reviews for: listing #7164 - Ellsworth, Maine Cottage rental

Hopkins Pond Wateredge @ Paradise Lane
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $125 /nt
    $700 - $900 /wk
    $2,000 - $3,400 /mth

sort by:

Scrumtious Setting

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The setting for this comfortable cabin is outstanding. Hopkins Pond belies description. The water is so clear and the loons add a lovely note. We spent most of our time there out on the deck or the water. Hoever, the inside is neat, tiday, and comfortable. The paddle boat, kayaks, and a canoe provided many ways to enjoy the Pond.

The cabin is as advertised.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great vacation place

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

It was great vacation place to live specially living in the lap of mother nature, exploring the pond with different ways like kayaking, canoeing, fishing, swimming, boating..
Its also an adventure to find the property itself because GPS, google map can't locate the property. Only mapquest can locate the property...
We found the property same as it was advertised.

I would like to stay at this property again in future and recommend everyone who wants to have peaceful vacation to stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Hi Lisa'

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

We had such a wonderful time, the place had just been remodeled and was very lovely. I would recommend this spot to anyone, there was always plenty to do. The lake was beautiful as were the loons! canoeing,kayaking, and paddleboating. places to explore right there and was close to alot of other places for hiking and sightseeing. I was real delighted with the cottage had everything you ould need and lots of fun things to do. We plan to come back again! Thanks again Lisa for all your hospitality and kindness. Truly grateful, Jackie and Melvin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Jeff & Lisa,

We had a great week exploring Hopkins Pond in your kayaks and canoe. Crystal clear water and beautiful scenery including the constant presence of local loons. We traveled into Acadia National Park frequently and enjoyed the hiking and beautiful views. We highly recommend this clean, well equipped vacation home to anyone seeking a true Maine vacation! Your generous gift of fresh blueberries were mixed into all our meals including pancakes! We have the memories recorded on film. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Bob, Arlene, Stephen and Lyndsey

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful spot in your little piece of paradise!

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2007

Jeff & Lisa-
We had a wonderful relaxing time. Your camp worked well for us and certainly the weather cooperated. Everyone enjoyed the lake and the boats. my son just loved the paddle boat.


We were all very pleased with your accomadations and pleased they were as advertised which is not always the case.


We ventured over to Acadia and Bangor. My husband even rode his bike up Cadillac 2x over the week.

Thank you for a wonderful spot in your little piece of paradise. Will certainly recommend to anyone who will travel the 8/9 hours it took. Well worth it.

I hope all is in order when we left. Tried to leave it as we found. I assume you will process the deposit sometime if you haven't already done it.

Again, Everything was wonderful, blueberries, lobsters, lake, camp, even the highlight of the pig races at the state fair.

Cheers-
Diane

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful camp!

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

Dear Lisa and Jeff,
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful camp with us. We enjoyed our time here very much. We used all of the various watercraft and spent a good deal of time exploring the pond, seeing many loons and even the eagle. This combined with the quiet and relaxing atmosphere made for a wonderful vacation!
We took a number of day trips while we were here, visiting Nova Scotia, Bar Harbor, Acadia, The Lobster Fest in Rockland, etc. Gail (your neighbor) was very welcoming and helpful, providing us with tips and driving directions, etc. We are very appreciative of her help!
All in all, we've had a spectacular time here. Thanks again for the opportunity to stay here. Oh and I can't forget to thank you for the blueberries. They were delicious !!
Sincerely
Dave, Leah, Mia and Andy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The kids had great fun !

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

Hi Lisa and Jeff:
We enjoyed our stay in your cottage for the past week. The kids had great fun ! Thanks so much for the arrangement.
Aida, Lydia, Lili, & Li

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Rental

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2005

Hi Jeff & Lisa,
Thanks so much for the use of your beautiful rental. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return for another visit in the future.
Bob & Leah
P/S If you're ever in New Mexico please look us up !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kids had so much fun here

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2008

Lisa
Sorry we didn't have a chance to get to Ellsworth and meet you! Every day we had to travel to Bangor. The kids had so much fun here, it is beautiful. The loons were singing all week!
We hope to come back in the future!
Scott, Cathy & Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's Gorgeous Here

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2008

8/25
Jeff & Lisa,
Thank You....
It's gorgeous here. We kayaked everywhere. You've got a great place!.
Earl & Faith

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Time

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2008

Hello Jeff & Lisa,
We had a fantastic time at your camp.
Everything was great and we enjoyed silence on the pond, beautiful view and crispy clean air.
Thanks Alot
Best Regards,
Olga & Andrew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

don't rent this

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

We typically love to rent lakefront property in Maine! The lovely pictures of Hopkins Pond Wateredge caught our attention right away so we reserved two weeks.

These cottages are usually rustic, but clean and comfortable. This one is not.

Upon opening the door we were greeted with a strong sewer odor. The plumbing is not trapped properly so sewer gasses and grey water escape up through the shower stall. We lit candles, opened windows and poured bleach down the drain in a futile effort to get rid of the odor.

Black Mold.

The sofa was full of mold, so much so that we covered it with a tarp and resorted to sitting on bag chairs that we had brought along.

The wall in the bathroom was also covered with black mold.

Mice. We were overrun. The drawers in the kithen were totally littered with mouse droppings. It was horrible. As I said, we're used to "rustic"...but this was awful.

The lake was nice, typical of the area and thankfully we had very nice weather but I can say with confidence that this property should not be available for occupancy. The problems a not cosmetic. They are health hazards.

Owners response: Greta & Xander
In response to this review; Camp was inspected after your 2 week stay, We did not experience what you have described.
With the report of an oder we had a licensed plumber inspect with us and was assured all is fine. No report of odor or black mold during our inspection.
Had we been contacted upon your dissatisfied arrival we surely would have arranged other accomodations.
Our contact and emergency numbers are posted at the cottage.
Thank You for your review, We assure all is in clean working order.
Jeff & Lisa At Hopkins Pond

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review