reviews for: listing #71364 - Spring Lake, New Jersey House rental

Large Victorian-fully modernized
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $500 - $2,000 /nt
    $2,500 - $7,250 /wk
    $3,000 - $27,500 /mth

sort by:

Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Spring Lake. The town is wonderful and we enjoyed our daily walks for coffee. Jeff was great and very attentive to all our needs. The house if very spacious and allowed 12 people to stay without feeling like we were on top of each other. The new renovations Jeff has done match well with the character of the house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Guys:

Than you very much for taking the time to review my home and thank you for your business. I am glad you loved both the house and our town an hope to see you again if you come back to the area.

Best Regards,
Jef

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely weekend

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

We rented this lovely house in order to attend a wedding. It was perfect for our group, clean and well kept. It had great common areas and nice sized bedrooms. I would highly recommend it and hope we get to take our whole family back soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for renting my home and taking the time to review your stay. It is much appreciated. I hope to host you and your group again.

Regards,
Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

The house is beautiful and HUGE! Great space for gathering around together indoors, as well as great wrap around front porch and balcony space to hang out outside! We fit 14 people here and all had a great time. The gas grill was awesome too! Jeff was really cool and gave us lots of tips of things to do in the area. I would definitely stay here again. Be sure to ask Jeff about Springsteen! Great stories!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Guys, thanks a lot for the great review. It was wonderful to meet you. I can't wait to try the experience you all went to. I look forward to seeing all of you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

My family gathered for a family reunion/memorial weekend. We brought people from across the country - ME to CA, WI to TX, and MT to GA. Jeff's house worked out very nicely for us. It slept 11 very easily (we could have added a couple more if we had to). The home was quiet, beautifully decorated, lots of special amenities, and tons of private little nooks for alone time, quiet conversations or what have you. The balconies added a very nice touch, and served as wonderful mid-day siesta sites! The kitchen is large, and served so well for feeding 11-13 family members, and having 4 or 5 people work in the kitchen at the same time - with others at the table joining the conversation - was not a problem. There is a passenger train that runs across the street, but it zips by very quickly with not a lot of noise and no real disruption. There were a couple of small issues, but Jeff addressed them immediately and to our full satisfaction. The beach is walking distance away, and Spring Lake has a lot of very nice architecture for those less inclined to beach activities. The house has multiple levels, so keep that in mind. I would not recommend this for use with little kids, as there are too many intriguing decorations that will entice kids. Lovely place and wonderful respite!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Lake Summer 2012

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

For a big family like ours or multiple families coming together for summer vacation I recommend Spring Lake and this house!
This quaint older Victorian home is very spacious clean and minutes from the beach! The house is fully modernized AC, Internet , great Tvs and the beach is a 10 minute walk but use of the Pavllion lockers to put your chairs is a super plus. Spring lake and the area had great places to eat but if like us you like or want to cook the Vicking 6 top burner and stove was great plus outdoor grill with gas line so no running out of propane! Spring Lake is like Donna Reed land but older kids can have fun at Point Pleasant or Belmar, we took a day trip to AC and the girls found 6 flags half hour away! I would recommend this town and this house to anyone looking for Jersey Shore experience. You will find Jeff is very pleasant and goes extra step to try to accommodate your needs!
dave d md prospect, ct

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Dave:

First of all thanks for renting my house and for being a very busy MD, taking time out of your day to write a review. It is much appreciated. I hope to see you and your family again next year.

Regards,
Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

80th birthday celebration with extended family

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

If you are considering renting this property, I wholeheartedly encourage you to do so -- throw any reservations you might have to the wind and do it. My husband had already begun concocting reasons for renting this property again before our week was even complete! From our earliest dealings with Jeff, it was clear that this rental is much more than a money-making opportunity for him. He really wants you to enjoy yourself.

We rented the house to celebrate my Dad's 80th birthday and invited his brother, children and adult grandchildren to join us. Our group of thirteen ranged in age from our son, who turned three on the second day of our stay, to my 87-year-old uncle. The experience was equally enjoyed by all.

