reviews for: listing #71562 - Bahamas, Caribbean House rental

Quinta Vida
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Little Exuma
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,900 - $4,700 /wk

sort by:

Nice home off the beaten path

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

Wonderful, secluded home made a good base for our adventures. We specifically sought a location more removed from others and we found it at Quinta Vida. None of the 2 or 3 other properties along the visible shore were rented, so we enjoyed exploring the shoreline in both directions. For a remote property, it is well appointed and the AC kept us cool. The patio/ deck is great, catching the breeze with comfortable seating. It took just over an hour to drive there from the airport, and the market is closed around lunch on Sunday, so we did a fair amount of driving to stock up for the week to have food to cook. The drive was the price for seclusion, and we knew this going in. The house is on the best stretch of beach south of the Tropic of Cancer beach, with great views and swimmable waters.

Owners response: Adam N. So Very Glad you like Quinta Vida and You enjoyed our Great Beach! Yes the Down Fall of arriving On Sunday's is the Extra traveling for Groceries and such but then again part of the Adventure too. Hope you get the chance to return some day soon.
Thank you
QV Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't possibly be better!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

We had a fantastic time at this lovely, well-cared-for property. Without being intimidatingly luxurious, it manages to be beautiful, friendly, and provide every amenity. The location is private, the setting is lovely, the house is more than comfortable, and every view is spectacular. The caretaker is friendly and extremely informative; he gave us all the information we needed to have fun in the islands. And the island itself - i can't say enough about how beautiful it is. It was incredibly difficult to leave and head back to a dull-grey Missouri winter after staying at this tropical paradise. FIVE PLUS STARS!!! Hope to visit again soon!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most amazing beach house I've been to!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2013

This was my third trip to Quinta Vida in less than 2 years. It is the first trip I've ever taken where I literally plan my next trip while I'm there. The location is remote, which we love. Very relaxing days filled with reading and swimming. The more we go the more we fall in love with the quaintness of Exuma. The house is always clean and inviting and the views are the most amazing I've ever seen (and I've traveled throughout Central America and the Caribbean quite a bit). I highly recommend Quinta Vida to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation off the beaten path. And to anyone who goes, make sure to check out Santanna's, Chat 'n Chill, and ESPECIALLY Mama's bakery! We just got back a week ago and are already planning our next trip w some friends.

Owners response: Thank You.. So Very Happy you Enjoy Not Only Quinta Vida but our Special Local places like Santanna's, Chat 'n Chill, and Mama's bakery! The Folks On Exuma are the Best!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful house & beach - with a caveat

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

Have stayed at many locations in the Bahamas and this house was one of the best. Owner provided us with all the information we needed prior to arrival, the caretaker met us as scheduled and got us familiarized with the well-maintained property. Everything we needed was there. The house is in a remote location so all that was very welcome. The wind was strong the week we were there and being on the East side of the island the water beautiful but a little rough for easy swimming - but the body surfing outstanding. There were 6 of us, including an 8 year old mermaid in training and we all enjoyed ourselves at the house. All of that was great and I was thrilled and planned on returning next year until the day before we were slated to leave. The three men in our group had parked one of our rental cars at a nearby boat ramp while they were doing some fishing and when they returned to the car all four tires were slashed. Very disconcerting at any time and even more so in a remote location. The rental car company (Thompsons) charged us for replacing all 4 tires - (under dispute) and while everyone apologized, they acknowledged that this isn't the first time it has happened (there were a few different theories about who did it) and we heard "there is nothing we can do about it." from a couple locals. That was not exactly what we wanted to hear. We visited the police and the tourist bureau in Great Exuma and were told someone would follow up with us, but we have heard nothing further. So, despite the property being first rate, we will not feel comfortable returning to Great Exuma. Perhaps if someone not fishing they won't have a problem but I can't say that with certainty. WIsh I could just write a glowing report but feel i must let everyone know what happened.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect!

