reviews for: listing #71389 - Pacific Palisades, California Studio rental

180 Degree Ocean View/Tranquil @ The PAH
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pacific Palisades
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $145 - $198 /nt
    $495 - $980 /wk
    $1,790 - $3,395 /mth

sort by:

Spectacular

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

the house is clean, beautiful, peaceful, well-appointed.... zillion dollar views, easy access to everything,* and an extremely cool host. Common areas (kitchen/living room) work well. This unique location and level of comfort is why vacation rental > hotel.

*Any trip to L.A. requires a car, as the city is vast and has no meaningful public transportation. However, you can *WALK* from this house to Will Rogers State Park or Temescal Canyon (a trailhead leading to both starts at the top of the street), and the Palisades village is perhaps a mile down the hill.

Owners response: Thank you Alan! For the summer we are planning to ad a gourmet "Breakfast to the Bed" :)! In our never ending effort to combine comfort, luxury, design and art. But only to rewrite the story of the finest Bed and Breakfast Inns. Striving to combine the best of hotel and home. "As common it might be yet each of our souls still seeks comradery."

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Amazing place to stay!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Palisades Art House for a short weekend to attend a concert in West Hollywood. WOW! What an amazing place. We had beautiful views from our private deck and the house has a huge living/kitchen/outdoor patio area. The Palisades is a beautiful neighborhood and is close to everything we needed. Sunset Blvd. is just down the road and led straight to where our concert was with a scenic drive through Beverly Hills, Santa Monica Pier and beach are just down the road a few minutes, and the Palisades has everything you need (market, restaurants, coffee). Alex was very accomodating and booking was easy with no hidden cost additions. We will stay again when we come back to the LA area.

Owners response: A big WOW back to you! What a nice review. Thank you. Yes, please come back you'll get the "Repeat Victim" 10% discount. Enjoy springtime in Alaska. I remember that nature up at your latitude is very invigorating when it wakes up after the long winter.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Relaxing Atmosphere

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my week stay at Alex's home, large kitchen and eating area , with stunning views of the coast. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location has easy access to markets, restaurants and other city attractions.

Steven

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Steven,

Thanks for staying at ThePAH. Next time I'll show you another fun hike in the Santa Monica Mountains. Also a fresh batch of chocolate will be waiting for you. So long my friend :)!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Perfect location, wonderful views

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

This was our first trip to the US and after a lot of research and confusion about hotels and desirable locations to stay we chose this property in the Pacific Palisades. I knew nothing about the area but it turned out to be fabulous. High above the sea in a wealthy, manicured neighbourhood, looking south over LA. It was actually a good location for access to all the sights you would want to see on a first trip, and perhaps 30 minutes to downtown LA - anyway not stressful for a first-time LA driver from small-town Australia. The room was comfortable, with two double futons for 2 adults and 2 boys (18 and 12) and a big bathroom. The shared kitchen/living area downstairs was quiet, also with excellent views and plenty of shelf space for dry food and fridge food (I didn't realise though, that the freezer wasn't working till I went to retrieve my Ben and Jerry's). All in all it was a highlight of our trip to LA. The boys and I took several hikes from the house through a nearby back street into a nature park which would have eventually connected to Roy Rogers national park - again very convenient for a taste of American nature. We were there for the 4th of July celebrations, and walked down the hill to the main street for the special Pacific Palisades pageant. Super! We were able to access the house late when we stayed out visiting friends, and on-street parking was not a problem. The area appears very safe - the Palisades has its own suburban security force and many houses have 'Armed Response' warning signs in their front gardens (a novelty for Australians). You'd really need a car (or plenty of taxi fares) to get to/from the house. Thanks for a great time!

Owners response: Yes, another ice cream shop just opened up in the Palisades Village. That makes three total and five Pizza restaurants. So we are keeping the freezer off in exchange for a greener foot print :). It was really great having you guys here. See you soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Paradise or Palisades

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

I stayed in this inspiring house for 3 weeks in the Palisades. Waking up to a view like this from the balcony every moorning, was worth every penny!
Besides that, the Palisades is incredibly calm and relaxing. And Santa Monica beach or shopping, is only 10 mins away in car.

On a sidenote, the owner Alex, is an experience in it self. You'll have a really fun and great stay - that is for sure.

- Kim

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Friendly people, spectacular views

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Pacific Art House for over a week and had a wonderful time. Alex is very kind and helpful, and makes you feel at home. The views are breathtaking and the surrounding area is very peaceful. We stayed without a car for most of the time and found it to be no problem as Alex helped us out with bus schedules, and the bus stops are very close. All in all, staying here offers so much; with great views, friendly people, hiking trails, surfing, great views and a tranquil space to relax.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

180° Ocean View & Tranquil Setting

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

I’m the chief editor, writer, artist and publisher of an internationally renown art magazine based in Palm Beach, Florida. This month I spend a short week in Los Angeles to review the local art scene. My decision to stay at ThePAH grew out of a natural progression, a combination of having spend to many days, weeks, month or even years in anonymous “Hotel Boxes” and the growing demand of my ever evolving bohemian soul to settle for nothing less but a thoroughly nurturing and inspirational place. ThePAH exceeded all of my expectations! It offered the best of a hotel and home and had the charming ambience of a private Bed & Breakfast. Where ever I turned, whether it was in the wide open spaces of the living room and kitchen or in my tranquil quiet large studio room I found beauty. The colorful artwork all around me and the grandiose ocean views gave my thoughts the wings I so desperately needed to hammer out the words to meet my much to tied drawn dead line. If it wasn’t for the creative energy of ThePAH I don’t think I could have wrapped up all the writing. Thank you Alex, you were a great host and always there for me when I needed a quick directional sketch(much better then my mal functional GPS) ? . The studio room was tidy and need and made me feel right at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Fantastic Kitchen Inspiring Views

