reviews for: listing #71456 - Santa Monica, California House rental

Santa Monica Beach House 5 short blocks to beach (new)
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Park
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,100 /wk
    $5,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

islander

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 7, 2014

We loved staying at the cottage in the Ocean Park neighborhood. The house was very clean and uncluttered. We enjoyed having morning coffee on the back patio. It felt very private although there is a house right behind...screening with plants is excellent. The location is superb....close to everything and just 2 blocks from our son's home! We hope to be back often!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach bungalow in Paradise

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

We loved our spring break in this wonderful and charming beach cottage. We walked to beach, restaurants and rode bikes to Venice Beach. This home is clean, well stocked, comfortable, good location and owners are very nice to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, well stocked house near Main Street

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We spent two weeks at the Beach House in January 2014 visiting our daughter, who lives in Santa Monica. The house was perfect for our needs. It was well stocked with everything we needed and was fresh and clean when we arrived. There's a nice private yard in back. Best of all, the location was great. It's about three blocks from Main Street, with lots of trendy shops and restaurants, and five blocks to the beach. The Third Street Promenade, the Pier, the Venice Boardwalk, and other attractions are all easily accessible. The owner was helpful in answering our questions about the property before we arrived and the listing photos accurately reflected the property's appearance and amenities. We have no complaints at all and would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect.....

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

The beach house was great - we could not have asked for a better place to spend our time. Perfect place for a small family and in an excellent location. Clean, all the amenities you can think of....definitely a place we will come back to. The parking spot is small, but we did just fine with a mini-van.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location, Clean and Well Stocked

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks from January 10 - 24, 2014, while visiting our daughter and her husband in Santa Monica. The house was perfect for our needs. The location is excellent. It's in a safe residential area and within easy walking distance to Main Street, with lots of restaurants and shops, the beach, the Pier, and downtown Santa Monica. The house has a private backyard and a front porch and is fully outfitted with everything you need for an extended stay. Everything was clean and fresh on our arrival. This area -- off Main Street in Santa Monica -- is our favorite place to stay when visiting LA, and provides easy access to Venice, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, and other tourist attractions. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Canadian Family of 4

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

House was well stocked with everything you need during a stay away from home. Perfect size for a family of four - two of which were teenagers. We all found that we had enough room in the house and on the porch to never feel like we were in each others' way or space. Bed arrangements were perfect for us (one king and two twins) as our children are girl & boy and definitely did not want to have to share a bed with each other. Fabulous having two full bathrooms. Any "problems" we encountered during our stay were quickly dealt with by the owners. Thanks Tracy and Pat. Only one recommendation ... beds were quite squeaky. Whenever our daughter rolled over we could hear it all the way into the master bedroom. Nothing a little "lube" couldn't fix. Would definitely stay here again. Location was perfect for us and very quiet.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent, clean vacation home

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

As a fellow VRBO owner, we have pretty high standards for cleanliness when we rent, and this home definitely impressed us. Very clean, nice sheets and pillows, large beds, nice furniture, etc. Nice easy walk to a gas station as well as downtown. Had a great time and would highly recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beach walk lovers

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Very neat clean easy to access and park

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and comfortable

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

My family of older teens had a wonderful stay in this comfortable and charming bungalow. Tracy was very easy to work with and very nicely tolerated my many questions. We enjoyed the well supplied kitchen and wonderful back patio area. So nice to come back from a busy day and relax outside. Fantastic location and easy to walk to the beach, the pier and the promenade. Washer and dryer made it easy to clean provided beach towels. We won't bring so many supplies next time. We will definitely be back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Location!!!!!

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

My husband and I and two teenage girls stayed for 5 days in this adorable little house in Santa Monica! We were so impressed when we opened the door and walked in. It was extremely clean and organized and we immediately felt comfortable! Its in a cute neighborhood about 5 minute walk to the beach and 10 minute walk to 3rd street promenade which had amazing shopping for adults and teenagers and some amazing restaurants. We truly enjoyed our stay and are already talking about when we could go back. We will definitely rent this house again when we go. It was so much better than staying in a hotel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

Just finished spending a birthday weekend with my wife and another couple. We loved the house. Every morning we walked down to Dog Town Coffee, then to the beach. The location was perfect and the house, especially for the price, was great!

My only small issues were the pans provided in the kitchen and the somewhat awkward parking spot provided.That said, I'd totally return to this rental, I'd just maybe bring my own pan. :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cosy, quiet & clean :)

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

Traci responded promptly & booking went very smoothly. Property is in a good location. Although a little older it was very clean & quiet with a modern kitchen & met our needs perfectly for a short stay in LA. Santa Monica is quite central for a tourist in LA. Don't get a big SUV as it wont fit in the driveway & parking in the street was quite full when we stayed, our Nissan Kia fit very snuggly in driveway. Property was great for us with two older teenagers. My only issue would be with the linen in main bedroom, cotton/linen would be way more comfortable to sleep in than polyester satin? Otherwise, very comfortable & simple necessities (such as washing detergent, tea & coffee) all supplied, which were much appreciated :) Definitely would recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your response. You are our best form of advertisement a satisfied customer. Your review is greatly appreciated.

TW
The Beach House in Santa Monica

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stay

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

It was great. The house. Is in great shape. And the kids enjoyed their visit with us. We'd stay there again. Steve

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much.

