reviews for: listing #71570 - Huntington Beach, California Cottage rental

Downtown Garden Beach Cottage - 2 minute walk to beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Downtown
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $200 /nt
    $850 - $1,300 /wk
    $3,000 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Best little beach retreat in Huntington Beach

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

This little place is perfect! Fully equipped with everything you need and more. Lovely sheets and towels, kitchen is fully stocked with dishes, pot and pans, etc. The garage is loaded with all sorts of toys and bikes as well as a washer/dryer. Walking distance to downtown Huntington Beach, the pier and the dog beach. Very clean and owner is a treasure! Can't wait to return to our home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Lynnette for writing such a nice review. I enjoyed meeting you and Jack and of course Dutch. It is people like you that makes this such a joy. Thank you too, for the books. I think a lot of people will enjoy reading them.
I look forward to you coming again, Sharon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Darling house

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

Dear Sharon,
Thank you so much for this darling house to stay in! Everything you have done us is lovely, you have simply thought of everything! It;s so quiet and relaxing and we have so enjoyed the sweet hummingbirds keeping us company. Lovely garden view. We hope that we can return on a regular basis.
Best regards to you and Lady,
Jack, Lynnette & Dutch-dog

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorable Christmas

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Sharon, Thank you for helping to make our Huntington Beach Christmas memorable. The Christmas tree you left for us was the perfect touch. We really enjoyed your little beach cottage and have already shared your information with some of our H.B. friends in Georgia. We hope to come back soon. We couldn't believe how much stuff you left in the garage and each day we found something new. The bikes were a lot of fun. We rode them down to Newport and had lunch at Charlies Chili. Thank you for everything!
Debbie & Lamans,
Sugar Hill Georgia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for your hospitality!!!

Review submitted: December 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2012

Thank you for your hospitality!!! We will remember always this home and the wonderful hummingbirds!!
Ambra and Pietro from Rome, Italy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for opening up you heart and home

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

Dear Sharon, Thank you for opening up you heart and home. This was a perfect little place to make the most of our trip. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for making your place so comfortable

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

Sharon, Thanks so much for a lovely place to re;ax by the beach. I'm feeling truly rested as I head back home and I know a lot of that is due to this lovely retreat. Thanks for making your place so comfortable. I enjoyed my days at the beach and catching up with friends. I hope to be back here again soon. Thanks so much, Suzi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our little home away from home

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

Our little home away from home! Thank you Sharon for the perfect end to our trip. Relaxing, friendly and inviting. We hope to make this an annual arrangement. Take care Sharon and Lady, we will see you next year. Claire and Tony

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love the beach cottage

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Love the beach cottage. It's so close to downtown and the beach. Had fun on the bikes too!
We will be back soon. Thanks again, Jeannie, Mark & Josie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our second stay

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Our second stay at the Garden Beach Cottage was just as wonderful as our first. We consider this little place our home away from home. Thanks for everything once again, See you again soon, Josh, Sarah & Claire

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I couldn't ask for a better vacation

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

Sharon, Thank you once again for allowing me to stay in this fabulous cottage. My visit here was very relaxing, pleasant and very peaceful. What a great joy to be so close to the ocean. It's so nice to sit on the beach, read a book, body-surf and of course soak up the sun. You and Lady's hospitality made me feel at home and I couldn't have asked for a better vacation. I look forward to returning next year and go through it all over again. God bless you and your family (including Lady).
Thank you once again,
Dan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I couldn't ask for a better vacation

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

Sharon, Thank you once again for allowing me to stay in this fabulous cottage. My visit here was very relaxing, pleasant and very peaceful. What a great joy to be so close to the ocean. It's so nice to sit on the beach, read a book, body-surf and of course soak up the sun. You and Lady's hospitality made me feel at home and I couldn't have asked for a better vacation. I look forward to returning next year and go through it all over again. God bless you and your family (including Lady).
Thank you once again,
Dan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for everything, the house is awesome

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Sharon, We are really glad we finally got to go on vacation, thank you for everything. The house is awesome. We really enjoyed all of the stuff that comes with it. Jesse thought it was cool that we had bikes to ride and really had fun taking them out to breakfast! Our start of the week was not that good at home, but when we got here it all got better. Thanks for Jesse's cake, it was really nice - just like being at home - away from home. Don't change a thing!
We'll be back!
Ryan, April & Jesse

