again back to write a review...shorter than the others. That's how passionately I feel about our time in this Villa . My husband and I just returned from a week of total relaxation and rejuvenation. We travel quite and bit, but agreed that this was one of our best vacations ever. We made no plans and woke up each morning to let the day unfold. There was never anything missing that was needed to make the day fun, easy, adventuresome, and perfect. The villa is beautiful. Sharon and Jack have thought of everything. Jack was a joy to work with. Just as he said the door was open when we arrived, and we walked into the perfect setting for the perfect week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

Villa 20 on Bald Head Island is truly "Home Away From Home". We returned to Villa 20 again this year for another fabulous vacation. Jack and Sharon have thought of every detail to offer a vacation rental to meet everyone's needs and desires. Packing for vacation is a joy when heading to this destination. We have stayed in other villas and they simply do not compare. This villa is clean and tastefully decorated!! If you desire to cook, the kitchen is well stocked and there is a grill. There are movies for all ages, games, books, current magazines. Don't worry about packing beach chairs - it's all there....plus bikes and two golf carts. The best part is the scenic view - you have the ocean and the lagoons. Nature at it's best - alligators, fox, deer, fish, and turtles! If you need a little retail therapy the shops are great. The market will meet your grocery needs and the restaurants on the island will satisfy all ages. We also love the Shoals Club and find it worth the extra fee for additional entertainment options. (The only problem we have ever encountered is not wanting to leave and return to routine - even our active teenagers prefer to vacation at Bald Head). All this to say - Villa 20 is a fantastic place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is families like yours that take great care of our home and show you appreciate the investment that make it easy to justify making the annual investment in our home for our renter family. Thanks for the review but more importantly - thanks for the care. Glad you enjoyed another Bald Head vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July 4th holiday

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We've just returned from a great week at Villa 20. It's a lovely place to stay, very clean and neat and well maintained, and tastefully decorated with a beach - seashell theme. The beds were about the most comfortable we've slept on in any travel or rental situation.

From the villa it's an easy walk across the road to the nearest beach access. Our five-year-old granddaughter insisted on riding there on her pink bicycle equipped with training wheels. Cars aren't allowed on Bald Head. Aside from infrequent sightings of maintenance or emergency vehicles, the only traffic on the roads are bicycles and golf carts, making it extremely safe for children.

The high point of our week was the July 4th parade, with numerous golf carts decorated most imaginatively. We also enjoyed watching turtles and herons foraging in the shallow water just behind the villa. Two baby alligators hung out there too.

But the best thing about our stay was how responsive the owner, Jack Frost, was to our questions and concerns. It was a pleasure to know we could rely on him to deal very quickly with the inevitable glitches that arise.

We'd definitely recommend this villa to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A gem in BHI

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

We loved staying here. Bald Head Island is such a magical place and this villa has everything you could possibly need, which made us feel at home. Jack is just great, very responsive and makes you feel like a friend visiting. Our two young daughters loved it too.

We went on the Turtle Walk one night and another night went to the Sunset Celebration which is every Wednesday evening during the summer, it was so much fun and you can't beat having smores on the beach over a bonfire.
We have rented a lot over the years in various places and Jack is the kindest, most responsive owner we have encountered. Everything was so clean and well thought out. We are returning for a second visit in July and cannot wait.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Repeat visitors to this villa

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

We are in the midst of our second stay at this Villa and concur with all the positive reviews on this site. The property has everything a vacationer needs and more. It's very comfortable and clean. Having two carts is a nice bonus. But most of all, the owners are are just fantastic. Jack treated us as if we were friends last year when we first approached him about renting the Villa. And upon our request for a return visit, he asked questions to get a personal update about us. He is very engaging and helpful and kind, which takes any anxiety out of the rental process. We are annual visitors to Bald Head Island, and I expect we will return to this Villa again - sooner rather than later, we hope! (A quirk in VRBO - Ignore nickname - this time, it is just me, my husband and my mother-in-law.)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean View Villa with Two Carts