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

Just back from spending a wonderful eight days at Quinta Vida! I love the Quinta Vida. The house is great, especially the big living room with its two huge and comfy couches!!! The deck is right out from the living room doors and we spent a lot of our time on that deck. A cool breeze the entire week with blazing sun! The beach is just steps from the house and is a fantastic beach with the bathtub clear water! Mr. Thompson, the caretaker, was very helpful. Overall, a wonderful place to get away from it all. If you want privacy, QV is the place! we plan to be back - Larry W - Ashley R - Steve W from Bay Minette, Alabama & Los Angeles, California :-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, perfect!!!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Amazing place, the house is perfect all is there, the beach beautiful clear and just steps away and was private for us those days, the owner gave us writing details and local contacts, definetly we recomend this and we will repeat this, the island people is very nice and outgoing, always felt safe. Thanks GOD that gave us the chance of going there.
QUINTA VIDA AND EXUMA ROCKS!!!,

Owners response: So Glad you had a Great Time Look forward to having U stay again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house at a great location

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

The house is in top of a rock surrounded by a beautiful deck with very comfortable furniture and hammock. It has 3 floors. The first floor has the utilities and in the second floor there is an enormous open room where the dining room, the living room and the kitchen are located.The dining table is of dark wood with seating for 12. The living room has 2 red couches.and chairs They are so big they look like beds. The kitchen is very comfortable with beautiful stone china, glasses and everything you need in a kitchen.. So Tony was very happy. We cannot drink the water from the faucet. It is not potable. This area face the beach which can be seen from the glass walls. So it seems we are in a ship all the time. You do not see the sand until you come down the stairs that leads you to it. The sand is white and like powder. The water in the morning is turquoise and changes to different shades of blue during the day. The temperature of the water is perfect. The beach is private to this house only. The next house is 2 blocks away in top of another rock. In between there are dense vegetation.
In this second floor there is also a big bathroom and a bedroom with 2 beds, a desk, a table and 2 escaparates full of towels and bed sheets. It also has another bedroom completely furniture where we decided to sleep.
The third floor has the master bedroom with a gorgeous open bathroom. The bed is in the center of the room on top of a base of 3 feet high ,so, when you are there all you see is the ocean through the glass windows. We decided not to use it. We were afraid to fall down while sleeping.
There is a lot of antiques in the house and it is decorated with a very good taste. It really offers everything we need to have such a relaxing and wonderful vacation.
After the sunset we watched thousand of stars in the sky.
This is amazing!!!!!!! and we plan to do it every night

Owners response: So Glad You 2 had a Great Time.. Hope to have you back again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

absolute paradise

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

I never left a review after our return from Quinta Vida, for fear of it being discovered by other travellers. I know that may sound selfish, but once you stay in the most beautiful serene place...it is hard to share!!! i visited Quinta Vida with my husband,16 year old daughter and our very best Bachelor friend. This house and island will have more meaning to us than I would have ever thought. I think about the great people of the Exumas, enjoying the beaches and amazing waters. We spent nearly every day enjoying the house and beach without having to leave to amuse ourselves. Ana was great, she checked in on us to make sure we had everything we needed and made sure the house was what we had anticipated. There were lots of beach items like snorkel gear, sand pails (which were used to build a HUGE sandcastle!) air mattresses etc. etc…. the caretaker was also very helpful; he waited patiently for us to arrive as our flight was delayed almost two hours!! A car is a must because it is remote.. Be sure to order coconut bread from mama at mamas bakery in Williamstown…this makes the most amazing French toast I have ever eaten. Quinta Vida will be in our hearts forever….it was the last place we enjoyed time with our best friend; we suffered with the loss of our beloved friend shortly after returning home. I will always remember Quinta Vida as the best vacation I have ever had.

Owners response: We are so glad you all had such a special time at Quinta Vida, Sorry for your the Loss of your good friend. Hope you will return again soon and make more great Memories !

