reviews for: listing #71397 - La Jolla, California Studio rental

Secluded Windansea Beach Cottage
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $183 /nt
    $800 - $1,100 /wk
    $2,500 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect beach studio

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This space may look little but it was the perfect set up for me. It gave the perfect amount of space and the way the furniture was situated really opened up the space. The decor was so beachy and the high ceilings and windows allowed a lot of light to come in. My favorite part was the outside area. Opening up those big doors doubled the space and the patio furniture was clean and relaxing. The updated decor and finishes looked great and provided a great atmosphere in this space. Being able to walk just a couple blocks to the beach was my favorite part! I really felt like this property allowed me to enjoy all aspects of La Jolla.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Windansea Cottage

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was clean.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Location is nice. Loved the electronic key. Nice to have outdoor space accessible and open from the room. Convenient having beach equipment. Room could've been cleaner, floor was still pretty gritty. Bathroom was very cramped, needs extra bath towels. Washer/Dryer would've been convenient since most people are actively working out and going to beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spot. Yappy Dogs

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Loved the little studio, just a short walk to the beach, uphill walk back home though. The owners dogs were yappy every time you walk up the driveway, but quieted down after a couple minutes. Great amenities, wifi is strong, nice entertainment setup, and perfect space for two.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Repeat Visit at Secluded Winandsea Cottage

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was my second stay at this cottage and I guess that speaks for itself! Once again enjoyed a fabulous week taking advantage of the privacy, great location, great weather and excellent property management service of Seabreeze Vacation Rentals! Thanks a bunch!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach Gem

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Excellent use of space, attractive, well stocked, lovely patio, close to the beach, to the downtown.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful oasis from a busy conference

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place in La Jolla!

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We really enjoyed staying at this place as it was quiet, secluded, and had everything we needed. We were happy to stay in La Jolla, but some someone look for a bit more of an active nightlife then La Jolla is not for you. <br/>The cottage had everything we needed from wine openers to utensils and board games, really loved the fact that the windows on the roof opened for some added circulation. Plus it comes with 2 bikes, surf boards, beach towels and more. A very private place that was quiet at night. <br/><br/>I highly recommend this place! Nothing bad to say about it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute, dog-friendly cottage

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My girlfriend and I were searching for a private cottage for our La Jolla vacation that was pet-friendly. This spot was perfect. It's spacious enough for two people, and the patio adds a whole living area when you open up the doors. <br/><br/>We were very comfortable here and our dog loved it too. I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a more private and cozy studio. Great location, walk to the beach, ride bikes etc. It's great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The pictures are better than the real thing

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The furnishings, the outdoor patio area and the location were all very satisfactory. The owner was very helpful and attentive when we had questions or needs, and the cottage was clean and in order. However, the interior finishes of the unit itself was disappointing. This unit is a garage remodelled to be a quaint cottage, but good quality finishing was sacrificed. The bathroom in particular was very small, with an old shower and quite disappointing.

Owners response: It is important that we communicate to any potential future guests that this property is not a converted garage. It is a legally zoned cottage in a residential beach community. We are very sorry to hear that this guest was not satisfied with the interior finishes and will look to address this complaint during the next opportunity.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very romantic

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We booked this cottage on a whim as a last minute escape to La Jolla from the chilly Northeast. My husband and I had such a lovely time that we plan on coming back in the summer (especially since it has A/C as well!). Our weather was beautiful and we walked the short 2.5 blocks to the beach every evening to watch sunset together. I'm so glad we took this trip and that it was so easy to coordinate. Thank you Sea Breeze!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute and private

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This cottage is a great little escape. You can walk to restaurants, the beach, shops etc. It's perfect for two people and you can cook simple meals in the kitchen as it's well-stocked considering the size. The bed, linens and towels were cozy and we loved having the patio heater. We used it every night, which was such a treat in January to be able to sit outside with a glass of wine and read. We had tons of privacy as it's all fenced in and couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great indoor/outdoor living at this cottage!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We chose this cottage because of the large patio which really is an extension of the cute and cozy interior. We loved having the bikes, patio heater, and BBQ and kept the doors and windows wide open. The owners are lovely. We plan on coming back in the summer (one of a few rental properties in the area with AC and this size and price). Love, love, love it here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dog-friendly cottage