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Loved the location of this Villa, within walking distance to the beach access. Everything was as described and more. Couldn't ask for better accommodations and the owner is a pleasure to work with and very helpful. I believe we covered the island several times....can you say 20 miles on a bicycle gives you a spectacular view of the island. Jack has made sure that you have anything you need to enjoy your time on Bald Head. The Villa gives you a comfortable away from home feeling and the renovations make it unique. The lower decks are ideal for just sitting back and enjoying the rhythm of the island...no rush, no noise except for the birds and the ocean. Upper decks give you spectacular views of the ocean and the lagoon. I can honestly recommend this Villa without any reservation. The description and photos are exactly what you are going to find when you arrive. The photos are current and the villa is clean and well maintained. I hope to return soon to this very unique island. Maybe the next time the alligators won't be sleeping but we did see deer,turtles and herons. What a great place to kick off your shoes and relax. Thanks for providing a great escape from the hustle and bustle of the city life.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best 35th Wedding Anniversary we've ever had :)

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

This was our first time to BHI but it won't be our last.

We had a wonderful experience that began even before we got there as Jack provided us with so much helpful information , we felt like we had been there dozens of times. He was very patient with me and all my preparation questions. I was a little concerned about the ferry and tram operations, but was amazed at how smoothly everything went - in spite of Hurricane Sandy's approach. I won't be bringing as many provisions as I did as the Maritime Market is very well stocked and the meals we had out were excellent.

The location on the island is ideal - convenient to everything from the beach to the Market to the marina and very picturesque with views of the ocean, great sunsets and the turtles in the pond. Though we did not have any, having some grass for kids to play and places where they could ride their bikes safely off the main road, was a plus to this grandma!

Villa 20 itself was perfect for us. The owners have out done themselves in seeing to their guests every comfort in a large age range. Pride of ownership is apparent the moment you get off the tram. The decor is calm and relaxing, classy and comfy. And a nice change from the all too familiar "beachy blue". It was immaculate and well equipped for our every need - and some we didn't - we never had a chance to use the bikes - the golf cart was way too much fun! We felt right at home.

The only problem we had had nothing to do with the Villa - it was that darn hurricane but Jack was in contact with us continuously,even offering to have us stay if we needed. Very generous. Unless you have a really huge family, there is really no reason to stay anywhere else on BHI. We will be back and we will bring those grandkids to play in the yard.

Thanks for your hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Summer Vacation

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

My family stayed at Frost Villa at the end of July 2012 and couldn't have been happier. Jack was available throughout the planning to give us tips on what we might need to bring (practically nothing), gave us info about what is available on the island, and what we might like to do while we were there. All his recommendations were spot on and we had a very relaxed and enjoyable time. Included in the rate was access to the Bald Head Island Club, which is practically next door, and we also purchased a temporary membership to the Shoals Club at the other end of the island. We did spend most of our time at the Shoals Club and their beach, the water was a bit calmer there, and we enjoyed the long, long walk along the beach there. Two golf carts were available, and the villa itself was much nicer than most vacation spots we've visited. Lots of videos, books and games if you get tired of staring out to sea, and Jack has done a supurb job of building a deck below the upper deck that faces out onto the pond. I did spend a few rainy hours down there reading and watching the birds catch fish. The villa was nicely furnished and clean upon our arrival and his property manager was available for any questions or problems. Everything you need to cook most any meal is in the kitchen and the island grocery has all the supplies. There are several restaurants and shops on the island for when you might need to get out of the sun and buy souveniers, clothing, sports gear, almost anything you can think of. The Nature Center was very nice, and we got to see sea turtles hatch out from their nest. We did have one issue with one of the golf carts during our stay, and Jack was immediately reachable by phone text. Don't forget to visit the lighthouse while you're there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FABULOUS VILLA-GREAT PLACE TO STAY ON BHI!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

Fabulous place to stay on BHI!! My better half and I have been vacationing on BHI for 5 years now and we've always liked to stay @ different places each year just to see what the island has to offer. Well, we have found our new favorite place and will definitely make Villa 20 our preferred destination on BHI! You can't beat the accomodations, amenities, and location. Can't beat the price of accomodations for what you get either.

The Owners seems to have thought of everything and paid real attention to detail. Not only with their home on BHI but amenities as well (2 golf carts, bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas, beach games, etc.). Their Villa I would describe as "Beach Contemporary". It has a great feel and some really cool decor and furnishings. Right down to the nice updated bathrooms with flooring, tile, and plush linens. It's by far the coolest, coziest place we've stayed. It truly feels like home. Very clean and comfortable. They have also provided a gas grill, updated the back deck for a sitting area next to the lagoon complete with a swing and outdoor sound system for easy listening. The upper deck that provides the ocean view is great for watching sunsets as well. And if you have small children they have also provided a crib and high chair.

