reviews for: listing #71652 - Pigeon Forge, Tennessee Cabin rental

Hidden Springs Resort - Large Pool - Dollywood 1/3 Mile
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  HiddenSprings Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $110 - $135 /nt
    $660 - $820 /wk
    $1,200 - $1,200 /mth

sort by:

INCREDIBLE!

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

This cabin is the greatest! Perfect for a couple or family. Everything was as described and more! Setting was beautiful and breathtaking. The cabin was very clean and well maintained. The location is just perfect, it's near all attractions but yet out of the noise of it all. The price was very reasonable. We spent a lot of time in the nearby pool and spent our evenings in the hot tub and playing pool. Very relaxing atmosphere. I was in contact with the owner and he answered all of my questions and was just the best to work with. That was so refreshing!!! I will NOT stay at another location when I am in this area again! I found my home away from home!!! This owner was so fabulous to work with, I am checking his properties in Florida for my next vacation. I would definitely reccommend this owner and his cabin to anyone! We had a WONDERFUL time! Thank you so very much for all the attention to detail that you obviously give to your properties!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely wonderful VACATION... Highly Recommend

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful trip and the cabin was perfect. It was exactly what we expected and the owner was very accomodating. This was a very special trip for us, as it was our 5th year wedding anniversary. The cabin is in an excellent location and close to all the attractions we wanted to visit. We had everything we needed and especially enjoyed the hot tub and the pool table. Thanks so much for making this occasion so very special and we will certainly stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

could have been better

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Overall my stay was somewhat satisfactory at this location. The description was accurate as far as the location and layout but some of the amenities were unable to be used. The property was clean but alot of the furniture and rugs, etc.. were old and dingy. The owner provided good customer service but when I emailed to complain about some issues he never responded to me or offered any compensation.

* I was unable to use the advertized hot tub located in the bedroom because of the stench of the water and the water trickled out so slowly that by the time there was about 2 inches of water in the tub the water ran cold.This was really dissapointing as this one one of your main selling points and something I was really looking foward to.

*There is a lady bug problem mostly in the bedroom. During my entire stay I was fighting off pesky ladybugs.

* The advertised pool table only has one stick that is in useable condition so we had to share 1 stick for the whole family.

*There is no wifi and during my stay I tried to speak with someone in the resort office about these issues but no one was ever there.

* The bed in the bedroom is hard as a rock and not comfortable to sleep on which made it really hard to get a good nights rest.

* The blinds in the bedroom are completely screwed up and have to be left in the open position and offers a lack of privacy.

Owners response: The water heater (bedroom hot tub) had an element out and is repaired and working properly now. The demand on the water system (well water for the resort) was very high this weekend with extremely high check ins/check outs. Draining about 80 hot tubs and refilling them all at the same time did cause a water supply issue this very day. Its the only time its happened since I have owned the cabin in 3 years.
The lady bug problem I must say is seasonal and they come and go. Its a cabin in the mountains and not the Monte Carlo on the Vegas strip. I did'nt know anything about it until the tenant had left or I could have had it addressed.
New pools sticks are now replaced and had been brought to my attention about a month before now and were ordered and now in the cabin.
The bed is pretty new and maybe harder than some may like but this is the first time anyone has even mentioned it. It is not as though I can just run out in the middle of the night and buy new to suit every tenant . Sorry about that.
Blinds are being fitted for the whole cabin as the cord had broken on the bedroom window but the window is about 30 feet in the air and could not have an affect on the privacy unless you were in a Helicopter - There are also no cabins next door on the bedroom side of the cabin to begin with.
Best wishes,
Kevin

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

New Years Getaway

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

The cabin is lovely but there are definitely some water issues here. I don't know if it is just with this cabin or with all of them in this resort, but there are issues. The hot tub looks awful - Kevin says it is stained from iron in the well water used to fill it. Maybe but it looks very uninviting. And the water heater is turned down so low, as stated by others, it does not even come close to being adequate for filling the jacuzzi even 1/3 full. And the shower is luke warm at best with nothing but the hot water on. I'm certainly not asking for a refund or discount of any kind. But please get a plumber here and turn the water heater up. And the bed is firm - very very firm.