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
I chose this cottage because I could bring my dog and it was much more charming than any pet-friendly hotel in the area. We loved the back patio and walking the neighborhood. The kitchenette was very well-equipped and between that an the BBQ I was able to cook many of our meals. <br/><br/>Love this cottage!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute cottage/immaculate

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This cottage is adorable and leaps and bounds better than any hotel. It was so well-stocked, had comfy linens, and was very clean. The patio was spacious and I made good use out of the outdoor heater. Can't say enough good things. Thank you for the great getaway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy romantic getaway cottage for two!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This place was great getaway for my wife and I. Located close to the beach and just about everything La Jolla has to offer, you can't go wrong choosing this place to stay. Restaurants, shopping, it's got it all. It's definitely a place for a couple... any more than that and it'd be pretty cramped. But if you're looking for a wonderful and cozy place you can't go wrong choosing this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Well worth the money

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Enjoyed this cozy little cottage and quiet location. The procedure and response from the Seabreeze staff was efficient and professional.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful cottage in a lovely area!

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Lovely owners and an absolutely beautiful space with everything you need. The room has a ton of character, and an outside area gives it an airy spacious feel, perfect for relaxing in the evenings. We really enjoyed our stay here. It was hard to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful cottage in a lovely area!

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Lovely owners and an absolutely beautiful space with everything you need. The room has a ton of character, and an outside area gives it an airy spacious feel, perfect for relaxing in the evenings. We really enjoyed our stay here. It was hard to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Anniversary Get-Away

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great little place, perfect for 2 people. Removed just enough from the main roads and beach so could get away from some of the activity and enjoy the quiet while still being close to enjoy the ocean and local attractions.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Location

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was clean.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Blowdryer was missing even tho they told us it is included with the stay, however, the management company took care of it within couple of hours. The only real complaint I have is that the walls are very thin as this cottage is built out of a garage, so it is not sound proof at all. However, it only bothered us in the morning when we wanted to sleep in, it's generally quiet enough at night so it did not disrupt our sleep.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Private studio in a great neighborhood

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My husband and I enjoyed this rental for a week in mid-August 2013. The studio was clean and private, and contained all amenities as advertised. The neighborhood was beautiful and obviously very safe. Short walks and bike rides to the beach was convenient and relaxing. Surrounding San Diego communities were in close proximity and easy to access. We briefly met the property owners and they were very accomodating as well as pleasant.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great studio in a great location

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This charming studio was clean, well stocked, included great amenities (including air conditioning and wifi) and was within walking/biking distance to Windandsea and the village. Check out the La Jolla Public House for great beers and El Pescador for great seafood.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great little place

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is a great little cottage in a quiet residential neighborhood and was perfect for me and my husband. The cottage was very clean when we showed up and the linens and bedding was extra comfortable. We cooked some meals in the small kitchen but ended up walking to a lot of local restaurants which we really enjoyed. We also really liked the private patio out front. A great experience and I would definitely recommend.<br/>

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway spot in Cali

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Needed some time away from living in Las Vegas & this was just what I was looking for. Walking distance to everything & also a great place for just relaxing & doing nothing. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very convenient

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was more than helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is a good place to have as a home base for exploring the area or visiting friends or family. The bed was very comfortable,kitchen was fine for a light breakfast or snack.Everything was convenient and relaxing. A few odds and ends need fixing or replacing.<br/> The Publick House, Finches Wine bar, and happy hour at JRND atTower23 in Pacific Beach were some of our faves .<br/> Go and have fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very clean,private,cute "cottage", air conditioning too!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Lisa Heath did a great job of placing us in this private,clean,air conditioned back cottage. We loved that a bbq and bicycles were provided for us. I tend to be a little picky but nothing but great things to say about this rental. Walk to the beach or bars or restaurants and such a friendly amd safe neighborhood.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