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Sharon, We really enjoyed our stay in your darling little cottage. All the comforts of home! So close to the beach, we loved that! The open kitchen with all of the items we could possibly need - was most appreciated - even a dishwasher. We will definitely be back soon.
God Bless, Jim and Marcia
P.S. Can't forget the use of garage and washer and dryer was also very much appreciated!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We felt right at home, everything was perfect

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Sharon we had a great time in your cottage by the ocean. The kids loved the bikes. The beach gear and wagon were put to use a lot. It was great! We felt right at home, everything was perfect. Thank you for everything.
Andy, Holly, Anna and Ian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We used the bicycles almost every day!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

Sharon we enjoyed our stay at your vacation rental. The accommodations were perfect for the two of us. We used the bicycles almost every day. Thanks for being so kind and helping us out when I locked the keys in my car at the golf course. It was fun to meet your little granddaughter Katelyn and to be greeted by your little dog Lady. Being so close to the beach was so convenient. We will definately be back since our week went by so fast. Thanks for being such a great hostess and treating us so good from early on in the rental process and throughout our stay.
Sincerely, Randy and Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love this place it's our third time

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Dear Sharon,
As one of your first renters and now 1st three-peaters. This truly has become our home away from home. We love seeing all the new additions each year to make this place more special. We love every detail including the bikes and beach gear. You make us feel very welcome - comfortable. I know this will not be our last visit - can't wait to be here again!
Thank you for everything,
Scott, Bonnie, Zach & Jacob

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We couldn't thank you enough

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Dearest Sharon,
We couldn't thank you enough for such a wonderful place to stay on such a wonderful vacation. You provided everything we could need. We really felt at home.
The bikes and trailer were the best. We had so much fun! It was wonderful that we could bring Dash. As always he loved dog beach and a place to rest afterward.
I will be in touch soon to book for next year!!
Thanks, MIchael, Jody, Brooke & Dash

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful stay in your little cottage by the sea

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Thank you for our wonderful stay in you little cottage by the sea. We have had an amazing week and it was so helpful to have everything we could possibly need here! You think of everything.
We have had so much fun on the bikes - riding to breakfast, the beach, Starbucks and more.
It was like being a kid again!
And I can't thank you enough for the beautiful birthday cake!
That was so sweet of you!
We look forward to coming back soon,
Erin, Bob, Jordan & Tyler

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful stay, we want to come back

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Sharon, we had a wonderful stay in your wonderful beach house! Thank you for all the personal touches. The girls enjoyed playing with the games and doing art projects. We all made use of the bicycles and beach toys.
I hope we can come back next year and see you and lady again. We will be telling our friends about your home.
Michael, Jennie, Rachel and Emily

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It felt like coming home

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Sharon,
Thank you very much for the beautiful place. We had again two wonderful weeks. Everything was just perfect and coming back to this place felt like coming home.
See you and Lady very soon
Again, we will be back!
Thomas & Nadine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I will be back!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

Sharon, you are the best Landlady! Your cottage is lovely and you provide everything for a great vacation. So many sweet things, plus a tiny botanical garden. The location can't be any better. Close to every great spot in Southern California.
I will be back!
Edie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect size and location

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

Sharon,
Your cottage was the perfect size and location for us including all the amenities one would need at the beach!
With my son living in the area I'm sure we will be renting from you again.
Thanks again,
Lori

(Side note)

Thanks again for allowing us to stay in your adorable cottage. We didn't make it to the aquarium. There were many things to do in Huntington Beach. The strawberries you left us were delicious!
Lori, Hunter & Hannah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A home away from home!

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

This was such a special getaway for my husbend, children and I. Everything was here for us. We wanted a close getaway to be able to walk to the beach, go shopping on main street, and bike riding on the beach path. We even experienced the grunion run happening right across the street!! We enjoyed the bikes that were offered and my kids spent many of hours using the beach toys provided. I would reccommend this cottage to any small family who wants a great vacation for a great price.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the place

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

We loved the place and really enjoyed our stay! The cottage had everything we needed and the location is wonderful... close to beach and shopping. Will recommend this place to friends.
Cynthia

I was so astounded when we walked in how there was a cake on the table for us. I have turned 17 recently but the thought was what mattered and it was very nice of you to do that for us. Yum! I really enjoyed staying here and I definitely want to come back again.
Sarah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great stay we will be back

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

Sharon, want to say "thank you" This truly was a great stay for us. We will be back and be telling all about this place. You have done a wonderful job making us feel right at home. God bless.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice location, but too small for 4

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

This unit was not what we expected given it is advertised to sleep 4. Although we were given a fair price for it, it was way too small for our family of 4 (2 small kids). The trundle bed is actually in the kitchen. There is no "living room" at all. Practically speaking, it was just too small. There are no hooks to place a sweater or jacket upon entering, there is no place for shoes, bathroom has room to hang one wet towel, there is no clothes line for wet bathing suits or towels, etc. It is crowded and a bit dark.