My husband was the first in our group to arrive. Upon learning that it was our first stay in Spring Lake, Jeff hopped into my husband's passenger seat and directed him to all the points of interest. His attention to our needs was as sharp throughout the week. My cousins enjoyed talking to him in passing, particularly about Bruce Springsteen. In fact, they were disappointed when they couldn't find him to share a beer and a Springsteen trivia question. :)

If you do sign on for a getaway at this Spring Lake house, I'd implore you to treat the house with the love and respect it deserves. It is truly a beauty, wonderfully restored and it's owner is a class act.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words. It was great to meet your group. I wish I was around fo that beer too. It is really gratifying when people notice my concern that they really enjoy and my love for the town, the old houses and the area. Re Bruuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuce, ALWAYS happy to discuss. I hope there are many more birthdays for your dad and to see you again!

Jeff and Mimi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic rental for the whole family

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Spring Lake was the chosen destination from an earlier weekend scouting trip my wife and I made to check out the shore points. Our concern was to find accommodations for our extended family of 14. This rental was just the ticket! It was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. (The daily commuters that run by didn't bother us.) While we could have walked, we found it handy to drive our gang & provisions to the beach each day and park along Ocean Ave. The 5 beach passes included with the rental saved us the hassle of daily fare. With our bikes, we had the option of exploring all of Spring Lake at our leisure. The public park, in its wooded setting with tennis courts and playground, is especially nice and was a popular spot for us throughout the week. Jeff's prompt and courteous attention to detail, from beginning to end, added to our positive experience. This vacation rental proved to be everything we were looking for.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi:

Thanks you so much for renting my home. It was a pleasure meeting you. Thank you so much taking the time to write the review and treating my home with such respect.

Jeff and Mimi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Terrific house in Spring Lake!

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

What a terrific house for a NJ shore reunion! The property was everything the description said it was...and then some. The house was immense! It was warmly welcoming and well appointed, with spacious and comfortable rooms, a modern kitchen, up to date technology, and all about five easily walkable blocks from the ocean or the town center. Most important, everything in the house was meticulously clean!

I had searched for a house at the shore to accommodate our large extended and geographically diverse family (California, Minnesota, New York, Spain and Singapore) and came upon Jeff's house in Spring Lake. I enquired online and in less than an hour, Jeff responded by phone while he was traveling in Europe. I didn't realize at the time, but that was Jeff's style...great personal attention to the smallest detail. He is a friendly and very accommodating owner. Every contact, whether by email or voicemail, was answered within minutes.

He welcomed us to the house, made sure we were comfortably settled in, gave us information about local restaurants and pubs and food shopping, and even gave a lift to two of our family to NYC for a mid-week Yankees-Twins game.

Our week in Spring Lake was such a memorable one…due in large part to this wonderful house and its great owner. We give this property our highest recommendation and hope it will be available for our next reunion.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much for renting. Your family is great. Please come again. I hope to see all of you again, even the Twins fans.

Jeff

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful house for the family

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

This is our second time renting with Jeff (which included my sister's family from Los Angeles)and it is the perfect house to accommodate all the siblings and children. Everyone had bedrooms which are tastefully decorated and comfortable. Morning tea/coffee on the wrap-around porch overlooking the garden, ac for those hot days, and plenty of space for family or a friend to do their own thing. The house is a couple of big blocks from the beach, so you can either walk or drive up to the beach to unload or park. The beach is fantastic, clean, not crowded on weekdays and some nice waves for boogie boarding. Easy to get to town and to the shops, Sunday Times for ice cream, etc. We love coming here and especially the californians who live ten minutes from the beach in L.A. Jeff is a thoughtful and accommodating owner. We hope to make this a bi-coastal family tradition for the summers to come.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review and your business. Mimi and I look forward to seeing you all next year.

Jeff

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time at Jeff's House

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We had a blast at this house. I live in NYC and had a couple friends come in from out of town at the last minute. Rather than staying in the city, we figured we might as well look to see if we could find a beach house for a long weekend at the last minute. Luckily I came across this listing.

I emailed Jeff Tuesday morning (looking to start rental Thu night) and heard back from him before lunch. He was extremely helpful in getting the process fast-tracked and I had a counter signed lease by late afternoon.

When we got there, Jeff was happy to help my friends (who arrived before me) get settled in and even gave them a tour around town to help get situated. He gave out his cell # and helped with any questions we had throughout our stay.

In terms of the house, it really is massive (our group was 8 guys and we all slept comfortably). Very close to the beach in Spring Lake, and the area in general is amazing (went out to Osprey & Parker House at night, both very short cab rides away).

Great time at a great house. I highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. It was great to meet the whole crew. I hope to see you again.

Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review