Owners response: The tenant stated that the water looked discolored in the hot tub and needed cleaning. The tub had just been cleaned about 2 hours before and for the first time since I have owned the cabin (Nearly 3 years) it happened that the first day of the year is the busiest day of the year for check outs and check ins the same day the whole resorts (about 150 cabins) uses well water and the water system had been pushed to the limit. On rare occasions with many hot tub drains and refills the bottom of the tank was reached and iron discoloration was the result. The Hot Tub filter should have cleared it up that day . I never heard back from them and so was unaware of any further issues with it .
I did discover a heating element was burned out in the hot water tank as the hot tub was not properly drained and this resulted in the top element being burned out in the water heater tank, It has of course been replaced and working fine.
Regards Kevin

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

anniversary getaway

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

We did enjoy stay, few things could be done to make it just a little better. The pictures accurately portray the property, but we do wish it was a little cleaner. On bathroom, were toothpaste splashes, shower needed to be cleaned a little better, and there were just a few dirty areas in kitchen that I feel should not be overlooked between renters. We could not get main TV to ever work. Few maintenance issues in bathroom that should be taken care of, but overall was basically clean. Would probably recommend to friends as was a good place to stay. Owner, Kevin, was good to work with, although we did have a code issue getting in the door on a cold, rainy evening, but taken care of fairly quickly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Surprisingly Beautiful

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

I was very leary about renting online, you never know who you are renting from. The reservation process was very easy and they do offer insurance. The owner was quick to respond to questions. The pictures do not do the cabin justice. The cabin was very clean. The lowest setting for the air conditioner was 71, but that was great. When we stayed the temperature was well above 90 and it was still cold in the cabin. The cabin location was great. The drive was flat except for maybe 200 yards was on the hill. The cabin is on a steep bill but the parking was flat. You could go 2 ways to town to avoid driving all the way up to the other end of the strip. Wal mart was about 5 miles away, which was nice for getting supplies.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Way to Lodge for a vacation

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Kevin was a pleasure to work with. He is very courteous. The cabin was wonderful and relaxing. My husband and I enjoyed our stay. It felt like home. The cabin was clean and well kept. Lots of space. Open and welcoming. We loved the hot tub, pool table, and especially the jacuzzi. The only draw back was the hot water was not quiet hot enough for my husband, and it turned cold before the jacuzzi had time to fill half way up. For small children, it would be ideal to protect them from burns. It was not unpleasant by no means, just wish for it to be a little warmer and stay that way.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

My husband and I just stayed 3 nights in this wonderful cabin! We really enjoyed our stay. Very nice, well equipped cabin. Excellent location. The only problem we had was the internet doesn't actually work in the cabin, you have to be close the the pool to connect. We would definitely rent this cabin again.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good stay, as advertised

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

The hubby and I chose this cabin for a weekend away from the kiddos... the price was fair, the location is good, the hot tub was great, and we enjoyed the pool table. Everything was as advertised, and I would recommend the cabin without reservation. It was missing some of the nice touches/ammenities I've grown used to while staying in other properties such as a coffee basket (I've stopped packing coffee b/c everywhere I stay provides at least a one night supply, so was sad there wasn't any), extra linens/pillowcases (there was an extra pillow but no pillowcase), and instead of being greeted with a nice basket or guest book, we were greeted by a note on the door warning us not to steal the television. So, it wasn't a warm/fuzzy stay, but was a good time nonetheless, and we would go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful retreat!