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice Escape

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

La Quinta Vida is a lovely home near what seems like the end of the world. It is comfortable, well-equipped and sits about 15 feet from the edge of an ocean bluff near the end of the road on Little Exuma, far away (well, a 30 minute rough (and I mean rough) drive) from civilization.
We went just after X-mas. The weather was a bit chilly (60's) for a few days then it warmed a bit, and the water temp was chilly too. But we got some wetsuits from the dive shop, and, even though the waves were rough, my kids swam from the beach most days. I hear the sand shifts in the cove as there was really no beach in front of the house while we were there, but you could climb down the stairs onto the rocks and 100 yards away the beach widened. I'm sure the water is much warmer and seas calmer in the spring and summer.
We had fun doing some of the things recommended by the owner- dining out at Santanas just down the road, renting a boat to go snorkeling and exploring the islands of Eliz. Harbor. We found the SCUBA not very good, but, as I said, it was windy and the ocean was rough when we visited. Dive sites were limited by the weather.
My kids were a bit lost as to what to do with themselves when we first got there. No TV, internet was not working. But after a few days they were opening coconuts, going for walks, feeding the Banaquits, chasing lizards and picking out VHS movies for us to watch at night after we grilled some steaks on the barbecue. And we did lots of road trips exploring the islands, eating out pretty much everywhere there was to eat, seeing everything there was to see (not much, really).
All in all it was a great escape. If you like relaxing, reading, chilling out in a quiet, beautiful place, this place is just the ticket. If you're looking for action, you better be creative here.
Would I visit again? Yes, but without my kids, so my wife and I, and maybe a few friends, could just relax and take in all the beauty of this lovely place.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You, Glad You had Fun - Sorry about the beach but can't control Mother nature... Hope you will be back soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pure bliss!

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

The beach house is an ideal vacation spot for families and couples. The beach is especially beautiful with soft sand and crystal clear water. There is also great stargazing late at night. You must rent a car for your stay as Quinta Vida is 30 min. from Georgetown. We recommend renting a Boston Whaler at Thompson's Rentals and exploring Stocking Island. On Stocking, Chat & Chill Bar is a highlight. Also walking over to the Atlantic side of Stocking is enjoyable and the views are superb. We have rented this house every summer since it was built. Exuma remains a treasured vacation spot and Quinta Vida the ideal place to create a lifetime of wonderful memories.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank You So Glad you Enjoy Quinta Vida
To avoid Confusion Thompson's Rental is for Car
Boat Rentals Minn's Marina

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing get-a-way

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

I can't wait to go back. There were no neighbors anywhere while we were there and having the whole beach to ourselves was wonderful. Lots of sun and surf. The house is great. Everything we could have asked for was provided (except the food).
Be sure to read the brochure that is emailed though. You have to use the bottled water for cooking and drinking.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great Time

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Quinta Vida!! We love it!

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

We have stayed at Quinta Vida 6 years in a row! We absolutely love it!! The house itself is perfect for us as we have 2 families that travel together with 4 kids. It is clean and well cared for. The caretaker is very good and helpful. The house is plenty big enough for all of us. The beach is right outside the front door and it is not unusual to see rays swimming by each day. The house is well equiped right down to plenty of towels and sheets. Anything you need. The kitchen as well and it is easy to work in. The town is about 30 min away, so you should plan ahead for that. There are restaurants along the way and there is plenty to do when you get there if you want to. Otherwise it is awesome to stay home and relax. The beach is beautiful and so is the water. There is rarely anyone on it. That is perfect for us. The locals will come by boat and sell lobster and fish at a reasonalbe price.. They will even clean it for you. Williamstown is about 5 min away. Santanas restaurant is there and it is our favorite place to go. The best food on the island we think. The people are friendly and it is alot of fun. In town there are boat tours and day trips you can take if you want. We just love staying home and relaxing and enjoying the beautiful water and beach. The owners of Quinta Vida are very accomodating and nice. We have never had any problems. I can not say enough about this property. The island if a wonderful place to visit if you are looking to relax and unwind in a beautiful place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2008   Date of arrival: June 23, 2008

Absolutely MagnificentOctober 24, 2007 Quint Vida is not a place but an experience that fills the soul, enlightens the mind, and comforts your body beyond anything words can say. The house could not be more comfortable and the setting..., well, now I know what heaven looks like! Contact the owner NOW, decide to go NOW! You will not regret it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2008   Date of arrival: June 23, 2008

We had the entire cove to ourselves. The house was clean and well maintained. The caretaker made sure that everything was working. 5 gallon water jugs for drinking water were easily accessible. TV, games, and computer were available for use. The mosquitoes were bad at dusk and dawn, but other than that didn't bother us much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 15, 2008   Date of arrival: February 15, 2008

Like having a private beach in paradise. I love being able to see the beach from bed. Lovely views from all sides.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: December 19, 2007

Quinta Vida is the most serene spot I've found so far. The scenic views, the open ocean, the friendly locals.I am looking SO forward to my next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review