But there were many things we liked about the place, and the owner did make it feel like a home away. The garage is full of things to use and this was wonderful. However, We've been charged (a lot) for the wagon being stolen from behind the garage. It was left out for 15 minutes! I was willing to pay a portion of this but was surprised that she insisted we cover the full amount.

Overall I would recommend this unit for a single traveller, not a family.

Owners response: I'm not surprised by the bad review. It's not about the home. I would like to begin by saying how blessed I have been with the wonderful people that have been my guests. I have had many families with 2 adults & 2 children. Please read the reviews. Everyone has been very respectful of the things I provide. I have never used a penny of anyones deposit until now. I do feel if you are neglectful and leave property unattended in the alley and it is stolen, it is your responsibility to pay to replace it.
This is a wonderful location and a great value. I take great pride in this little beach house. I want you to feel like you are in your little home away from home. Bring your clothes & food to cook that's all you will need for a great beach vacation. I try to include everything.There is a barbeque in the backyard with 2 patios with tables and chairs. Sit outside and watch the hummingbirds fly feet away from you to feed on the feeder. Take a quick walk to the beach with the all terrain wagon. Load it up with beach chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, blanket, towels, sand toys, sunscreen, ice chest. Roll it to the shore. We have it all. Take a bike ride on the flat bike path. We have 2 mens bikes, 2 ladies, 2 girls, 2 boys, a tandum & bike trailer, bike helmets and locks for you to use. Play volleyball at the pier, ball in garage. Take the binoculars to the wetlands to see the migrating birds. Just relax and read a good book. People watch my favorite.
This is a small very efficient one bedroom home. It has a bedroom with a queen size bed, a full closet, a large dresser, flat screen TV with cable/DVD/VCR. A full bathroom with bathtub. Complete kitchen with everything you will need. Living room has a day bed with trundle (2 twin comfortable mattresses). A dining room table with 5 chairs. It has a flatscreen with DVD player.
There are DVD's for adults and children, maps, books, board games, coloring books, crayons, markers, cards etc.
The garage is included. Parking is hard to find this close to the beach. There is a washer/dryer, so you don't have to take dirty clothes home.
Please look at the pictures. You get so much for so little. I just want this to be a vacation full of great memories. I'm always trying to improve your stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Two awesome weeks in this beautiful place

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We had two awesome weeks in this beautiful place. We are already now planning our next trip to Huntington Beach and we'll stay in the same place!
Sharon, thank you very much for everything. We will stay in touch and send you the photo's we took of the hummingbirds in your garden.
See you soon again,
Thomas and Nadine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time in your perfect beach cottage

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

Had a great time in your perfect little beach cottage. My sister only lives a few blocks away and is going to tell everyone about this place, which is bad for us in the future. We had everything we needed for a week at the beach. The bikes, bike trailer and wagon were all put to use during our stay!!
We hope to be back soon. Everything was perfect.
Thank you!!
P.S. Thanks for the beautiful weather!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't believe how comfortable and at home we felt

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

Can't believe how comfortable and at home we felt during our stay in your adorable little home away from home.
Sharon, you are an amazing hostess. Everything we could want is here.
Thank you, hope to see you this summer.
David and Connie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from home

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

Sharon, We had a wonderful time in Huntington Beach and were all very comfortable in our home away from home. We made use of the bikes and bike trailer everyday and Claire adores Lady. Thanks for making our stay so pleasant. Hope to come back soon!
Josh, Sarah and Claire

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Doggie Beach Vacation

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

The best aspects of staying at this property were its location to the “people” beach, the “doggie beach,” and Main Street where there are lots of restaurants and shopping. We enjoyed the crafts fair and the farmer’s market. There were also two neighborhood markets close by where we were able to get a daily newspaper, and also a donut shop where we purchased donuts and muffins. Another great feature was having a garage to park our vehicle since parking is at a premium in this beach area. We walked almost everywhere.

The property supplied almost everything you would need. We took our two small dogs, and they would have enjoyed a grassy area as the patio was a little small, but we were aware of this before we contracted to stay there. Our recommendations to the owner would be to put a screen door on the door leading to the patio area so that you could leave the primary door open to enjoy the cool breezes. We could not leave the door open because it would allow insects to fly into the room. We would also recommend that the day bed in the living space be changed to a sofa sleeper rather than a trundle bed. The trundle bed was very uncomfortable to sit on to watch TV and took up a lot of space.