The location of this Villa on BHI is very convenient too. The beach is 200 yards away, it's pretty much centrally located and has good access to the BHI Club, Shoals Club, is close to the Market for groceries, close to the Harbour where the Ferry and some of the restaurants are. It's also right next to the Pelicatessin which is a nice quaint little pool side eatery that has great sandwiches and pizza. Having 2 golf carts for family memebers wanting to do seperate things on the Island is a blessing too. Once again, the owners have pretty much thought of everything!

And I can't say enough about the owners attentiveness either. The Owners not only provide a great place to stay but they are so easy to deal with and so informative about Island activities, events, Ferry to and from, maps, and amenities. And if you did have any issues Jack is just a phone call away and very accomodating. They truly bend over backwards to make sure your stay is a great one. Very professional too in organizing all of your vacation logistics (scheduling, payment, etc.)

If you're looking for a great place to stay on BHI-give Frost Villa 20 a try. We highly recommend it-You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Villa

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

We had a wonderful time on BHI, our first stay there.
Villa 20 was perfect. Clean, spacious, comfortable, well equipped and steps from the beach. The view of the ocean from the top deck was perfect; when we were at 'home', we spent most of our time up there.
Jack was an amazing owner. He responded to any queries quickly, and was always helpful and informative. He provided a comprehensive factsheet via email, which he sent prior to our holiday, which was truly useful.
Dining options are fairly limited on the island, but all of the meals we had were delicious, especially at the BHI Club.
When we head back to the island, we'll be staying back at Villa 20.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bald Head Island Villa

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

We stayed at the Villa for one week in May,2012. The Villa contained everything one needs for a relaxing time- The owners have thought of everything to make this a stress free, enjoyable time- they were a pleasure to deal with and everything was "done right" -no surprises.
As for BHI itself , this is a special place with plenty to do (golf, tennis, kayak, biking, hiking, fishing) it is also a great place to simply relax at the beach.
Highest recommendation - I know we will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

third visit to BHI

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

This was our third visit to Bald Head Island and Villa 20 and we were so surprised! While this is a great location, just a short walk to the beach and great views of the beach and island from the upper deck, we were amazed by the improvements inside (to a villa that we already considered to be perfect!). We found improvements to the lower deck with a swing for relaxing and barbequeing. The new mattresses and bathrooms give the villa a 5-star feel. And all the amenities of home are available in the kitchen. We loved exploring the island by golfcart and walking to the beach to relax. We will come back again and again. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place To Stay

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

My wife, Lauren, and I have been going to Bald Head for about five years now. We like to stay at a different place on the Island every year to enjoy all that BHI has to offer. During our stay in 2010, we met a great couple, Gary and Christina at the Shoals Club. It was their first time vacationing on BHI. They had great things to say about Villa 20, the Villa they were staying in. Chuck really liked how helpful the owner(Jack) was with telling them about the different places on the Island. After hearing how positive their stay was, Lauren and I decided to book Villa 20 for our next visit.

After staying at Villa 20, both Lauren and I can see why they enjoyed Villa 20. You could tell that Jack(owner) took great pride in keeping up the Villa. All the bathrooms looked like they had been recently updated, and the lower level deck was a great bonus. Lauren and I really enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs drinking our coffee in front of the lagoon each morning and watching the sun set on the upper deck each evening. With the great location and service, Villa 20 is now our favorite of the places we have stayed in on the Island. We look forward to coming back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great stay and hope you come back to see us again. Good suggestion on adding a small group cart and hope when you return you will appreciate the new addition.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love this place

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We have enjoyed our stays in this villa and look forward each visit to see what has been changed or upgraded. Recently the baths and appliances have been upgraded and the entrance has been improved. Two carts make it handy when we do separate activities. A map would be helpful but really you're on an island so it's hard to get lost.
We love to sit on the swing on the lower deck and watch the turtles in the lagoon. The loft deck is great for watching the ocean. The beach is only seconds away with great shelling and swimming. It's relaxing to listen to the surf in the evening.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words and for being one of our "regulars". Hope you find your favorite season on BHI someday. Thanks for always leaving the house looking as clean when you leave as when you arrived! You know we have a cleaning service, right??? See you again soon we hope.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review