TW
The Beach House in Santa Monica

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Location and cleanliness were excellent. The one comment I have is base on the quality of linen, dishes and lack of bedside tables. TV trays were used throughout the space to accomodate places to put things.
The rental process was easy and the owner/rental company were great to work with. Really enjoyed the space.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

pjgs

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay and the home was exceptionally clean. It was very well equipped with everything needed for our stay. It was close to the beach and made walking to the various venues easy. Also, it was very close the freeways.
I wish we had noticed when booking it did not have a/c. When we were gone for extended times it was very warm for a short period until after the windows were opened a while. Having a ceiling fan or window a/c unit in the living/dining area would solve the issue. Parking was a bit challenging at times. Otherwise, "kudos" to the owners for making it a warm and inviting place to stay. The price was very reasonable too. Should our plans ever bring us to area we definitely would consider staying again. A wonderful property to enjoy sunny California. Believe it could be marketed as handicap accessible if a portable ramp was available for guests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place and Close to Beach!

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

We stayed here for a friend's wedding and it was so close to everything. Blocks from the beach, Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, great places to eat, good bars, etc.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Company from Canada.

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

Excellent location. Very clean. Close to the beach. Would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pleasant

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

House was perfect! Good sized bedrooms, full kitchen, laundry room, tv with cable and dvd player, and nice outside sitting on the front and back porches. Easy walk to the beach, taking a right to get to the Santa Monica Pier and a left for Venice Beach. Grocery stores close by, as well as easy access to Santa Monica shopping district and highways into LA.

The owners were there cleaning when we arrived early and were very gracious in showing us the house and other amenities. Quite a pleasant family.

Note: If you drive a larger vehicle, like an SUV, the parking is very tight.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy, comfy, and clean. A fantastic place to stay!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

The Beach House was THE perfect place for our stay in Santa Monica. The location of the house makes for a very short walk to the beach, shopping, restaurants, and nightlife in Santa Monica. The property manager was very accommodating and did a great job of communicating the instructions for the arrival process at the house. This rental was truly a home away from home and made our trip that much more enjoyable. The house has everything you would want to feel right at home. The only time we needed our rental car was to leave Santa Monica, otherwise we traveled on foot for the duration of our trip because the house is in a great location. If you need a place to stay in Santa Monica we highly recommend the Beach House.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Monica

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

We spent 4 days here and it was very comfortable and clean. Kitchen well equipped ,bedrooms had good closet and drawer space. Location very convenient, quiet in a safe neighborhood, cute front porch and back patio to sit and relax. Walked to Main street for dinner, tons of restaurants to choose from. would rent again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Beach House

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We found the property to be exactly as represented - we were quite comfortable! Loved the proximity to beach, pier, Third Street Promenade, downtown Santa Monica - and of course the buses to "Everywhere!" Perfect space for the four of us and when our kids stopped by to visit. Would definitely rent it on our next visit to the area!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice little house & great lauching pad to the area

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

A nice house that provided a great launching spot to not only see Santa Monica but also Venice, Malibu, Hollywood, Beverly Hills and down the southern coast. It was very clean and maintained well including being well appointed with TV’s; sugar, tea, spices, towels including beach, kitchen gadgets, etc. and met all the needs of our family (with two teenage girls). It was in a good neighbourhood that we found safe and quiet evening walking back to it from downtown in the later evenings. Less than 10 minute walk to beach and 15 or less to Pier or Promenade. One parking spot that is a bit tight (we had full size car) but very doable as with anywhere it seems in the LA area, parking is a commodity in high demand. We’d recommend this house to others and would stay here again if we are ever back in the area.
Ontario Canucks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

Fantastic location just a short walk to the beach, pier and town centre. The location was also very convenient for the freeway and we found it easy to get to various locations around Los Angeles, Hollywood etc. The house itself was very clean and had all the facilities we would expect and need (including a good wifi connection), it was in fabulous decorative order and the bathrooms and showers were great. We met Traci the owner who was lovely and extremely helpful. Overall we had a wonderful stay and we will be back when we are next in Santa Monica.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Experience, Fantastic Location!

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

Walking distance to the Santa Monica Peer, this home was wonderful! The whole house was just updated and the showers were to die for! We enjoyed all the shops and restaurants just a few blocks away. We had business in Hollywood and Burbank which was a short drive. The owner's were very pleasant and everything was so smooth. We will definitely stay again, Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House, Fantastic Location

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Absolutely loved the house, very clean, all the extras you'd find in a hotel, lots of towels, tissues, tea and coffee, everything you need. The location was fantastic, just as described, walking distance to beach, 3rd Street Promenade and Main Street. We didn't have a car and found we could walk to everything we needed. We meet the owner Traci and she was extremely helpful, we even extended our stay a few extra days. We were here for over 2 weeks. We would certainly recommend this property to all our family and friends back home in Australia.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic in every sense!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

Just finished a three day stay and I must say that it was a wonderful experience. The home has every amenity you could possibly want. I loved the attention to detail from the shampoo, conditioner, body wash dispensers in the showers to the extensive supply of towels!
It's quite obvious that the house has been recently remodeled as it's completely spotless from top to bottom.
Location is also a plus. The house is within a short walk of not only the beach and pier but also plenty of shops and restaurants.
I will definitely return if ever in the area again and would highly recommend this home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review