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

We are a young couple from Sweden, I’m a music producer and my girlfriend is a model and law student. We stayed at ThePAH for one month and it was truly a wonderful experience. Our studio room was very private, spacious and clean. Alex was a helpful and knowledgeable host and had many good ideas and tips of what to do and where to go. He showed us some great hiking trails and took us rock climbing into the Santa Monica Mountains. One of my favorites about staying at the ThePAH was the large and beautiful kitchen. I love to cook and there is nothing quiet like preparing a gourmet dinner and having a spectacular ocean view as a backdrop at the same time. Standing at the kitchen center island as the salmon was slowly bronzing in the oven I enjoyed many times a glass of red wine watching the sun set over Santa Monica Bay. The ambience of ThePAH was creatively very inspiring and gave me a strong productive boost. - Another thing we really loved was our Sunday morning strolls through the Palisades Village. Passing by all the colorful stands of the village’s farmers market with all it’s fresh flowers and produce was always very uplifting. - One last note! It’s maybe not for every one but my girlfriend bicycled every morning 15 miles to her internship at a law office in Westwood. She loved every bit of it. The exercise was great and riding through the pretty neighborhoods of Santa Monica and Brentwood was a treat, she said.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Insane Beautiful Ocean View

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

I’m a Cross-Fit Trainer from London on my way to Perth, Australia to open up a Cross-Fit gym. I stayed for one month at ThePAH to attend Cross-Fit Training classes and Cross-Fit workshops. The studio room was comfortable and large. It was located in it’s own section of the house and it was very private. The ocean views were absolutely insane and most definitely rank among the best in the world. The location was convenient as well. I didn’t have a car and was getting around on a bicycle. It never took me longer then 20 minutes to get to my gym in down town Santa Monica. Alex was a great sport too. We had lots in common and had many good talks about workouts. He took me rock climbing and I showed him some cross-fit techniques. I loved it and will be back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Visiting our son in the Pacific Palisades

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

The PAH was a perfect match for my husband and I on our trip to visit our son and his finance'. Alex was very informative on our arrival and our room was ready as promised. We did not have a rental car since our son drove us for our sightseeing adventures in the surrounding sites. Every morning we walked down the streets and enjoyed the scenery. I was able to go over to the Village shops and get my morning coffee before arriving to our son's place. Our son took us walking to several Bluffs that overlook the Pacific Coast Highway and the Pacific Ocean. Breathtaking views so close to the PAH. I felt safe and secure sleeping in our quiet room and absolutely loved the views from the second level kitchen which was open for use. Thanks Alex for making us feel like we were part of your family and sharing your beautiful artwork throughout. I think I could live there forever, but, for our short time it was like home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Best Of Hotel And Home

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

Alex, I just wanted to say what a great time I had staying at ThePAH. As a young model I often travel on my own. Even when staying at the fanciest hotels I don’t always feel quite that save. Your “Palisades Art Hotel” is the best of both worlds! It provides travelers with the comfort and safety of a home and the luxury of a five star boutique hotel. The studio room was very private, quiet and spacious(loved all the bamboo too). Alex, you are definitely a typical German when it comes to keeping things clean, organized and well maintained. Great Job! Your other guest were also awesome. Not the typical star struck type! When I felt being social I could just sit by the fireplace and engage into great inspiring conversations. I also like the fact that you never have more then 4-6 guest staying with you at one time. I loved it! Miss those ocean views already. See you again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great House, Great View, Great Host

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

We are retired couple from Germany. I’m a German literature teacher and my husband is an architect. We went to Los Angeles to visit our daughter and to get a break from the German winter. Staying at ThePAH was a great choice! The house was very spacious and all studio rooms were located separate from each other. The living room and kitchen never got crowded at all. The other guest were friendly and interesting to talk to. The studio room was very private, clean and quiet. Every morning we enjoyed a peaceful breakfast on the sundeck overlooking the Santa Monica Bay. Alex was a very knowledgeable and helpful host. He provided us with lots of useful information about Los Angeles and surrounding areas. He had great ideas and tips handy what to do next. We had such a wonderful time that when we left after two weeks to travel up the coast we came right back and stayed for another week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

We are a retired couple from Olympia, Washington and wanted to briefly say what a wonderful time we had staying at ThePAH. The location is perfect. Beaches are just down the street and trailheads into the Santa Monica Mountains start are up the street. Our Gordon Setter and Golden Retriever enjoyed their time staying at ThePAH just as much as we did :). They had plenty of space playing in the backyard and always were looking forward to our daily walks through this dog friendly neighborhood. The Pacific Palisades “Village” is also fabulous. There are many eateries to choose from and two supermarkets are nearby. The studio room was clean, quiet and well maintained. The size of it was good too. The four of us had plenty of space to relax and get comfortable. We also liked the fact that we could use the beautiful kitchen and living room. It provided us with more living space and we felt very at home. Also not to forget Alex the artist, our very talented, interesting and always helpful host. And of course the gorgeous ocean views. Well recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

the best in LA

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

simply the best.

yo have to meet the owner ALEX

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review