The location was great for me, as I did not have a rental vehicle, but used the bikes provided with the cottage to get around. A quick ride along the coast up to the town center of La Jolla or to do some grocery shopping! It worked out excellent and I totally enjoyed a laid back week away from it all. Very private. Great TV and music system! 5 min. walk to the beach or 2 min. on the bike.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Little Get Away!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Nice little cottage on a quiet street. Everything you need is provided.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very enjoyable stay at rental cottage!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was more than helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
I just got back from 1 week at the rental cottage. The location was great for me, as I did not have a rental vehicle, but used the bikes provided with the cottage to get around. A quick ride along the coast up to the town centre of La Jolla or to do some grocery shopping! It worked out excellent and I totally enjoyed a laid back week away from it all.Very private. Great TV and music system!5 min. walk to the beach or 2 min. on the bike.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

La Jolla Cottage

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Very quite and private facility. The location accommodates walking or biking to everything in the area. We even rode to the board walk at Mission Beach! The restaurant suggestions provided by the owners was very helpful and spot on. We had problems with the TV and the patio heater, but they were promptly fixed after we notified the rental agency. It's a relatively small lodging, but all you need if you spend most of your time visiting the sites in La Jolla. Definitely recommend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet studio apt. with many amenities in lovely neighbourhood

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We enjoyed the place very much. It was smaller than I expected and there were no kitchen counters for cutting but it had many appliances. Cooked daily and could have used more counter space. Great patio and barbecue! The owners were very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely consider returning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

615 Gravilla St perfect

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our cottage had EVERYTHING ! Comfortable bed, many pillows, fully equipted with everything imaginable and more we could never had thought of. We will absolutely return and I recommend it heartily . Quiet off street, lush comfort all the amenitities, Perfect in every way . 5 stars

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Escape Cottage

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This cottage is perfect for a couple and a romantic getaway. Even though you are in behind the owner's house, you feel like you are secluded. The pictures on VRBO did not lie. It was adorable. The cottage had every convience right down to bbq sauce, discount coupons for Sea World, flashlight and a beach cooler. We were really sorry that we didn't get a chance to ride the bikes, they looked like so much fun! We ran out of time. We loved having access to the beach toys, but were frustrated a bit by the challenges the sand present. We were asked to not track sand into the cottage and to rinse the surf boards, but had no easy way to do it. We suggest access to a hose outside would really aid in this effort. Overall we loved our stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome cottage

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Loved our stay at the cottage. It was a very restful vacation. We loved the private feel of the space and enjoyed the patio.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy retreat

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great little place to get away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very private cottage in nice residential neighborhood

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Nice location,nice private patio with gas grill, great for dining outdoors. A short walk to a beautiful beach. We spent a week there doing daily side trips enjoying Torrey Pines State Preserve and Cabrillo National Monument. Only suggestion would be to offer extra set of bath towels.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super Location

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

I stayed here for a week in July with my two young boys, 9 & 11. The property is accurately represented and in a fantastic location. We appreciated being in a quiet neighborhood just a few blocks from WIndandsea, which was one of our favorite beaches in La Jolla. You can easily walk to the beach, but parking is also available on the street right by the beach, which is unheard of in the La Jolla area this time of year. The house is close to anything you want to do in La Jolla as well. Andy, the owner, is nearby and especially helpful. Bed is comfortable and kitchenette has everything you will need. Space is cheerful and airy. Rental management is friendly and professional. Only drawback for us was no washer and dryer, but good laundromats are nearby. Overall a great value!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved this cottage. It was perfect. Living in Texas we typically go to the Gulf Coast and tend rent larger houses to hold family and friends. This time it was just my husband and I so this was perfect. We loved La Jolla in general and this cottage is perfectly located at Windansea. It's a short drive to the shops on Prospect but also a short drive to Pacific Beach and the bay. I hope to stay here again. The owners were great and very friendly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WindandSea Beach Cottage Review

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We were a little surprised to find that the beach rental cottage was a converted garage situated in the back yard of a larger residence. However, there is a private gated entrance and patio. The space was clean, updated and very cute! It's perfect for a couple. The amenities were great, the location was great and everyone in the neighborhood was very friendly. We loved that they allow pets, we were able to take them on a short walk to the beach everyday. Wind and Sea is a beautiful, clean, laid back beach very close to the rental. There are a ton of great places to shop, eat and explore in the area. Overall we were satisfied and would stay there again. <br/>Our only real concern was that the construction being done to the main house during our stay. Just as a suggestion maybe construction should be done on days that no one in renting out the guest house. There was banging and yelling in the early morning (to be expected with construction). We had to walk through all of their tools and materials to access our gate as they were working on the shared driveway. BUT other than that we really did enjoy our stay~