We enjoyed our week at this vacation property, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great location to access the beach and shopping. We discovered that Knott’s Berry Farm wasn’t that far away either.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Downtown beach properties have small yards. Most people enjoy the garden area where humming birds and butterflies are frequent visitors to watch right outside on their patio.
This was the first time I heard that the daybed was uncomfortable. The response I have gotten in the past, was that it was more comfortable than a couch. It has a very comfortable twin size mattress. The trundle bed has a comfortable twin size mattress as well. This makes this the perfect place for a family of four to stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Cottage home

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

This cottage by far was the best cottage home for 2 people. The location is basically 2 blocks away form the beach and very close to the main strip at Huntington Beach. The owner made the stay even more pleasant providing all the toys(bilkes,boogie boards,surfboards,chairs)that a person could imagine. Without a doubt I strongly recommend this cottage and would definelty come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is a very romantic and comfortable stay for two people. It is also perfect for a small family. We have a queen size bed in the living room, and two twin size beds in the living room (day bed and trundle).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved it AGAIN!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

We just got back from our 2nd stay at this wonderful cottage! We were one of the first renters last year and had a great time using all the extras, bikes, sand toys, boogie boards,etc. The owner Sharon could not be nicer or more accommadating. We loved it so much that we came back again this year! This time she had more bikes, surf boards, and another TV in the bedroom. We enjoyed everything Huntington Beach has to offer, great beach, surfing, boogie boarding, biking, festivals,and even a bonfire on the beach. The only reason I wouldn't recommend this to a couple or family (up to 4) is I'm afraid it won't be available the next time we want to come!!! You'll love it

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This place is 100% the right choice!!!

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

First of the the property owner is such a kind and sweet person. She made our stay for our 1 year wedding Anniversary so pleasant. When we arrived, there was an Anniversary cake on the table and a Happy Anniversary baloon in the living room. It was a great start to a wonderful vacation.

WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Main highlights from this property:

1. It is literally just over 1 block to the beach. We spend many mornings just walking to breakfast, Starbucks or the beach. It would be hard to find a better location. Plus it is a safe neighborhood.

2. We had our own garage that fit my truck and a remote garage opener to use the whole time. Parking can be challenging at times near the beaches, but having this garage made us never have to worry about parking plus no worries about our vehicle sitting on the street at night.

3. The property has a beautiful courtyard to enjoy breakfast or coffee at. The property owner just purchased a brand new BBQ grill the day before we arrive at the property as well.

4. The layout it perfect for a couple or for a family. The kitchen has EVERYTHING you could imagine and then some. We just went to the store and purchased some food and everything else we needed was there. Plus the already available popcorn was a nice ad for our movie nights. The kitchen has all full size appliances and dishes. Everything you have at home is already there.

5. The living room and bedroom both had full cable, dvd players and beautiful flat panel tv's. The WIFI had a great signal for surfing the web on our laptops.

6. We spend most of our vacation time using the beach cruiser bikes provided by the property owner. THIS WAS THE BEST PART! There are about 7 bikes or so in th garage with wagons and toys and wet suits and wake boards. There is so much to do in that garage that you do not have to rent anything and you can save yourself so much money. We were riding the bikes EVERY single day to go shopping, eat dinner or just to go on a nice stroll on the beach bike trail. Everything provided for FREE with our stay was AMAZING!

We recommend this property to everyone looking for a great vacation. We will return over and over and we will send our family and friends as well. No hotel can compare to the price offered right on the beach in such a nice home with so many toys and things to do with such a nice owner.

YOU WILL HAVE THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE IF YOU CHOOSE THIS PROPERTY, FOR SURE!!!

-Trent & Jackie :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Our stay in Huntington Beach was perfect. The accommodations were ideal for our family of 4. The day bed has a trundle bed beneath it so our tweener kids didn't have to share a bed, and the 2 TV's made it so that everyone could watch what they wanted. It was great to be able to park our rental in the garage and the bikes and sand toys were put to good use. Sorry we ate all the popcorn you provided for us, Sharon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cute cottage

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

This is a cute cottage which was fully furnished, linens included, full kitchen with appliances. Very clean and comfortable. Bikes and boogie boards were available to us. Conveniently located to the beach and Main St.
Great value.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review