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We absolutely loved this cabin! It was cozy, warm, and had everything you would need for a quite getaway. The fireplace, pool table and jacuzzi were perfect additions! Kevin was great to work with and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. We would highly recommend this cabin to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the fantastic review - I wish all my renters were as pleasant to deal with as you . You are welcome any time at Moonlight Magic cabin
Ragards Kevin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

PERFECT LOCATION...PERFECT CABIN

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

Just wanted to let anyone lookin... know ! This cabin was fully eqipped.. not all accessories listed
as I took coffee pot,filters. It was there ! Perfect location close to all..serville,gatlinburg,pigeon forge !
Cabin perfect..no issues what so ever. My van didnt wanna leave either on departure mornin my battery was dead....lol but we found the manager/maintance man he was very nice, he came right away and gave us a boost. Planning to go again in early spring... Hopefully this cabin will be available .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway Location

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

My husband and I celebrated his 29th birthday at this cabin and we had a wonderful time. Upon arriving we made note that it was one of the cleanest properties we have rented through vrbo. The location is great - it is literally right down the road from Dollywood, but in a secluded resort. There are paved roads all the way to the front door, which should not be taken for granted in Pigeon Forge. The cabin is extremely spacious for a one bedroom. We really enjoyed the hot tub and the pool table. We also took advantage of the resort's pool. We did not have any issues whatsoever and the owner, Kevin, was very friendly and helpful throughout the rental process. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely cabin. (It's located on a hill so be sure your steady on your feet) Everything was provided that is posted but the most important (to me) was how clean and maintained it was. I had no problem contacting owner (couldn't open trash combination) but he immediatly responded with the information. I would absolutely rent this cabin again if returning to TN.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Time in the Mountains

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

This was the first time I've stayed in Moonlight Magic. The cabin is about 1 mile behind Dollywood, situated in a very nice cabin resort. It was close enough to the Parkway and all activities, but far enough away to avoid the noise and crowds. My son and I thoroughly enjoyed soaking in the hot tub in the evenings, and just relaxing in the cabin in general.

Kevin was great to work with. We had a minor issue with the televisions when we arrived and I had to call him. He called back the next day to make sure everything was working. My only suggestion would be to leave some instructions in the cabin - for the satellite boxes/tv, trash barrel lock code, and what to do on the day of departure.

Thank you for sharing your cabin. We know several people who travel to the Smokies regularly. We'll recommend your cabin through VRBO.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

PERFECT Location for Dollywood! You could hear the Dollywood train whistle from the back porch!

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

My husband and I took our 3 year-old to Pigeon Forge for few days to go to Dollywood, and we were extremely pleased with the location of this cabin!! The Hidden Springs Resort is practically a straight shot from the Dollywood parking lot, yet it still has a tranquil, peaceful setting! The cabin itself was spacious and beautiful with high ceilings, large rooms, a king sized bed and a super large Jacuzzi tub. The full kitchen (with dishwasher) and the washer & dryer was a definite bonus! Dealing with the owner, Kevin, was wonderful; and I would definitely recommend this place to a friend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

cabin review

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

cabin was nice had some issues with it bein too hot owner had it set a a certain degrree so it did not cool stated he had had high power bills hot water did not stay hot long enough just for one person to get a shower hot tub quit workin for a while due to breaker havin a short in it and it kept trippin out when talkin to owner about problems all he could state is the cabin had been nothing but a hole in his pocket havin to fix things and how he wanted to sell it did not offer a discount of anykind just said he could cut a deal next visit but this visit was enough not to want a next visit

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: "Renters" wife Amanda called me "Owner" at 10:37 pm that Hot Tub was not on and already hinting about a discount. I asked if her husband could look at the breaker and reset it. Husband indicated he reset it and it still has no power. Maintenance showed up the next morning to discover breaker had not been reset and that fixed it immediately. They further did not seem to understand why hot tub water was not hot 30 seconds after power was restored to it. It requires power for the heater element to come on - No further problems have been found since.Renters never mentioned hot water issue and no problem was found with it in shower. Amanda seems to follow a theme of asking for a discount for any and all things they can find to complain about. Renters were only there for 2 nights and the Hot tub repaired in less than 12 hours after their complaint.The Hvac unit is new as of July 2010 and is working as it should - no problems found there except an attempt to turn it down cooler than it should be in order to run it constantly in my opinion. I did offer a discount on a future stay as with only two nights stay there is not much time to repond to such complaints as things do happen with vacation properties as normal circumstances would dictate. I do not wish to rent to them in the future.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review