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Really Romantic and Cozy

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was more than helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a great time here. Parking was easy, there was a nice coffee shop within walking distance, and there's a really good drive-thru (kinda shady-looking) taco joint that had the best tacos! Our only gripe is that the hot water was shut off before we checked out so we couldn't shower the last day, but otherwise it had everything we could possibly need.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a good choice for La Jolla

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very unhelpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We managed to book the cottage last minute despite having some very frustrating communication (or lack of) with the property management company. They seemed very disorganized and young and as a result, we weren't sure what we were getting into. However, once we found the cottage, we were pleasantly surprised. The cottage is actually a nicely renovated garage on the back of a private home. It is very private and well appointed. The space is full of light and the bed is very comfy. We didn't use the back deck much as the weather was cool during our stay but I imagine it would be beautiful when it is warmer. The owners of the property live in the main house and they were very welcoming and helpful but gave us our privacy. They had a list of restaurants to try and we appreciated the recommendations. Our favorite breakfast spot was The Coffee Cup in La Jolla - they had a fantastic menu and everything was delicious. We would definitely recommend the cottage as a private, reasonably priced alternative to the hotels in the region.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Our stay was comfortable and fun. This location was very close to the beach, beautiful location as well. There is a park on the mountain which is 5 minutes walk from the cottage that we took our dogs to for a walk, and it is just beautiful. The cottage was cozy, which had a bed that was extremely comfortable. The cottage had everything you need to feel at home. The only thing that was a little upsetting was there is no grass on the patio of the cottage and my dogs would not go to the bathroom, I had to keep taking them out to the front. There was also dogs at a residence behind the cottage that would bark everytime they heard my dogs. Overall it was a great place to stay and will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this cottage for a mini vacation. It's located near the beach, a lot of restaurants and is not far from downtown La Jolla. Everything we needed was provided and the cottage was perfect for the 2 of us. The neighborhood was quiet, relaxing and a nice romantic getaway. I would recommend for cottage for any of my friends and will stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was more than helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My boyfriend and I stayed at this cottage for a mini vacation. It's located near the beach, a lot of restaurants and is not far from downtown La Hoya. Everything we needed was provided and the cottage was perfect for the 2 of us. The neighborhood was quiet, relaxing and a nice romantic getaway. I would recommend for cottage for any of my friends and will stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful and Comfortable stay

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

We had a wonderfully, comfortable stay at this cottage! It exceeded our expectations with high end bedding, linens, towels and darling decor! It was very private, airy with lots of natural light and removed from the main house. Bikes, outdoor grill and heater were extras we enjoyed as well as private patio area right out our front door. The apartment is one good size room with small kitchen area, walk in closet and bath, but just all we needed. Perfect for two! Cozy, very clean and in a wonderful neighborhood as well. Easily parked in front. We loved that it was easy to bike ride into La Jolla town, down to the cove and ocean beaches. We hope to stay again on our next trip to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cozy Comfortable Cottage

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The cottage was charming and perfect for the two of us! The area was great. It was close enough to walk to the beach or bike ride all over LaJolla, Bird Rock, Pacific Beach and Mission Beach. This one good sized room with walk in closet, small kitchen area and bath was very clean and comfortable. The little extras made it special like private patio with heater and grill, bikes, surfboards, games and high-end linens. The space was airy and bright. Parking was no problem out front.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

615 Gravilla St., La Jolla, CA

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was happy with the location.
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Pleasant location as described in Homeaway rentals. Support staff at Seabreeze Rentals are very helpful. Location is good example of transitional properties from older 1930s through 1960s middle class residential to investor and gentrification owners. Many refurbishment construction projects are heard during the day even on the waterfront where completed rebuilds sell for over $2 million. It is possible to walk to restaurants and the beach, but a car is desireable. Only fluff and fold laundry service is available locally and the rate is $3 per pound or roughly $40 per laundry load. Dogs are popular in this area and skilled surfers can be viewed daily on the coast. This is an opportunity to see the transition to aristocracy in Southern California that may not be accessible to most people in another decade or two. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My parents came over from Framce at Christmas time....

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great.......................

