reviews for: listing #71399 - Solana Beach, California Condo rental

Solana Surfsong - oceanfront condo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $3,200 /wk
    $5,600 - $12,800 /mth

sort by:

Excellent spot for a family vacation

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this property! We recently rented this unit for a family vacation with small children. We generally spent the first half of each day out at places like Sea World, the Zoo, and Legoland, and then came home for dinner and relaxing on the gorgeous patio. It was an ideal location for this.

This property was as beautiful in person as it was in the photos on the listing. The view is truly breathtaking and the condo was clean and very nicely decorated. We were pleasantly surprised to find how nicely appointed the place was. Unlike many rentals we've experienced, the unit had nice cookware and was equipped with condiments and basic spices. The kids enjoyed the large flat-screen TVs, collection of DVDs, and Wii system after days out sightseeing.

Note that the town is somewhat sleepy, so I wouldn't plan to rent this unit if you are hoping to walk to a lively restaurant district. Also note that the bluffs are really, really high, and the water comes right up to them. As a result, the beaches within walking distance are fairly small. The only other advice that I would have for someone renting this place is not to plan on using the washer/dryer much. It's great for washing a handful of things that need to be washed right away, but you can't count on on doing much. The dryer has no external vent, so it takes a very long time to dry and clothes generally need to be laid out all over the condo to finish drying even after the 2 hour cycle.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad to hear that these guests enjoyed the condo as customer satisfaction is always our #1 priority. In addition, we would like to comment on a few points that they bring up in their review as to provide clarity to our future guests.

The beach closest to the condo is Fletcher Cove Beach which also includes a lovely park. When the tide is out, the beach along the bluffs are very long, very wide, and free of rocks. The tides are in twice daily, so if you do go down to the beach during a high tide on days with high surf, there will appear to be less beach than normal. However, these are very rare instances. The vast majority of the time, the beach is long, wide, and very user friendly.

The Washer & Dryer are Bosch condenser types and work very well, however, the instructions must be closely followed for best results. These instructions are clearly posted to insure our guests understand how to best operate them. Over-loading the dryer will result in items not drying completely. Our experience has shown that small/medium loads should dry in less than 30 minutes.

We hope that these comments will help to provide future customers with the information they need to enjoy all aspects of their stay with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best family vacation

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Beautiful well appointed condo with stunning views. Walking distance to interesting shops, cafes, pizza port with excellent beer, very short drive to grocery stores. Visited safari park, legoland, birch aquarium, bbq on the beach in del mar, hiking in torrey pines. Kids and adults both very happy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't beat the view!

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Tremendous, spacious ocean front condo. The master suite is really nice - good size bathroom and plenty of closet space. Arrival and departure were a breeze. Great sleeping to the sounds of the ocean waves breaking right below the patio deck. Secured parking, walk to restaurants, the beach, and shopping, dolphins every morning and spectacular sunsets every night. What more could you want?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect setting to enjoy our Thankgiving week

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We were privileged to stay in the beautiful Solana Beach condo. The condo provided a perfect setting for preparing and enjoying a wonderful 2010 family Thanksgiving dinner. Being an end unit, we enjoyed AMAZING views of the Pacific Ocean from multiple vantage points. It was great fun watching the surfers, dolphins, boating activities and, of course, fabulous sunsets. The owners care of the condo, and its renters, was obvious by the furnishings, immaculate conditions, and a “starter pantry” that included such items as coffee, spices, olive oil, sugar and other condiments, as well as, soaps, lotions and paper products.

We would also like to commend the rental agency that manages this property for exceptional customer care and responsiveness. We can’t wait to come back for another visit!

p.s. the condo is EXACTLY as it appears in the WEB photos -- upscale and very comfortable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect setting to enjoy our Thankgiving week

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We were privileged to stay in the beautiful Solana Beach condo. The condo provided a perfect setting for preparing and enjoying a wonderful 2010 family Thanksgiving dinner. Being an end unit, we enjoyed AMAZING views of the Pacific Ocean from multiple vantage points. It was great fun watching the surfers, dolphins, boating activities and, of course, fabulous sunsets. The owners care of the condo, and its renters, was obvious by the furnishings, immaculate conditions, and a “starter pantry” that included such items as coffee, spices, olive oil, sugar and other condiments, as well as, soaps, lotions and paper products.

We would also like to commend the rental agency that manages this property for exceptional customer care and responsiveness. We can’t wait to come back for another visit!

p.s. the condo is EXACTLY as it appears in the WEB photos -- upscale and very comfortable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Views

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

I had the pleasure to stay at this beautiful property. The pictures are great but to see it in person is really outstanding. This home is warm and inviting and it feels like a luxurious resort but has an at home atmosphere.
The views are spectacular whether sitting on the balcony gazing at the ocean or from any room in the condo. The location is perfect as you can walk to a nearby park with the children. There are many restrauants with-in walking distance. You must try the Naked Cafe. The food is great and inexpensive. Delmar Race Track is nearby as well as many shops to explore. You will not be sorry choosing this property to stay in.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Views

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

I had the pleasure to stay at this beautiful property. The pictures are great but to see it in person is really outstanding. This home is warm and inviting and it feels like a luxurious resort but with a down home feeling. The views are spectacular whether sitting on the balcony gazing at the ocean or from inside the condo. The location is perfect as you can walk to a nearby park with the children and there are stores and restaurants available. My favorite was the Naked Cafe and Delmar Race Track is also nearby. You will not be disappointed in choosing this condo for your vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review