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Recommendtion with Caveat

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was adequately helpful.
The vacation rental was clean.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Would I recommend this property to a friend? Yes…with a caveat. The place is cozy and cute, with a small comfortable patio area with BBQ. The house has a well equipped kitchen. There are books and games and a VIP card, good for discounts at local restaurants. The place is just as described and seen in the photos on the website. The caveat to friends - in addition to the daily rate, we paid an additional $100 cleaning fee for 3 nights. If we wanted daily cleaning (making the bed, changing linens, etc.) there would have been an additional fee. We did ask about a refund if the place was tidy when we left, without a response. So…while our receipt says we paid $135 per night, really we paid $168 per night. The place was clean when we arrived, except for the very dirty area rug in the center of the living space. The next trip to La Jolla we will try something else. Perhaps if ate out less and used the kitchen more, it would have been worth it, but at the price, we think we can get more “bang for our buck”.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable Cottage Near Beach

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was more than helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was a sweet little beach cottage—tasteful interior, good bed, excellent outdoor living room, near the beach and a great park in a generally quiet residential neighborhood. Downtown La Jolla is walking distance, about 15 minutes away (a little farther than I was hoping but still close); the beach is about 3-4 blocks, maybe 5 minutes. There's a park up the street, 1 minute, with a great jogging/biking/dog-walking trail. The cottage included a bicycle, a beach umbrella, boogie boards, surfboards, and more. We rented a pack and play for our six-month old. Tiny but functional kitchen (augmented by a grill outside—though unfortunately the fish market on Pearl, La Pescadora, was closed during our stay)—and my wife would have preferred a small couch rather than the chairs, as well as a few more towels, but overall this was a tasteful, well-located, comfortable getaway cottage with responsive management that we happily to recommend to friends (and strangers).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sub-standard Rental

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
I was somewhat unhappy with the location.
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Let's start with the bathroom. There is one recessed ceiling light in the center of the cramped space which means you cannot see yourself in the mirror. There is no light over the sink. It took several days to find the one electric outlet which is inside the medicine cabinet rather than an accessible spot on the wall. There is no window to allow natural light. So, to put on makeup, you need to find someplace else in the cottage.<br/>Next, the kitchen area. The ad states that it is fully equipped. The sink is miniature with a dish drying rack that accommodates a few dishes or glasses with no utensil holder. There is no stove, dishwasher, garbage disposal and no space to do food preparation other than on top of a roll away cabinet. Food cooking is limited to a toaster oven and microwave oven. There is also a section of the tile floor that was chipped out that has never been repaired.<br/>Clothes storage is very limited. Other than a 3 ft. clothes rod, there are a few pull-out storage drawers.<br/>Sleeping arrangement. The bed is comfortable; however, with 2 skylights overhead, the room is very light at 5:00AM which makes it very difficult to sleep, so you need a sleeping mask to cover your eyes.<br/>The ad states that there is a couch which will sleep a third person. There is no couch. In addition, the area rug has many soiled spots and needs a total cleaning.<br/><br/>The back patio is not very private as you can hear people in the very close building behind the cottage, and I'm sure they can overhear you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot to enjoy the coast

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This place is fantastic and great for a couple to enjoy the area. Management was great and even facilitated an extension when the airlines cancelled our flights. Will return here again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Disapointment

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was more than helpful.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We usually have good luck renting places on-line for vacation. Not this time. The studio turned out to be a garage with a T.V., bed, and small refrigerator. It was dirty, and not well maintained. We were called after the first night about a noise complaint.<br/> We had a friend over, who drove from East County after work, to visit. We were not making noise other than a quiet conversation. On the other hand, the lawn crew showed up at 8am with their leaf blower right outside our window. Not very relaxing. For the price<br/> we paid, this was a very disappointing experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Retreat!

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

My husband and I recently spent one week at this cottage, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The property was clean, comfortable and private. It is thoughtfully and tastefully decorated by owners who provide every amenity you can think of from bikes to books to boogie boards...and the latest gadgets! The cottage is in a quiet residential neighborhood close to the beach and great shops and restaurants. Our goal was to be close to family in Pacific Beach but in a quieter setting, and this spot was perfect...easy to get in and out, peaceful and relaxing, yet close to everything. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything as it was purported to be, and more!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

This is the sweetest little cottage and the owners have thought of everything you'd need for the perfect beach-side stay. Not sure how it could sleep three, however, as there's just one king-sized bed---very comfortable, though, I must say! Truly a wonderful property, ideally situated. We loved it here!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best!

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The property was clean, comfy, private and fully loaded with the best of everything. Perfect for the two of us, we loved the location and everyone was very friendly and accomodating.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect.

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Close to the beach, great accommodations and away from the party vibe. We would stay here again no question.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot close to the beach, a little close to neighbors too

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall we had a nice stay at this clean and well-maintained property. While small, the amenities were nice and the location was great. A short walk to the beach, and a short bike ride into La Jolla. The property is located in a residential neighborhood, so neighbors are close by. However, if you don't mind the occasional kids playing outside nearby (we didn't) you'll probably enjoy this rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cottage

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 2, 2011

Rating Details:
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My husband, 18-month old and I stayed for 5 days during the first week of May and the accommodations were ideal. The cottage is a guest room located behind the main house with its own private entry way and private patio equipped with everything you could possibly need. The owners occupy the front house, which I liked because I was afraid that if there were other vacation renters they might be too loud. I liked that the soap and cleaning products under the sink were all non-toxic and that the cottage itself was well maintained and decorated tastefully. The location itself was perfect for us...walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops, and an easy drive to Seaworld, the Zoo and Pacific Beach. While the listing states it sleeps 2-3, I think 3 adults would be cramped, however, 2 adults and very small child is manageable. The neighborhood felt very safe (safe enough for a female to travel alone), with lots of families and pet owners walking around. There's also a small park at the end of the block. It felt like home immediately. I would recommend this cottage for couples needing a getaway, a girl getaway, or even for an individual who needs a break.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Rental Near Windansea Beach

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My husband and I searched high and low for a great vacation rental at a great price in La Jolla, CA. This secluded cottage ended up being the perfect choice for our stay. The cottage was beautifully decorated, elegant, clean, and cozy. The skylights added a very nice touch and the modern electronics and tv setup were additional perks. The cottage location was convenient to everywhere we wanted to go, especially the historic and charming Windansea beach. The cottage owners were very friendly - and earth friendly : ) - and very accomodating. This vacation rental was a wonderful place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastc Cottage

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

I stayed in this Windansea Beach cottage and it was fantastic. The room was light and airy and the remote control skylights were awesome. The owner even lent me his surfboard for the week. Great privacy, they just put up a fence so the cottage had it's own walkway. The decor was beautiful, and the double french doors opening to the patio made the place feel 10 times bigger. I'd love to live there if I could!. I've stayed in a LOT of vacation homes in the Windansea area, but this one was by far the best deal for the stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fantastc Cottage

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

I stayed in this Windansea Beach cottage and it was fantastic. The room was light and airy and the remote control skylights were awesome. The owner even lent me his surfboard for the week. Great privacy, they just put up a fence so the cottage had it's own walkway. The decor was beautiful, and the double french doors opening to the patio made the place feel 10 times bigger. I'd love to live there if I could!. I've stayed in a LOT of vacation homes in the Windansea area, but this one was by far the best deal for the stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

This cottage is so cozy! It had absolutely everything I needed for a restful, rejuvenating stay. When I arrived I felt like I was at the W! The decorations are contemporary and tasteful. The pictures don't actually do it justice! Comfortable, spotless, well-equipped, secluded, roomy, private, and close to everything you need and want in La Jolla. I can't recommend this property enough - you will feel at home instantly and feel the stress melting away! Besides the amazing beach and sunsets, and other well-known area attractions, I really enjoyed the short walk to the La Jolla Farmers Market on Sunday morning (corner of Genter and Girard) for fresh local fruits, flowers, vegetables and amazing crepes!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

The perfect get-a-way!

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

I spent the summer in La Jolla last year and stayed at this wonderful cottage. The accommodations were excellent! The place is very clean, comfortable, peaceful and has everything you could possibly require for a vacation. There are vaulted ceilings, lots of windows and skylights. The property is beautiful and very 'zen'. There is gorgeous tall bamboo on the private patio and you feel like you are in your own little world! The location is also remarkable. You can walk to the beach in a few minutes, or take a stroll into town for restaurants, shopping etc. This is a great place to stay on your next vacation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review